$272 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

4 stars
Ctra. Fed. Puerto Juarez, Chetumal Km. 282 # 307, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
233 reviews
ALAWAYS GO BACK

I have stayed here 4 times and I plan on going back a 5th. time. I Love the Hotel the people the... See full review

  • Tommy COOTS
  • Nov 20, 2014
Heaven

It is really comfortable. You feel so relaxed. The staff is really nice and attentive. I would... See full review

  • Monkey10
  • Jun 30, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort adjacent to Xcaret ecological park
The Occidental Grand Xcaret offers direct access to the ecological park, Xcaret. The resort boasts stretches of white sand beaches, 11 international restaurants and 10 bars. There are 769 spacious suites, five winding pools and 10 public whirlpools at the all-inclusive, family-friendly resort. Because of the resort's close proximity to so many Yucatan treasures, you can venture out on day trips and be back by evening for dinner at one of the resort's spectacular eateries.
Highlights:
  • Exclusive direct access to Xcaret ecological park
  • Provides Unlimited Xcaret Xperience
  • Family-friendly with available cribs and a Kids Club program
Rooms:

Expect soothing, tropical colors and Mexican decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors. Rooms include a king-sized or two double-sized beds, stocked mini-bar, cable TV, hair dryer and alarm clock. Rooms range from deluxe to the royal club master suite, which features hydromassage bathtubs, luxurious linens, nightly turndown service and plush robes. Also included are private concierge services, in-room Internet access, private pool and whirlpool, balcony and DVD player. Cribs and extra beds are available to any guest upon request.

Features:

Guests can relax by one of the resort's five pools, hit the man-made beach and cove, play mini-golf, try their hand at archery, tennis or yoga, or spend some time snorkeling in the clear, blue waters. The spa features complementary access to the sauna, steam room and whirlpool for guests looking to relax. If kiddies are tagging along, drop them off at the Kids Club where they'll meet other children and build lasting memories in a supervised environment. For a fee, guests can partake in day excursions to nearby Chichen Itza, Tulum, Xel Ha, or hit the greens for a round of 18. Internet access is also available for a charge. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (46 mi/75 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.4 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (35 mi/57 km)
  • Chichen Itza (129 mi/208 km)
Business­
  • State-of-the-art business center
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 1,200 people
  • Business center and concierge services (copying, faxing, computer use) are available for a fee
Policies and fees
The experience of Unlimited Xcaret Xperience offers exclusive benefits for guests of Occidental Grand Xcaret:
  • Unlimited access and multi-entrance all day long to Xcaret park facilities
  • Private tour, where a Xcaret expert guide will take them to discover the park’s unique nature, culture and archaeology.
  • Reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during the greatest presentation in Mexico: “Xcaret México Espectacular,” a celebration of culture and history featuring more than 300 artists
  • During their stay at the hotel’s Kids Club, infants can participate in a guided visit to Xcaret, where they’ll experience Mexico’s most representative traditions in the Main Plaza, always cared for by the hotel’s expert staff
  • VIP check-in
  • Unlimited reservations during the whole stay in all specialty restaurants (subject to availability)
  • Free room delivery of purchases made in any of Xcaret park’s stores
  • 10% off on meals, beverages at Xcaret park
  • 30% off on a 90-minute Special Mayan Massage “WAYAKA”
  • In-room robes and slippers during the whole stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive Rooms

Unlimited Xcaret Experience
Along with accommodations selected, this room type includes the following: Room type of your choice, Unlimited and multi-entrance access to Xcaret Park, private guided tour of Xcaret Park facilities, reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during Xcaret Mxico Espectacular, a celebration of Mexican culture and history featuring more than 300 performers, guided, supervised visit to Xcaret for children enrolled in the hotel's Kids Club, VIP check-in, unlimited reservations at specialty restaurants (subject to availability), complimentary delivery of purchases made in any stores at Xcaret Park (to guestroom), 10% off meals and beverages at Xcaret Park, 30% off a 90-minute Special Mayan massage, In-room bathrobes and slippers, US$920 in resort credits coupons per stay, valid towards selected activities and amenities. Full details at check-in. Restrictions may apply.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms include the all inclusive features of the resort, and have 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a min-fridge, safety deposit box, hair dryer, satellite TV, and telephone with data port. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Grand Romance Deluxe
The Grand Romance Deluxe category features Deluxe room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Romance Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples massage, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Concierge Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as concierge service, Internet cafe access, turn down service, a fruit basket, and a bottle of wine. A 10 percent spa discount is also included, as well as superior room amenities, bathrobes to wear during your stay.
Royal Club
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to additional at a la carte dining options exclusive to The Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers three private buildings with 45 rooms and suites, personal concierge service, stocked mini-fridge, DVD Player, in-room dining during certain times, private pool & whirlpool areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet at the Royal Club Lobby.
Royal Club Luxury
The Royal Club Luxury rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations, including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Luxury rooms have 2 double beds, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Royal Club Junior Suite
The Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations where you enter a spacious living room and separate bedroom with private balcony. Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms also include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Jr. Suites rooms have 1 king bed, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Dining

Le Buffet
Is located at the center of the resort featuring gourmet International buffet-style dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM, Dinner 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Pescador
Offers market-fresh a la carte seafood selections served in an open-air, beachside atmosphere. Seafood restaurant "a la carte". Located in the Beach Club. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Royal Club Restaurant
Exclusive for Royal Club guests, serves a selection international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 11 AM - 4:00 PM, Tea Time 5:00 PM - 7 PM, Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM, and Room Service 7:00 AM -11:00 PM.
Sonora Grill
Offers delicious a la carte steak house delights hot off the grill, buffet salad and dessert service for dinner onlySteak House serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Lago
Is conveniently situated by the main pool in the Flamenco lodging section and offers snacks and light meals throughout the daySnack service available from 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM.
Club de Playa
Or Beach Club, offers an International buffet and for lighter fare in a casual setting International and seafood buffet. Located in the Beach Club. Lunch 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM.
La Hacienda
Is a festively decorated, colorful dinner house offering gourmet a la carte Mexican specialties for dinner only. Mexican restaurant serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
D'Oriental
Features a stylish, Asian ambience masterfully created with red walls, a wooden ceiling, hanging paper lamps and a parasol that is befitting of the delightful Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Indian cuisine. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Kids Club
Kids will enjoy the special kid's menu at the Kids Club buffet, as well. Lunch 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM.
Paco's Tacos
With a refreshing open-air terrace setting, dinner only, Tacos and Mexican appetizers. Snack service 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wyoming
Mar 7, 2009

Misleading

Was booked into wrong room initially and not given king bed as booked. Staff very friendly until they tried to get us to sign up as members to their exclusive club - which was extremely pricey. Once this offer was declined staff attitudes changed. This demonstration also took more time than promised and they were very pushy at trying to get us to purchase the package deal. The staff denied having a dive shop on site so dives were booked through the hospitality desk. The on site dive shop was found the day before we left. Was very frustrating trying to find everything on the large grounds. The only plus about this place was the nightly entertainment which was outstanding every night. The resort is located close to Playa del Carmen and Puerto Adventurous - which is outstanding. The Catamaran trip from there to Tulum was very relaxing. Xcaret park was great for the little we got to spend there. The resort should do guided tours of the park rather than just giving a day pass. We have stayed at several resorts in the area and will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping area in hotel zone at Playa Del Carmen is clean, friendly and has the best pearl jewelry store - Delmar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Freeport
Dec 27, 2008

Good option

This hotel was a great choice because we got free one day admission for xcaret park right next door. The park is amazing! and definitely a must. The hotel was nice, but i was a little disappointed that it didn't have a beach. It has an inlet(or a man-made small beach). The food was ok and was a bit dissapointed to learn that I had to pay extra for lobster. However, the resort is beautiful and well worth checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only 15mins away from Playa Del Carmen and right next to X-caret park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 21, 2008

Beautiful place but needs some work---

The hotel and grounds were very nice. It's location to XCaret park was convienient and the park was beautiful. We really enjoyed the evening show at Xcaret about the history of Mexico. The costumes were beautiful and it was very nicely done! The staff was helpful. I do have a complaint however, about our room. The people next door were disturbing moving furniture about, keeping T.V. on too loud, and Snooring. We got locked out of our room twice, not our doing. And on two occasions did not have towels replaced. I also think the food could have been better. We did have a nice meal at the Mexican Restaurant. All in all it was a beautiful resort and the location was convienient. The pools were very nice but the water was too warm. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wsmr, *
Aug 11, 2008

Awesome for when you want to get away from everything!

The hotel was awesome though it takes you a while to find your way around because it is soooo big, but there are always friendly staff memebers willing to help you find your way. The entertainment is awesome, you form a family-like relationship with all the staff memebers (the fun club in particular) b/c you can spend all day with them if you want. The concierge will go out of their way to ensure a pleasant stay for you. The hotel has a small, man-made beach that serves the purpose but if you want a big beautiful beach you can simply take a 10 min cab ride to Playa del Carmen and find a beautiful beach and great shopping there. One thing I will recommend is that you take a lot of bug spray!!! This hotel is where the jungle meets the ocean and there are a lot of mosquitos. I love the fact that they have two-person hammocks all over the place here so you can hang out with your sweetheart at your liesure. It was peaceful, and completely blissful! I also had a massage and the spa is wonderful, they create a wonderful ambiance for you and their staff (like in the rest of the hotel) are very friendly.The beds are firm but not too hard to sleep on I thought, they were probably best for my back because of the level of activity we had while we were there. The Xcaret park is awesome I strongly recommend you go snuba diving and or do the Sea Trek attractions they allow you to experience the most beautiful attraction of that area the reef! Another awesome attraction was the underground rivers but be ware, you do go into some dark, dark caves and if you are even slightly claustophobic you will feel uncomfortable, but at least do the first quarter of it b/c the views are worth it! The beach in the park is beautiful! It's got clear water and a clean beach with a lot of room to sit and enjoy the scenery. Lastly, don't miss the show at the end of the day b/c it's beautiful! Overall we loved our stay there. We really needed a place that would let us relax when we wanted and provide activities when we wanted them and this hotel did it all and then some!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many attractions. (They give you one day's admission with your stay at the hotel but you can get tickets for additional days at a very reasonable price with your concierge)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bertram, TX
Aug 8, 2008

Huge family friendly resort

Occidental Xcaret was a beautiful, huge, family friendly resort. The room was very nice and the staff very helpful. The only disappointment we had was that the pool & beach bars closed at 6:00 p.m. or 7:00 p.m. and you had to walk quite a distance to the main restaurant/bar area to get drinks after that time. The resort was beautiful and I would recommend it, especially to families. The extreme size and the bars were our only 2 disappointments, however, neither deterred us from having a great time on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

To save $$ I recommend using the Collectivo not a taxi. A taxi from the hotel to Playa & back cost us $30 USD. Collectivo cost us $5 USD total from Hidden Worlds park (near Tulum) to the hotel [very cheap]. Note, the Collectivo picks up & drops off on the main street, so you have to walk some, but it's worth the savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington
Aug 2, 2008

Great Get a Way

The Grand Occidental was very comfortable. Our luggage was a little late in getting to our room, but for most part the staff was very accomadating. Getting reservations for the different resturants was difficult. I believe they would rather you eat at the buffet which had a good variety of food. The drinks, although very good, had little alcohol in them so we requested double each time we ordered. The pools were very nice but the beach was fantastic. We enjoyed our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The visit to Tulume was great. I think our guide could have eloborated on the Mayan history a little more. Xel Ha was great too. However the lazy river is not lazy. You needed to paddle most of the way. Xcaret was very nice. The underground water event was really great. So was the show. Don't miss it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chula Vista, *
Jul 13, 2008

Great time in Riviera Maya

My husband and I had a great time. Besides the check-in, everything was wonderful. It was a very family friendly enviornment, and yet it was also a very romantic get-a-way. The food was awesome and the resort was beautiful. Lots to do and see. I will be visiting again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try out tthe Snuba (scuba and snorkling together) at the Xcaret park next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 13, 2008

Family Friendly

The Occidental Grand Xcaret was a nice hotel. It was clean and the room was large. We did experience some very small ants, but I think that is par for the course in that environment. The grounds, the pools and the common areas were all very well maintained. They had birds, lizards and monkeys you could always see. They also had daily activities and nightly shows. The one thing we were a little disappointed in was the variety of food. The food was all good, but much of it was the same even at the different reservation only restaurants. We were kind of hoping for more of a traditional mexican dinner, but never really saw that. The staff was super nice. Everyone was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you get tired of being at the hotel, a $10 taxi ride can take you to Playa del Carmen where you can eat and do some shopping that is cheaper than at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Jul 5, 2008

Last Day was a Nightmare!

There are many pools and many bars for fun, and the nightly shows are great, and the XCaret park is a cool place to have fun for a day. The staff is generally very friendly also. However there were many negatives. The first day we were there we booked 2 different dinners at the steak rest and seafood rest with the concierge at our building. After that we were hounded to receive our welcome gift by attending a 90 minute presentation. These people did not take no for an answer for the first 3 days! We even received a call at 8:30 in the morning asking if we would go...this was very upsetting! The first 2 nights were also miserable in a room that didn't cool properly in bldg 20. Since we came on a Friday, we couldn't switch until Sunday. The second room was really nice in building 19. However, it is like sleeping on concrete (so get mentally prepared). The last night we both got sick eating at El Pescador, the fish restaurant. We now call it the Pesca No More since we can laugh about it now. Here comes the kicker of why I can't recommend this hotel... When checking out the last day we had the bellmen pick up our bags from our room to hold in storage. We thought we'd enjoy the last day at the pool before we left. BAD MISTAKE!!! This was stupid on our part, but we left our passports, my wallet with everything, my school ring, and my watch in my bags!! The bellmen put my bags on a bus to cancun aiport without asking us. The problem was that we flew into cozumel and took at ferry over to playa del carmen. When we checked out at 2, we asked for our bags and they were nowhere to be found! They finally figured out that they made a mistake and sent them to the wrong airport. So here we are with NO PASSPORTS! They offered to bring the bags back on the bus but we were going to miss our flight in cozumel because the ferries run only every hour. The hotel did give a good effort trying to change our flight from cozumel to cancun, but they were unable to. Finally, the second manager booked us a private sesna plane from the private playa airport over to cozumel airport. This was 1970's ish small 2 seat prop plane that was scary to say the least! The hotel got someone to bring us our bags to the airport from Cancun (With our passports and other belongings thankfully!!) We flew about 1000 ft about the ocean to cozumel and got there 15 minutes before the check-in cut-off. So we barely made our flight back to Dallas! You could say that it was an adventure, but a stressful one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

XCaret Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simi Valley, *
Jun 27, 2008

Perfect wedding atmosphere

The hotel itself was beautiful and the rooms were clean. However, the food at the buffet was bad. Not much of a selection and always behind on keeping the trays full. Entertainment; they need to go to other all inclusive hotels and learn. Needless to say, not good at all. The beach; well, it is a water hole. Not your typical beach. Refer to their pictures and you will see what I mean. Lots of other better hotels in playa de carmen then this one. Will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top