$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 20, 2014 Check-out: May 21, 2014

Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
SM 11 MZ9 Lote10, Puerto Morelos, 77580
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
146 reviews
Honeymoon 2.5 years later

It was our first trip to Mexico and we waited 2.5 years to go on our honeymoon and it was amazing.... See full review

  • Hughes1008
  • Aug 9, 2013
Relaxing vacation!

This resort was beautiful!! Huge pool, daily entertainment, great food (dessert could have been... See full review

  • palmer220
  • Feb 11, 2013
Mayan-inspired Caribbean resort with watersports, unique classes
The Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun is located just 15 minutes from the Cancun International Airport. The resort boasts six international restaurants, seven bars, three oceanfront pools, a children's pool, spa and fitness center. Suites are situated in a mangrove preserve. Guests can plan an excursion to nearby Playa del Carmen or take a further trip to the archeological site at Tulum or the freshwater lagoons at Xel-Ha. The resort offers unique classes such as cooking, sushi making, wine tasting, candle making, painting and dance.
Highlights:
  • Six restaurants, seven bars, three pools at Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
  • Unique classes such as sushi making, wine tasting and dance
  • Conveniently located between Cancun and Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect traditional Mayan architecture in the suites at Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun. Cool marble floors and exaggerated crown molding combine with bright accent furnishings to create a comfortable space that still feels regal and special. Guests choose from one of 496 suites including junior and preferred club suites. All rooms include one king-sized or two double beds, Jacuzzi for two, cable TV, daily refreshed mini-bar, electronic safe and 24-hour room service and Wi-Fi Internet (fees may apply). Preferred Club guests receive VIP amenities, a living room, two flat-screen TVs, private beach and free Internet, among other perks. Cribs are available upon request.

Features:

Guests at Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun enjoy Hobie cats, kayaks, sailing, windsurfing, tennis, waterfall swimming pool and shopping. The fitness center, open daily, caters to health-conscious guests with a stair climber, elliptical machines, stationary bikes, treadmills and free weights. For a relaxing visit, book a visit in the beautiful spa or practice your backswing on the golf course (fees may apply). At night, watch a movie on the beach or participate in Now Sapphire's exciting theme night parties.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (15 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (12 mi/19 km)
  • Xel-Ha (22 mi/35 km)
  • Tulum (28 mi/45 km)
Business­
  • High-speed wireless Internet (fees may apply)

Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Junior Suite Tropical View
The Deluxe Junior Suite Tropical View features amazing views of the lush tropical gardens that surround the resort from a private balcony or terrace. This suite is elegantly decorated in the tones of the Caribbean with dark mahogany furniture and marble floors accentuating classic details. Step inside your very own private sanctuary of elegance and tranquility and sleep on one of the most relaxing beds in the Caribbean. These rooms are conditioned with one king or two double beds (on request on arrival at the hotel), and feature deluxe amenities.
Deluxe Junior Suite Ocean Front View
The Deluxe Junior Suite Ocean Front also features amazing views of the Caribbean Sea from a private balcony with whirlpool and is elegantly decorated with dark mahogany furniture and marble floors accentuating classic details. Step inside your very own private sanctuary of elegance and tranquility and sleep on one of the most relaxing beds in the Caribbean. These rooms are conditioned with one king or two double beds (on request on arrival at the hotel), and feature deluxe amenities.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Tropical View
The oversized Preferred Club Junior Suite Tropical View overlooks the lush tropical gardens that surround the resort and is elegantly decorated in the tones of the Caribbean with dark mahogany furniture and marble floors accentuating classic details. Step inside your very own private sanctuary of elegance and tranquilly and relish in the exclusivity of Preferred Club. The Preferred Club Junior Suites features a seating area conditioned with a sofa for added comfort. These rooms are equipped with one king or two double beds (on request on arrival at the hotel) and feature upgraded amenities.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean Front View
The Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean Front features spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea from a private balcony with whirlpool and is elegantly decorated with dark mahogany furniture and marble floors accentuating classic details. This oversized Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean Front features spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea from a private balcony with Jacuzzi and is elegantly decorated with dark mahogany furniture and marble floors accentuating classic details.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.8788 -86.8659
Area served
Cancun, Playa del Carmen, Xcaret, Akumal, Xel-ha
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Half an hour south of Cancun lies this wondrous slice of paradise, 15 minutes from the Cancun International Airport, nearby Playa del Carmen, Xcaret, Akumal and Xel-ha. Also close to the world-famous Mayan archeological zones such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza.

Dining

Paramour
Creation of L'Hermitage Restaurant was inspired by the prestigious French wine "Hermitage" considered since always, as a Lordly and exceptional wine. At the beginning of the 19th century, Hermitage was quoted as the most expensive wine of France, overcoming even the Bordeaux "Premier Crus"; and with a great reputation and acceptance among the Royalty of the epoch; Produced in the small village of Tain L'Hermitage zone of vineyards in the south of Lyon France, near to the Rhne river; its denomination was created in 1937. Enjoy the French Cuisine of L'Hermitage Restaurant, where every single creation is a piece of art. (reservation required, for adults only)
TBD
honors the "Tequila", authentic and representative Mexican drink, whose origin and production dates back from the pre-Hispanic epoch, where native Indians, the "Tecuilas", invented the method for its elaboration, which prevails to the present days, and is still used by most of the current producers. In these indigenous societies, the consumption of Tequila was exclusively for Priests, Warriors and wise old People, since according to their beliefs, the plants of "Agave" was a divine creation, represented by Goddess Mayhuel. Enjoy Tequila Grill Restaurant, the very best of the traditional Mexican Cuisine. (reservations required)
Moments
Lobby Bar
Splash
Pool / Swim-up Bar in Main Pool
Cibu
The beautiful Capri Island located in the Mediterranean Sea, in the south side of the gulf of Napoli, Italy, Capri Island, due to its beauty and captivation, has been considered as a perfect destination for leisure travelers since the epoch of the former Roman Republic to date. Enjoy Capri Restaurant; Contemporary Mediterranean Cuisine (reservations required)
Eclipse
Disco (Fun Pub) Eclipse Night Club.
Market Cafe
Our delicious buffet restaurant, please enjoy your stay and do not miss the opportunity to have a breakfast, lunch or dinner in this restaurant.
Lemongrass
in the Japanese language is represented by the Violet flower, and recognized as a symbol of modesty; Kyushu is the biggest island considered as the origin of the Japanese civilization; and Shikoku is the smallest island with the lowest population. Sumir Restaurant; Flavors... Texture... Colours... Japanese Cuisine (reservation required)
Bluewater Grill
Right in front of our beach and all the way through Cabo Catoche north of the state of Quintana Roo Mxico, Belize, Guatemala and Honduras, is the "Great Mayan Reef" called Mesoamerican Reef as well; Considered as the world's second biggest, just after the Great Australian Reef. Only in the Mexican coast, its length is over three hundred kilometers, and its total length is over one thousand kilometers. Diverse species of flora and fauna develops and grows in it; in addition, the Great Mayan Reef is a natural barrier of protection, that keep the coasts from battering storms and hurricanes. Enjoy Reef Grill by the sea. House of the very finest cuts and seafood
Night Out Dine Around Package
The Night Out Dine Around Package is now available for guests of the following neighboring resort Now Jade Riviera Cancun and Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun

To take advantage of this wonderful opportunity, guests will need to speak to their resort's concierge, who will make all of the necessary arrangements in advance, including arrival and return times and restaurant selection. While dinner and entertainment are complimentary, guests will be responsible for the roundtrip taxi fare and all gratuities. Important to note is that this program is good for one evening in the same brand of resorts that the guest is staying at and the visit is not to be considered a day pass.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We make occasions extraordinary Make one of the most beautiful and fascinating corners of the world the setting for your next meeting or event. We have the expertise, capacity and equipment to facilitate all of your meeting needs Meetings at Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun offer: 8,295 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space that can accommodate up to 860 guests Four individual climate-controlled ballrooms Infinite possibilities for themed events in unique locations throughout the property State-of-the-art audio-visual equipment Bilingual and experienced meetings and incentive staff to coordinate on-site meetings activities Full-service business center with highspeed Internet access

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
Disappointed customer!
NY,NY
Jun 13, 2009

Poor hospitality!

We stayed at Paradisus early June 09. The hotel was possibly at 25% occupancy due to the lack of travel to Mexico as a result of the "swine Flu". While the hotel was basically empty, the hotel "front desk" was not curtious, unwilling to meet our needs (as in could not provide us with a king size bed- did I say only 25% occupancy). The resort had closed off 4 of the 7 restaurants, the disco, bars, and more than half the rooms/suites. Obviously staff was reduced as well. All closings were done with out any notification to its guest prior to arrival. While we are Understanding of the reductions due to the lack of travel, the hotel staff was very uncurtious, and made no attempt to improve the quality of our stay. We are not fans of rude ppl. Never experienced this type of service in any vacation we've taken and should not ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
nadiaro
Racine, Wisconsin
May 25, 2009

Worst Hotel but Most Expensive STAY AWAY

AWFUL. This hotel was practically shut down besides the people that were there for the wedding party. Guests should have been informed prior to thier arrival that 85% of the hotel was in non-working order due to the swine flu outbreak. NO restaurants were open besides the buffet. NO Bars were open besides one pool bar and One small bar in the lobby. NO Clubs were open. We asked at check in for an upgrade and they said nothing was left which is humurous due to the fact their was only 50 people in the hotel during our stay and we had 30 in the wedding party. We should ALL have been given vouchers to come back when the hotel was 100% again. This lack of care for the consumer is disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
HELLA ANGRY VACATIONER
ATL
Jun 11, 2009

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!!

This resort was the biggest rip off! By the time our stay there ended I was sick with anger. Everything that could have possibly gone wrong for me and family did. We were there with a lot of family from all over the U.S, when we got there they put me, my husband, and our two boys in a room that had a moldy smell. We asked to be moved and then were moved to a room that had a bathroom that was ant infested. We asked for something to be done, so they sent house keeping to spry the ants with Raid and this only made the problem worse for some reason. We ended up with even more ants. Every room had a mini bar and it is a big lie about them keeping it stocked. Their site says it is stocked daily with soda bottled water and a selection of rum, whisky, and vodka. Not true. The moment we were put in our room there was rum, whisky, and vodka, but the bellhop removed it from our mini bar. We asked why and the reason was because we are able to get drinks at the bar outside. Then they went around and turned off all the mini bars in the resort thinking we won't drink a hot bottle of water and it would save them from having to keep it stocked. Everyone in our group had a mini bar that was turned off and the manager tried to tell me it was broken. I told her no way because everyone in my party has a hot mini bar. I witnessed them come to the room and turn it back on. In result to this mini bar fiasco I ended up with spoiled milk that I had to bring with us due to my children having allergies. The food was gross and was not fresh. They claim to have all these restaurants well they were not open ever. We could only eat at the buffet and again it was gross! The one night a restaurant was open they told us what we could and could not order off the menu and the menu is already small. The service was very bad and they front desk people had such a horrible arrogance. Over the weekend the resort filled up with Mexican vacationers and Spaniards from Spain, because they spoke Spanish to the servers and the bartenders they got service and we did not. We could not get service from anyone to save our lives. We had to ask a Spanish guest to order our drinks for us just to get them. On a scale of 1- 10 I give this place a negative 10. I feel like it is a waste of a beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
unhappy from PA
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 22, 2009

what a dsappointment

we unfortunately had to travel to cancun for any activity and pay$60 each time, hotel had no shuttle services and refused to help arrange any, we had to pay to call a cab with 1800 numbers!!!.This was by far the worst experience I ever had, I will never go back and have alerted all my friends to avoid it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Little Porker
Bear, DE
May 9, 2011

Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

The front desk staff were very unpersonable. No free internet. We ate in all of the restaurants and the food was ok for what you paid but not spectacular. The entertainment staff was very good and made our vacation very enjoyable. The drinks are very weak so you need to ask for a stronger drink every time if you want it. Live entertainment every night in the lobby so bring your dancing shoes. The pool is very nice. Beach is next too reef so the water is not as clear as Cancun and the beach is a little messy with sea grass but they try and keep it clean. All in all the place was ok but I would not recommend it or go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out to the beach and turn right. Walk a few minutes up the beach to where you see the boats. For $20 to $25 pp they will take you 50 yards off shore for 1-1/2 hrs to snorkel the reef which is second only to the great Barrier Reef in Australia. They provide all the equipment you need. If you go through the hotel you will pay at least $40 for the same experience.

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Mason Mom
Cincinnati, Ohio
Dec 14, 2010

40th Birthday Trip!

We stayed at the Now Sapphire from December 5th – 12th, 2010. This is the first time that we have stayed at an "all inclusive" so we have nothing to compare it to, but we can tell you few things. It is definitely worth it to upgrade to one of buildings 1-6. Not only do they offer great ocean front views but they are the only rooms that have WIFI (otherwise you have to go to the lobby bar or pool area to get WiFi). We were able to get a much better deal on the upgrade once we got there. The hotel is under new management as of August, 2010 and was doing a lot of remodeling the week were there to get ready for the holidays. The Explorers Club (kids activity area) and the large deck that makes up the outdoor dining area on the beach were both being completely redone during our stay. The ground maintenance crews were extremely busy all week as well. The scheduling of tree and shrub trimming around the pool area could probably be moved to either first thing in the morning or later in the evening instead of middle of the afternoon! At times it became a little annoying with the cutting, sawing, cleaning etc. As we had pretty much expected, the food was mediocre, and the beer selection was even more disappointing - Budweiser or Corona. You would think they could offer at least 1 light beer!! The hotel staff was very nice and efficient, but the biggest thing we noticed is a $1.00 goes a long way with tips. They say gratuity is included in your price, but don't let that fool you - the employees still expect something, and your service is 10 x better with a few bucks! The Entertainment was pretty lame too. There was 1 show a night, but by 9:00 pm it was over and not much to do. Another disappointment is the pool was not heated and there was no hot tub. It was only in the high 70's during the day and 50's at night - so it got pretty chilly and so did the water! Overall we had an okay stay and for what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Sun and Relax Destination
Chicago, IL
Mar 1, 2010

Ease and Comfort with a few hiccups

Overall, the vacation was relaxing and comfortable. The hotel had overbooked and they did not have a room for us for two of our five nights. They had to drive us to another hotel for the first two nights and then we spent the remainder of our trip at the original hotel. In the end, the trip was great, but there were a few bumps in the beginning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
volleyballisfun
Michigan
Dec 24, 2010

Good but not Great

Trip started off on a good note since we were upgraded to an ocean view. The room was nice and clean. Water pressure in the shower was very low, which made showering annoying. The staff was great. Very enthusiastic every day and helpful for anything you needed. Snorkeling on the reef was worth the $40. Lots of fish to see. They have a great beach for walking, sandy bottom in the waters too. No waves for those who want to surf or boogie board since the coral reef blocks everything about a mile out, but we thought that was a good thing. This hotel was good, but our stay at Barcelo Maya Palace was much nicer. Particularly the food at Sapphire was overall somewhat plain, and much less options than Barcelo. The nightly shows were just ok. I was expecting more from them. We didn't check out the nightlife besides the shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take the bike tour to the city of puerto morelos (a few km away) you can show there and get items much cheaper than in playa del carmen and the bike tour is free.

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Nickname 2232
Atlanta, GA
Oct 17, 2012

Good Mid-tier Resort

The all inclusive nature of the resort attracted us. The food choices were varied and pretty good, but the amenities were showing their age.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Scorpion 13
San Francisco
Sep 9, 2013

Expectactions

I would like to express my disappointment on our past visit (08/24-08/31) in ... hotel where our family stayed for 7 days trip. We and our friends (8 peoples) have very unpleasant experience staying in your hotel. In a past, we had an opportunity to visit many different places in Mexico (Puerto Vallarta, Cabo San Lucas, Cozumel, and Acapulco), and i found that this stay was the worse. Let me share our concern: 1) The buffet was really mediocre, and it didn’t have varieties what any so-called 4 start hotel should provide. In fact, there was no fish selection, and everything else was really below average quality 2) We had a chance to visit all 5 restaurants considering bad buffet choice, and found that a. Asian Lemongrass and Mexican places had terrible foods. b. French were quite average. c. Mediterranean is good, and probably it was an exception from our dining experience. 3) None of the restaurants on the facilities had air condition, you started wondering how it is possible to not to have in the summer with temperature +30 and 100% humidity 4) a. Hotel doesn't have a Sport bar with TV. b. The condition of the bathroom is so old in the room. 5) Pools: a. There was no any designation smoking area in the pool, and people seem like can smoke everywhere. Some couple smoked cigars inside swimming pool and far off water bar. I raised a concern that my kids could not swim because of smoke and smell, and spoke with guy Leo who was working in the pool area. His reply was astonishing stating that: “That you guys should stay so far away”. Maybe Leo found this funny, but I don’t think that his response was acceptable and professional. 6) Shopping was unreasonably expensive where the prices for swimming goggle starting from $25 USD. This is really absurd, and the hotel doesn't realize that you can find goggle in any US Store starting $7, and $25 you would have paid for most elite professional goggles. 7) Hotel doesn't provide free internet, and the cost of usage is very expensive 8) Customer service is horrible a. I got impression that entire staff was very busy, and not approachable. b. None of the concern that I raised – I was able to get any acceptable or reasonable answer Finally, I would have to admit that staying in your hotel was one of the most disappointing experiences from different prospective: customer service, quality of meal, pricing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Mediterranean Restaurant is good, and probably it was an exception from our dining experience.

Back to menu Return to top