$245 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 14, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

Ocean Coral - All Inclusive Resort

4 stars
View map of SM.12 Mza15, Lote 1-02,1-03, Predio Maria Irene Puerto Morelos, Puerto Morelos, 77580

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Coral - All Inclusive Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
241 out of 241
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Coral - All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Luis Abuelo
Business
Washington DC
Jul 9, 2012

We came for a repeat visit but ...... were disappointed

We had requested three rooms close to each other. Initially were given rooms in the Privileged area but with no access to beach,lounge and on a thrid floor with elevators out of order; rooms were far away from kids pool. Moved to rooms in three different floors and two buildings. 80 % of elevators were not working,including service elevators. Our week was when Wimbledon was in quarter,semi-finals. Half the time the TV cable channels were unavailable. Half the place was in maintenance and we got the rooms in that half. They should not offer those accomodations at any cost ! And ours were not really a bargain. Very disappointed. WILL NOT GO BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sensai restaurant is a good exprience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Coral - All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyCouple12
Business
New York, NY
Jul 2, 2012

Highly Recommended

Overall, the trip was great! Went 5 days, 4 nights and upgraded to the Privilege Level before going. The reason why the trip was great and why I gave it such high marks was mostly because of all the extras you get from the Privilege Level. Without it, some ratings may have dropped by 1.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you have Privilege Level at this hotel, you can make reservations for any of the restaurants when you first get there. If you aren't Privilege Level, you are at the mercy of how busy the restaurants are that night (e.g. number of reservations, how many people are waiting) and may not even get into some places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Coral - All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uruguaya americana
Business
Charlotte,NC
Jun 21, 2012

best resort ever

My girls and I came back from Cancun yesterday ,and I wish we could go back there tomorrow! We had the best vacations ever,the food ,drinks ,and service is excellent,and the servers,cleaning,chefs,bartenders,etc,they are great. We are coming back for sure!!! Gabriela,Melanie and Nicolle. Charlotte,NC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Coral - All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Niteowls
Business
Ohio
Jun 18, 2012

Great Vacation!

Get the privilege upgrade! Its worth it. And so is the Gray Lines transportation service. The staff made a bad airline experience into a fading memory. Thank you to Enrique at Ocean Coral, who was working his last week there. The rooms were clean, food was good. Bartenders were on point! Can't wait to go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Coral - All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Niteowls
Business
Cali/Ohio
Jun 16, 2012

Wonderful vacation

I thought this was a great resort. The staff really is great too. We upgraded to Privilege and in my opinion it was worth every penny. We are the kind of people who like to relax and not be around tons of people. The privilege beach area was awesome. There was always a good spot open on the beach. Waiter service here was equally awesome. The main pool was always full. We used the privilege pool which was easier to get a nice spot. Had its own snack bar but unfortunately it closed at 4p because it became a little French eating place. The privilege lounge was very nice, air conditioned. The privilege restaurant was excellent. The gourmet menu changes daily. Buffet food was good. We only ate breakfast there though. Did not eat at japanese steakhouse or Italian place. The Score all night sports lounge was ok. They serve drinks well into the night after the bars close but the food is not so good. The Mexican restaurant was good. It's not as good as the Mayan lunch we had on our tour but it's not horrible either. Its more authentic than alot of mexican restaurants i have dined at. There is a little nightlife there. Not NYC style but a nice relaxed atmosphere. The booze was good even without the privilege options. They make the best margarita I ever had. Since we upgraded we got a room in the privilege building. We got two full size beds (didn't bother us at all, especially being that it was a last minute upgrade and we arrived late at night). Sofa, coffee table, desk, patio with jet tub and shower. Stocked mini fridge, wine and glasses set up and turn down service. Butler service too (and we didn't even use it!) Overall I am very satisfied with the accommodations and the staff. They really aim to please here. If you are looking for more options you may want to go to a bigger place. If you are looking for a quiet restful stay this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Upgrade to privilege if you dont like to be around people. You get priority reservations which can be made the night before but you also have access to the privilege lounge and restaurant. And use the gray lines transportation. For us it was worth the extra expense.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Coral - All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FLtraveler2.0
Business
Melbourne, FL
Jun 11, 2012

Overall a nice vacation

When we checked in the staff wasn't very helpful in showing us to the room. We also found out that the lights/fans shut down in the room after 30 minutes of no activity so you had to go over to the bathroom to trip the motion sensor to turn them back on. NOT GOOD. The food was great overall but the specialty restaurants somewhat hard to get into. Limited seating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Coral - All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Granny Carol
Business
Douglasville, GA
Jun 7, 2012

Great get away!!!!!!

The staff were so warm and friendly, the cleanliness was unbelievable and the food was excellent!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

got a beautiful bathing suit, cover-up and bracelet--all reasonably priced!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Coral - All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
punktoaster
Business
austin, tx
Jun 4, 2012

Slightly disapointed

This is long so here's a quick overview: -Privilege status not worth it in off season. -Not fun for non romantic couples. -Food not great. -Everything closes by 8pm..zero night life. -Crazy seaweed and very cloudy water (just a note) -Overall we actually had a relaxing and nice vacation but there was nothing that makes me want to come back to this resort specifically. Details below: I took my Mom for a Mother's Day trip and we were greeted by everything saying "Mr. and Mrs" My mother and I both have very feminine sounding/looking names. Very minor but kind of off putting. ~Privilege status (not worth it in off season): ** Privileged didn't *feel* very privileged. Perhaps it was because it was the 'off' season but I really didn't see much of a benefit to having privileged status. ** The privilege only pool is very quiet, but this time of the year the entire resort was really very quiet...but then the entire resort was really very quiet so we wouldn't have had any trouble finding a quiet place to swim if that was on the agenda. ** I guess having the privilege area on the beach was ok, but we are early risers so it really wasn't a problem finding a spot on the regular beach either. Again, this is probably an off season thing. ** The room is quite nice. We were on the 1st floor of building 7 facing the privilege pool. No issues with smells or dampness of any kind. The bathroom was quite interesting, in that the toilet and shower are both in a separate type of stall within in the bathroom. Not bad, just different. ~Staff ** Pool Bar staff: I spent the majority of the time at the aqua pool / the pool with the bar in it. It was the most 'fun' party atmosphere type of pool. It was hard to get service at the bar. I don't know why. It wasn't overly crowded but I would just sit there and wait.. and wait..and then move to a different spot at the bar and wait.. When I got the server's attention they served with a smile and seemed nice, but more than once after I placed an order, I would sit there for a minute and they completely would forget my order and come back again. ALSO THE POOL BAR CLOSES AT 6PM - BOOOOORING. I mean I get it right, drunk folks in a pool...but come on! you were able to get out of the pool and go to the land bar and get drinks until 8 pm. but then everything closes. ** Beach staff. What beach staff?? My mom really enjoyed sitting by the beach in the privilege section so I joined her there frequently. Waiters never came by but perhaps once or twice in the 5 days that we were there. We could walk up to the hut and sometimes there was staff member there that would help but certainly didn't feel attended to at all. ~Entertainment - The only 'show' we saw was part of a 'dinsey' (assuming it should be disney) show.. we didn't stay. - Also in the aqua pool there was a "MS Ocean" contest. And ya know..that's all well and good - if there was a MR ocean contest to but noooooo. Apparently only women get exploited here. ~Food (nothing great): **Privilege only restaurant. The food was just..okay. Nothing special. My Mom had the portobello fettuccine and I had the coq o van. Meh. Nothing worth upgrading to privilege for. **Buffet: The only place open for breakfast/lunch is the buffet. Again, it was ok. Nothing special. **Italian restaurant. This was I think the most disappointing meal. it was bland and we left unsatisfied. ** Sensai - the Japanese (Bennie Hana style place) This was the best meal. We sat at the 'show table' and it was fun and delicious. ** I called room service once and they asked me to call back in 5 minutes...when I did no one answered the phone. ** This is just a note in general no reflection on the resort... the seaweed is crazy. They do the best they can with the tractors but even in just the water. I often wondered why no one swam in the ocean here and I figured it out. It's just swimming in a huge batch of seaweed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't bother with the italian. Sensai is good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Coral - All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lowis
Business
Denver, Colorado
May 21, 2012

DO NOT TALK TO H10 PREMIUM!!!!!!!!!!!!

The resort was great! Clean, courteous, and great food. Do not fall victim of H10 tour though. They are trying to sell you a time share, and very aggressively at that. After wasting 3 hours of my life I starting getting very frustrated with the way they were talking to me but still TRIED to politely express that I wasn't interested. When we finally got out of the room our "guide" wouldn't talk to us as we walked back across the property...real mature!!! As long as you don't do the H10 tour you will have a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Coral - All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jodi h
Business
Michigan, USA
Apr 30, 2012

relaxing retreat

If you are looking for a relaxing trip with very little or no shopping this is a good hotel for you...not close to any Mexican shopping locations but they did have a Mexican flea market brought to the hotel....many choices in food..nice coffee shop..very energetic entertainment staff..loved the professional photography compliments of the hotel staff. (u do purchase pics at the end)..it captures many precious vacation memories...there is a nice family area separated from the main party pools which was nice. .don't waste ur money upgrading to ocean front room.. The way the hotel is shaped no view is worth the extra money. Other hotels we have stayed at in Mexico have been breath taking.This was only average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top