$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

4 stars
Ctra. Fed. Puerto Juarez, Chetumal Km. 282 # 307, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
371 reviews
Heaven

It is really comfortable. You feel so relaxed. The staff is really nice and attentive. I would... See full review

  • Monkey10
  • Jun 30, 2014
The best spot for my family

We decided to try this hotel to visit Xcaret during our stay. We tried the Royal Club and it was... See full review

  • Afebres
  • Jun 12, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort adjacent to Xcaret ecological park
The Occidental Grand Xcaret offers direct access to the ecological park, Xcaret. The resort boasts stretches of white sand beaches, 11 international restaurants and 10 bars. There are 769 spacious suites, five winding pools and 10 public whirlpools at the all-inclusive, family-friendly resort. Because of the resort's close proximity to so many Yucatan treasures, you can venture out on day trips and be back by evening for dinner at one of the resort's spectacular eateries.
Highlights:
  • Exclusive direct access to Xcaret ecological park
  • Provides Unlimited Xcaret Xperience
  • Family-friendly with available cribs and a Kids Club program
Rooms:

Expect soothing, tropical colors and Mexican decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors. Rooms include a king-sized or two double-sized beds, stocked mini-bar, cable TV, hair dryer and alarm clock. Rooms range from deluxe to the royal club master suite, which features hydromassage bathtubs, luxurious linens, nightly turndown service and plush robes. Also included are private concierge services, in-room Internet access, private pool and whirlpool, balcony and DVD player. Cribs and extra beds are available to any guest upon request.

Features:

Guests can relax by one of the resort's five pools, hit the man-made beach and cove, play mini-golf, try their hand at archery, tennis or yoga, or spend some time snorkeling in the clear, blue waters. The spa features complementary access to the sauna, steam room and whirlpool for guests looking to relax. If kiddies are tagging along, drop them off at the Kids Club where they'll meet other children and build lasting memories in a supervised environment. For a fee, guests can partake in day excursions to nearby Chichen Itza, Tulum, Xel Ha, or hit the greens for a round of 18. Internet access is also available for a charge. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (46 mi/75 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.4 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (35 mi/57 km)
  • Chichen Itza (129 mi/208 km)
Business­
  • State-of-the-art business center
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 1,200 people
  • Business center and concierge services (copying, faxing, computer use) are available for a fee
Policies and fees
The experience of Unlimited Xcaret Xperience offers exclusive benefits for guests of Occidental Grand Xcaret:
  • Unlimited access and multi-entrance all day long to Xcaret park facilities
  • Private tour, where a Xcaret expert guide will take them to discover the park’s unique nature, culture and archaeology.
  • Reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during the greatest presentation in Mexico: “Xcaret México Espectacular,” a celebration of culture and history featuring more than 300 artists
  • During their stay at the hotel’s Kids Club, infants can participate in a guided visit to Xcaret, where they’ll experience Mexico’s most representative traditions in the Main Plaza, always cared for by the hotel’s expert staff
  • VIP check-in
  • Unlimited reservations during the whole stay in all specialty restaurants (subject to availability)
  • Free room delivery of purchases made in any of Xcaret park’s stores
  • 10% off on meals, beverages at Xcaret park
  • 30% off on a 90-minute Special Mayan Massage “WAYAKA”
  • In-room robes and slippers during the whole stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive Rooms

Unlimited Xcaret Experience
Along with accommodations selected, this room type includes the following: Room type of your choice, Unlimited and multi-entrance access to Xcaret Park, private guided tour of Xcaret Park facilities, reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during Xcaret Mxico Espectacular, a celebration of Mexican culture and history featuring more than 300 performers, guided, supervised visit to Xcaret for children enrolled in the hotel's Kids Club, VIP check-in, unlimited reservations at specialty restaurants (subject to availability), complimentary delivery of purchases made in any stores at Xcaret Park (to guestroom), 10% off meals and beverages at Xcaret Park, 30% off a 90-minute Special Mayan massage, In-room bathrobes and slippers, US$920 in resort credits coupons per stay, valid towards selected activities and amenities. Full details at check-in. Restrictions may apply.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms include the all inclusive features of the resort, and have 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a min-fridge, safety deposit box, hair dryer, satellite TV, and telephone with data port. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Grand Romance Deluxe
The Grand Romance Deluxe category features Deluxe room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Romance Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples massage, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Concierge Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as concierge service, Internet cafe access, turn down service, a fruit basket, and a bottle of wine. A 10 percent spa discount is also included, as well as superior room amenities, bathrobes to wear during your stay.
Royal Club
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to additional at a la carte dining options exclusive to The Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers three private buildings with 45 rooms and suites, personal concierge service, stocked mini-fridge, DVD Player, in-room dining during certain times, private pool & whirlpool areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet at the Royal Club Lobby.
Royal Club Luxury
The Royal Club Luxury rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations, including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Luxury rooms have 2 double beds, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Royal Club Junior Suite
The Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations where you enter a spacious living room and separate bedroom with private balcony. Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms also include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Jr. Suites rooms have 1 king bed, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.5848 -87.1219
Area served
Riviera Maya, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancun Internaional Airport (CUN).
Area description
Area attractions include the town of Playa del Carmen, Cozumel via ferry Golf nearby, shopping, Cancun nightlife (45 min), Xcaret Park, and water sports.

Dining

Le Buffet
Is located at the center of the resort featuring gourmet International buffet-style dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM, Dinner 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Pescador
Offers market-fresh a la carte seafood selections served in an open-air, beachside atmosphere. Seafood restaurant "a la carte". Located in the Beach Club. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Royal Club Restaurant
Exclusive for Royal Club guests, serves a selection international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 11 AM - 4:00 PM, Tea Time 5:00 PM - 7 PM, Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM, and Room Service 7:00 AM -11:00 PM.
Sonora Grill
Offers delicious a la carte steak house delights hot off the grill, buffet salad and dessert service for dinner onlySteak House serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Lago
Is conveniently situated by the main pool in the Flamenco lodging section and offers snacks and light meals throughout the daySnack service available from 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM.
Club de Playa
Or Beach Club, offers an International buffet and for lighter fare in a casual setting International and seafood buffet. Located in the Beach Club. Lunch 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM.
La Hacienda
Is a festively decorated, colorful dinner house offering gourmet a la carte Mexican specialties for dinner only. Mexican restaurant serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
D'Oriental
Features a stylish, Asian ambience masterfully created with red walls, a wooden ceiling, hanging paper lamps and a parasol that is befitting of the delightful Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Indian cuisine. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Kids Club
Kids will enjoy the special kid's menu at the Kids Club buffet, as well. Lunch 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM.
Paco's Tacos
With a refreshing open-air terrace setting, dinner only, Tacos and Mexican appetizers. Snack service 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (371)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
371 out of 371
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BruceB
Burnsville, Minnesota
Jan 27, 2013

Awesome staff

We just got back on 1/26 from a week stay at Occidental Grand Xcaret. We hired USA transfers who promptly picked us up at the airport and took us back. When we arrived at the Hotel we were welcomed with a cool drink and escorted to the Royal Club for a private check in. Our rm number was 32204 and had a beautiful view of the ocean with two decks, one with a hammock off the bedroom and the other off of the living room. The room was very large with a vaulted ceiling separate living room, bedroom and bathroom with double vanities, large shower and huge whirlpool tub. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. We loved to walk around and admire all the greenery. The food was awesome. Especially at the Royal Club, which has its own restaurant,. We also ate at three of the reservation only restaurants. Our favorite of the three we tried was the food at the Oriental. The lunch and dinner at the main buffet restaurant was just ok, but their breakfast there was very good. It really didn't matter because we had awesome meals at the royal club and the specialty restaurants. The royal club restaurant was also by the ocean, very quiet with lovely views. The beach is very small but we walked to the north over the rocks towards Playa and found nice stretches of sand with few people. We also bought a multi day pass for Xcaret Park, which is very beautiful and spent 3 days there. It is a short 10 minute walk from the Hotel. Finally, my favorite part was the Hotel staff. Every person there was friendly and helpful. The people at the Royal Club went out of their way to help us. We had a bad encounter with a tour we booked with a vender at the hotel to see Chichen Itza. The vender did not tell us that the tour bus would be spending all morning stopping at other hotels picking people up before heading to the site. My wife got motion sickness at the last stop before heading to the site due the window shades being closed and we had to get off the bus at Tulem and hire a taxi to take us back to the hotel. Unfortunately the tour company did not refund any of our money. We talked to the staff at the Royal Club and they set us up with a private tour to the site for the same cost. The Royal Club even packed a lunch for us! On another occasion I booked a fishing trip with a dive shop vendor on the grounds for fishing. The winds came up the next day and it got cancelled. The vendor told me they would refund my money, but after 4 tries and the same answer to come back I took my complaint to the staff at the Royal Club. The staff at the Royal Club called the shop and they hung up on them. The staff then called the hotel manager who went to the dive shop and talked to them. The hotel manager was very nice and said that if they don't show up with the money before we left, she would give us the money owed. Finally, the dive shop showed up with my money right before our taxi arrived to take us to the airport. We really loved staying at this Hotel. The staff was awesome, and not once were we hounded by time share people. If you do go, spend the extra money for the Royal Club, you will be treated as royalty there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern ca
Mar 27, 2010

Lovely and relaxing

Friendly staff. Lovely grounds and location (except for lack of real beach). Don't expect gourmet dining, but there's plenty of good-enough food. An absolutely beautiful dining area near the water. Paint-it-yourself Mexican ceramics - my favorite ever travel souvenir.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stamford, CT
Mar 24, 2010

A favorite, but growing tired

This was our 3rd visit to the Grand Xcaret. The staff is still pleasant, but they are short-handed. The towel animal only showed up on the last day of our stay, rather than every other day. The food and drinks are a good value for an all-inclusive resort. The grounds are well-kept, but the buildings and rooms are starting to show their age. Entrance to Xcaret is no longer included in your package. We love the large property, where you can walk off the meal and alcohol calories. There is a tram for those who cannot get around as well. The variety of pools is quite attractive. One is noisier and has games,several have music, one is quiet, and there is an adult only pool. The man-made lagoon is good for snorkeling, tanning or resting under the palm trees. We missed having our drinks served at the beach; there was usually a long line at that bar. Families, couples and groups of friends would probably get the most out of this resort. It isn't great for teens any more, as it is difficult for them to meet one another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you haven't visited yet, don't miss the Xcaret Eco-park next to the hotel. We've been 3 times and always enjoy the animals, aquatic life and snorkeling. You'll need a full day to get the most out of the park.

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brownt
Oklahoma
Mar 24, 2010

Great vacation spot!

Great trip to the Xcaret park. Loved that we could walk there and the nightly show was great. The lagoon was perfect with lots of fish and lots of drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab into playa to visit 5th avenue. Friendly merchants and good prices

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stamford, CT
Mar 24, 2010

A favorite, but growing tired

This was our 3rd visit to the Grand Xcaret. The staff is still pleasant, but they are short-handed. The towel animal only showed up on the last day of our stay, rather than every other day. The food and drinks are a good value for an all-inclusive resort. The grounds are well-kept, but the buildings and rooms are starting to show their age. Entrance to Xcaret is no longer included in your package. We love the large property, where you can walk off the meal and alcohol calories. There is a tram for those who cannot get around as well. The variety of pools is quite attractive. One is noisier and has games,several have music, one is quiet, and there is an adult only pool. The man-made lagoon is good for snorkeling, tanning or resting under the palm trees. We missed having our drinks served at the beach; there was usually a long line at that bar. Families, couples and groups of friends would probably get the most out of this resort. It isn't great for teens any more, as it is difficult for them to meet one another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you haven't visited yet, don't miss the Xcaret Eco-park next to the hotel. We've been 3 times and always enjoy the animals, aquatic life and snorkeling. You'll need a full day to get the most out of the park.

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brownt
Oklahoma
Mar 24, 2010

Great vacation spot!

Great trip to the Xcaret park. Loved that we could walk there and the nightly show was great. The lagoon was perfect with lots of fish and lots of drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab into playa to visit 5th avenue. Friendly merchants and good prices

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City
Mar 16, 2010

Great but big hotel

Really no beach to speak of. Hotel was excellent but too far from the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you don't care about an ocean view or a large beach. This is a great value.

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City
Mar 16, 2010

Great but big hotel

Really no beach to speak of. Hotel was excellent but too far from the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you don't care about an ocean view or a large beach. This is a great value.

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hightower - family of three
Texas
Mar 15, 2010

Quantity, not quality. Not a beach hotel

Overall very nice staff. Food was good but not great. I actually ate less than I normally do. All inclusive would have been worth more for someone who wants to eat and drink a lot and is perhaps less interested in better food or drinks (only Corona served in plastic cups in the main hotel). And smoking is generally permitted everywhere except inside; great if you are a smoker. The childrens' area was nice to have, although the safety belt on the one and only swing was broken for our entire four-day visit. The childrens' presentation in the evenings was neat and seemed to be a big hit with families. The shuttle service was nice and generally wait times were short. There were lots of animals to see as well. The beach area was lacking: it was not in close proximity to the hotel, it was severly undersized for the size of the hotel, the chairs were almost stacked on top of one another they were so close, and it's location offers little to no breeze (on a windy day). I think it was a man-made inlet from the otherwise rock-lined coast. If you are planning on spending a lot of time relaxing on a beach under a palm tree with a cool breeze, you've should go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hightower - family of three
Texas
Mar 15, 2010

Quantity, not quality. Not a beach hotel

Overall very nice staff. Food was good but not great. I actually ate less than I normally do. All inclusive would have been worth more for someone who wants to eat and drink a lot and is perhaps less interested in better food or drinks (only Corona served in plastic cups in the main hotel). And smoking is generally permitted everywhere except inside; great if you are a smoker. The childrens' area was nice to have, although the safety belt on the one and only swing was broken for our entire four-day visit. The childrens' presentation in the evenings was neat and seemed to be a big hit with families. The shuttle service was nice and generally wait times were short. There were lots of animals to see as well. The beach area was lacking: it was not in close proximity to the hotel, it was severly undersized for the size of the hotel, the chairs were almost stacked on top of one another they were so close, and it's location offers little to no breeze (on a windy day). I think it was a man-made inlet from the otherwise rock-lined coast. If you are planning on spending a lot of time relaxing on a beach under a palm tree with a cool breeze, you've should go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Mar 13, 2010

Great Trip

The hotel was great, several pools to choose from, the lagoon was excellent, and the presence of some mayan ruins on the grounds added a nice touch. Several restaraunts available with good food and a friendly staff. Only downfall for this hotel was some of the pools had alot of tree cover which sometimes made it difficult to find a sunny spot not shaded by trees at the main pool. Otherwise a great time, have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Two tours I would strongly recommend for anyone looking to have a good time are "Tulum Xtreme" and "Snorkeling Adventure". Tulum xtreme consisted of a trip to tour a mayan village and temples, followed by repelling, zip lining, and snorkeling through an underwater cave. The snorkeling adventure was excellent going through great reefs and being guided around by a great group of guides. Those are two tours that provided excellent service and fun!! Enjoy!!

Back to menu Return to top