$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of SM 11 MZ9 Lote10, Puerto Morelos, 77580

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Promise 52
Burlington, Kansas
Dec 5, 2012

a week in paradise

Excellent service and food. I was disappointed in the check in processa as they tried to sell you tour packages before letting you go to your room. But that was the only negative. We had an ocean front room and upgraded to the preferred package which i would reccomend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure to get to the restaurant early to avoid a wiat. No revervations taken.

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KevinKathy
Business
Kansas City, MO
Nov 4, 2012

Nice Vacation - Service Needs Improvement

My husband and I visited the Now Sapphire Oct 28 – Nov 3. Although we really enjoyed this much needed vacation, we also found room for improvement. There is a push to upgrade when you arrive. It costs an additional $80 per day for a beachfront room plus another $80 per day for preferred service. If we wanted to pay an extra $160 per day we would have picked a better resort to begin with, so this didn’t make good sense. Although, we did upgrade to a beachfront room but opted not to upgrade to preferred service. We liked that the resort is small and directly on the beach, and that the beach, pool and restaurants were all within close walking distance. We liked that the beds were soft, that the drive from the airport was so close, that we didn’t have to carry towel cards, make dinner reservations or wear bracelets. All of our meals were very good and the bars served some mid-range liquors. We always had good service in the restaurants, but we were only waited on twice in the lobby bar and were never waited on at the beach. Be prepared, if you don’t pay for preferred service you will not be waited on at the beach. They also reserve chairs for preferred guests, so if we had been there during peak season, I'm not sure we would have had a place to sit at the beach. We can’t comment on the pool service because anytime we were at the pool, we were in the water and went to the swim up bar for our drinks. On our last day the pool area was taped off so they could prepare for a private party. This was irritating to me because all the guests had paid for the same accommodations, then they collected money for a private party to use our accommodations and the resort didn’t allow us to sit at the pool on our last day. We had a situation with our room air conditioning. We paid for a beachfront upgrade and was put in room 205 and the A/C did not work. I’m not sure if they knew in advance that the A/C wasn’t working or not but we called the front desk 3 times our first night and slept in probably an 80 degree room. The next day I walked to the front desk 4 times to get an answer about the A/C. Mind you this is our first full day of vacation and I wanted to be enjoying myself instead of running around trying to get our A/C problem settled. Anyway, they finally said they were going to move us to another room so we were inconvenienced more to re-pack, move and un-pack again, but the manager assured us they would refund 2 nights of our upgrade. We went on to enjoy the rest of our vacation and the night before checking out, went to the front desk and they didn’t have a record of a credit their manager promised, so they had me running around back and forth to the front desk 3 times on my last night of vacation. The lack of customer service was so frustrating to us and the front desk employees were rude and acted like they could care less that we were unhappy. All of that long story over… we did have a nice stay, met lots of fun-loving people, the resort was beautiful, the food and drink was good but the service needs improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We liked the Hibachi at Lemongrass the best. The best steak dinner was at the Bluewater Grill.

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joannda
Business
Cork, Ireland
Oct 30, 2012

Relax and unwind!

Overall, a great resort! We had a preferred room right on the beach which was amazing! The preferred pool was our favourite spot to hang out and Antonio took great care of us with lots of yummy cocktails :) The room was lovely, although the bed was slightly soft for our liking. Some minor things were that we often had to call to ask for our mini bar to be restocked and our bathrobes were taken away on the third day and never returned despite us asking for them. Room service was ok, especially for lunch, the burgers were great! In terms of the restaurants, we thought the buffet was fantastic, always something there to suit everyone's tastes. The Bluewater Grill and the Asian restaurant, Lemongrass, were our favourites by far - great food and fantastic service, especially by Ricardo and Jorge. The downside was the waiting time if you arrived at 8pm or later, which sometimes could leave you waiting for 1 - 2 hours despite there being tables free in the restaurant (this was true for all, except the buffet). I'm not sure whether this was down to lack of staff or what it was but it frustrated many guests we spoke to as well. The lobby bar was a great place to relax before and after dinner with a drink and there were bands playing most evenings. We didn't make much use of the entertainment so can't comment on that. It was definitely a great place to just relax and unwind, the main pool was noisier for those preferring more of a "party" atmosphere, while the preferred pool was lovely and quiet. PS. Bring mosquito repellant!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We went to Xplor and Xcaret (parks) which I would definitely recommend for families. The evening show at Xcaret was fantastic!

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leonz
Business
New York
Jan 6, 2013

Good place

We liked hotel but sea water was dirty. Also hotels charged for the New Year dinner extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Now123
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 3, 2013

Great family getaway

We had a great time at this hotel. Close to Airport, nice rooms, good food. Need more beach chairs and shades for not prefer clients, need better drink selection for prefer club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stevey Wonder
Business
Michigan
Jan 14, 2013

New Years Family Vacation

Our group had a great time at the Sapphire. The beach was very nice and the weather the best. We enjoyed the lobby bar and our server Irene took good care of us for the whole week. The food was good but the wait at the restaurants was long. The staff was very helpful. This resort was perfect for our group. The beach bar needed more help for the amount of guest on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Late 20's Early 30's Trip
Business
Appleton, Wisconsin
Jan 14, 2013

Great Wedding Destination

My wife and I attended a wedding in early January at the NOW Sapphire. Unfortunately, we were only able to spend two days at the resort. We have been in the Riviera Maya about 10 times, and this was one of our best experiences! The resort was great and we cannot wait to make it back for more R & R. Great food variety, Good Bar service, Beautiful Beach, Spacious Pool, Clean Rooms, Overall 9 out of 10!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexican Vacation Lover
Business
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Jan 21, 2013

RM in January

This resort is absolutely beautiful! Water & water features everywhere. Large pool, fantastic beach. Great restaurants; French, "Asiatic", Mediterranian, Mexican, Surf & Turf, Italian (buffet) - all wonderful! What I love about the "Now" resorts is that you do not wear a wristband and you do not have to make reservations for dinner! I love that! What I didn't like a lot was that the staff didn't seem very humble about receiving tips, which you obviously shouldn't have to be doing; but everybody seems to be doing it, anyway. Why don't they just market it as food & drinks included, but tips NOT included? When checking in, we were offered an "up-sell" of beachfront rooms for an extra $80/night; fine, understandable. But I politely declined, stating that we just simply couldn't fit it in our budget. No lie, she was annoyed by that and acted irritated by our very presence after that. I've never had that happen before. A friend said maybe I should have allowed my husband to do the talking(?). Beautiful resort, clean rooms, mostly friendly staff. January is hit or miss. It was not warm enough for me, had some clouds, some wind, a few light sprinkles. But the nice part was it was definitely NOT crowded!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NE PODXODIT
Business
chicago
Feb 15, 2013

GOOD BUT DEFFENETLY NOT A 6 *

Resort is located in a very beautiful place and very close to the airport, which reduces the time of arrival of almost 2 hours. This is one of the first stops and you do not have to waste time stopping at other hotels. The food is good, you don't need to make reservation to the restaurants but if there only 2 or 3 of you. If this is a group of 5 or more you will have to wait, for 2-3 hours, if you have the patience. We were the members of preferred club, and have advantage to have the same spot on the beach every day. AS a member you also can use a lot of specials: adult pool, breakfast and snack room, internet free, ocean view, concierge services . etc What was bad? Room cleaning- horrible!!! To have you room to be clean in time you have to bribe the mad. To have your place in restaurant to be ready: you have to bribe the waiter. To have your pre a sign spot in spa – you have to bribe them to,even if you already paid for it . The wait staff does not understand the difference between gratitude for good service and extorting money. Spa service – very bad. We went there to this resortcelebrate a new year, and despite the fact that resort was all inclusive they forced you to by for $140 bottle of champagne (value of the bottle $12.50 in regular store# per room PLUS you have to pay fee $20 for whatever, #nobody cannot explain to me what it was for). Otherwise you cannot celebrate New Year eve, because all other placed except a ball room was closed. We was very disappointed with this , you feel like somebody in this situation tried to make advantage of you. That why I will never go to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Courtnik
Business
Toronto, Canada
Feb 18, 2013

New Year's Week At The Now Sapphire

We travelled with our two teen girls, ages 13 and 17 and we all had a great time. We booked 2 ocean front preferred rooms and we loved that they were right on the beach. My daughter's especially liked using the jacuzzi on the balconey. Food was pretty good overall. Staff were friendly and accomodating. The hotel iteslf was gorgeous and we enjoyed it's proximity to Puerto Morelos. All in all, a fabulous vacay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to visit "I Wanna Pizza" in Puerto Morelos. It has a fun bohemian vibe, and the best pizza ever!

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexican Vacation Lover
Business
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Feb 17, 2013

Love the Now Resorts

Part of my lack of zeal, unfairly, has nothing to do with the resort itself; I'm try to shake that, and give an impartial review. :) We just had a couple days of bad weather, is all. The resort was just fine. It was a truly absolutely beautiful resort! Our first time at this particular Now Resort. I felt, compared to past experiences, I was snubbed at the check-in because I declined, albeit politely, the "up-sell" room. We didn't like our first room because of lack of privacy and asked to be moved - that is not a pattern, I have never asked to be moved, ever before, on any vacation I've ever been on. Once moved, we discovered a leak in our new bathroom ceiling. We didn't say anything and stayed there. The restaurants were absolutely fabulous! Everything was delicious and perfect! I was a little uncomfortable at how comfortable the staff was, at not only excepting tips, but almost seeming to be expecting them. A couple times we were "reminded" that we could tip our staff for appreciation. Why don't we just STOP selling these resorts as "no tipping"??? If you can afford the spa, it is truly, truly amazing! It is super-expensive, though, in my opinion! We only got to try it because we had a gift certificate. Still, the resort is simply beautiful and wonderful! There are so many reasons I would recommend the Now Resorts, no matter what! I love them, overall! Yes I recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top