$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

4 stars
Ctra. Fed. Puerto Juarez, Chetumal Km. 282 # 307, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
231 reviews
Heaven

It is really comfortable. You feel so relaxed. The staff is really nice and attentive. I would... See full review

  • Monkey10
  • Jun 30, 2014
The best spot for my family

We decided to try this hotel to visit Xcaret during our stay. We tried the Royal Club and it was... See full review

  • Afebres
  • Jun 12, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort adjacent to Xcaret ecological park
The Occidental Grand Xcaret offers direct access to the ecological park, Xcaret. The resort boasts stretches of white sand beaches, 11 international restaurants and 10 bars. There are 769 spacious suites, five winding pools and 10 public whirlpools at the all-inclusive, family-friendly resort. Because of the resort's close proximity to so many Yucatan treasures, you can venture out on day trips and be back by evening for dinner at one of the resort's spectacular eateries.
Highlights:
  • Exclusive direct access to Xcaret ecological park
  • Provides Unlimited Xcaret Xperience
  • Family-friendly with available cribs and a Kids Club program
Rooms:

Expect soothing, tropical colors and Mexican decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors. Rooms include a king-sized or two double-sized beds, stocked mini-bar, cable TV, hair dryer and alarm clock. Rooms range from deluxe to the royal club master suite, which features hydromassage bathtubs, luxurious linens, nightly turndown service and plush robes. Also included are private concierge services, in-room Internet access, private pool and whirlpool, balcony and DVD player. Cribs and extra beds are available to any guest upon request.

Features:

Guests can relax by one of the resort's five pools, hit the man-made beach and cove, play mini-golf, try their hand at archery, tennis or yoga, or spend some time snorkeling in the clear, blue waters. The spa features complementary access to the sauna, steam room and whirlpool for guests looking to relax. If kiddies are tagging along, drop them off at the Kids Club where they'll meet other children and build lasting memories in a supervised environment. For a fee, guests can partake in day excursions to nearby Chichen Itza, Tulum, Xel Ha, or hit the greens for a round of 18. Internet access is also available for a charge. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (46 mi/75 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.4 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (35 mi/57 km)
  • Chichen Itza (129 mi/208 km)
Business­
  • State-of-the-art business center
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 1,200 people
  • Business center and concierge services (copying, faxing, computer use) are available for a fee
Policies and fees
The experience of Unlimited Xcaret Xperience offers exclusive benefits for guests of Occidental Grand Xcaret:
  • Unlimited access and multi-entrance all day long to Xcaret park facilities
  • Private tour, where a Xcaret expert guide will take them to discover the park’s unique nature, culture and archaeology.
  • Reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during the greatest presentation in Mexico: “Xcaret México Espectacular,” a celebration of culture and history featuring more than 300 artists
  • During their stay at the hotel’s Kids Club, infants can participate in a guided visit to Xcaret, where they’ll experience Mexico’s most representative traditions in the Main Plaza, always cared for by the hotel’s expert staff
  • VIP check-in
  • Unlimited reservations during the whole stay in all specialty restaurants (subject to availability)
  • Free room delivery of purchases made in any of Xcaret park’s stores
  • 10% off on meals, beverages at Xcaret park
  • 30% off on a 90-minute Special Mayan Massage “WAYAKA”
  • In-room robes and slippers during the whole stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.5848 -87.1219
Area served
Riviera Maya, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancun Internaional Airport (CUN).
Area description
Area attractions include the town of Playa del Carmen, Cozumel via ferry Golf nearby, shopping, Cancun nightlife (45 min), Xcaret Park, and water sports.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive Rooms

Unlimited Xcaret Experience
Along with accommodations selected, this room type includes the following: Room type of your choice, Unlimited and multi-entrance access to Xcaret Park, private guided tour of Xcaret Park facilities, reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during Xcaret Mxico Espectacular, a celebration of Mexican culture and history featuring more than 300 performers, guided, supervised visit to Xcaret for children enrolled in the hotel's Kids Club, VIP check-in, unlimited reservations at specialty restaurants (subject to availability), complimentary delivery of purchases made in any stores at Xcaret Park (to guestroom), 10% off meals and beverages at Xcaret Park, 30% off a 90-minute Special Mayan massage, In-room bathrobes and slippers, US$920 in resort credits coupons per stay, valid towards selected activities and amenities. Full details at check-in. Restrictions may apply.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms include the all inclusive features of the resort, and have 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a min-fridge, safety deposit box, hair dryer, satellite TV, and telephone with data port. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Grand Romance Deluxe
The Grand Romance Deluxe category features Deluxe room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Romance Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples massage, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Concierge Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as concierge service, Internet cafe access, turn down service, a fruit basket, and a bottle of wine. A 10 percent spa discount is also included, as well as superior room amenities, bathrobes to wear during your stay.
Royal Club
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to additional at a la carte dining options exclusive to The Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers three private buildings with 45 rooms and suites, personal concierge service, stocked mini-fridge, DVD Player, in-room dining during certain times, private pool & whirlpool areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet at the Royal Club Lobby.
Royal Club Luxury
The Royal Club Luxury rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations, including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Luxury rooms have 2 double beds, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Royal Club Junior Suite
The Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations where you enter a spacious living room and separate bedroom with private balcony. Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms also include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Jr. Suites rooms have 1 king bed, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Dining

Le Buffet
Is located at the center of the resort featuring gourmet International buffet-style dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM, Dinner 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Pescador
Offers market-fresh a la carte seafood selections served in an open-air, beachside atmosphere. Seafood restaurant "a la carte". Located in the Beach Club. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Royal Club Restaurant
Exclusive for Royal Club guests, serves a selection international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 11 AM - 4:00 PM, Tea Time 5:00 PM - 7 PM, Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM, and Room Service 7:00 AM -11:00 PM.
Sonora Grill
Offers delicious a la carte steak house delights hot off the grill, buffet salad and dessert service for dinner onlySteak House serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Lago
Is conveniently situated by the main pool in the Flamenco lodging section and offers snacks and light meals throughout the daySnack service available from 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM.
Club de Playa
Or Beach Club, offers an International buffet and for lighter fare in a casual setting International and seafood buffet. Located in the Beach Club. Lunch 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM.
La Hacienda
Is a festively decorated, colorful dinner house offering gourmet a la carte Mexican specialties for dinner only. Mexican restaurant serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
D'Oriental
Features a stylish, Asian ambience masterfully created with red walls, a wooden ceiling, hanging paper lamps and a parasol that is befitting of the delightful Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Indian cuisine. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Kids Club
Kids will enjoy the special kid's menu at the Kids Club buffet, as well. Lunch 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM.
Paco's Tacos
With a refreshing open-air terrace setting, dinner only, Tacos and Mexican appetizers. Snack service 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Special JK
Ft Collins, CO
Jun 19, 2014

Disappointing

If the grounds werent so beatiful, I think we would have switched hotels! Paid extra for the upgrade to grand concierge and to have a king w/ wine and fresh fruit. Checked into a room w/ 2 dbl beds and thats it! NOT ONE person from the hotel staff was able or willing even to correct this for us! and we paid for this! The only reason this was fixed was I visited w/ my agent from Orb itz to confirm my shuttle back to the airport and ORB ITZ got our room switched. We argued w/ the hotel and lost an entire day of our trip because of it. Didnt get our new room til after 3!! :( Was very disappointing and the food was awful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

lol - dont eat the steak at the steakhouse. eat the seafood. dont eat the seafood at the seafood restaurant, eat the steak. Im serious! Best place to eat is Pacos Tacos and Roman is the best employee in the whole place!!! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eric Getaway King
Atlanta, Georgia
Apr 7, 2014

Awesome Resort and Staff

Whether you are traveling with or without children this is a perfect choice for your vacation. The resort, food, staff, and service are exceptional. Highly recommend you visit; we've been back 3 times since our first. Awesome fun place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cancun has Bull Fights in the arena each Wednesday, so if your interested in seeing a traditional Bull fight ask guest services inside the hotel. Also you can buy a day pass to the Occidental in Cozumel, you just take a taxi to the Cozumel ferry check out the island and the resort then take the ferry/taxi back, fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
david sosa
texas
Mar 28, 2014

not a 4 star hotel !!

Tooms smell like wet socks ..humid ..we had the romance package and receive horrible service...we had book breakfast the day before for 9am and didnt receive it till 11:15 after 2 phone calls i had to make and when breakfast arrive they didnt bring any eggs ..which we order....then later that nite we went to eat at the restaurant which we had reservations at for 7:30 pm ..we didnt get seat till 8:15 then we didnt get any service for drinks till 10 minutez after ..they were picking up closing ..while our food was arriving uggg ...really old place needs remodel as well...cacaroach in the bedroom ect ect ....2stars....orvits should be ashame for having 4 stars online ...also taxi told me others had the familiar experience !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jpetey07
los angeles
Mar 22, 2014

DO NOT BECOME A MEMBER

My husband and I went to this hotel for our honeymoon 2 years ago. We used a groupon and it was a great deal. We enjoyed our trip up until we were hasseled into the 2 hour (which ended up being a 4 hour) time share speech. Now, the hubby and I love to travel and were listening to the wonderful things our "guide" was telling us. He fed off of everything we said we enjoyed. If we said we want to travel every year, he said, "and by becoming a first club member you will". If we said we dont want to just be limited to mexico and the carribean, he said, "You can go to any of our resorts and we are opening up new ones in Europe as we speak". Anyways, all this to say IT IS A HUGE LIE AND SCAM. If you can get a groupon go to this resort, it is worth the small amount of money you are paying, BUT DO NOT BUY INTO THEIR MEMBERSHIP, DO NOT BOTHER GOING TO THE TIMESHARE TOUR! THEY WILL TELL U WHATEVER U WANT TO HEAR AND WASTE 1/2 YOUR DAY. 2 years later my husband and I are still living with the reprecussions of our rookie mistake of buying into their First Club membership program. THEY DO NOTHING TO MAKE U FEEL SPECIAL, THEY DO NOT CARE WHETHER U ARE HAPPY OR SATISFIED, ONCE U SIGN YOUR NAME ON THE CONTRACT THEY CAN CARE LESS ABOUT U OR YOUR NEEDS. I even had the manager just "for show" make a reply to one of my posts saying how sorry she was that I was unhappy and to please provide my email so we could communicate, I provided my email AND SHE NEVER BOTHERED TO GET BACK TO ME! Please, please, please do not make the same mistake my husband and I did and get stuck into a membership that is binding and lasts 25 years...and where you dont get to travel to the places they promised or as often as they promised. They are crooks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good time555
Guelph, Ont.
Jan 19, 2014

Great week

This is a big resort, lots of walking but the grounds are beautiful. Pools were a bit cold and only music at one of the pools. Staff was great, overall a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunnyshah
calgary, alberta
Jan 1, 2014

great vacation

it was a good experience little problems like no wifi which is really necessary bit overall good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you guys didnt like any food or want them to make something special they will do it at no extra cost

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MXTRVLR
Illinois
Oct 23, 2013

Great Vacation at Occidental Grand Xcaret

We just came back from an 8 night vacation at the Occidental Grand Xcaret and can't stop talking about it. We really enjoyed our vacation. The Specialty restaurants were excellent. Buffet food was ok, but you would always find build your own omellette stations at breakfast and pancakes and fresh fruit. They had a bloody mary and mimosa station at breakfast too. Lunch: Their Pizza was great, hotdogs and burgers. I was not very fond of the burgers but a lot of people seemed to love them. There was always guacamole and chips and some type of ceviche (shrimp or fish cold salad#. Dinner buffet was themed. Friday was Mexican and Saturday was seafood. They had good representations of both. We did not eat at the buffet any other day as we were at the specialty restaurants. We loved the Seafood restaurant, that was our favorite. We had the catch of the day and the fish tacos were to die for but we also enjoyed all the other specialty restaurants. They all had some great dishes, I would say it depends on what you get, Arrachera at the Mexican restaurant was great, Rib eye at the Steak was great, kung pao chicken at the oriental was awesome. There is no beach but we didn't miss that at all. We spent sooo much time in the ocean do to the water being so calmed at the man made beach that now I would rather have this than the beach. We didn't spend much time at the pools do to this and to the small cove by the side of the all adults pool. Best snorkeling ever there. We spent the majority of our time snorkeling there, saw hundreds of fish and coral. We really appreciated Manuel and the other lifeguard. Manuel told us about this little cove the first day we went up to the salt water pool. He took the time to clean and adjust our snorkeling masks and went above and beyond so that we could enjoy snorkeling there. Because the snorkeling was so great here we opted not to go on any snorkeling tours #some people that took these out of the resort later said they had seen more here#. Rooms were clean and kept. Beds were a little firm but they were really comfortable. most comfortable bed I have ever had at an all inclusive so no complaints. The little plaza area in front of the outdoor theatre was our favorite place to hang out at night but we did go to the sports bar on a couple of ocassions #to watch a boxing match and to watch a soccer match) Great job there. We went to the Disco two times and there was a good crowd, I really liked that they had one to begin with. There are some mosquitoes. You are in the middle of the jungle. I was really nervous about this because usually I'm a magnet. I survived with only 4 bites which to me is quite an achievement. I did use repellent. I was only bit when I didn't wear it or it had worn off. The staff was great and we got everything we expected and more. we were very happy with our vacation. We bought the all unlimited xcaret xperience and we went to xcaret for 2 or 3 hours a day. We don't think we would have been able to see it all in one day. It was worth it once, I'm not sure we would do it again as we already saw everything but if you haven't been and are going to the occidental we think you should add the package. It was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

My husband wears glasses, the snorkeling was so great that we took a cab into Playa del carmen $10 one way to try and find an opthalmologist so that he could get contacts. We found one on 10th ave near a banorte were he was able to get an eye exam and contacts for 45 days for about 41 dlls. He was able to enjoy the snorkeling a lot more thanks to this. I could not believe the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Witchdoctor43
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 20, 2013

Excellent Resort

Everything was absolutely terrific. The resort is well maintained and the staff are friendly and hard working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel rager
Rohnert Park
Oct 14, 2013

Perfect location if you want to use Xcaret park

The hotel property is very large with may building spread around pools and walkways lots of trees and Maya ruins. Building have 3 floors. To get to beach or pools there could be a lot of walking but ground are enjoyable to roam. The bar pool is very loud which is close to building 19 loudest and 20 21 and 22. buildings 14, 15,16 and17 around the other pool. 10, 11 12 around lobby and restaurants. Building 30,31,32 Upgraded area with private pool and restaurant and nice area to hangout next to ocean. No swimming in ocean because very rocky. My preference in buildings would be 21 or 22, if you don't go for the upgraded royal club. We upgraded to royal club which I thought was worth the money. Food was superior, rooms and service is exceptional and some have ocean view The couple time I wander in to the main buffet i thought the food was inferior to the food at other all inclusives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Xcaret park is right there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vidjoe
illinois
Sep 9, 2013

Walk Walk Walk Walk Walk

I have been to Cancun and PC 20 or more time sense 1994, this is not the place to stay. Good food, Bad beds, Great staff, but if you don't like walking, forget it. Unbelievable amount of walking, No Beach like Playa del Carmen and Cancun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search