$357 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal 387 Chetumal-Cancun Km 299, Km. 299, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
517 out of 517
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tenknots
Business
Washington DC
Jul 15, 2009

Could not have been better

I have wracked my brain trying to figure out if there was something more Secrets could have done to make our stay better. Can't come up with anything (ok, no charge rooms??). Little touches above and beyond the normal all-inclusive: a bucket of champagne and glasses left at the outdoor hot tub every night; room service that was delivered in half the time they said it would be; buckets of sealed ice water on the beach; cold marble floors in the rooms; a concierge on every floor, beach parties with buffets in the sand, etc. There is even an Avis desk there - we rented a car for a day and a half for $50 plus gas (over $US4/gallon) and went to Playa Del Carmen (go at night - it is brutally hot during the day, but charming and comfortable at night). We went to Tulum the next day - easy drive, don't sweat it. Well, you will sweat, but it's worth it. But mostly, all we wanted to do was hang out at the giant pool, drink mambo lele's, take a dip in the ocean, sail the catamarans (free), relax in the room and eat. The week went by way too fast. I'm sure we'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The portions are small, but pretty much unlimited and rate from a 7 to 9 on a scale of 10. Try every restaurant - otherwise you'll run out of time before you know it. The breakfast buffet is incredible - something for everyone - try some Mexican hot chocolate in the coffee (the coffee is very good). We found the Italian restaurant to be about the best. We eat vegetarian and were always able to find something. The beach parties (we had two) had some of the best all around food. Yes, they set up tables on the beach for everyone, and bring out two huge buffets, and usually have live entertainment. We eventually had a day of no alcohol and light eating to compensate, but overall, we hardly overate too much. It takes some self control since you are "paying" for all you can eat, but it's a resort - you should use it to relax, not overindulge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 14, 2009

Secrets Capri

It was the best vacation that my wife and I have ever been on. EVER! The staff was great, by the end they even knew our names. Everything that you could want was provided and everything that you did not think of they did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stereoair
Business
atlanta, georgia
Jul 11, 2009

Best Vacation Ever!

Such a great experience! I did a lot of research prior to booking at Secrets Capri. The place was almost perfect! The food was great at every restaurant. The wait staff consisted of some of the nicest people I have ever met. The layout of the resort is small, making it an easy walk to get just about anywhere. The spa was unbelievable. You have to try the hydro-circuit. My only small complaint is that the ocean color is not the crystal clear one thinks of when discussing the Mexican Caribbean. It's around a 7 on the 1-10 scale (1 being a black river and 10 being swimming in paradise). All things said, we are already looking to book for November. I think I have found my spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to take the cab to downtown Playa Del Carmen and eat at "El Fagon". The food was the best Mexican food I have ever tasted!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Relaxed Newlywed
Business
Champaign, IL
Jul 11, 2009

Fantastic, relaxing honeymoon!

This resort was fabulous! As soon as we walked through the doors we were greeted with champagne and cold lavender scented towels. Check in was smooth and effortless. The rest was the vacation was great, low stress, lots of relaxation. Spent most days by the ocean or in the pool. All of the staff were so wonderful and served with pleasure. The only restaurant we had any trouble at was the Taco and Cerviche Bar, which was just really slow service so we always went to the Seaside Grill for lunch. The food was delicious, some dishes rivaled for the best I've ever eaten. If you want premium alcohol, just ask for it and you shall receive. There is always something to do if you want, or you can just relax. The spa services offered were also amazing, as were teh people there. We have no complaints, everything was as we hoped for...a stress-free, relaxing honeymoon after the wedding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M & M - S
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 10, 2009

Perfect Vacation Getaway

The resort was in the perfect location. 40 mins from heart of Cancun,40 mins from Tulum 10 mins north of Playa Del Carmen. I Golfed in Cancun, and went and saw the ruins at Tulum. All the food was excellent but dinners took a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymooners '08
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 8, 2009

Amazing Honeymoon

We were completely, 100% satisfied with our trip here. It was amazing all around. From the awe inspiring lobby and atrium, all the way down to elaborate hallways! The entire staff was very helpful all the time, from the waiters, all the way up to the concierge! The food was downright fabulous. They have 4 different high quality resteraunts and room service available at any hour! There is something for anyone here. The best part, is that the entire resort was full of couples, not families with screaming kids and so on and so forth. We made friends with several couples who we are still in touch with a year later! You'll share something in common with so many people if you're there on your honeymoon. I do have a small suggestion once you book a vacation here, when you're booking your trip inland if you want to visit Chichen Itza or Tulum, do not book online, book once you get there! We ended up spending 6 hours on a bus, and 3 hours at Chichen Itza because it was with 10 other hotels and unfortunately at this resort, you're the first to be picked up!! (That isn't the resort's fault, but I wanted to let you know, book at the resort, it will be a much more private tour!) My ONLY complaint about the resort is a small one. I thought that the rooms would be more extravagent, we paid for an upgrade, and I do not feel that I got one...although I will say that once we were there, I was truely not concerned with it. The bed was very cozy, which is mostly the only reason to be in the room ;). Overall A++ for Secrets Capri!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do the hibachi grill early! Do not procrastinate!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oakland, CA
Jul 7, 2009

Secrets Capri was more than i expected!

As soon as we stepped into the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff which provided us with cool hand towels and chilled champagne. This hotel was more than i expected. It was great! The hotel room was super clean, and they cleaned our room and stocked our fridge more then once a day. My only complaint was that the AC in our room was too cold, but we would just open our balcony door to warm up the room. The food was excellent. We loved the taco bar which provided fish tacos and cheviche. The other restaurants were also great too, but you had to dress up to eat at them. No shorts or tank tops allowed. You need to pack some nice clothing for this place. This is definetly a couples hotel. Quite a bit of honeymooners, so it was pretty mellow. At night it was quiet and very peaceful. The beach was pretty nice. They kept the shore free from seaweed, and they frequently came to our lounge area to see if there was anything we needed. This was a very relaxing vacation. We would come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa Del Carmen was a $14 cab ride away. It was nice to get out and see the downtown and walk around. It was very touristy, but also nice to see something other than the resort. We also booked a trip to Tulum and Xelha. For the price (90) it was well worth it. Got some great pics of the Mayan ruins. Xelha was as nice as i remember it, but a little less fish than the last time I went. Food was decent there too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Jul 6, 2009

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults

Beach is beautiful and water was warm and clear. Service on the beach was also outstanding. Restaurants --Italian restaurant was terrific but the Teppanyaki food at the Asian restaurant was tasteless. Tacos and sushi were also great. room was very nice and the swedish massage at the spa was so good we returned to do it again. Service at the spa was a little iffy since they didn't explain things very well so don't hesitate to ask. large number of yhoneymooners so great for that age group but activites not geared to older couples. For exmaple: Noise in the evenings in hallways and room balconies continue late into the night. atention to detail was not as good as we have come to expect out of some of the other high end all inclusives. example; rom cleanings were late, turn down service didn;t happen except for then last night and we were never given the next day's news leters and had to go searching for it the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car using Orbitz. it is very inexpensive to rent but very expensive to take cabs or excursions to Cancun or some of the tourist sites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seattle_visiter
Business
Detroit MI
Jul 5, 2009

Amazing Experience

If you want a relaxing couples vacation where you are treated like royalty this is the place to stay. The food is 5 star, the rooms are comfortable, the staff is amazing, the pool and beach are clean and refreshing. Every effort is made to make you feel comfortable by every one there. I would highly recommend this resort. My only slightly negative comment is that the food is so amazing I gained 5 lbs in a week... of course that is not a negative of the resort, but my inability to stop gorging myself. This is truly a new favorite for a vacation spot :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a Wave runner from the resort next door. The "water sports" desk at the resort wants to drive you to Cancun. A waste of time for only $10 less.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. & Mrs. King
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Jul 2, 2009

PERFECT IN EVERY WAY!

We just got back from our honeymoon at the Secrets Capri in the Rivera Maya. Hands down this place is amazing. The service was top notch, the staff is some of the hardest working people I have met. The 24/7 room service was perfect for those mornings you just want to lay around in bed. We were impressed with the food and restaurants. I recommend the Japanese steak house, they put on a great cooking show and the food was excellent. Overall we could not have asked for a better honeymoon. We were greeted at the door with two glasses of champagne, and they had a bottle on ice waiting for us in our room! Just a couple of tips: -Men bring a polo/ collard shirt and long pants. The nicer restaurants have a dress code. -Check out the spa, we bought the couples massage and it was WELL worth it! -Tip the staff a couple dollars here and there and they will take EXCELLENT care of you. -No need to exchange dollars to pesos. The resort & staff all except US dollars. -Bring plenty of sunscreen, we ran out and the gift shop was way overpriced. -Smokers bring plenty of cigs/black & milds. Again the gift shop was way over priced. I can't say enough good things about this resort. We will be going back for our anniversary! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Play BINGO at the pool everyday at 3pm. They have great prizes. We won HALF OFF our spa visit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top