$388 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

4 stars
Ctra. Fed. Puerto Juarez, Chetumal Km. 282 # 307, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
236 reviews
ALAWAYS GO BACK

I have stayed here 4 times and I plan on going back a 5th. time. I Love the Hotel the people the... See full review

  • Tommy COOTS
  • Nov 20, 2014
Heaven

It is really comfortable. You feel so relaxed. The staff is really nice and attentive. I would... See full review

  • Monkey10
  • Jun 30, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort adjacent to Xcaret ecological park
The Occidental Grand Xcaret offers direct access to the ecological park, Xcaret. The resort boasts stretches of white sand beaches, 11 international restaurants and 10 bars. There are 769 spacious suites, five winding pools and 10 public whirlpools at the all-inclusive, family-friendly resort. Because of the resort's close proximity to so many Yucatan treasures, you can venture out on day trips and be back by evening for dinner at one of the resort's spectacular eateries.
Highlights:
  • Exclusive direct access to Xcaret ecological park
  • Provides Unlimited Xcaret Xperience
  • Family-friendly with available cribs and a Kids Club program
Rooms:

Expect soothing, tropical colors and Mexican decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors. Rooms include a king-sized or two double-sized beds, stocked mini-bar, cable TV, hair dryer and alarm clock. Rooms range from deluxe to the royal club master suite, which features hydromassage bathtubs, luxurious linens, nightly turndown service and plush robes. Also included are private concierge services, in-room Internet access, private pool and whirlpool, balcony and DVD player. Cribs and extra beds are available to any guest upon request.

Features:

Guests can relax by one of the resort's five pools, hit the man-made beach and cove, play mini-golf, try their hand at archery, tennis or yoga, or spend some time snorkeling in the clear, blue waters. The spa features complementary access to the sauna, steam room and whirlpool for guests looking to relax. If kiddies are tagging along, drop them off at the Kids Club where they'll meet other children and build lasting memories in a supervised environment. For a fee, guests can partake in day excursions to nearby Chichen Itza, Tulum, Xel Ha, or hit the greens for a round of 18. Internet access is also available for a charge. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (46 mi/75 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/8.4 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (35 mi/57 km)
  • Chichen Itza (129 mi/208 km)
Business­
  • State-of-the-art business center
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 1,200 people
  • Business center and concierge services (copying, faxing, computer use) are available for a fee
Policies and fees
The experience of Unlimited Xcaret Xperience offers exclusive benefits for guests of Occidental Grand Xcaret:
  • Unlimited access and multi-entrance all day long to Xcaret park facilities
  • Private tour, where a Xcaret expert guide will take them to discover the park’s unique nature, culture and archaeology.
  • Reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during the greatest presentation in Mexico: “Xcaret México Espectacular,” a celebration of culture and history featuring more than 300 artists
  • During their stay at the hotel’s Kids Club, infants can participate in a guided visit to Xcaret, where they’ll experience Mexico’s most representative traditions in the Main Plaza, always cared for by the hotel’s expert staff
  • VIP check-in
  • Unlimited reservations during the whole stay in all specialty restaurants (subject to availability)
  • Free room delivery of purchases made in any of Xcaret park’s stores
  • 10% off on meals, beverages at Xcaret park
  • 30% off on a 90-minute Special Mayan Massage “WAYAKA”
  • In-room robes and slippers during the whole stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive Rooms

Unlimited Xcaret Experience
Along with accommodations selected, this room type includes the following: Room type of your choice, Unlimited and multi-entrance access to Xcaret Park, private guided tour of Xcaret Park facilities, reserved area at the Gran Tlachco Theater during Xcaret Mxico Espectacular, a celebration of Mexican culture and history featuring more than 300 performers, guided, supervised visit to Xcaret for children enrolled in the hotel's Kids Club, VIP check-in, unlimited reservations at specialty restaurants (subject to availability), complimentary delivery of purchases made in any stores at Xcaret Park (to guestroom), 10% off meals and beverages at Xcaret Park, 30% off a 90-minute Special Mayan massage, In-room bathrobes and slippers, US$920 in resort credits coupons per stay, valid towards selected activities and amenities. Full details at check-in. Restrictions may apply.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms include the all inclusive features of the resort, and have 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a min-fridge, safety deposit box, hair dryer, satellite TV, and telephone with data port. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Grand Romance Deluxe
The Grand Romance Deluxe category features Deluxe room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Romance Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples massage, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10 percent spa discount, turn down service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Grand Concierge Junior Suite
This category features Jr Suite room inclusions, as well as concierge service, Internet cafe access, turn down service, a fruit basket, and a bottle of wine. A 10 percent spa discount is also included, as well as superior room amenities, bathrobes to wear during your stay.
Royal Club
Guests of the Royal Club will enjoy spacious rooms and suites with luxury accommodations including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service, fruit basket and plush bath robes. From private check-in and check-out receptions to special access to additional at a la carte dining options exclusive to The Royal Club members, guests are sure to have a uniquely royal experience. The Royal Club offers three private buildings with 45 rooms and suites, personal concierge service, stocked mini-fridge, DVD Player, in-room dining during certain times, private pool & whirlpool areas, preferred seating at a la carte restaurants & complimentary high speed internet at the Royal Club Lobby.
Royal Club Luxury
The Royal Club Luxury rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations, including hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Luxury rooms have 2 double beds, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Royal Club Junior Suite
The Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms include all of the resort's all-inclusive features and guests will enjoy spacious accommodations where you enter a spacious living room and separate bedroom with private balcony. Royal Club Jr. Suite rooms also include hydro-massage bathtubs, luxurious linens and pillows, Etro toiletries, nightly turndown service and plush robes. The Royal Club accommodations begin with private check-in and reception, and concierge services, in-room Internet access, in-room dining, a private pool and whirlpool, private restaurant and bar. The Royal Club Jr. Suites rooms have 1 king bed, stocked mini-fridge and include safety deposit box, hair dryer, and telephone with data port, air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access, daily news delivery upon request, private balcony and DVD player. Each mini-fridge has water, beer, and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Dining

Le Buffet
Is located at the center of the resort featuring gourmet International buffet-style dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM, Dinner 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Pescador
Offers market-fresh a la carte seafood selections served in an open-air, beachside atmosphere. Seafood restaurant "a la carte". Located in the Beach Club. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Royal Club Restaurant
Exclusive for Royal Club guests, serves a selection international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast 7:00 AM - 10:30 AM, Lunch 11 AM - 4:00 PM, Tea Time 5:00 PM - 7 PM, Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM, and Room Service 7:00 AM -11:00 PM.
Sonora Grill
Offers delicious a la carte steak house delights hot off the grill, buffet salad and dessert service for dinner onlySteak House serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
El Lago
Is conveniently situated by the main pool in the Flamenco lodging section and offers snacks and light meals throughout the daySnack service available from 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM.
Club de Playa
Or Beach Club, offers an International buffet and for lighter fare in a casual setting International and seafood buffet. Located in the Beach Club. Lunch 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM.
La Hacienda
Is a festively decorated, colorful dinner house offering gourmet a la carte Mexican specialties for dinner only. Mexican restaurant serving dinner from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
D'Oriental
Features a stylish, Asian ambience masterfully created with red walls, a wooden ceiling, hanging paper lamps and a parasol that is befitting of the delightful Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Indian cuisine. Dinner 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Kids Club
Kids will enjoy the special kid's menu at the Kids Club buffet, as well. Lunch 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM.
Paco's Tacos
With a refreshing open-air terrace setting, dinner only, Tacos and Mexican appetizers. Snack service 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 2, 2010

Great value!!

First time to Mexico and it was awesome. Great value! Very friendly staff that made the trip enjoyable. If you like the big crowded beach this is not the place for you, but if you like relaxing by the pool with plenty of drinks and food you've found the place!! Lot of extra activities for the whole family too. Only down side was I could not get a reservation at any of the restaurants. Place was only about 40% filled and only 2 restaurants open. The buffet was very good though, so we still got plenty to eat!! I'd go back without a second thought.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Everyone tries to sell you something. Beware of the "time share" vultures!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canoera
Business
Cancun
May 23, 2010

good

the hotel was in a perfect location, because the purpose of my trip was to be in Xcaret for the travesia Maya. I'll be there next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, AB Canada
May 23, 2010

Very high class for an all inclusive

This was for a family weddding. The only problem that we had was that our daughter did not book a "royal" suite and therefore was excluded from using the restaurant and certain other amenities. This presented a problem and the staff was unable to fix the situation for us (cost not being a factor) until a few days into the holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tlgmom
Business
tx
May 12, 2010

good vacation, few frustrations

Getting restaurant reservations was a hassle. Either booked always or not taking them yet, come back to the desk. Couldn't just call or book in advance. Who wants to keep going back and forth. On vacation....right! Need advertise more about shows for night and times, and trails with animals. Lots of great pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Xcaret was great. We stayed at hotel so we could walk next door. Underground rivers (2) great. Massage and mud bath at Xcaret is worth every cent!Get a drink in a pineapple down on the beach. YUMMY.Love all the plants, flowers and butterly garden.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guanina
Business
New York, NY
Apr 9, 2010

Great Place

The location is great. It was next to Eco Park Xcaret and also like 7 minutes of Playa del Carmen and the ferry to Cozumel. The hotel is just simply beautiful and the staff is great. The food was good and it had different locations to eat. Not overcrowded when eating. Definetely will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The entrance to Eco Park Xcaret is right at the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
White Lake, MI
Mar 31, 2010

It was a great hotel and they were great

There was alot of walking to get to the pool and the room and the ocean. Was really beautiful and the people were excellent, service was great and everyone was friendly. I want to go back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Dakota
Mar 29, 2010

wonderful location for the price

Enjoyed the hotel, however, they need to install elevators in all the buildings. We still have not found out rather the hotel will refund our first night's stay as we were weather delayed and have made numerous phone calls regarding this. The room was wonderfully clean and we loved the towel animals. We enjoyed the animals on sight and the ruins. We did not really miss the natural beach as the manmade beach was nice. Being within walking distance of Xcaret park was a real plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Mar 28, 2010

Looks Nice but Not

I recently had an all inclusive vacation through the Grand Xcaret Hotel in Mexico from 21-29 Jan 2010. It was one of the worst vacations I had been on for the money it cost. [...] Everything that we saw online seemed fine for the price of $3200.00 but it turned out to be not worth it and to have additional costs. I know about tour costs but there were additional costs from the resort as well. [...] The rooms themselves cost at least $200 a night and there was nothing special about them. I have had the same room in a Super 8 Motel for $65 a night. The food was not good at all. The only restaurant out of there many that was actually good was the Asian restaurant. Everything else had no flavor and the one thing that was everywhere was pizza. I have had better food at a casino buffet. You had to make reservations at every restaurant but 3 and you could only make so many based on the amount of nights you were staying. You could not choose to eat one of there "specialty" restaurant every night. The room service only consists of pizza and drinks. Pizza is served everywhere there but you have to pay for it if it is sent to your room. We asked 6 different times if the pizza we were getting out of room service was included with the all inclusive package and we were told yes. When we checked out they charged us additional for the room service and said that you had to pay since they delivered it. We paid at least $8 pizza that came uncooked and $8 for beer that was at least a year old. The activities that were mentioned online that the hotel includes sounded great. When we got there we found out they were not even held at that hotel due to the surf of the water. So we asked about how to do them anyways and they said we had to pay for the cab that would take us to the place that they were included. The only things offered there are general little games and entertainment events. We spent at $3200.00 for all these things we thought were included. We thought this sounded the most fun and entertaining for our age and it turned out all we did was drink and spend time laying out by the water. Even the drinks were not necessarily made proper. A man who was not on all inclusive ordered a drink with a certain alcohol and got a normal drink I would have gotten. The man called out the bartender and said if I am paying you then you better get it right. To do anything else we would have spent hundreds more than what we thought we were already getting. I went on a trip to Jamaica for a little less than this trip and it was the best thing I have ever done. Plenty was included within the resort and the food was the best I have ever eaten. The personality was definitely better in other places. No one really seemed to care if your needs were not being met in Mexico. I am not picky about this normally but it is there job to at least check on their customers some to make sure everything is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Not really offered at hotel. Will have additional costs to travel to the activities that are included with the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern ca
Mar 27, 2010

Lovely and relaxing

Friendly staff. Lovely grounds and location (except for lack of real beach). Don't expect gourmet dining, but there's plenty of good-enough food. An absolutely beautiful dining area near the water. Paint-it-yourself Mexican ceramics - my favorite ever travel souvenir.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Occidental Grand Xcaret - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brownt
Business
Oklahoma
Mar 24, 2010

Great vacation spot!

Great trip to the Xcaret park. Loved that we could walk there and the nightly show was great. The lagoon was perfect with lots of fish and lots of drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab into playa to visit 5th avenue. Friendly merchants and good prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top