$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

4 stars
Ctra. Fed. Puerto Juarez, Chetumal Km. 282 # 307, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
231 reviews
Heaven

It is really comfortable. You feel so relaxed. The staff is really nice and attentive. I would... See full review

  • Monkey10
  • Jun 30, 2014
The best spot for my family

We decided to try this hotel to visit Xcaret during our stay. We tried the Royal Club and it was... See full review

  • Afebres
  • Jun 12, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort adjacent to Xcaret ecological park
The Occidental Grand Xcaret offers direct access to the ecological park, Xcaret. The resort boasts stretches of white sand beaches, 11 international restaurants and 10 bars. There are 769 spacious suites, five winding pools and 10 public whirlpools at the all-inclusive, family-friendly resort. Because of the resort's close proximity to so many Yucatan treasures, you can venture out on day trips and be back by evening for dinner at one of the resort's spectacular eateries.
Highlights:
  • Exclusive direct access to Xcaret ecological park
  • Provides Unlimited Xcaret Xperience
  • Family-friendly with available cribs and a Kids Club program
Rooms:

Expect soothing, tropical colors and Mexican decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors. Rooms include a king-sized or two double-sized beds, stocked mini-bar, cable TV, hair dryer and alarm clock. Rooms range from deluxe to the royal club master suite, which features hydromassage bathtubs, luxurious linens, nightly turndown service and plush robes. Also included are private concierge services, in-room Internet access, private pool and whirlpool, balcony and DVD player. Cribs and extra beds are available to any guest upon request.

Features:

Guests can relax by one of the resort's five pools, hit the man-made beach and cove, play mini-golf, try their hand at archery, tennis or yoga, or spend some time snorkeling in the clear, blue waters. The spa features complementary access to the sauna, steam room and whirlpool for guests looking to relax. If kiddies are tagging along, drop them off at the Kids Club where they'll meet other children and build lasting memories in a supervised environment. For a fee, guests can partake in day excursions to nearby Chichen Itza, Tulum, Xel Ha, or hit the greens for a round of 18. Internet access is also available for a charge. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (46 mi/75 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.4 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (35 mi/57 km)
  • Chichen Itza (129 mi/208 km)
Business­
  • State-of-the-art business center
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 1,200 people
  • Business center and concierge services (copying, faxing, computer use) are available for a fee
Policies and fees
The experience of Unlimited Xcaret Xperience offers exclusive benefits for guests of Occidental Grand Xcaret:
  • Unlimited access and multi-entrance all day long to Xcaret park facilities
  • Private tour, where a Xcaret expert guide will take them to discover the park’s unique nature, culture and archaeology.
  • Reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during the greatest presentation in Mexico: “Xcaret México Espectacular,” a celebration of culture and history featuring more than 300 artists
  • During their stay at the hotel’s Kids Club, infants can participate in a guided visit to Xcaret, where they’ll experience Mexico’s most representative traditions in the Main Plaza, always cared for by the hotel’s expert staff
  • VIP check-in
  • Unlimited reservations during the whole stay in all specialty restaurants (subject to availability)
  • Free room delivery of purchases made in any of Xcaret park’s stores
  • 10% off on meals, beverages at Xcaret park
  • 30% off on a 90-minute Special Mayan Massage “WAYAKA”
  • In-room robes and slippers during the whole stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.5848 -87.1219
Area served
Riviera Maya, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancun Internaional Airport (CUN).
Area description
Area attractions include the town of Playa del Carmen, Cozumel via ferry Golf nearby, shopping, Cancun nightlife (45 min), Xcaret Park, and water sports.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive Rooms

Unlimited Xcaret Experience
Along with accommodations selected, this room type includes the following: Room type of your choice, Unlimited and multi-entrance access to Xcaret Park, private guided tour of Xcaret Park facilities, reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during Xcaret Mxico Espectacular, a celebration of Mexican culture and history featuring more than 300 performers, guided, supervised visit to Xcaret for children enrolled in the hotel's Kids Club, VIP check-in, unlimited reservations at specialty restaurants (subject to availability), complimentary delivery of purchases made in any stores at Xcaret Park (to guestroom), 10% off meals and beverages at Xcaret Park, 30% off a 90-minute Special Mayan massage, In-room bathrobes and slippers, US$920 in resort credits coupons per stay, valid towards selected activities and amenities. Full details at check-in. Restrictions may apply.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms include the all inclusive features of the resort, and have 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a min-fridge, safety deposit box, hair dryer, satellite TV, and telephone with data port. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Grand Romance Deluxe
The Grand Romance Deluxe category features Deluxe room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Romance Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples massage, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Concierge Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as concierge service, Internet cafe access, turn down service, a fruit basket, and a bottle of wine. A 10 percent spa discount is also included, as well as superior room amenities, bathrobes to wear during your stay.
Royal Club
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to additional at a la carte dining options exclusive to The Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers three private buildings with 45 rooms and suites, personal concierge service, stocked mini-fridge, DVD Player, in-room dining during certain times, private pool & whirlpool areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet at the Royal Club Lobby.
Royal Club Luxury
The Royal Club Luxury rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations, including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Luxury rooms have 2 double beds, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Royal Club Junior Suite
The Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations where you enter a spacious living room and separate bedroom with private balcony. Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms also include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Jr. Suites rooms have 1 king bed, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Dining

Le Buffet
Is located at the center of the resort featuring gourmet International buffet-style dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM, Dinner 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Pescador
Offers market-fresh a la carte seafood selections served in an open-air, beachside atmosphere. Seafood restaurant "a la carte". Located in the Beach Club. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Royal Club Restaurant
Exclusive for Royal Club guests, serves a selection international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 11 AM - 4:00 PM, Tea Time 5:00 PM - 7 PM, Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM, and Room Service 7:00 AM -11:00 PM.
Sonora Grill
Offers delicious a la carte steak house delights hot off the grill, buffet salad and dessert service for dinner onlySteak House serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Lago
Is conveniently situated by the main pool in the Flamenco lodging section and offers snacks and light meals throughout the daySnack service available from 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM.
Club de Playa
Or Beach Club, offers an International buffet and for lighter fare in a casual setting International and seafood buffet. Located in the Beach Club. Lunch 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM.
La Hacienda
Is a festively decorated, colorful dinner house offering gourmet a la carte Mexican specialties for dinner only. Mexican restaurant serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
D'Oriental
Features a stylish, Asian ambience masterfully created with red walls, a wooden ceiling, hanging paper lamps and a parasol that is befitting of the delightful Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Indian cuisine. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Kids Club
Kids will enjoy the special kid's menu at the Kids Club buffet, as well. Lunch 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM.
Paco's Tacos
With a refreshing open-air terrace setting, dinner only, Tacos and Mexican appetizers. Snack service 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Morehead City, NC
Jun 4, 2011

Beautiful resort, terrible food

Our stay at the Occidental got off to a bad start when we checked into our room. We paid extra to upgrade to a Deluxe Concierge when we booked, which looked and sounded promising on the site, but was on the third floor of a building with no elevator (not a huge deal, but be aware none of the buildings have elevators except the lobby), and because the third floor was the top floor, the ceiling had the exposed wood of the roof. A fan hung down from the wood and spun precariously, wobbling, seemingly about to fall off. The furniture was old, and the only nice thing in the room was a new flat screen TV. Also, there were three TINY pillows on the bed, and a call to the front desk to ask for another resulted in nothing. Also, the only booze in the room was two pathetic cans of Modelo in the fridge, as opposed to our Sandals honeymoon which included a number of bottles of liquor in the room. The balcony was a nice size but had no privacy from adjacent balconies and looked out over nothing but thick foliage. [...] convinced the hotel to upgrade us to a Junior Suite the following day. HUGE difference. beautiful room, balcony overlooking the pool and the bar, large, gorgeous bathroom. But still the miniature pillows. The resort itself is gorgeous, with winding paths through vegatation, and you'll see iguanas, raccoon-like creatures at night, turtles, and potentially monkeys. However the resort is so large and spread out that it requires a good deal of walking, and some key services are not in the right locations. For example, even though there are a number of pools, there is only one swim up bar and there are not bars at every pool. The beach is beautiful, it's on a lagoon full of fish that you can swim with if you borrow a mask and snorkel from the resort. However, do not expect the long, expansive beach typical to resorts. Finally, the food was honestly awful. Out of five nights at the resort we had ONE dinner that was good. For example, the Sonoran grill did not serve grilled anything, the Los Olivos chicken parm came with no pasta, and generally it seemed as if the executive chef didn't really know anything about cuisine. Desserts were routinely extravagant and tasted awful. Chocolate cake consists of a tiny pressed piece of mousse. Also, you are limited to 3 dinner reservations for 5 nights, so you must eat at the buffet for some dinners. There is only one buffet for breakfast and lunch, and for lunch you had to order the entree off a menu. Breakfast was good though, the only good meals we had with the exception of one dinner. This resort is beautiful, but the food was incredibly disappointing. The staff though was always friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the fireman
Sherman, TX
May 25, 2011

Definitely wouldn't recommend!!!!

OK, I always rely on reviews but I know that some can be a little critical for the minor things. My wife and I are usually pretty easy to please but this trip was pretty disappointing. We arrived at the resort and our first room had no working air and then finally got moved, the new room was only a little better. The temp probably never got below 79-80 even with the curtains closed. Even though the hotel claimed to be 35% full, they were way under staffed. It was only on rare occations that you came across a friendly and happy employee. The food locations changed times of being open and what they served from day to day making it impossible to get familiar with the resort. The pools and beach shut down and lights out around 8-9 pm. Though the resort has very nice views, it is huge with lots of walking and badly placed services(ex. Snorkel equip at the main pool) which is probably a 15 min walk to the beach. Then, we gave in and took the time share tour that was suppose to take 90 min but took 2.5 hours. The food was probably the worst part of the trip. Very little selection and poor quality of food with very fatty cuts of meat. When we asked the staff about the lack of service, we were told that is was low season and the hotel was minimally staffed. I wish we would have known this ahead of time. Now there were some good things about staying here but not enough to make it worth our return. The resort is nicely located near all the major parks like Xplor(Zipline tour), Xcaret(waterpark), and Xel ha(water park). It is also close to downtown. Only a 12 us dollar cab ride. The resort facilites are pretty well taken care of. The shoreline, even though very rocky, was gorgeous. The bellhops were very helpful. The hotel was very good about arranging transportation. So take this for what it's worth but dont look for us in the future! Have a great vacation at wherever you head to!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Xplor which is an adventure tour. You get to Zipline, swim in caves, and drive little swamp cars down trails and though caves! Well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
May 18, 2011

Occidental Grand Xcaret

The room was clean and the view of the jungle from our room was fantastic! We saw a spider monkey on our balcony, Iguanas in trees, and two animals we had never heard of before (agouti and coatimudis) nearly every time we came out on the balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is very bland and not as many options as we have found in other all-inclusive resorts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
May 1, 2011

Would Reccomend With a Few Warnings

The Hotel grounds and structures were very impressive and beautiful. We really enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere with all of the birds chirping, palm trees, and the buildings that were full of old world flavor. Food was average at most of the restaurants but we really liked El Pescador. The buffet is just that... A buffet. The food is left under heat lamps until it gets shriveled up but there is always fruit and good pastries available. I had read reviews before we left about the bad attitudes of the staff but I thought that since I am a good tipper and pretty fun that I could surpass this. Not the case. The staff at the bars around the pool, the buffet, and a few of the restaurants seemed like maybe they almost despised having to serve us even though I always gave generously. They weren't all bad however and we made friends with a few of the staff that appreciated our gratuity. By the end of our trip it kind of left a bad taste in our mouth. When we went to check out there was about 60 us dollar gratuity added on top of the 150.00 or so that I had already shelled out and people were still less than nice. Just heed my warning if you're going to the Occidental and be prepared for it. You can still have a good time if you focus on the positives. We spent alot of time at the pools and the beach which we loved because it is man made and my wife is not a fan of the crashing waves of the ocean. This allowed her to be able to swim and enjoy the salt water and ocean. It is a large resort with beautiful scenery. Take advantage of it and soak it in and try not to let the onry staff get to you. They must have their reasons. Although it is called an "all inclusive" it still comes with a price but it is worth it in my opinion. Just don't head in with the attitude that you will be waited on hand and foot and there will be no charges. This was not our first time nor will it be our last all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab into the Walmart on the first day and get a bottle of alcohol and some beers if you're a drinker. Also get some snacks so that you don't have to go down to the snack bar or buffet when you get a little hungry. The drinks are watered down so it helps to have some good stuff in your room so that you can have a real drink before you head out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappy client
florida
Apr 27, 2011

not what i expected at all

My husband and I have traveled in the past a lot cruises land etc. The truth is that we needed some time off and enjoy ourselves we are in our 30's and were thinking of somewhere fun bars,maybe dance a little. Nice restaurant clean room that is not much to ask for. So we thought the Hotel is nice but run down Super huge be prepared to work I counted 800 steps literally from our room to lobby. Also they advertise having 11 retaurants and they do have them but you are not allowed in restaurant without a reservation and you must make it before 5 pm and if you are staying in the hotel for 7 days you are permitted 4 reservations and if you miss one reservation oh well you can not reschedule. If you want music and fun and you are young this is not the place for you I have never been more bored I actually was counting the days to go back food was mediocre, Alcohol was not premium just the cheap stuff and you couldnt even pay more if you wanted a better type of drink . Go at your risk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

save your money dont stay here

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul frequent traveler
minneapolis, mn
Apr 19, 2011

Pretty decent for the price

The facilities were very well kept and clean. All the staff were very friendly however our concierge was rather useless in helping us with booking activities or making the correct dinner reservations for that matter. The food was mediocre at best but I wasn't expecting too much from an all inclusive facility. Getting around the large facility was also confusing and tiring at first. All the wild animals on the resort were very fun. I would probably not return to this resort unless I had kids

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't wait for the shuttles to get you around, as they drive in circles sometimes and don't ever announce where they are heading towards. it's easier to just walk unfortunately

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lorain Ohio
Mar 30, 2011

not all that

The hotel is nice But not worth all the money I paid If you could call 2 beers in the refrigerator A mini bar minibar not I have to call the front desk just to get 2 beers not at all happy with so called mini bar. we went to the beach which was very small and crowded swimming pools were nice. I cannot compare this to my last trip there is no comparison my last trip was much cheaper and had way more to offer [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 24, 2011

Pretty Awesome Resort

Most of the employees were phenomenal. The resort is beautiful! The only things I didn't like were the lack of 24/7 room service, the fridge not being stocked everyday, and the fact that was only one man made beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids MI
Mar 24, 2011

Great Weather, not so great resort

Great location and grounds. Wonderful pools and outdoor areas. The buildings and rooms were not in the best shape. This is an all inclusive resort and each room has a mini bar. They stock it with 3 cans of soda and 4 bottles of water. No beer or other beverages. It gets refilled only every other day. We had them into our room 5 times during the week to fix the mini bar as it would quit working. Air conditioning system in our room was very loud and kept us awake the entire first night. They worked on it the second day and it was somewhat better. The beds were like sleeping on concrete. The buffet restaurants tended to be dirty (tables not cleaned well at all). Out of 6 days then didn't have orange juice on 4 of them for breakfast. Service to get drinks filled at the buffet restaurants was non existent.For an all inclusive they have a very limited alcohol selection. We had a good time overall, Xcaret was great but we would not go back to this resort. We've stayed at Sandels before and yes they are more expensive but it turns out they are really worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Good luck. Nothing exquisite about it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 22, 2011

excellent

We had an excellent time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top