$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

4 stars
Ctra. Fed. Puerto Juarez, Chetumal Km. 282 # 307, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
237 reviews
Heaven

It is really comfortable. You feel so relaxed. The staff is really nice and attentive. I would... See full review

  • Monkey10
  • Jun 30, 2014
The best spot for my family

We decided to try this hotel to visit Xcaret during our stay. We tried the Royal Club and it was... See full review

  • Afebres
  • Jun 12, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort adjacent to Xcaret ecological park
The Occidental Grand Xcaret offers direct access to the ecological park, Xcaret. The resort boasts stretches of white sand beaches, 11 international restaurants and 10 bars. There are 769 spacious suites, five winding pools and 10 public whirlpools at the all-inclusive, family-friendly resort. Because of the resort's close proximity to so many Yucatan treasures, you can venture out on day trips and be back by evening for dinner at one of the resort's spectacular eateries.
Highlights:
  • Exclusive direct access to Xcaret ecological park
  • Provides Unlimited Xcaret Xperience
  • Family-friendly with available cribs and a Kids Club program
Rooms:

Expect soothing, tropical colors and Mexican decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors. Rooms include a king-sized or two double-sized beds, stocked mini-bar, cable TV, hair dryer and alarm clock. Rooms range from deluxe to the royal club master suite, which features hydromassage bathtubs, luxurious linens, nightly turndown service and plush robes. Also included are private concierge services, in-room Internet access, private pool and whirlpool, balcony and DVD player. Cribs and extra beds are available to any guest upon request.

Features:

Guests can relax by one of the resort's five pools, hit the man-made beach and cove, play mini-golf, try their hand at archery, tennis or yoga, or spend some time snorkeling in the clear, blue waters. The spa features complementary access to the sauna, steam room and whirlpool for guests looking to relax. If kiddies are tagging along, drop them off at the Kids Club where they'll meet other children and build lasting memories in a supervised environment. For a fee, guests can partake in day excursions to nearby Chichen Itza, Tulum, Xel Ha, or hit the greens for a round of 18. Internet access is also available for a charge. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (46 mi/75 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.4 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (35 mi/57 km)
  • Chichen Itza (129 mi/208 km)
Business­
  • State-of-the-art business center
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 1,200 people
  • Business center and concierge services (copying, faxing, computer use) are available for a fee
Policies and fees
The experience of Unlimited Xcaret Xperience offers exclusive benefits for guests of Occidental Grand Xcaret:
  • Unlimited access and multi-entrance all day long to Xcaret park facilities
  • Private tour, where a Xcaret expert guide will take them to discover the park’s unique nature, culture and archaeology.
  • Reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during the greatest presentation in Mexico: “Xcaret México Espectacular,” a celebration of culture and history featuring more than 300 artists
  • During their stay at the hotel’s Kids Club, infants can participate in a guided visit to Xcaret, where they’ll experience Mexico’s most representative traditions in the Main Plaza, always cared for by the hotel’s expert staff
  • VIP check-in
  • Unlimited reservations during the whole stay in all specialty restaurants (subject to availability)
  • Free room delivery of purchases made in any of Xcaret park’s stores
  • 10% off on meals, beverages at Xcaret park
  • 30% off on a 90-minute Special Mayan Massage “WAYAKA”
  • In-room robes and slippers during the whole stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.5848 -87.1219
Area served
Riviera Maya, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancun Internaional Airport (CUN).
Area description
Area attractions include the town of Playa del Carmen, Cozumel via ferry Golf nearby, shopping, Cancun nightlife (45 min), Xcaret Park, and water sports.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive Rooms

Unlimited Xcaret Experience
Along with accommodations selected, this room type includes the following: Room type of your choice, Unlimited and multi-entrance access to Xcaret Park, private guided tour of Xcaret Park facilities, reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during Xcaret Mxico Espectacular, a celebration of Mexican culture and history featuring more than 300 performers, guided, supervised visit to Xcaret for children enrolled in the hotel's Kids Club, VIP check-in, unlimited reservations at specialty restaurants (subject to availability), complimentary delivery of purchases made in any stores at Xcaret Park (to guestroom), 10% off meals and beverages at Xcaret Park, 30% off a 90-minute Special Mayan massage, In-room bathrobes and slippers, US$920 in resort credits coupons per stay, valid towards selected activities and amenities. Full details at check-in. Restrictions may apply.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms include the all inclusive features of the resort, and have 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a min-fridge, safety deposit box, hair dryer, satellite TV, and telephone with data port. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Grand Romance Deluxe
The Grand Romance Deluxe category features Deluxe room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Romance Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples massage, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Concierge Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as concierge service, Internet cafe access, turn down service, a fruit basket, and a bottle of wine. A 10 percent spa discount is also included, as well as superior room amenities, bathrobes to wear during your stay.
Royal Club
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to additional at a la carte dining options exclusive to The Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers three private buildings with 45 rooms and suites, personal concierge service, stocked mini-fridge, DVD Player, in-room dining during certain times, private pool & whirlpool areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet at the Royal Club Lobby.
Royal Club Luxury
The Royal Club Luxury rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations, including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Luxury rooms have 2 double beds, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Royal Club Junior Suite
The Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations where you enter a spacious living room and separate bedroom with private balcony. Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms also include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Jr. Suites rooms have 1 king bed, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Dining

Le Buffet
Is located at the center of the resort featuring gourmet International buffet-style dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM, Dinner 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Pescador
Offers market-fresh a la carte seafood selections served in an open-air, beachside atmosphere. Seafood restaurant "a la carte". Located in the Beach Club. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Royal Club Restaurant
Exclusive for Royal Club guests, serves a selection international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 11 AM - 4:00 PM, Tea Time 5:00 PM - 7 PM, Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM, and Room Service 7:00 AM -11:00 PM.
Sonora Grill
Offers delicious a la carte steak house delights hot off the grill, buffet salad and dessert service for dinner onlySteak House serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Lago
Is conveniently situated by the main pool in the Flamenco lodging section and offers snacks and light meals throughout the daySnack service available from 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM.
Club de Playa
Or Beach Club, offers an International buffet and for lighter fare in a casual setting International and seafood buffet. Located in the Beach Club. Lunch 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM.
La Hacienda
Is a festively decorated, colorful dinner house offering gourmet a la carte Mexican specialties for dinner only. Mexican restaurant serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
D'Oriental
Features a stylish, Asian ambience masterfully created with red walls, a wooden ceiling, hanging paper lamps and a parasol that is befitting of the delightful Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Indian cuisine. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Kids Club
Kids will enjoy the special kid's menu at the Kids Club buffet, as well. Lunch 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM.
Paco's Tacos
With a refreshing open-air terrace setting, dinner only, Tacos and Mexican appetizers. Snack service 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nettp
Toledo, Ohio USA
Feb 11, 2013

Vacation with friends

We were escorted in to a private room with Rebecca & we checked in while enjoying a lovely glass of juice w/champagne. Also, my husband & I had a couple's massage & Ada did mine. She was outstanding!! Lovely manners, very therapeutic massage & totally professional. The staff were professional, friendly, helpful & treated us like kings & queens!! We stayed 5 days this year, then went to the Allegro Playacar & we were very disappointed in the rooms there. The staff was unprofessional & not helpful. We are coming back to Xcaret Grand Occidental next year for 10 days!! We LOVE IT THERE!!! You all have for the last 4 years made our vacation experience absolutely WONDERFUL!!! Miss you and will look forward to seeing you all next year!! xoxoxoxoxoxo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are carts to take you around if you can't walk distances. The walks are enjoyable as the grounds, buildings and surroundings are stunning.

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tinley Park
Jun 26, 2008

Great for all

The Grand Xcaret all inclusive was a exceptional resort and a great value. They have a wonderful pool area (2 of them), game and activities, many dining options, spa, etc. The only draw backs were that the beach is man made because of the rocky coast line and the bed was very hard. I would definately return to this resort if I every go back to the Play Del Carmen area (10 minute cab ride). Also the admission into the Xceret park is included with the stay at the hotel and is within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, *
Jun 7, 2008

Not a five star hotel

I falled down in the area near to my room. There was water, but they did not have a wet floor sign. I reported the accident and they just said sorry if you need medical care you can see our first aid assistant, but if you require more than that we can go to the hospital at your expense. No one had the courtasy to check if I was doing well or not. This hotel does not have beach!!! That's why it has too many pools. The food and service at the reservation required restaurants was awful. The drinks at the bars were not good. I thought that an all inclusive hotel included national and imported drinks. They only had Corona draft beer. The glasses were plastic. For some reason we lost power in one of our rooms and we had to wait over 30 minutes until some body check the electricity at the room. Same night, the other room did not accept the card key and we had to wait almost an hour for somebody to showed up to check and bring a different card key. We are very dissatified with this hotel/vacation. It is no way we are going back to that place. It is not a five star resort!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Town is about five minutes from the hotel in taxi.

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 22, 2008

easy vacation

I found this property to be very nice. The location was beautiful. The room was standard as was the food. The service in the restaurants was not good. Only 1 in every 5 food srevicers was even polite.Tis would be the only reason I had to not reccomend this facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice animal park was right next door. Alos on the property were underground rivers that were very fun to float down. My kids would of enjoyed them very much.

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
May 7, 2008

Family friendly

The food was OK but we ate at the buffet everyday because to try and get reservations at the other restaurants was impossible unless you did them 2 to 4 days in advance - which we did not know you had to do that. Its very laid back, nothing to do but sit by the pool. To shop you had to pay a taxi $25.00 roundtrip to town as the shops at the hotel were very limited. The lounge in the lobby was beautiful built around the water. Service was excellent as were the drinks. Entertainment in the evening at the theatre was excellent. Overall - if all you want to do is sit back and relax this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 29, 2008

Relaxing surroundings

The Occidental Grand Xcaret is isolated from any highway noise or commercial distractions, giving one a relaxing feeling of privacy. The rooms all have large balconies and a place to sit, but not much privacy from your neighbor, should he/she happen to be on their balcony. My room was usually serviced by noon each day. The hotel is composed of several buildings separately spaced around the spacious grounds, but all within walking distance of the two pools, a small private beach, and the restaurants. For those who don't want to walk, there are shuttles running from the main building to the beach, and stopping at most buildings. The food was generally good, and the buffet tried to have a different theme each night. The specialty restaurants required reservations, and I recommend those reservations all be made on your first day. There are many children's activities, and the counselors are friendly and seem to be adequately trained to care for the children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 27, 2008

Great for family.

Our stay at the resort from the moment we got there the the moment we left was just great. We all can't stop talking about the vacation we had. We do plan on going back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Great shopping just a taxi drive away.

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Mar 19, 2008

I've Had Better

I found that the food was not very good, and it was very redundant even though they had several restaurants to choose from. Also, the staff in the restaurant as well as the staff that was to help with the entertainment were not very friendly or knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel Ha

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 18, 2008

beautiful grounds

The grounds were beautiful and colorful. The food was great (except for one meal). The bed was VERY hard and it was difficult to find a comfortable position and difficult to get a good night's sleep. As I was packing the last morning, there was a cockroach on my bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

buffets were great with a huge selection

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Mar 6, 2008

Excellent Family Vacation Spot

Great experience after staying at the Xcaret the experience was extraordinary. So much that I am returning with friends and family soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel provides transportation to nearby attractions and sites to see.

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Feb 23, 2008

Great all-inclusive resort

This hotel is on the cliffs overlooking the Caribbean with a small white-sand beach around a lagoon. The grounds are very well groomed and the staff are interested in giving good service. The pools, restaurants, etc are all very clean. The Xcaret park next to the hotel is a definite must-do plus, takes more than a day to experience it all. One small negative is because the resort is off the main highway (a plus) there is no easy way to get to Playa del Carmen so one has to take a taxi ($10 one way so not prohibitive). Because this resort is pretty big, one can't call it a 'hide-away', but you could easily very happily spend a week there without wanting to venture out for more action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search