$345 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of SM 11 MZ9 Lote10, Puerto Morelos, 77580

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston Ma
May 3, 2011

Great Resort

Wife and I have taken 7 AI trips in the past three years and this was one of the best. Very clean resort...beautiful pool where everyone meets. Food was very good and the ocean was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk the beach and contract to go on excursions for quite a bit less than the hotel charges.

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jpk207
Business
Providence, RI
May 1, 2011

Now Sapphire

My wife and I upgraded to the Preferred Club. We had a jungle facing room near the Preferred Pool. We do not have children, and wanted the ability to sit in a childless area. That was worth the price of admission for us. The room was quite nice and comfortable. The food was good. The French Restaurant was the best. The Japanese restaurant was the worst. If you do not want to wait an hour for dinner, get there before 8pm. There are 2 African Grey parrots named Poncho and Maria. They are a riot. Breakfast buffet opens at 7am, and has a wide range of options. There is a little cafe that opens at 6am for early risers. The nightlife is pretty lame. And by pretty lame, I mean completely weak. There is a nightclub, but do not be fooled. It is a joke. There are more kids in the nightclub with their parents than there are adults. My wife was not feeling well one night, so I took a few other women over to the resort next door called the Excellence (Snuck in via the beach) and went to their nightclub. Wow! What a difference. No kids, good looking people and good music. Overall we had a good time. Very friendly atmosphere at the Preferred pool. The people that work there are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a better club to go dancing, walk via the beach to the Excellence next door. Enter through their pool area, cross over the little bridge towards the main lobby of the hotel. Act like you are a guest that just arrived, and go to the club to the left hand side of the main lobby.

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thumper
Business
NJ
Apr 30, 2011

Beautiful Resort

Resort was beautiful, beach was long and expansive great for walking each day. Preferred pool was wonderful especially the bali style beds. Restaurants could have had a little more variety to suit us. When they said stock liquor in mini bar they mean 3 little shot bottles of Jack Daniels, Rum and Scotch one time during your stay. The resort overbooked so we were not at first placed on Ocean view and we had double beds. After viewing our disatisfaction they moved us the following day to a perfect room. We did however find out that they did that to quite a few guests we met during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thumper
Business
NJ
Apr 30, 2011

Beautiful Resort

Resort was beautiful, beach was long and expansive great for walking each day. Preferred pool was wonderful especially the bali style beds. Restaurants could have had a little more variety to suit us. When they said stock liquor in mini bar they mean 3 little shot bottles of Jack Daniels, Rum and Scotch one time during your stay. The resort overbooked so we were not at first placed on Ocean view and we had double beds. After viewing our disatisfaction they moved us the following day to a perfect room. We did however find out that they did that to quite a few guests we met during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ipswich, MA
Apr 28, 2011

Execellent Service

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at this resort, it was our first stay at an all-inclusive resort. We found the staff very friendly spoke both english and spanish. The food was okay what it lacked in food was made up for in service. The beach and pool were great. Although we were not there with our children it did seem very family friendly and I would feel comfortable taking my children to this resort. We will definitely go to an all-inclusive again. The only draw back was the solicitation for the hotel group ie. if you go to breakfast at another resort we will compensate with coupons etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Car rental is available from both concierge and a rental group. Playa Del Carmen has 5th Ave shopping for souvenirs which are cheaper if you dont mind bartering and they take US dollars & pesos.

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Apr 27, 2011

now sapphire

Very clean, nice entertainment. Food was not so great. Nice hotel othervise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

go to different restaurant every day

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveler/New Yorker
Business
Brooklyn, NYC
Apr 26, 2011

A little of everything!

The Now Sapphire is a wonderful all-inclusive hotel resort that serves a large variety of guests, from families to newlywed couples, to retired elderly folks and European tourists. I SAW EVERYONE! To start: I had the pleasure of having a beach front room that literally opened on to the sand. It was incredible. I paid more to and chose the "preferred guest option" which I highly recommend if you don't want to be stressed with finding a beach chair or pool chair ( they reserve on for you) and if you want to dine outdoors (all outdoor dining was for preferred guests only!). PROS: *First off, this resort is a beautiful and tastefully decorated place on a beautiful beach *Really great food, grilled fish etc. best I've had at an all-inclusive in Mexico so far and I live in NYC where the food is crazy good. *A lot of authentic Mexican food at the buffet, but also for the "middle americans".....chicken nuggets and french fries to boot. * Extremely clean rooms with luxury linens, towels, robes and great A/C and English language cable choices. *Social areas/lounges are gorgeous! Beautiful and large lounge/grand palapa area with bar. *No watered down drinks! *Not overrun with partiers and alcoholics. *Tasteful beach decor/chairs/palapas. *Great staff/English speaking. *Great walk to Puerto Morelos *Preferred guest (extra cost) option is a must if you want to be able to dine outside, and have a reserved( with your last name) and shaded beach chair or pool chair every day. CONS: *Too many children- they stay and eat for free at this resort. *Pool area with swim up bar too noisy with music. *Too many events trying to please kids, and not enough activities for adults like gratuitous water sports with kayaks and snorkeling gear.(not included!). *Gardens could have been more tended to, although you are in a desert landscape. Nowhere to lounge or sit outdoors except for pool or beach. * Beach had litter on it from partiers the night before and it wasn't removed until noon the night day. *Not enough drink service on beach (my measure of a top notch resort). *Resort is sandwiched in by other resorts on both sides. *Adults only pool is beautiful but it is right next to the loud children's activity pool. *Techno music on beach was horrible! They played it to pump up the volleyball crowd but it was really stressful for us sunbathers. All and all, a really nice place, but I probably wouldn't go back. As a single adult traveler, I will probably choose an adults-only more peaceful location next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
akabrat
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Apr 26, 2011

2nd Visit ... definitely not the same!

This was our 2nd visit to this resort. We stayed here back in 2006 when it was the Paradisus. All I can say is that it no longer compares and the service and amenities have definitely taken a turn for the worse. We read all of the reviews before booking and decided that we would go by our first experience with this resort in 2006 instead of letting negative reviews color our decision. We payed for the upgrade to "Preferred Club" since we had this during our first stay and knew what we could expect ... oh how wrong we were. The only thing that you actually get with the upgrade is the "Adult Pool" and now they even allow teenagers into that location. When we stayed back in 2006 it was for "Adults Only" (18 and over) and they reserved your bed for you with a name card (no longer reserved, first come first serve & no name card). [...] do a good job for the most part, but not consistently. Some days you get towels on your bed and some days you don't. With Preferred Club you get snacks and an upgraded mini bar ... LOL! The snacks are a 1/2 can of Pringles & one small bag of Peanut M&M's for the duration of your stay (no refills). My brother & sister-in-law did not receive daily replenishment of their mini bar even after repeated requests. The upgraded Room Service menu is very limited and offers the same foods as the Blue Water Grill (nothing special). The pillow menu no longer has the scented pillows and again it is first come first serve and they did not have most of the options available during our stay. The Preferred Check-In is now used to try to coerce you into visiting their Dreams resort just down the street by talking to their "Coupon Specialist". Even though we expressed that we were not interested they kept pushing and continued to approach us for the first couple of days until I finally had to be very firm with my answer. Previously, upon arrival, you were whisked into the Preferred Club Lounge, handed a glass of champagne and a cool towel, snacks and a speedy check-in and off to your room (as it should be). The maid service was in daily at a different time each day and starting on the 4th day (stayed for 8) they were leaving only one wash cloth for two people so you had to call to get another one so each person could have their own to bathe with. We ended up with a 2nd floor room (requested 3rd floor like we had in 2006 prior to arrival because we knew it would be private) and had no privacy to use the Ocean View balcony with hot tub because the neighboring room could watch everything we did. The ocean view rooms do have beautiful view in buildings 2, 3 & 4 but building 1 is too close to the main pool and standard guest beach. The 3rd floor view may have been ok, but we'll never know. We did receive the turn down service each evening as well as the robe and slippers. The kids/ teens have their own activities and club, but when it was time for volleyball they were included in play with the adults (not much fun). They still do not allow the children in the French Restaurant. The food and presentation thereof is still excellent. The only thing that has changed is that the French Restaurant no longer offers a French meal as you would experience it in France ... 5 courses with a pallet cleanse between courses, etc. Now the experience is the same as all other restaurants. You can walk the beach all the way to Puerto Morelos which is approximately 2.5 miles and a 45 minute walk, we did this and enjoyed it. The resort offers a bike ride to Puerto Morelos as well and you are given some time to walk around and explore before your ride back. My husband and brother tried to make arrangements to snorkel off the beach and use the catamarans, but were told it would be too windy for the whole week and they could not do these activities ... though others were. When we stayed in 2006, they actually took you out on a boat to the reef to snorkel for the cost of the National Reef government fee ... no longer ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to Puerto Morelos via the beach and take a snorkeling tour with one of the local groups there because it is much cheaper than booking at the resort. It is $9 (US) for a taxi to/ from Puerto Morelos and there is a taxi stand right outside of the resort as well as in Puerto Morelos so if you don't want to walk you can get a ride.

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnatan
Business
Paradise, CA
Apr 5, 2011

Good times in Riviera Maya

Staying in this garden type of hotel was wery pleasant. The staff was wery friendly always ready to serve. Food was above averidge. Because the beach is close to reef there was sea grass on it, but they rake it a few times a day with surf rake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Every evening there was some form of entertaiment, usually prety good.

Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st louis
Apr 2, 2011

very nice hotel

It was nice resort and everyone was so kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top