$388 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

4 stars
Ctra. Fed. Puerto Juarez, Chetumal Km. 282 # 307, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
236 reviews
ALAWAYS GO BACK

I have stayed here 4 times and I plan on going back a 5th. time. I Love the Hotel the people the... See full review

  • Tommy COOTS
  • Nov 20, 2014
Heaven

It is really comfortable. You feel so relaxed. The staff is really nice and attentive. I would... See full review

  • Monkey10
  • Jun 30, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort adjacent to Xcaret ecological park
The Occidental Grand Xcaret offers direct access to the ecological park, Xcaret. The resort boasts stretches of white sand beaches, 11 international restaurants and 10 bars. There are 769 spacious suites, five winding pools and 10 public whirlpools at the all-inclusive, family-friendly resort. Because of the resort's close proximity to so many Yucatan treasures, you can venture out on day trips and be back by evening for dinner at one of the resort's spectacular eateries.
Highlights:
  • Exclusive direct access to Xcaret ecological park
  • Provides Unlimited Xcaret Xperience
  • Family-friendly with available cribs and a Kids Club program
Rooms:

Expect soothing, tropical colors and Mexican decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors. Rooms include a king-sized or two double-sized beds, stocked mini-bar, cable TV, hair dryer and alarm clock. Rooms range from deluxe to the royal club master suite, which features hydromassage bathtubs, luxurious linens, nightly turndown service and plush robes. Also included are private concierge services, in-room Internet access, private pool and whirlpool, balcony and DVD player. Cribs and extra beds are available to any guest upon request.

Features:

Guests can relax by one of the resort's five pools, hit the man-made beach and cove, play mini-golf, try their hand at archery, tennis or yoga, or spend some time snorkeling in the clear, blue waters. The spa features complementary access to the sauna, steam room and whirlpool for guests looking to relax. If kiddies are tagging along, drop them off at the Kids Club where they'll meet other children and build lasting memories in a supervised environment. For a fee, guests can partake in day excursions to nearby Chichen Itza, Tulum, Xel Ha, or hit the greens for a round of 18. Internet access is also available for a charge. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (46 mi/75 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.4 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (35 mi/57 km)
  • Chichen Itza (129 mi/208 km)
Business­
  • State-of-the-art business center
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 1,200 people
  • Business center and concierge services (copying, faxing, computer use) are available for a fee
Policies and fees
The experience of Unlimited Xcaret Xperience offers exclusive benefits for guests of Occidental Grand Xcaret:
  • Unlimited access and multi-entrance all day long to Xcaret park facilities
  • Private tour, where a Xcaret expert guide will take them to discover the park’s unique nature, culture and archaeology.
  • Reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during the greatest presentation in Mexico: “Xcaret México Espectacular,” a celebration of culture and history featuring more than 300 artists
  • During their stay at the hotel’s Kids Club, infants can participate in a guided visit to Xcaret, where they’ll experience Mexico’s most representative traditions in the Main Plaza, always cared for by the hotel’s expert staff
  • VIP check-in
  • Unlimited reservations during the whole stay in all specialty restaurants (subject to availability)
  • Free room delivery of purchases made in any of Xcaret park’s stores
  • 10% off on meals, beverages at Xcaret park
  • 30% off on a 90-minute Special Mayan Massage “WAYAKA”
  • In-room robes and slippers during the whole stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive Rooms

Unlimited Xcaret Experience
Along with accommodations selected, this room type includes the following: Room type of your choice, Unlimited and multi-entrance access to Xcaret Park, private guided tour of Xcaret Park facilities, reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during Xcaret Mxico Espectacular, a celebration of Mexican culture and history featuring more than 300 performers, guided, supervised visit to Xcaret for children enrolled in the hotel's Kids Club, VIP check-in, unlimited reservations at specialty restaurants (subject to availability), complimentary delivery of purchases made in any stores at Xcaret Park (to guestroom), 10% off meals and beverages at Xcaret Park, 30% off a 90-minute Special Mayan massage, In-room bathrobes and slippers, US$920 in resort credits coupons per stay, valid towards selected activities and amenities. Full details at check-in. Restrictions may apply.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms include the all inclusive features of the resort, and have 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a min-fridge, safety deposit box, hair dryer, satellite TV, and telephone with data port. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Grand Romance Deluxe
The Grand Romance Deluxe category features Deluxe room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Romance Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples massage, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Concierge Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as concierge service, Internet cafe access, turn down service, a fruit basket, and a bottle of wine. A 10 percent spa discount is also included, as well as superior room amenities, bathrobes to wear during your stay.
Royal Club
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to additional at a la carte dining options exclusive to The Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers three private buildings with 45 rooms and suites, personal concierge service, stocked mini-fridge, DVD Player, in-room dining during certain times, private pool & whirlpool areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet at the Royal Club Lobby.
Royal Club Luxury
The Royal Club Luxury rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations, including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Luxury rooms have 2 double beds, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Royal Club Junior Suite
The Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations where you enter a spacious living room and separate bedroom with private balcony. Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms also include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Jr. Suites rooms have 1 king bed, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Dining

Le Buffet
Is located at the center of the resort featuring gourmet International buffet-style dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM, Dinner 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Pescador
Offers market-fresh a la carte seafood selections served in an open-air, beachside atmosphere. Seafood restaurant "a la carte". Located in the Beach Club. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Royal Club Restaurant
Exclusive for Royal Club guests, serves a selection international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 11 AM - 4:00 PM, Tea Time 5:00 PM - 7 PM, Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM, and Room Service 7:00 AM -11:00 PM.
Sonora Grill
Offers delicious a la carte steak house delights hot off the grill, buffet salad and dessert service for dinner onlySteak House serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Lago
Is conveniently situated by the main pool in the Flamenco lodging section and offers snacks and light meals throughout the daySnack service available from 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM.
Club de Playa
Or Beach Club, offers an International buffet and for lighter fare in a casual setting International and seafood buffet. Located in the Beach Club. Lunch 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM.
La Hacienda
Is a festively decorated, colorful dinner house offering gourmet a la carte Mexican specialties for dinner only. Mexican restaurant serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
D'Oriental
Features a stylish, Asian ambience masterfully created with red walls, a wooden ceiling, hanging paper lamps and a parasol that is befitting of the delightful Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Indian cuisine. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Kids Club
Kids will enjoy the special kid's menu at the Kids Club buffet, as well. Lunch 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM.
Paco's Tacos
With a refreshing open-air terrace setting, dinner only, Tacos and Mexican appetizers. Snack service 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 3, 2009

Occidental Grand Xcaret

It is very nice location,great pools,food. We are enjoyed to stay there. But only made us sad is waisting time with receptions. Look like they don't know anything. If you ask them a question,they are trying to sent you to someone alse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OneNole4Life
Business
South Florida, USA
Jun 21, 2009

Disappointing

We checked in at 230pm. After calling the front desk 4 times (each time told it would be taken care of) we managed to get our room cleaned. They checked us into a room that was not clean (dishes in the bathroom sink, bed undone, bugs on the floor, full of mosquitoes). Room service finally came and we began out vacation. Due to the recent flu outbreak, they had over 100 vacancies. Thus, they cut staff and service. We tried to reserve a dinner any of the 3 nights we were there and were told they were full. Very disappointing. Buffet every night was not bad, but got old. We decided to go into town our last night for dinner. Again, not desirable when you pay for an all-inclusive resort. Lets talk about the anemeties. The beds are not comfortable. You might as well sleep on the floor they are so hard. Make sure you run the shower and sink to get rid of the yellow water in the pipes. Bring bug spray, the rooms and properties are stocked with them. Again, since the hotel is not staffed accordingly, expect to wait for your drinks, menu, or anything else. They are doing their best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mayan adventure (booked at the hotel) was very nice. Louis and Tanya are great hosts and will have you smiling the whole time. The trip involves 3 snorkeling stops, a good lunch, and the ability to pay 20 bux for a cd with pictures of yourself taken by staff ( a bit pricey, but worth it as good momentos). Also, if you take the walk to the xCaret park, the River snorkeling is fun for everyone. The water is cool, but it will be hot this time of the year. They are renovating the main stage for the night show (which I was told is amazing) so you will be disappointed with the show (they have it spread out all over the park and is not the same production).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Jun 15, 2009

Excellent space!

This resort is amazing. The food, the ambience, the staff, and the nature were just what I was looking for in a quick weekend getaway. The resort is settled within a beautiful natural setting with animals running about. Though many people were on site, there was always a space to be alone and peaceful. I will definitely be returning to this hotel. I would add that a larger beach space with direct access to the sea would be better. At this resort, the beach area is a cove with no crashing waves, etc. But still a great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meg and Jess Newlyweds
Business
Oregon
Jun 12, 2009

Occidental XCaret

The hotel was nice. It was a 10 miles outside of Playa del Carmen so it became expensive and a little old taking a taxi there and back. The food was ok at the "reservation only" restaurants. The best one we ate at was the steakhouse. Paco's Tacos was delicious and the buffet was really good too. The breakfast out by the beach was the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not buy a taxi service online unless it's private transportation. Wait until you are at the airport and you will get a better deal. The same goes for tours! There are tons of people waiting to give a better deal when you are in Mexico than trying to figure it out before hand. Don't buy from the hotel. Go down to the beach in Playa del Carmen and there are vendors who offer services up to 75% off including fishing, scuba diving and snorkeling!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 9, 2009

Wonderful paradise stay

This place was just enourmous and beautiful! It was full of so many scenic spots. It had two mayan ruins, the beach club provided a gorgeous view of the open ocean. Super clean hotel and staff was very friendly and always willing to help make ur stay more enjoyable. The breakfast buffet was great! Had a lot of variety. The main pool has a swim up bar and definitely the happening spot during the day. We were there every day for at least 3 hours. All in all, just a wonderful stay and I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Any tours/attractions you want to do are available at the hotel but you can easily take a taxi who will wait for you for the entire time or will pick you up at the time you specify.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 7, 2009

Jungle Paradise

We stayed here for the weekend, the Mexican President was visiting the same weekend so we had some extra security controls to go through. Staff were great, food was wonderful, there were two main pools and we stayed at the quieter one. The other was bigger and had all the activities plus music. We were shown to our room and given instructions about putting the room key in a slot to turn on electricity and where the restaurants were, after that we were pretty much on our own. Room was nice, not luxurious, air conditioning was definitely a plus, fridge in the room with drinks appeared to be included in the price. It was nice to see the wildlife, Mayan ruins, jungle and ocean, it made this Xcaret paradise all the more appealing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you leave your key in the key slot in your room make sure you take it out before housekeeping gets there, otherwise they will take it away and you will have to go to reception to get another key and change any other keys you might have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. S. Rodriguez
Business
Manhattan, New York
May 4, 2009

One of the best vacations ever

I travel a lot and I might have to say this trip was one of the best starting from my arrival to my departure. When my friend and I arrived at Cancun airport on the April 1st, we were greeted by our transportation rep. He was friendly, funny and very attentive. Upon arrival at the hotel, my friend and I were amazed at how beautiful the view was. It was simply amazing. We arrived early so our room was not ready; we were lead towards the buffet area. The wonderful smell of all the different foods hit us before we even entered the area. They had a wide range of food to choose from. Whatever you wanted they had. After eating, we were greeted by guest services who gave us a welcome gift and told us about some attractions we should check out. We continued exploring the premises and out of nowhere a few deer’s appears. Then we came up on some Mayan Ruins. We were shocked that there were ruins on the premises. Not just one but about six of them. There was one spot in particular that blew our minds, the big ruin overlooking the ocean. Having the wind blowing in our hair and seeing the waves crashing against the rocks was breathtaking. The ecological path was out of site. There were Flamingos, monkeys, deer’s, Lima’s on the premises. Where else can you find all of that on a resort for such a reasonable price? The night time shows were great, just like the one at Occidental Grand Punta Cana. One could tell that the performers enjoyed what they were doing. One of best perks of going to Occidental was the free pass to Xcaret park. We didn’t have the leave the resort to get there; it was connected to the resort by a watered path. Let me tell you, it is a lovely place to visit. The animals, the show (Mayan Extravaganza), and the activities were awesome. My friend and I were surrounded by butterflies while walking through the butterfly path and snorkel in the underground cave for only $10 U.S. dollars (great price). Being that we were staying at Occidental we had the luxury of going back to the hotel to eat and change and then return to the park w/ no charge. I would have to say swimming with the dolphins in Cozumel was the icing on the cake. We took a $7 US ($100 pesos) cab ride to the dock and were met by our tour rep. We boarded the ferry which had live entertainment and enjoyed a 45min ride to Cozumel. Another taxi awaited and drove us to our destination of Delphinus. Our time with the dolphins was unbelievable. No words can explain the feeling of swimming with these wonderful creatures. (A must do).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must go to Xcaret Park (3min walk) and you must experience swimming with the dolphins (taxi and Ferry Ride to Cozumel).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LaGrangeville, New York
Apr 23, 2009

Perfect Getaway

While we were there we went into town and did some shopping and took the fairy over to Cozumel. The rooms were good but the only problem was that you couldn't see the ocean from any room. I enjoy walking on the beach and there isn't a beach to walk on but they do have a lagoon which was very nice. The resort was amazing, very big! and plenty to do. The shows were great, the buffet food was not bad at all, much to choose from. Overall the trip was great. A small tip is to don't tip until you receive the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Playa for shopping, it's only a short cab ride away with many stores to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Spring,CO
Apr 22, 2009

Fun in the Sun

Hotel was clean and beautiful. Rooms were quiet. The three Restaurants we ate at were all really good. The buffets had something for everyone and were fresh and tasty. Go to the beach club for breakfast! Although they don't have a big sandy beach ,the little outlet was great to snorkel. The free tickets to Xcaret water park is so much fun. Spend the day and go back to eat at the hotel. Be sure to see the show.Convenient local to many tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cypress, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Excellent Value

Good family resort, good dollar value beautiful resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring comfortable walking shoes, you have a long walk to the beach, pools, dining and entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top