$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

4 stars
Ctra. Fed. Puerto Juarez, Chetumal Km. 282 # 307, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
232 reviews
ALAWAYS GO BACK

I have stayed here 4 times and I plan on going back a 5th. time. I Love the Hotel the people the... See full review

  • Tommy COOTS
  • Nov 20, 2014
Heaven

It is really comfortable. You feel so relaxed. The staff is really nice and attentive. I would... See full review

  • Monkey10
  • Jun 30, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort adjacent to Xcaret ecological park
The Occidental Grand Xcaret offers direct access to the ecological park, Xcaret. The resort boasts stretches of white sand beaches, 11 international restaurants and 10 bars. There are 769 spacious suites, five winding pools and 10 public whirlpools at the all-inclusive, family-friendly resort. Because of the resort's close proximity to so many Yucatan treasures, you can venture out on day trips and be back by evening for dinner at one of the resort's spectacular eateries.
Highlights:
  • Exclusive direct access to Xcaret ecological park
  • Provides Unlimited Xcaret Xperience
  • Family-friendly with available cribs and a Kids Club program
Rooms:

Expect soothing, tropical colors and Mexican decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors. Rooms include a king-sized or two double-sized beds, stocked mini-bar, cable TV, hair dryer and alarm clock. Rooms range from deluxe to the royal club master suite, which features hydromassage bathtubs, luxurious linens, nightly turndown service and plush robes. Also included are private concierge services, in-room Internet access, private pool and whirlpool, balcony and DVD player. Cribs and extra beds are available to any guest upon request.

Features:

Guests can relax by one of the resort's five pools, hit the man-made beach and cove, play mini-golf, try their hand at archery, tennis or yoga, or spend some time snorkeling in the clear, blue waters. The spa features complementary access to the sauna, steam room and whirlpool for guests looking to relax. If kiddies are tagging along, drop them off at the Kids Club where they'll meet other children and build lasting memories in a supervised environment. For a fee, guests can partake in day excursions to nearby Chichen Itza, Tulum, Xel Ha, or hit the greens for a round of 18. Internet access is also available for a charge. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (46 mi/75 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.4 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (35 mi/57 km)
  • Chichen Itza (129 mi/208 km)
Business­
  • State-of-the-art business center
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 1,200 people
  • Business center and concierge services (copying, faxing, computer use) are available for a fee
Policies and fees
The experience of Unlimited Xcaret Xperience offers exclusive benefits for guests of Occidental Grand Xcaret:
  • Unlimited access and multi-entrance all day long to Xcaret park facilities
  • Private tour, where a Xcaret expert guide will take them to discover the park’s unique nature, culture and archaeology.
  • Reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during the greatest presentation in Mexico: “Xcaret México Espectacular,” a celebration of culture and history featuring more than 300 artists
  • During their stay at the hotel’s Kids Club, infants can participate in a guided visit to Xcaret, where they’ll experience Mexico’s most representative traditions in the Main Plaza, always cared for by the hotel’s expert staff
  • VIP check-in
  • Unlimited reservations during the whole stay in all specialty restaurants (subject to availability)
  • Free room delivery of purchases made in any of Xcaret park’s stores
  • 10% off on meals, beverages at Xcaret park
  • 30% off on a 90-minute Special Mayan Massage “WAYAKA”
  • In-room robes and slippers during the whole stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.5848 -87.1219
Area served
Riviera Maya, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancun Internaional Airport (CUN).
Area description
Area attractions include the town of Playa del Carmen, Cozumel via ferry Golf nearby, shopping, Cancun nightlife (45 min), Xcaret Park, and water sports.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive Rooms

Unlimited Xcaret Experience
Along with accommodations selected, this room type includes the following: Room type of your choice, Unlimited and multi-entrance access to Xcaret Park, private guided tour of Xcaret Park facilities, reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during Xcaret Mxico Espectacular, a celebration of Mexican culture and history featuring more than 300 performers, guided, supervised visit to Xcaret for children enrolled in the hotel's Kids Club, VIP check-in, unlimited reservations at specialty restaurants (subject to availability), complimentary delivery of purchases made in any stores at Xcaret Park (to guestroom), 10% off meals and beverages at Xcaret Park, 30% off a 90-minute Special Mayan massage, In-room bathrobes and slippers, US$920 in resort credits coupons per stay, valid towards selected activities and amenities. Full details at check-in. Restrictions may apply.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms include the all inclusive features of the resort, and have 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a min-fridge, safety deposit box, hair dryer, satellite TV, and telephone with data port. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Grand Romance Deluxe
The Grand Romance Deluxe category features Deluxe room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Romance Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples massage, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Concierge Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as concierge service, Internet cafe access, turn down service, a fruit basket, and a bottle of wine. A 10 percent spa discount is also included, as well as superior room amenities, bathrobes to wear during your stay.
Royal Club
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to additional at a la carte dining options exclusive to The Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers three private buildings with 45 rooms and suites, personal concierge service, stocked mini-fridge, DVD Player, in-room dining during certain times, private pool & whirlpool areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet at the Royal Club Lobby.
Royal Club Luxury
The Royal Club Luxury rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations, including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Luxury rooms have 2 double beds, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Royal Club Junior Suite
The Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations where you enter a spacious living room and separate bedroom with private balcony. Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms also include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Jr. Suites rooms have 1 king bed, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Dining

Le Buffet
Is located at the center of the resort featuring gourmet International buffet-style dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM, Dinner 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Pescador
Offers market-fresh a la carte seafood selections served in an open-air, beachside atmosphere. Seafood restaurant "a la carte". Located in the Beach Club. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Royal Club Restaurant
Exclusive for Royal Club guests, serves a selection international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 11 AM - 4:00 PM, Tea Time 5:00 PM - 7 PM, Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM, and Room Service 7:00 AM -11:00 PM.
Sonora Grill
Offers delicious a la carte steak house delights hot off the grill, buffet salad and dessert service for dinner onlySteak House serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Lago
Is conveniently situated by the main pool in the Flamenco lodging section and offers snacks and light meals throughout the daySnack service available from 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM.
Club de Playa
Or Beach Club, offers an International buffet and for lighter fare in a casual setting International and seafood buffet. Located in the Beach Club. Lunch 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM.
La Hacienda
Is a festively decorated, colorful dinner house offering gourmet a la carte Mexican specialties for dinner only. Mexican restaurant serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
D'Oriental
Features a stylish, Asian ambience masterfully created with red walls, a wooden ceiling, hanging paper lamps and a parasol that is befitting of the delightful Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Indian cuisine. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Kids Club
Kids will enjoy the special kid's menu at the Kids Club buffet, as well. Lunch 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM.
Paco's Tacos
With a refreshing open-air terrace setting, dinner only, Tacos and Mexican appetizers. Snack service 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BruceB
Burnsville, Minnesota
Jan 27, 2013

Awesome staff

We just got back on 1/26 from a week stay at Occidental Grand Xcaret. We hired USA transfers who promptly picked us up at the airport and took us back. When we arrived at the Hotel we were welcomed with a cool drink and escorted to the Royal Club for a private check in. Our rm number was 32204 and had a beautiful view of the ocean with two decks, one with a hammock off the bedroom and the other off of the living room. The room was very large with a vaulted ceiling separate living room, bedroom and bathroom with double vanities, large shower and huge whirlpool tub. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. We loved to walk around and admire all the greenery. The food was awesome. Especially at the Royal Club, which has its own restaurant,. We also ate at three of the reservation only restaurants. Our favorite of the three we tried was the food at the Oriental. The lunch and dinner at the main buffet restaurant was just ok, but their breakfast there was very good. It really didn't matter because we had awesome meals at the royal club and the specialty restaurants. The royal club restaurant was also by the ocean, very quiet with lovely views. The beach is very small but we walked to the north over the rocks towards Playa and found nice stretches of sand with few people. We also bought a multi day pass for Xcaret Park, which is very beautiful and spent 3 days there. It is a short 10 minute walk from the Hotel. Finally, my favorite part was the Hotel staff. Every person there was friendly and helpful. The people at the Royal Club went out of their way to help us. We had a bad encounter with a tour we booked with a vender at the hotel to see Chichen Itza. The vender did not tell us that the tour bus would be spending all morning stopping at other hotels picking people up before heading to the site. My wife got motion sickness at the last stop before heading to the site due the window shades being closed and we had to get off the bus at Tulem and hire a taxi to take us back to the hotel. Unfortunately the tour company did not refund any of our money. We talked to the staff at the Royal Club and they set us up with a private tour to the site for the same cost. The Royal Club even packed a lunch for us! On another occasion I booked a fishing trip with a dive shop vendor on the grounds for fishing. The winds came up the next day and it got cancelled. The vendor told me they would refund my money, but after 4 tries and the same answer to come back I took my complaint to the staff at the Royal Club. The staff at the Royal Club called the shop and they hung up on them. The staff then called the hotel manager who went to the dive shop and talked to them. The hotel manager was very nice and said that if they don't show up with the money before we left, she would give us the money owed. Finally, the dive shop showed up with my money right before our taxi arrived to take us to the airport. We really loved staying at this Hotel. The staff was awesome, and not once were we hounded by time share people. If you do go, spend the extra money for the Royal Club, you will be treated as royalty there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 22, 2008

easy vacation

I found this property to be very nice. The location was beautiful. The room was standard as was the food. The service in the restaurants was not good. Only 1 in every 5 food srevicers was even polite.Tis would be the only reason I had to not reccomend this facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice animal park was right next door. Alos on the property were underground rivers that were very fun to float down. My kids would of enjoyed them very much.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
May 7, 2008

Family friendly

The food was OK but we ate at the buffet everyday because to try and get reservations at the other restaurants was impossible unless you did them 2 to 4 days in advance - which we did not know you had to do that. Its very laid back, nothing to do but sit by the pool. To shop you had to pay a taxi $25.00 roundtrip to town as the shops at the hotel were very limited. The lounge in the lobby was beautiful built around the water. Service was excellent as were the drinks. Entertainment in the evening at the theatre was excellent. Overall - if all you want to do is sit back and relax this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 29, 2008

Relaxing surroundings

The Occidental Grand Xcaret is isolated from any highway noise or commercial distractions, giving one a relaxing feeling of privacy. The rooms all have large balconies and a place to sit, but not much privacy from your neighbor, should he/she happen to be on their balcony. My room was usually serviced by noon each day. The hotel is composed of several buildings separately spaced around the spacious grounds, but all within walking distance of the two pools, a small private beach, and the restaurants. For those who don't want to walk, there are shuttles running from the main building to the beach, and stopping at most buildings. The food was generally good, and the buffet tried to have a different theme each night. The specialty restaurants required reservations, and I recommend those reservations all be made on your first day. There are many children's activities, and the counselors are friendly and seem to be adequately trained to care for the children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 27, 2008

Great for family.

Our stay at the resort from the moment we got there the the moment we left was just great. We all can't stop talking about the vacation we had. We do plan on going back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Great shopping just a taxi drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 19, 2008

I've Had Better

I found that the food was not very good, and it was very redundant even though they had several restaurants to choose from. Also, the staff in the restaurant as well as the staff that was to help with the entertainment were not very friendly or knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel Ha

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 18, 2008

beautiful grounds

The grounds were beautiful and colorful. The food was great (except for one meal). The bed was VERY hard and it was difficult to find a comfortable position and difficult to get a good night's sleep. As I was packing the last morning, there was a cockroach on my bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

buffets were great with a huge selection

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Mar 6, 2008

Excellent Family Vacation Spot

Great experience after staying at the Xcaret the experience was extraordinary. So much that I am returning with friends and family soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel provides transportation to nearby attractions and sites to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 23, 2008

Great all-inclusive resort

This hotel is on the cliffs overlooking the Caribbean with a small white-sand beach around a lagoon. The grounds are very well groomed and the staff are interested in giving good service. The pools, restaurants, etc are all very clean. The Xcaret park next to the hotel is a definite must-do plus, takes more than a day to experience it all. One small negative is because the resort is off the main highway (a plus) there is no easy way to get to Playa del Carmen so one has to take a taxi ($10 one way so not prohibitive). Because this resort is pretty big, one can't call it a 'hide-away', but you could easily very happily spend a week there without wanting to venture out for more action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Feb 22, 2008

Great Decor, Weak Staff, Weak Food

The resort itself was great. All decor, from the lobby to the rooms, restaurant, beach and spa, were beautifully done. It truly looked like paradise and was a pleasure to roam the grounds. The staff, on the other hand, left a little to be desired. While almost everyone was pleasant, simple requests took forever and/or became a project, including making restaurant reservations. It took us 40 minutes to make reservations between waiting on the line of 2 people ahead of us and sitting with the booking agent. That's way too long but is standard as we learned. The food also leaves something to be desired. It wasn't horrible, but it wasn't great either, which we probably should have expected staying at an all inclusive. I would try out a different resort on my next trip, but over all, our vacation was great. These grievances are minor and didn't spoil our time overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Moncton, NB
Feb 15, 2008

My review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

the xcaret was an awsome place to go and have a great time, so many restaurants option and so many pools and bar to lounge around and enjoy yourself. this is definetly a place to go is you want to get away from it all and recharge your batteries. nice clean rooms wtih really friendly service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top