Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
SM 11 MZ9 Lote10, Puerto Morelos, 77580
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
149 reviews
Amazing!

I came here to relax and unwind on a solo vacation. What a perfect choice! The resort is absolutely... See full review

  • ATLsolotraveler
  • Apr 23, 2014
Honeymoon 2.5 years later

It was our first trip to Mexico and we waited 2.5 years to go on our honeymoon and it was amazing.... See full review

  • Hughes1008
  • Aug 9, 2013
Mayan-inspired Caribbean resort with watersports, unique classes
The Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun is located just 15 minutes from the Cancun International Airport. The resort boasts six international restaurants, seven bars, three oceanfront pools, a children's pool, spa and fitness center. Suites are situated in a mangrove preserve. Guests can plan an excursion to nearby Playa del Carmen or take a further trip to the archeological site at Tulum or the freshwater lagoons at Xel-Ha. The resort offers unique classes such as cooking, sushi making, wine tasting, candle making, painting and dance.
Highlights:
  • Six restaurants, seven bars, three pools at Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
  • Unique classes such as sushi making, wine tasting and dance
  • Conveniently located between Cancun and Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect traditional Mayan architecture in the suites at Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun. Cool marble floors and exaggerated crown molding combine with bright accent furnishings to create a comfortable space that still feels regal and special. Guests choose from one of 496 suites including junior and preferred club suites. All rooms include one king-sized or two double beds, Jacuzzi for two, cable TV, daily refreshed mini-bar, electronic safe and 24-hour room service and Wi-Fi Internet (fees may apply). Preferred Club guests receive VIP amenities, a living room, two flat-screen TVs, private beach and free Internet, among other perks. Cribs are available upon request.

Features:

Guests at Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun enjoy Hobie cats, kayaks, sailing, windsurfing, tennis, waterfall swimming pool and shopping. The fitness center, open daily, caters to health-conscious guests with a stair climber, elliptical machines, stationary bikes, treadmills and free weights. For a relaxing visit, book a visit in the beautiful spa or practice your backswing on the golf course (fees may apply). At night, watch a movie on the beach or participate in Now Sapphire's exciting theme night parties.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (15 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (12 mi/19 km)
  • Xel-Ha (22 mi/35 km)
  • Tulum (28 mi/45 km)
Business­
  • High-speed wireless Internet (fees may apply)

Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Junior Suite Tropical View
The Deluxe Junior Suite Tropical View features amazing views of the lush tropical gardens that surround the resort from a private balcony or terrace. This suite is elegantly decorated in the tones of the Caribbean with dark mahogany furniture and marble floors accentuating classic details. Step inside your very own private sanctuary of elegance and tranquility and sleep on one of the most relaxing beds in the Caribbean. These rooms are conditioned with one king or two double beds (on request on arrival at the hotel), and feature deluxe amenities.
Deluxe Junior Suite Ocean Front View
The Deluxe Junior Suite Ocean Front also features amazing views of the Caribbean Sea from a private balcony with whirlpool and is elegantly decorated with dark mahogany furniture and marble floors accentuating classic details. Step inside your very own private sanctuary of elegance and tranquility and sleep on one of the most relaxing beds in the Caribbean. These rooms are conditioned with one king or two double beds (on request on arrival at the hotel), and feature deluxe amenities.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Tropical View
The oversized Preferred Club Junior Suite Tropical View overlooks the lush tropical gardens that surround the resort and is elegantly decorated in the tones of the Caribbean with dark mahogany furniture and marble floors accentuating classic details. Step inside your very own private sanctuary of elegance and tranquilly and relish in the exclusivity of Preferred Club. The Preferred Club Junior Suites features a seating area conditioned with a sofa for added comfort. These rooms are equipped with one king or two double beds (on request on arrival at the hotel) and feature upgraded amenities.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean Front View
The Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean Front features spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea from a private balcony with whirlpool and is elegantly decorated with dark mahogany furniture and marble floors accentuating classic details. This oversized Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean Front features spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea from a private balcony with Jacuzzi and is elegantly decorated with dark mahogany furniture and marble floors accentuating classic details.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.8788 -86.8659
Area served
Cancun, Playa del Carmen, Xcaret, Akumal, Xel-ha
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Half an hour south of Cancun lies this wondrous slice of paradise, 15 minutes from the Cancun International Airport, nearby Playa del Carmen, Xcaret, Akumal and Xel-ha. Also close to the world-famous Mayan archeological zones such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza.

Dining

Paramour
Creation of L'Hermitage Restaurant was inspired by the prestigious French wine "Hermitage" considered since always, as a Lordly and exceptional wine. At the beginning of the 19th century, Hermitage was quoted as the most expensive wine of France, overcoming even the Bordeaux "Premier Crus"; and with a great reputation and acceptance among the Royalty of the epoch; Produced in the small village of Tain L'Hermitage zone of vineyards in the south of Lyon France, near to the Rhne river; its denomination was created in 1937. Enjoy the French Cuisine of L'Hermitage Restaurant, where every single creation is a piece of art. (reservation required, for adults only)
TBD
honors the "Tequila", authentic and representative Mexican drink, whose origin and production dates back from the pre-Hispanic epoch, where native Indians, the "Tecuilas", invented the method for its elaboration, which prevails to the present days, and is still used by most of the current producers. In these indigenous societies, the consumption of Tequila was exclusively for Priests, Warriors and wise old People, since according to their beliefs, the plants of "Agave" was a divine creation, represented by Goddess Mayhuel. Enjoy Tequila Grill Restaurant, the very best of the traditional Mexican Cuisine. (reservations required)
Moments
Lobby Bar
Splash
Pool / Swim-up Bar in Main Pool
Cibu
The beautiful Capri Island located in the Mediterranean Sea, in the south side of the gulf of Napoli, Italy, Capri Island, due to its beauty and captivation, has been considered as a perfect destination for leisure travelers since the epoch of the former Roman Republic to date. Enjoy Capri Restaurant; Contemporary Mediterranean Cuisine (reservations required)
Eclipse
Disco (Fun Pub) Eclipse Night Club.
Market Cafe
Our delicious buffet restaurant, please enjoy your stay and do not miss the opportunity to have a breakfast, lunch or dinner in this restaurant.
Lemongrass
in the Japanese language is represented by the Violet flower, and recognized as a symbol of modesty; Kyushu is the biggest island considered as the origin of the Japanese civilization; and Shikoku is the smallest island with the lowest population. Sumir Restaurant; Flavors... Texture... Colours... Japanese Cuisine (reservation required)
Bluewater Grill
Right in front of our beach and all the way through Cabo Catoche north of the state of Quintana Roo Mxico, Belize, Guatemala and Honduras, is the "Great Mayan Reef" called Mesoamerican Reef as well; Considered as the world's second biggest, just after the Great Australian Reef. Only in the Mexican coast, its length is over three hundred kilometers, and its total length is over one thousand kilometers. Diverse species of flora and fauna develops and grows in it; in addition, the Great Mayan Reef is a natural barrier of protection, that keep the coasts from battering storms and hurricanes. Enjoy Reef Grill by the sea. House of the very finest cuts and seafood
Night Out Dine Around Package
The Night Out Dine Around Package is now available for guests of the following neighboring resort Now Jade Riviera Cancun and Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun

To take advantage of this wonderful opportunity, guests will need to speak to their resort's concierge, who will make all of the necessary arrangements in advance, including arrival and return times and restaurant selection. While dinner and entertainment are complimentary, guests will be responsible for the roundtrip taxi fare and all gratuities. Important to note is that this program is good for one evening in the same brand of resorts that the guest is staying at and the visit is not to be considered a day pass.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We make occasions extraordinary Make one of the most beautiful and fascinating corners of the world the setting for your next meeting or event. We have the expertise, capacity and equipment to facilitate all of your meeting needs Meetings at Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun offer: 8,295 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space that can accommodate up to 860 guests Four individual climate-controlled ballrooms Infinite possibilities for themed events in unique locations throughout the property State-of-the-art audio-visual equipment Bilingual and experienced meetings and incentive staff to coordinate on-site meetings activities Full-service business center with highspeed Internet access

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chef George
Bethlehem, PA
Jan 31, 2011

Great location, very nice Resort!

Very nice resort, clean, friendly, very nice beach, nice rooms and good food (very nice presentation but taste, seasoning and quality of meat not great) . Drinks are very inconsistant from bar to bar, and they need more chaise lounges on the beach. Great for the price overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherry
Arvada, colorado
May 6, 2012

Couples getaway

This was a nice place. Close to the airport, about a 15 minute drive. The food was good and no reservations for the specialty restaurants was nice. Lots of weddings going on while we were there. People get up very early to get there chairs reserved, so if your want to sleep in you won't get a shaded area. Service was just okay, have had better, but not bad. Great snorkeling out of Puerto Morelos. We took a great sail, snorkel trip. This was a good relaxing trip and we had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waynesslave
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Dec 19, 2010

Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort

The employees in the restaurants and bars are what makes this place great. The hotels rooms have just been remodeled with new mattresses and bedding. The bathrooms could use some updates; the tubs are very small. There was a small balcony with a sliding patio door. It would have been nice to have a screen to keep the bugs out and enjoy having the door open. They advertised robes and slippers in the rooms. We had robes but no slippers in our room. I asked the maids three times. Once I was told she didn't have any because they had been given to other guests and two other times the maid I asked did not have any idea what I was asking for. A couple times the maids did not bring some items and I had to call to get them. We stayed 7 nights and on the last night someone called and asked if I had received all the amenities. At that point I thought it was pretty late to ask that question. There was not an alarm clock in our room but two times I asked for a wake up call and got it. The food was excellent and the buffet had a lot of choices. You didn't need reservations at the ala carte restaurants. The pool was very large but the two whirlpools were in the pool and were cold water. The sand on the beach was great. The only downfall was all the seaweed but they cleaned it up at least twice a day. There are shows most nights and some are very good. There is a daily newsletter about the activities and telling which restaurants are open each day. We walked 45 minutes to the closest town which is very small so you are somewhat isolated. This is no longer an adults only resort. We stayed around the middle of December and there were a lot of children. There would be times at the pool when you could not get a float because some kid would have four of them. This resort has a preferred club that you pay extra for and you get free internet, a quiet pool, ala carte breakfasts, etc. I did not do it but didn't feel it was neccessary. Overall we liked it very much and would possibly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The hotel offers a free half day shopping trip to Cancun on Monday thru Friday with Amstar that takes you to three different shopping areas. What a great deal.

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KevinKathy
Kansas City, MO
Nov 4, 2012

Nice Vacation - Service Needs Improvement

My husband and I visited the Now Sapphire Oct 28 – Nov 3. Although we really enjoyed this much needed vacation, we also found room for improvement. There is a push to upgrade when you arrive. It costs an additional $80 per day for a beachfront room plus another $80 per day for preferred service. If we wanted to pay an extra $160 per day we would have picked a better resort to begin with, so this didn’t make good sense. Although, we did upgrade to a beachfront room but opted not to upgrade to preferred service. We liked that the resort is small and directly on the beach, and that the beach, pool and restaurants were all within close walking distance. We liked that the beds were soft, that the drive from the airport was so close, that we didn’t have to carry towel cards, make dinner reservations or wear bracelets. All of our meals were very good and the bars served some mid-range liquors. We always had good service in the restaurants, but we were only waited on twice in the lobby bar and were never waited on at the beach. Be prepared, if you don’t pay for preferred service you will not be waited on at the beach. They also reserve chairs for preferred guests, so if we had been there during peak season, I'm not sure we would have had a place to sit at the beach. We can’t comment on the pool service because anytime we were at the pool, we were in the water and went to the swim up bar for our drinks. On our last day the pool area was taped off so they could prepare for a private party. This was irritating to me because all the guests had paid for the same accommodations, then they collected money for a private party to use our accommodations and the resort didn’t allow us to sit at the pool on our last day. We had a situation with our room air conditioning. We paid for a beachfront upgrade and was put in room 205 and the A/C did not work. I’m not sure if they knew in advance that the A/C wasn’t working or not but we called the front desk 3 times our first night and slept in probably an 80 degree room. The next day I walked to the front desk 4 times to get an answer about the A/C. Mind you this is our first full day of vacation and I wanted to be enjoying myself instead of running around trying to get our A/C problem settled. Anyway, they finally said they were going to move us to another room so we were inconvenienced more to re-pack, move and un-pack again, but the manager assured us they would refund 2 nights of our upgrade. We went on to enjoy the rest of our vacation and the night before checking out, went to the front desk and they didn’t have a record of a credit their manager promised, so they had me running around back and forth to the front desk 3 times on my last night of vacation. The lack of customer service was so frustrating to us and the front desk employees were rude and acted like they could care less that we were unhappy. All of that long story over… we did have a nice stay, met lots of fun-loving people, the resort was beautiful, the food and drink was good but the service needs improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We liked the Hibachi at Lemongrass the best. The best steak dinner was at the Bluewater Grill.

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrissy from Minnesota
Andover, Minnesota
May 16, 2013

So So

We have been to Mexico several times and this hotel was disappointing for us. The lack of ocean front rooms and the long walks back to our room was tiresome. The ocean was dirty with seaweed everywhere that you really couldn't enjoy the water. The front desk staff were very unfriendly but the entertainment staff were great!! Great assortment of food and the beds were very comfortable. Did not like the fact that we had to pay so much to leave the resort to shop and do other activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go to Playa Del Carmen to shop - fabulous!!!!

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stevey Wonder
Michigan
Jan 14, 2013

New Years Family Vacation

Our group had a great time at the Sapphire. The beach was very nice and the weather the best. We enjoyed the lobby bar and our server Irene took good care of us for the whole week. The food was good but the wait at the restaurants was long. The staff was very helpful. This resort was perfect for our group. The beach bar needed more help for the amount of guest on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveler/New Yorker
Brooklyn, NYC
Apr 26, 2011

A little of everything!

The Now Sapphire is a wonderful all-inclusive hotel resort that serves a large variety of guests, from families to newlywed couples, to retired elderly folks and European tourists. I SAW EVERYONE! To start: I had the pleasure of having a beach front room that literally opened on to the sand. It was incredible. I paid more to and chose the "preferred guest option" which I highly recommend if you don't want to be stressed with finding a beach chair or pool chair ( they reserve on for you) and if you want to dine outdoors (all outdoor dining was for preferred guests only!). PROS: *First off, this resort is a beautiful and tastefully decorated place on a beautiful beach *Really great food, grilled fish etc. best I've had at an all-inclusive in Mexico so far and I live in NYC where the food is crazy good. *A lot of authentic Mexican food at the buffet, but also for the "middle americans".....chicken nuggets and french fries to boot. * Extremely clean rooms with luxury linens, towels, robes and great A/C and English language cable choices. *Social areas/lounges are gorgeous! Beautiful and large lounge/grand palapa area with bar. *No watered down drinks! *Not overrun with partiers and alcoholics. *Tasteful beach decor/chairs/palapas. *Great staff/English speaking. *Great walk to Puerto Morelos *Preferred guest (extra cost) option is a must if you want to be able to dine outside, and have a reserved( with your last name) and shaded beach chair or pool chair every day. CONS: *Too many children- they stay and eat for free at this resort. *Pool area with swim up bar too noisy with music. *Too many events trying to please kids, and not enough activities for adults like gratuitous water sports with kayaks and snorkeling gear.(not included!). *Gardens could have been more tended to, although you are in a desert landscape. Nowhere to lounge or sit outdoors except for pool or beach. * Beach had litter on it from partiers the night before and it wasn't removed until noon the night day. *Not enough drink service on beach (my measure of a top notch resort). *Resort is sandwiched in by other resorts on both sides. *Adults only pool is beautiful but it is right next to the loud children's activity pool. *Techno music on beach was horrible! They played it to pump up the volleyball crowd but it was really stressful for us sunbathers. All and all, a really nice place, but I probably wouldn't go back. As a single adult traveler, I will probably choose an adults-only more peaceful location next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abigail
Kansas City, MO
Jul 26, 2010

Awesome!!!

We were very pleased with our decision to go to Now Sapphire. It was incrediably relaxing and we didnt feel pressured to do much of anything really. We switched from going to the pool and beach but mostly stayed at the pool...the swim up bar treated us very well! Be prepared to eat good food and a lot of it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Playa Del Carmen one day...big waste of time! They basically just sell stupid little trinkets there that we didnt really car about. Not work the cab ride ($70 roundtrip) there.

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Now123
Chicago, IL
Jan 3, 2013

Great family getaway

We had a great time at this hotel. Close to Airport, nice rooms, good food. Need more beach chairs and shades for not prefer clients, need better drink selection for prefer club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BEba & Will
New York, NY
May 4, 2011

BEAUTIFULLLL!

The hotel was absolutely gorgeous! They have the cleanest and bluest beach I have ever seen. The pool areas were so clean and huge! The attention from the waiters were amazing. The variety of food was also great and delicious. The only thing that would have made our stay better was the night life. It was too quiet after 10PM. The live group that performed every night, sang the same songs EVERY NIGHT!!!! Also the club of the hotel was always empty. The biggest issue we had was getting the room we payed for because of their error of overbooking. We payed for an ocean front and ended up with a tropical view for one night. Then the next day we were moved to an ocean front but guess what?.... It was a room with 2 beds rather than one king size bed for our entire stay. How rude! A couple sleeping in separate beds? Anyhow, they figured they'd push the beds together for us because unfortunately there was nothing else they could have done for us. But we made the best of it and had a great time. Overall, Great hotel great food, very clean but may encounter booking issues and very quiet night life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Very quiet after 10PM. Yes they have a live group perform every night from 9-10PM but they sing the same songs EVERY NIGHT! Therefore, if you're looking to party, make sure you speak to the COCO BONGO reps to pick you up and take you outside of the hotel for party time!

Back to menu Return to top