$260 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of SM 11 MZ9 Lote10, Puerto Morelos, 77580

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iowalady
Business
Iowa
Jun 20, 2012

Ok experience

The resort its self was beautiful. The staff was ok. Some were nice and some were not. There is a strict dress code for some restaurants that includes long pants and closed toed shoes which does not say anywhere on the website. Just says dress code is casual elegance. Getting drinks at some restaurants were slow. We would be almost done with our meal and than we would get drinks. Getting drinks at the pool bar was slow (there was a lot of people) but seemed like if you were a girl Or had tip in hand than they wanted to help them first even if you have been waiting for 10minutes. Sand bar was fast but not as many people too. Preferred was not worth the money. Had to book everything 24 hours ahead of time to use the huts on the beach or the beds by the pool. Felt like it was not worth the money. Overall felt like the staff didn't care about us and service was slow. Our air wasn't working and they came to fix it right away. It was fast and they fixed it so that was one good thing! We had a good time it was fun and relaxing but those few things bothered us when upgraded and paid a lot of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nickname 2232
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 17, 2012

Good Mid-tier Resort

The all inclusive nature of the resort attracted us. The food choices were varied and pretty good, but the amenities were showing their age.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CarolynP
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jun 10, 2013

Great pools and beach, lacking taste with food

We spent most of our time at the preferred pool and bar. We enjoyed the playing volleyball and lounging by the pool particularly in the cabanna beds we reserved at the pool. The food however was lacking taste, particularly the buffet. The hours were very limited, and you couldn't get food while at the pool. All the alcoholic drinks seemed to be pretty watered down as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Some of the restaurants can have up to a 2 hour wait. Go early to avoid this!

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Aug 12, 2009

Different resort the second time around

My husband and I just returned from the Paradisus with our 22 month-old daughter. This was our second trip their, the first was a year ago with our then 10 month old daughter. We chose this particular resort for our initial visit because they have a Kids' Club that has a play/sleep area for infants and toddlers. They do also have an Activities Club for older children, however, on this trip we only saw the older children doing anything organized on Saturday when the place was crazy busy with many local guests...more on that.My most favorite parts of the Paradisus are the pool (when it's not crowded), the beautiful grounds, the spacious rooms and the lobby area in the evening. After dinner we usually sit in the open air lobby taking in the ocean breeze, the lighting, and the background music. I suppose it's due to lower occupancy than usual, but the restaurants alternated being closed. On any given night, though, 3 of the 5 main restaurants and almost always the buffet were open for dinner. Reservations needed to be made in advance, however, you can only book one day ahead (last year we could do 3). We enjoyed sitting at the hibachi at Sumire. Capri was good (slow service), however, the second night we ate their the waiter never put in the meal order for our daughter (he thought we were joking!). We love the Reef because you can sit outside overlooking the water. The beef filet was excellent. We didn't go to Tequila Grill. We weren't alowed in L'Hermitage since our daughter is younger than 5. Everyone we spoke to said they enjoyed L'Hermitage. Men do need to wear long pants at Capri and L'Hermitage. Upon arrival the room had an insect spray smell to it. We were told we'd have to wait until the next day to change rooms. We ended up staying in the room. Over time I definitely detected a musty odor. I guess that's to be expected in a hot/humid climate. The rooms were very clean.On Saturday the local crowds arrived en masse. By mid-afternoon it was a challenge to get a drink at the pool bar since people weren't leaving the little stools and their were TONS of kids ordering their own drinks. Perhaps they should consider a separate "bar" for kids. A few people told us that other people had moved their things from their beach chaors and took them over. we had this happen to us last year as well but only when it was really crowded. it was short-lived, though. By Sunday afternoon it was very quiet once again.Most nights there was some sort of entertainment...a Mexican show, a 50s show, reaaallly bad karaoke, live spanish music, and casino night. The Fun Pub was over at least a few nights that I know of. Although we were traveling with our 22 month old, we both felt there were ALOT of kids. It seemed like most people had children with them. If we were not with our daughter that may have bothered me but she enjoyed dancing and playing with them. We used the Kids Club for letting our daughter nap in the afternoons and to play with the toys and other children for a little while each day. It's very clean and air-conditioned. They give you a two-way radio so you can go swimming and still get in touch with you if you leave your child there to sleep or play. [...] was great. Overall, we had a great trip. The resort seems to have scaled back since we were there last year. If I had not found a really great rate I might have been disappointed. I think the next trip we take to a resort will be somewhere else (maybe another Paradisus) mainly because we've been here twice already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lawrence Ks
May 5, 2011

Not that Great

Arrived early, told to go to the restaurant for lunch. Stood in line 15min, waited 15 min for a drink and order, then 15 min later the food arrived. No flavor. Check in time was 3pm. Room made avail at 3:45pm. We were on our 30th anniversary and received 2 queen beds. Last day, asked for a late check out, reminded them that they were late checking us in.....$20 later we received the late check out. Will not return. Try the Karisma resorts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Little Porker
Business
Bear, DE
May 9, 2011

Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

The front desk staff were very unpersonable. No free internet. We ate in all of the restaurants and the food was ok for what you paid but not spectacular. The entertainment staff was very good and made our vacation very enjoyable. The drinks are very weak so you need to ask for a stronger drink every time if you want it. Live entertainment every night in the lobby so bring your dancing shoes. The pool is very nice. Beach is next too reef so the water is not as clear as Cancun and the beach is a little messy with sea grass but they try and keep it clean. All in all the place was ok but I would not recommend it or go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out to the beach and turn right. Walk a few minutes up the beach to where you see the boats. For $20 to $25 pp they will take you 50 yards off shore for 1-1/2 hrs to snorkel the reef which is second only to the great Barrier Reef in Australia. They provide all the equipment you need. If you go through the hotel you will pay at least $40 for the same experience.

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cold in NY
Business
Upstate, NY
Mar 22, 2011

Overall a good experience

My daughter and I went to the Spa anticipating an ultimate experience. To my dismay it was not up to par not even slightly. The jacuzzi was disgusting with green foam and grime floating! Broken tiles throughout. Very old and run down. I had a seaweed wrap which was completely done wrong. The hotel itself is fair. Lots of broken tiles in the pool area, warped deck boards and hazardous stamped concrete side walks. The restaurants were exceptionally good. the lobster was prepared perfectly. Shows were excellent! Everyone was very friendly. The rooms were in good shape except for the nasty tiles in the shower. Great place for families looking to go on a casual vacation. Don't even bother going to the gym, disgusting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dolphin Discovery was nice but bring your pocket book!

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
akabrat
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Apr 26, 2011

2nd Visit ... definitely not the same!

This was our 2nd visit to this resort. We stayed here back in 2006 when it was the Paradisus. All I can say is that it no longer compares and the service and amenities have definitely taken a turn for the worse. We read all of the reviews before booking and decided that we would go by our first experience with this resort in 2006 instead of letting negative reviews color our decision. We payed for the upgrade to "Preferred Club" since we had this during our first stay and knew what we could expect ... oh how wrong we were. The only thing that you actually get with the upgrade is the "Adult Pool" and now they even allow teenagers into that location. When we stayed back in 2006 it was for "Adults Only" (18 and over) and they reserved your bed for you with a name card (no longer reserved, first come first serve & no name card). [...] do a good job for the most part, but not consistently. Some days you get towels on your bed and some days you don't. With Preferred Club you get snacks and an upgraded mini bar ... LOL! The snacks are a 1/2 can of Pringles & one small bag of Peanut M&M's for the duration of your stay (no refills). My brother & sister-in-law did not receive daily replenishment of their mini bar even after repeated requests. The upgraded Room Service menu is very limited and offers the same foods as the Blue Water Grill (nothing special). The pillow menu no longer has the scented pillows and again it is first come first serve and they did not have most of the options available during our stay. The Preferred Check-In is now used to try to coerce you into visiting their Dreams resort just down the street by talking to their "Coupon Specialist". Even though we expressed that we were not interested they kept pushing and continued to approach us for the first couple of days until I finally had to be very firm with my answer. Previously, upon arrival, you were whisked into the Preferred Club Lounge, handed a glass of champagne and a cool towel, snacks and a speedy check-in and off to your room (as it should be). The maid service was in daily at a different time each day and starting on the 4th day (stayed for 8) they were leaving only one wash cloth for two people so you had to call to get another one so each person could have their own to bathe with. We ended up with a 2nd floor room (requested 3rd floor like we had in 2006 prior to arrival because we knew it would be private) and had no privacy to use the Ocean View balcony with hot tub because the neighboring room could watch everything we did. The ocean view rooms do have beautiful view in buildings 2, 3 & 4 but building 1 is too close to the main pool and standard guest beach. The 3rd floor view may have been ok, but we'll never know. We did receive the turn down service each evening as well as the robe and slippers. The kids/ teens have their own activities and club, but when it was time for volleyball they were included in play with the adults (not much fun). They still do not allow the children in the French Restaurant. The food and presentation thereof is still excellent. The only thing that has changed is that the French Restaurant no longer offers a French meal as you would experience it in France ... 5 courses with a pallet cleanse between courses, etc. Now the experience is the same as all other restaurants. You can walk the beach all the way to Puerto Morelos which is approximately 2.5 miles and a 45 minute walk, we did this and enjoyed it. The resort offers a bike ride to Puerto Morelos as well and you are given some time to walk around and explore before your ride back. My husband and brother tried to make arrangements to snorkel off the beach and use the catamarans, but were told it would be too windy for the whole week and they could not do these activities ... though others were. When we stayed in 2006, they actually took you out on a boat to the reef to snorkel for the cost of the National Reef government fee ... no longer ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to Puerto Morelos via the beach and take a snorkeling tour with one of the local groups there because it is much cheaper than booking at the resort. It is $9 (US) for a taxi to/ from Puerto Morelos and there is a taxi stand right outside of the resort as well as in Puerto Morelos so if you don't want to walk you can get a ride.

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sun and Relax Destination
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 1, 2010

Ease and Comfort with a few hiccups

Overall, the vacation was relaxing and comfortable. The hotel had overbooked and they did not have a room for us for two of our five nights. They had to drive us to another hotel for the first two nights and then we spent the remainder of our trip at the original hotel. In the end, the trip was great, but there were a few bumps in the beginning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 19, 2011

Wouldn't go back

Beautiful place, nice beach and pool. Very clean place including the rooms. Good entertainment during the day and evening. However, there were lots of kids hanging around the swim up bar making it hard for adults to get a drink. There was an Explorers Club for the kids, but apparently parents didn't take advantage of this. The reason we probably won't go back is the food -not very good. Only had a couple of good meals during our 5 night stay. Oh, by the way-bring your own shampoo, theirs is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top