$396 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal 387 Chetumal-Cancun Km 299, Km. 299, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
465 out of 465
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rrc5267
Business
Houma, La
Jul 24, 2009

Tops all other all-inclusive hotels

Great hotel with staff looking out for every detail. Never had to wait long for anything. The grounds were beautiful and well keep. A lot to do without leaving the complex. Only one draw back, the hotel next door is a family oriented hotel. If you are going on vacation to escape children you will have some exposure to those kids on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If one restaurant is full simple go to the next one and usually you can go right in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 23, 2009

Picture Perfect!

It was a wonderful experience. The hotel staff was amazing. They went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. The hibachi restaurant was a lot of fun. The spa was amazing! I recommend upgrading to an ocean view. It is worth the extra money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allentown, PA
Jul 22, 2009

A Great Honeymoon Destination

The all-inclusive aspect to this place is key. The only downside to this is that they only serve "domestic" beer, but Mexican beer on a hot day is a good deal any way you slice it. The Mexican food is fantastic but their attempt at Italian is lacking. The Japanese Hibachi restaurant Himitsu is incredible. The only piece of advice I would give is that you don't need reservations to eat in the restaurant, only for the hibachi tables. Their regular menu is very good and you wont be disappointed. The overall service of the hotel is amazing and I would definitely return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is excellent but stay away from the Italian Restaurant. Mexicans preparing Italian food is a no-win combination.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 21, 2009

Good place to stay, not super.

This hotel was very nice inside and out plus the ocean front room was well worth the extra cost ($40 night) Everyone at the hotel was very polite and did try to be helpful. We had a GREAT relaxing time at this hotel but the food here is not HIGH quality although it is served in a very fancy manner. We felt it was just mediocre and was our biggest disappointment at the resort. To give and example, their filets were not even close to a filet from Outback Steakhouse. Also, the burger I ate at Johnny Rockets (fast food- Cancun aiport) was far better than any I had at the resort. At best, its comparable to bar food with a fancy twist. Every dish we had seemed to be heavily over salted. The shrimp were always small and chewy. Portofino was by far the best restaurant in service and quality.We did notice tiny bugs on the desk by the screen door but figured it's just MEXICO. Also, ladies they don't have separate conditioner in the bathroom so bring your own. My girlfriend had to spend $50 USD for it at the spa.The swim up pool bar is great! Give [...] a few tips and he'll start getting you drinks when he sees you coming up. Make sure you ask for the higher quality liquor in your cocktails and frozen drinks. The resort certification scuba diving was pretty awesome for first timers. They take you to a reef 10 minutes off shore from the resort after a 1 hour training course in the pool.All in all we would recommend this hotel to a friend BASED ON THE PRICE PAID. If going back to the area we would probably spend a little more and try a different more upscale hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping in dowtown Playa is a tourist trap so save your time and money. EVERYTHING is way overpriced. You would think because it is mexico you could get a good deal on t-shirts ($15-$20)and such, not true. In addition, every vendor and store is overly agressive in trying to get you to speak with them and come into their store. VERY-VERY ANNOYING.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, Mo
Jul 19, 2009

Fabulous Vacation with Friends!!!

Fabulous Vacation with Friends!!! This was a fabulous trip. My boyfriend and I were there with another couple. The food was great, the drinks were great, the evening activities were fun. A few of the staff even new us by name at the end of the week. The pool and beach are so pretty that we spent a lot of time just relaxing in the pool. I can not wait to go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

(1)The Jungle Place "kuxi k'aax" was a must see if you are interested in getting up close and playing with cute spider monkeys.This was a experience I will never forget. [...] and [...](owners) were wonderful to take a lot of pictures while we had a great time. I hope to go back again. [...] our private tour guide was able to drive us there and then take us to Playa Del Carmen shopping after wad.(2)A private tour with a guide (We used [...]) was amazing. [...] lives locally and was able to give us all the best information and VIP treatment! We went to Tulum and toured the ruins, snorkeled in a cenote, and then swimming in the bay of Akumal and snorkeling in the reef. We were lucky and able to see pretty fish and 2 sea turtles. Afterward we had an authentic Mexican meal. The whole day was fantastic. A day to always remember. (3)We found all of our great tips on line by reading others reviews. Research before you go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sumter, SC
Jul 19, 2009

Well worth the money

The beach was beautiful, the food was delicious and the drinks were outstanding! There were no surprises and the resort was well worth the cost. The only problem was long waiting periods at restaurants, so arrive before you get too hungry. Once the food arrived, however, it was wonderful. Plan on spending time on local excursions since there is a lot to see and do. The hotel also does a great job with activities. There should be no time in your vacation with nothing to do (even it is planned time at the pool bar). During excursions: bring cash since many places require a $10-$20 deposit for rentals like towels or snorkeling gear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Arrive early for dining since you should expect a long wait. However, the food is delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 17, 2009

Couple's Fabulouse Vacation

We stayed for 8 days and loved it. The food was fantastic, we ate everything and had no troubles. The pool and the beach were also great, it was hard to choose which to go to first. We went to most of the evening events and enjoyed them. We met fun people and had a fabulous time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

GO to COCO BONGO! It cost approx. $50 a person in Playa del Carmen, but the experience it well worth the cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 15, 2009

Romantic Vacation

This hotel is perfect for a honeymoon or a romantic getaway. The staff is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tenknots
Business
Washington DC
Jul 15, 2009

Could not have been better

I have wracked my brain trying to figure out if there was something more Secrets could have done to make our stay better. Can't come up with anything (ok, no charge rooms??). Little touches above and beyond the normal all-inclusive: a bucket of champagne and glasses left at the outdoor hot tub every night; room service that was delivered in half the time they said it would be; buckets of sealed ice water on the beach; cold marble floors in the rooms; a concierge on every floor, beach parties with buffets in the sand, etc. There is even an Avis desk there - we rented a car for a day and a half for $50 plus gas (over $US4/gallon) and went to Playa Del Carmen (go at night - it is brutally hot during the day, but charming and comfortable at night). We went to Tulum the next day - easy drive, don't sweat it. Well, you will sweat, but it's worth it. But mostly, all we wanted to do was hang out at the giant pool, drink mambo lele's, take a dip in the ocean, sail the catamarans (free), relax in the room and eat. The week went by way too fast. I'm sure we'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The portions are small, but pretty much unlimited and rate from a 7 to 9 on a scale of 10. Try every restaurant - otherwise you'll run out of time before you know it. The breakfast buffet is incredible - something for everyone - try some Mexican hot chocolate in the coffee (the coffee is very good). We found the Italian restaurant to be about the best. We eat vegetarian and were always able to find something. The beach parties (we had two) had some of the best all around food. Yes, they set up tables on the beach for everyone, and bring out two huge buffets, and usually have live entertainment. We eventually had a day of no alcohol and light eating to compensate, but overall, we hardly overate too much. It takes some self control since you are "paying" for all you can eat, but it's a resort - you should use it to relax, not overindulge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 14, 2009

Secrets Capri

It was the best vacation that my wife and I have ever been on. EVER! The staff was great, by the end they even knew our names. Everything that you could want was provided and everything that you did not think of they did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top