$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 25, 2014 Check-out: Oct 26, 2014

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

4 stars
Ctra. Fed. Puerto Juarez, Chetumal Km. 282 # 307, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
231 reviews
Heaven

It is really comfortable. You feel so relaxed. The staff is really nice and attentive. I would... See full review

  • Monkey10
  • Jun 30, 2014
The best spot for my family

We decided to try this hotel to visit Xcaret during our stay. We tried the Royal Club and it was... See full review

  • Afebres
  • Jun 12, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort adjacent to Xcaret ecological park
The Occidental Grand Xcaret offers direct access to the ecological park, Xcaret. The resort boasts stretches of white sand beaches, 11 international restaurants and 10 bars. There are 769 spacious suites, five winding pools and 10 public whirlpools at the all-inclusive, family-friendly resort. Because of the resort's close proximity to so many Yucatan treasures, you can venture out on day trips and be back by evening for dinner at one of the resort's spectacular eateries.
Highlights:
  • Exclusive direct access to Xcaret ecological park
  • Provides Unlimited Xcaret Xperience
  • Family-friendly with available cribs and a Kids Club program
Rooms:

Expect soothing, tropical colors and Mexican decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors. Rooms include a king-sized or two double-sized beds, stocked mini-bar, cable TV, hair dryer and alarm clock. Rooms range from deluxe to the royal club master suite, which features hydromassage bathtubs, luxurious linens, nightly turndown service and plush robes. Also included are private concierge services, in-room Internet access, private pool and whirlpool, balcony and DVD player. Cribs and extra beds are available to any guest upon request.

Features:

Guests can relax by one of the resort's five pools, hit the man-made beach and cove, play mini-golf, try their hand at archery, tennis or yoga, or spend some time snorkeling in the clear, blue waters. The spa features complementary access to the sauna, steam room and whirlpool for guests looking to relax. If kiddies are tagging along, drop them off at the Kids Club where they'll meet other children and build lasting memories in a supervised environment. For a fee, guests can partake in day excursions to nearby Chichen Itza, Tulum, Xel Ha, or hit the greens for a round of 18. Internet access is also available for a charge. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (46 mi/75 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.4 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (35 mi/57 km)
  • Chichen Itza (129 mi/208 km)
Business­
  • State-of-the-art business center
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 1,200 people
  • Business center and concierge services (copying, faxing, computer use) are available for a fee
Policies and fees
The experience of Unlimited Xcaret Xperience offers exclusive benefits for guests of Occidental Grand Xcaret:
  • Unlimited access and multi-entrance all day long to Xcaret park facilities
  • Private tour, where a Xcaret expert guide will take them to discover the park’s unique nature, culture and archaeology.
  • Reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during the greatest presentation in Mexico: “Xcaret México Espectacular,” a celebration of culture and history featuring more than 300 artists
  • During their stay at the hotel’s Kids Club, infants can participate in a guided visit to Xcaret, where they’ll experience Mexico’s most representative traditions in the Main Plaza, always cared for by the hotel’s expert staff
  • VIP check-in
  • Unlimited reservations during the whole stay in all specialty restaurants (subject to availability)
  • Free room delivery of purchases made in any of Xcaret park’s stores
  • 10% off on meals, beverages at Xcaret park
  • 30% off on a 90-minute Special Mayan Massage “WAYAKA”
  • In-room robes and slippers during the whole stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.5848 -87.1219
Area served
Riviera Maya, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancun Internaional Airport (CUN).
Area description
Area attractions include the town of Playa del Carmen, Cozumel via ferry Golf nearby, shopping, Cancun nightlife (45 min), Xcaret Park, and water sports.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive Rooms

Unlimited Xcaret Experience
Along with accommodations selected, this room type includes the following: Room type of your choice, Unlimited and multi-entrance access to Xcaret Park, private guided tour of Xcaret Park facilities, reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during Xcaret Mxico Espectacular, a celebration of Mexican culture and history featuring more than 300 performers, guided, supervised visit to Xcaret for children enrolled in the hotel's Kids Club, VIP check-in, unlimited reservations at specialty restaurants (subject to availability), complimentary delivery of purchases made in any stores at Xcaret Park (to guestroom), 10% off meals and beverages at Xcaret Park, 30% off a 90-minute Special Mayan massage, In-room bathrobes and slippers, US$920 in resort credits coupons per stay, valid towards selected activities and amenities. Full details at check-in. Restrictions may apply.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms include the all inclusive features of the resort, and have 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a min-fridge, safety deposit box, hair dryer, satellite TV, and telephone with data port. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Grand Romance Deluxe
The Grand Romance Deluxe category features Deluxe room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Romance Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples massage, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Concierge Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as concierge service, Internet cafe access, turn down service, a fruit basket, and a bottle of wine. A 10 percent spa discount is also included, as well as superior room amenities, bathrobes to wear during your stay.
Royal Club
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to additional at a la carte dining options exclusive to The Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers three private buildings with 45 rooms and suites, personal concierge service, stocked mini-fridge, DVD Player, in-room dining during certain times, private pool & whirlpool areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet at the Royal Club Lobby.
Royal Club Luxury
The Royal Club Luxury rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations, including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Luxury rooms have 2 double beds, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Royal Club Junior Suite
The Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations where you enter a spacious living room and separate bedroom with private balcony. Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms also include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Jr. Suites rooms have 1 king bed, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Dining

Le Buffet
Is located at the center of the resort featuring gourmet International buffet-style dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM, Dinner 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Pescador
Offers market-fresh a la carte seafood selections served in an open-air, beachside atmosphere. Seafood restaurant "a la carte". Located in the Beach Club. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Royal Club Restaurant
Exclusive for Royal Club guests, serves a selection international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 11 AM - 4:00 PM, Tea Time 5:00 PM - 7 PM, Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM, and Room Service 7:00 AM -11:00 PM.
Sonora Grill
Offers delicious a la carte steak house delights hot off the grill, buffet salad and dessert service for dinner onlySteak House serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Lago
Is conveniently situated by the main pool in the Flamenco lodging section and offers snacks and light meals throughout the daySnack service available from 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM.
Club de Playa
Or Beach Club, offers an International buffet and for lighter fare in a casual setting International and seafood buffet. Located in the Beach Club. Lunch 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM.
La Hacienda
Is a festively decorated, colorful dinner house offering gourmet a la carte Mexican specialties for dinner only. Mexican restaurant serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
D'Oriental
Features a stylish, Asian ambience masterfully created with red walls, a wooden ceiling, hanging paper lamps and a parasol that is befitting of the delightful Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Indian cuisine. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Kids Club
Kids will enjoy the special kid's menu at the Kids Club buffet, as well. Lunch 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM.
Paco's Tacos
With a refreshing open-air terrace setting, dinner only, Tacos and Mexican appetizers. Snack service 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori77h
Business
Florida
Jun 10, 2012

Beautiful resort and Royal club was great!

I absolutely loved the royal club and glad we upgraded. We are not vacation club owners and we were never bothered onced to become one. It may have been the people just assumed we were since we stayed in that area. I do not think we would of enjoyed it as much if we did not upgrade. The drinks were stronger the food was better and service was amazing in the royal club. We went to a couple other pools and restaurants and I felt the drinks were either watered down or had no alcohol and service was slow( btw we tipped every drink and it may have made a small difference ). I felt the bartenders were over worked at some places. The food was ok outside the royal club. We love Explor and going into Playa del Carmen. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept I just feel if you don't upgrade you are not getting the best service...I have stayed at the Riu and service was better as well as food. I would only recommend this place if you are staying at the royal club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pacos tacos was a good find:).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ooley
Business
Bloomington, IN
May 7, 2012

Our dream vacation

Our trip to the Occidental Grand Flamenco was truely perfect! Upon our arrival Ruth (manager on duty) was very helpful in assisting us with checking in and getting acquainted with the facility. She would even check on us from day to day to make sure our stay was what we expected. We made friends with Juan, the facility shuttle driver. He is a human encyclopedia! This guy could tell you about all the animals that roam freely about the facility and he also knew the local area quite well. If you like snorkeling please find lifeguard Emelio at the beach club. He helped us to overcome our fears of the open water and showed us wonderful sights along the corral reef that abounds with life right there at the resort! After all the snorkeling we of course needed food. And once again this resort delivered. We did not have a bad meal the entire time we were there. A waiter named Fabian at the beach club buffet provided outstanding service the seven days that we were there. We highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not forget to pre-arrange transportation when you are traveling the Riviera Maya.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cuddlina
Business
ramsey, nj
Apr 26, 2012

pay for the ugrade

Resort is much too big....People are friendly but don't speak English and don't understand. Food is mediocre at best - BUFFET IS GARBAGE Pay the extra and stay at the Royal Club.....food is more palatable and rooms are lovely - lots of amenities not given at the regular hotel. Be careful not to get lost on the grounds - it's very easy to take a wrong turn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
birdlegs
Business
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Apr 25, 2012

Way above our expectations, Fantastic

We upgraded our room and were very glad we did, We received excellent service in our room and were greeted by the mgr when we arrived. The staff were all great and very friendly. The hotel is not on the main beach but has a beach cut in from the ocean which was great. The property is very well kept and the food was very good. We highly recommend this hotel. This was our first all inclusive experience and im glad it was here. We will definitely go all inclusive again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure and book the Steak and Seafood restruants when you arrive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Man2012
Business
New Jersey
Apr 23, 2012

Great Time

This Hotel and trip was one of the best vacations i have been on. Besides us having to change rooms due to them giving us 2 double beds instead of one King. The staff was amazing, the place was great and everything exspected. I love how the hotel was always upgrading to look better and better each day. Hands down I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure Men bring long pants for the special dinners or else you will not be let in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jemsale
Business
Syracuse, New York
Apr 22, 2012

Absolutely beautiful!

This resort is a hidden gem! It is like staying in a beautiful nature preserve with all the amenities of a five star resort. The pools were expansive - the adult pool was a quiet retreat on the oceanfront. The man-made beach area is a little small but it works fine for the waiters bringing you your drinks! The three tiered setting makes good use of space and the water is pretty calm in this little cove. Overall, would recommend without reservation to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the circus show - it was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EZEDUB
Business
White Plains, NY, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Good value but far from the best

Staff are pretty nice and helpful. Beware the people trying to sell timeshares. They are everywhere and pretend to be helpful staff. Food at the buffet was eh...ok but I have had better. We also had dinner at the El Pescador, the seafood restuarant which was nice, the food was good (even though I'm not a seafood person). It was windy but at least we were outside. Good location right be the water. Our waiter was excellent. The guy who seated us however ignored us for 10 minutes which was annoying. The steakhouse (I can't remember the name) was excellent. Very good food and service and a nice atmosphere. The bartenders were great and did not skimp on booze. Good drinks overall and lots of Corona on tap. One annoying thing we learned is if you want a spot at a pool or at the lagoon, you need to get up early and drop your towels or something on them to claim them for the day. otherwise, come 10am a lot of days, good luck finding a spot. i think the hotel could have done a better job having extra lounge chairs available one they start to fill up. Another annoyance is the availability of internet access. in this day and age it should be free. Enough nickel and diming us. We were able to buy 30 minutes of Internet time on the computers in the lobby but you waste half that time because the keyboards were bizarre and you had to do weird things to get special characters like @ to appear. I tried to connect to the wifi one day and it said too many connections. Why would I pay $11 an hour if it isn't going to work?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into Playa Del Carmen and go to 5th avenue. Lots' of shops. We ate at a restaurant around 10th street. The food was amazing and cheap!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krice
Business
Alexandria, MN 56308, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Great Time!

This was a fun trip! My sister and I took our soon to graduate sons for a Senior trip....they had a blast...we had a blast too! Food was awesome...staff was the friendliest I have ever had! Each staff member always had a smile and cared about our stay. This was a huge complex, however, was run very well! The only down side I can think of is there was no sandy beach to walk along it was rocky...but beautiful views and great snorkeling! I would go back again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ultimatewizz
Business
Mérida, Yucatán, Mexico
Apr 15, 2012

very spread out

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone who has trouble walking a lot. It is very spread out and even though they have a tram system you have a lot of walking to do and a lot of steps and ramps. No elevators in the bungalows or out buildings so request a first floor room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamo J
Business
Iowa
Apr 5, 2012

Exceeded all expectations!

We found out upon check-out that we were randomly selected to receive exceptional treatment, which amounted to a private check-in with champagne & fruit and a third-floor, ocean view room that included a bottle of tequila, king bed, and daily plates of fruit, cheese, and chocolates. It sure worked, 'cause I can honestly say only positive things about this resort. Know that it is situated amongst trees and wildlife, which we loved. It is not a cookie-cutter hotel set on an expansive beach. If you want that, go to Cancun with the 20 year olds. This place was gorgeous, the buffets were more than adequate, the staff were extremely courteous and helpful. You would have to be a negative, sour crank to not enjoy this place. I definitely plan on returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The specialty restaurants were nothing special. Skip the assigned-time reservations and just enjoy the buffet whenever you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top