$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

4 stars
Ctra. Fed. Puerto Juarez, Chetumal Km. 282 # 307, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
237 reviews
Heaven

It is really comfortable. You feel so relaxed. The staff is really nice and attentive. I would... See full review

  • Monkey10
  • Jun 30, 2014
The best spot for my family

We decided to try this hotel to visit Xcaret during our stay. We tried the Royal Club and it was... See full review

  • Afebres
  • Jun 12, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort adjacent to Xcaret ecological park
The Occidental Grand Xcaret offers direct access to the ecological park, Xcaret. The resort boasts stretches of white sand beaches, 11 international restaurants and 10 bars. There are 769 spacious suites, five winding pools and 10 public whirlpools at the all-inclusive, family-friendly resort. Because of the resort's close proximity to so many Yucatan treasures, you can venture out on day trips and be back by evening for dinner at one of the resort's spectacular eateries.
Highlights:
  • Exclusive direct access to Xcaret ecological park
  • Provides Unlimited Xcaret Xperience
  • Family-friendly with available cribs and a Kids Club program
Rooms:

Expect soothing, tropical colors and Mexican decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors. Rooms include a king-sized or two double-sized beds, stocked mini-bar, cable TV, hair dryer and alarm clock. Rooms range from deluxe to the royal club master suite, which features hydromassage bathtubs, luxurious linens, nightly turndown service and plush robes. Also included are private concierge services, in-room Internet access, private pool and whirlpool, balcony and DVD player. Cribs and extra beds are available to any guest upon request.

Features:

Guests can relax by one of the resort's five pools, hit the man-made beach and cove, play mini-golf, try their hand at archery, tennis or yoga, or spend some time snorkeling in the clear, blue waters. The spa features complementary access to the sauna, steam room and whirlpool for guests looking to relax. If kiddies are tagging along, drop them off at the Kids Club where they'll meet other children and build lasting memories in a supervised environment. For a fee, guests can partake in day excursions to nearby Chichen Itza, Tulum, Xel Ha, or hit the greens for a round of 18. Internet access is also available for a charge. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (46 mi/75 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.4 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (35 mi/57 km)
  • Chichen Itza (129 mi/208 km)
Business­
  • State-of-the-art business center
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 1,200 people
  • Business center and concierge services (copying, faxing, computer use) are available for a fee
Policies and fees
The experience of Unlimited Xcaret Xperience offers exclusive benefits for guests of Occidental Grand Xcaret:
  • Unlimited access and multi-entrance all day long to Xcaret park facilities
  • Private tour, where a Xcaret expert guide will take them to discover the park’s unique nature, culture and archaeology.
  • Reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during the greatest presentation in Mexico: “Xcaret México Espectacular,” a celebration of culture and history featuring more than 300 artists
  • During their stay at the hotel’s Kids Club, infants can participate in a guided visit to Xcaret, where they’ll experience Mexico’s most representative traditions in the Main Plaza, always cared for by the hotel’s expert staff
  • VIP check-in
  • Unlimited reservations during the whole stay in all specialty restaurants (subject to availability)
  • Free room delivery of purchases made in any of Xcaret park’s stores
  • 10% off on meals, beverages at Xcaret park
  • 30% off on a 90-minute Special Mayan Massage “WAYAKA”
  • In-room robes and slippers during the whole stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.5848 -87.1219
Area served
Riviera Maya, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancun Internaional Airport (CUN).
Area description
Area attractions include the town of Playa del Carmen, Cozumel via ferry Golf nearby, shopping, Cancun nightlife (45 min), Xcaret Park, and water sports.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive Rooms

Unlimited Xcaret Experience
Along with accommodations selected, this room type includes the following: Room type of your choice, Unlimited and multi-entrance access to Xcaret Park, private guided tour of Xcaret Park facilities, reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during Xcaret Mxico Espectacular, a celebration of Mexican culture and history featuring more than 300 performers, guided, supervised visit to Xcaret for children enrolled in the hotel's Kids Club, VIP check-in, unlimited reservations at specialty restaurants (subject to availability), complimentary delivery of purchases made in any stores at Xcaret Park (to guestroom), 10% off meals and beverages at Xcaret Park, 30% off a 90-minute Special Mayan massage, In-room bathrobes and slippers, US$920 in resort credits coupons per stay, valid towards selected activities and amenities. Full details at check-in. Restrictions may apply.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms include the all inclusive features of the resort, and have 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a min-fridge, safety deposit box, hair dryer, satellite TV, and telephone with data port. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Grand Romance Deluxe
The Grand Romance Deluxe category features Deluxe room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Romance Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples massage, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Concierge Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as concierge service, Internet cafe access, turn down service, a fruit basket, and a bottle of wine. A 10 percent spa discount is also included, as well as superior room amenities, bathrobes to wear during your stay.
Royal Club
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to additional at a la carte dining options exclusive to The Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers three private buildings with 45 rooms and suites, personal concierge service, stocked mini-fridge, DVD Player, in-room dining during certain times, private pool & whirlpool areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet at the Royal Club Lobby.
Royal Club Luxury
The Royal Club Luxury rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations, including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Luxury rooms have 2 double beds, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Royal Club Junior Suite
The Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations where you enter a spacious living room and separate bedroom with private balcony. Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms also include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Jr. Suites rooms have 1 king bed, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Dining

Le Buffet
Is located at the center of the resort featuring gourmet International buffet-style dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM, Dinner 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Pescador
Offers market-fresh a la carte seafood selections served in an open-air, beachside atmosphere. Seafood restaurant "a la carte". Located in the Beach Club. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Royal Club Restaurant
Exclusive for Royal Club guests, serves a selection international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 11 AM - 4:00 PM, Tea Time 5:00 PM - 7 PM, Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM, and Room Service 7:00 AM -11:00 PM.
Sonora Grill
Offers delicious a la carte steak house delights hot off the grill, buffet salad and dessert service for dinner onlySteak House serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Lago
Is conveniently situated by the main pool in the Flamenco lodging section and offers snacks and light meals throughout the daySnack service available from 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM.
Club de Playa
Or Beach Club, offers an International buffet and for lighter fare in a casual setting International and seafood buffet. Located in the Beach Club. Lunch 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM.
La Hacienda
Is a festively decorated, colorful dinner house offering gourmet a la carte Mexican specialties for dinner only. Mexican restaurant serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
D'Oriental
Features a stylish, Asian ambience masterfully created with red walls, a wooden ceiling, hanging paper lamps and a parasol that is befitting of the delightful Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Indian cuisine. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Kids Club
Kids will enjoy the special kid's menu at the Kids Club buffet, as well. Lunch 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM.
Paco's Tacos
With a refreshing open-air terrace setting, dinner only, Tacos and Mexican appetizers. Snack service 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woburn,MA
Oct 8, 2009

Great Carribian vacation

food was great.beds comfortable enough,landscape is phenomenal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

best location for park!

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlanod, FL
Aug 10, 2009

Occidental Grand Xcaret

Good food, friendly staff. Most rooms have no ocean view. The cheap rooms also do not offer room service. Great pools and an amazing beach. Food was hit or miss, sometimes great sometimes average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Very close by attractions such as adventure and eco parks

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scuba duba
San Diego
Aug 8, 2009

Vacancy advantage

The hotel was spectacular and the staff were very friendly. I'm embarrassed to admit we (I) got suckered in by "free gift" passes to the wonderful park next door that we thought were part of our package deal anyway, our initial morning. Huge mistake, I'd rather wake up to botflies! Kills the romance and reminds you of why you needed the vacation in the first place when you have breakfast with a lifetime-upgrade salesman before you even get your bearings. We were happy with the food selection and dined at every restraunt except the Mexican one. Our favorites were the Italian and the steak house. If you don't mind the summer heat/humidity, it was an ideal time to go due to the current high vacancy rate. I suspect the grounds would be quite crowded when this hotel fills up though. Higher percent of families than we expected as this hotel is associated with a major theme park next door. We visited Tulum, snorkeled with whale sharks off Isles Mujares, snorkeled senotes, snorkeled with sea turtles and scuba dove in Akumal bay. In the adjacent park we swam with dolphins and snuba dove. We had a blast! This was our first all-inclusive and I expected to see overdrinking, however we never saw anyone even close to sloppy. Unfortunately, our primary interest was scuba and snorkeling and this is the wrong beach front hotel for that, as they restrict their own coastal access. We will have to go someplace more diver-friendly our next trip to this amazing area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ignore the "free" gift sales pitch unless you have time to waste.

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Elmhurst, NY
Jul 26, 2009

good but cooling system not so

It is a nice place, great location close to playa del carmen, the only thing its that the AC doesn't work properly and the rooms tend to feel dampped

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Xcaret park is next to the resort

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad in charge.
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 26, 2009

Riviera Maya Vacatioin

The Occidental was wonderful, clean, well maintained with good food at most of the restaurants-they had bars almost everywhere, too. The 4 kids (16-24) loved the Explor theme park right next door. My wife and I had a nice time at the Xcaret Park, also next door. I recommend it for just about everyone, especially those who love a more natural environ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Take advantage of the 2 theme parks, Explor and Xcaret; they're really worth the admission.

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jul 19, 2009

Riviera Maya Trip

I choose this hotel because I was attending a wedding. The wedding was beautiful! The service of the staff in the restaurants is first class. It is not a five star hotel, but the rooms are clean and as I mentioned before the staff will bend over backwards to please you. My biggest problem was the airconditioners in the room. Some of the rooms are poorly airconditioned! I had to switch rooms in order to have a well airconditioned room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

TO do shopping you are better of doing it in Playa del Carmen. It is just a $10 taxi drive that can save you a lot of money!

Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
vacation cancun, my home hilton, ny
Jul 14, 2009

pretty good with exceptions

It was a good vacation except the Xcaret park tickets that were included in our pacakage were not honored by the hotel as promised in our booking, so we had to pay an additional 180.00 dollars, and the transfer service was not at our hotel every day as were the other transfer service guys so we were not able to book other events, food was great, and hotel was clean and friendly..........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewlyWedMan
Chicago, IL
Jul 7, 2009

Great Honeymoon Spot

This is a great choice if you plan to spend a lot of time at the resort. It is spread out and there is decent amount of activities to do while you are there. The nightly entertainment was fun and I would rate a 7 out of 10. Each night there is a different show. There are lots of different animals on site such as flamingos, monkeys, macaws, turtles, and fish. There is also a small Mayan ruins site on location as well. Since the resort is so large they offer shuttle service throughout the day to get you from your room to dinner etc. Don't pay extra for nightly turn down service if offered because we payed $19 a night extra and they do it anyway. The Xcaret park is included with purchase through orbitz, however, most activities inside the park cost extra. Swimming with the dolphins at the park costs extra but was the best dolphin program that i have seen. You are in the water for almost an hour and you even get a foot push from two dolphins that push on your feet and propel you through the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 3, 2009

Occidental Grand Xcaret

It is very nice location,great pools,food. We are enjoyed to stay there. But only made us sad is waisting time with receptions. Look like they don't know anything. If you ask them a question,they are trying to sent you to someone alse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OneNole4Life
South Florida, USA
Jun 21, 2009

Disappointing

We checked in at 230pm. After calling the front desk 4 times (each time told it would be taken care of) we managed to get our room cleaned. They checked us into a room that was not clean (dishes in the bathroom sink, bed undone, bugs on the floor, full of mosquitoes). Room service finally came and we began out vacation. Due to the recent flu outbreak, they had over 100 vacancies. Thus, they cut staff and service. We tried to reserve a dinner any of the 3 nights we were there and were told they were full. Very disappointing. Buffet every night was not bad, but got old. We decided to go into town our last night for dinner. Again, not desirable when you pay for an all-inclusive resort. Lets talk about the anemeties. The beds are not comfortable. You might as well sleep on the floor they are so hard. Make sure you run the shower and sink to get rid of the yellow water in the pipes. Bring bug spray, the rooms and properties are stocked with them. Again, since the hotel is not staffed accordingly, expect to wait for your drinks, menu, or anything else. They are doing their best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mayan adventure (booked at the hotel) was very nice. Louis and Tanya are great hosts and will have you smiling the whole time. The trip involves 3 snorkeling stops, a good lunch, and the ability to pay 20 bux for a cd with pictures of yourself taken by staff ( a bit pricey, but worth it as good momentos). Also, if you take the walk to the xCaret park, the River snorkeling is fun for everyone. The water is cool, but it will be hot this time of the year. They are renovating the main stage for the night show (which I was told is amazing) so you will be disappointed with the show (they have it spread out all over the park and is not the same production).

Back to menu Return to top

Change search