$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Mestizo Hotel Boutique

3 stars
Carretera Tulum Ruinas- Bocapaila, Lote 10 E, Tulum, 77780
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
15 reviews
The Most Amazing Place

My boyfriend and I went here for my birthday. Victor, the hotel manager, helped us book scooters to... See full review

  • Jamie the girl
  • Mar 17, 2014
Beautiful comfortable Mexican Experience

We stayed 4 nights for a relaxing getaway and had just that. The Hotel Staff were amazing and we... See full review

  • dna2travel
  • Jun 11, 2014
EL MESTIZO HOTEL BOUTIQUE counts with thirty rooms in different modalities, which is a complement of LA CASA DEL MESTIZO. By staying at the hotel, your customers can get intimate with the gifts of nature, like clear water, the vast white sand beach, the second largest reef in the world and fauna Sian Kan Biosphere, and the major archaeological sites of Mayan culture. The hotel respect nature and do their part for the environment, electricity is available at certain times of the day, generally from dusk to midnight, the rooms are designed with a natural ventilation system that offers the sea breezes, candles, incense, fresh flowers ... You will find that your room provides the perfect retreat space and witness a clear sky full of stars that invites romance. Hotel also provides the facility of Lobby, Reception and Smoke-free hotel!

Mestizo Hotel Boutique Rooms

Junior Suite
Ocean front room, each room has a private terrace. They count with a king size bed and 1 double bed. Each room has a spacious private bathroom, inside the room theres a hall type seating area. The decoration in each bedroom is decorated with beautiful hand-embroidered cushions and rustic furniture's.
Familiar Suite
Bedrooms jungle view, each room has 2 double beds with private bathroom and regional decoration.
Suite
Spacious bedrooms ocean view, located on the second floor, they count with a king size bed, decorated with embroidered cushions and huge mirrors. Each of this room has a private terrace.
Bungalow Ocean Front
Oceanfront room, it could be with a king size or 1 double bed. It counts with private terrace and exclusive lounges.
Familiar Suite Ocean View
view room, each of these rooms have a king size bed and 2 double beds. They are decorated with regional vases candle holders and vases of cut glass.
Familiar suite Jungle View
Jungle view room with private terrace, It has 2 double beds.
Bungalow Ocean View
Ocean view bungalows, its roof may be concrete or palapa, they have 1 double bed or king size bed. They have private bathrooms. Each room has a unique decoration.
Bungalow Jungle View
Jungle view bungalows, its roof may be concrete or palapa, they have 1 king size bed they have private bathrooms. Each room has a unique and regional decoration, and a private terrace.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mestizo Hotel Boutique also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.1323 -87.4635
Area served
Tulum
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Carretera costera Tulum ruinas- Bocapaila, lote 10 E, Punta Piedra, C.P. 77780

Dining

Restaurant El Mestizo
Restaurante El Mestizo Tipical- Campirian food, firewood.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Mestizo Hotel Boutique

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mestizo Hotel Boutique

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dna2travel
SE USA
Jun 11, 2014

Beautiful comfortable Mexican Experience

We stayed 4 nights for a relaxing getaway and had just that. The Hotel Staff were amazing and we found the accomodations to be very comfortable, clean, and welcoming. On a stretch of beautiful and natural beach with a great garden and jungle setting, this hotel provided a classic Mexican atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Mestizo Hotel Boutique

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pocari
Idaho
Jun 10, 2014

Ideal only under specific conditions

I booked our vacation at Mestizo with one goal in mind: to sit on a beach and disconnect from the world. This goal might have been accomplished had the weather cooperated. Instead, it rained (as in sheets of all-day downpours) during four of the six days we had there. The last two days were still cloudy, but at least the rain had let up. Also, our "jungle" room was located above the reception area, and the open window of the public bathroom area (walking up to our room sometimes meant having to hold our breath as we passed the window). We tried to have our room switched for the first three days, but was only offered a beach front room for a $77 (US) upgrade. So we were essentially stuck in a fairly nice, but not private or quiet room. Unfortunately, we did not know how far the hotel was from town when we booked the trip. To get to Tulum proper, it's a 15-20 minute car ride along the highway. It was a $300 (MXN) round-trip taxi ride that we paid for almost every day given the rainy weather. (apparently these fares had recently increased) Had we known how far out we were going to be, we would have made prior arrangements to rent a car, and more realistically, had not stayed at the hotel at all. So, if you know the weather is going to be perfect during your travel, and you have no interest in doing anything other than sitting on a beautiful beach (and I mean nothing else), then this might be the place for you. However, if you are considering daily sightseeing trips and the like, then at the very least you must budget for a rental car or additional funds for taxis and related sightseeing transportation. I will personally not be coming back to this hotel, but this is because it's too inaccessible for my travel preferences. For someone with a destination vacation in mind, the rooms are decent and the food is standard. (As other reviewers have noted, the restaurant is expensive and the food is average.) The waitstaff are friendly and accommodating. The beach is definitely beautiful, quiet and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mestizo Hotel Boutique

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gbrouwer
New York
Apr 30, 2014

Quiet and wonderful beachfront hotel

We loved Mestizo. Its location south of Tulum offers quiet beaches, as the hotels are spaced further apart. The rooms are basic but clean and the staff friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North of Mestizo is a great seafood restaurant called Simple. Fresh daily catches, life music and relaxed atmosphere. Definitely worth stopping by.

Review of Mestizo Hotel Boutique

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmongo
Brooklyn
Apr 2, 2014

Amazing

This was our second trip to Tulum. This was our first trip with our 2-1/2 year old. Mestizo was amazing. The property is beautiful. The beach was magnificent. And the staff couldn't have been any better. They were beyond friendly and genuinely wonderful people. My only criticism would be the food at the restaurant. It was good, but not mind blowing. It is, however, what was expected and solid for food on a tropical beach. A minor criticism in an otherwise perfect stay. I would stay here again, and in fact, plan on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into town for authentic Mexican food. It's worth the cab ride.

Review of Mestizo Hotel Boutique

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janulenka
Jiloviste
Apr 1, 2014

Nice hotel on the beautifull beach

We was three nights in very nice Family Suite Ocean View but was way too expensive and include breakfast very very pure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Mestizo Hotel Boutique

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HGHNY
New York, NY
Mar 30, 2014

Five days in paradise!

Woke up to birds, the sound of surf and an ocean view. Wonderful, attentive staff all on an amazing beach. Nice restaurant with fresh seafood every day. No complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Mexico Kan Tours - Sian Ka'an biosphere tour. Small groups. Excellent guides. Temples, jungles, boat rides, swimming... UNESCO World Heritage Centre. A unique outing. www.mexicokantours.com

Review of Mestizo Hotel Boutique

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamie the girl
New York, NY
Mar 17, 2014

The Most Amazing Place

My boyfriend and I went here for my birthday. Victor, the hotel manager, helped us book scooters to go to the nearby centotes, was incredibly helpful on restaurant choices, and helped organize our ride back to Cancun airport. The restaurant staff was incredibly friendly and worked with Victor to set up a surprise for my birthday. They set up a table for two on the moon-lit beach. It was so special- they even brought us a cake and sang happy birthday. If you're lucky, Rudy will be your waiter the entire time. The hotel staff remembers your name and gives you personalized attention. I would definitely recommend this hotel and go back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You do not need a guide to go through the cenotes. You also don't need to rent scuba or snorkling gear and can just swim at your leisure.

Review of Mestizo Hotel Boutique

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glad to have stayed
New York
Mar 1, 2014

Quiet, friendly, remote and easy-going

We were glad to have chosen this hotel. While not the most modern or fancy place, it had plenty of old-school charm and an excellent location near the end of the beach resort strip. Staff are terrific and very accommodating. A little hard to get to other places without a bike or taking many taxis. Not for any glamour seekers or folks who need lots of others around them, but great for the mellow traveler who is happy to read, relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

It is definitely worth exploring other resorts and restaurants, but be forewarned that walking to them t night means a lot of dodging cars on the dark road. And strongly recommend arranging a tour of the greater area, which the hotel helped with.

Review of Mestizo Hotel Boutique

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snorklers
Minneapolis
Mar 1, 2014

A terrible start that ended well

When my girlfriend and I arrived at Mestizo after a long day of traveling the reception desk had no record of our reservation. They didn't have our names or any record that we had paid for the rooms. This is every traveler's nightmare and we didn't appreciate it. We don't know who is to blame for this but since the hotel had no record and had not received my payment we can only suspect this company had not made the connection for the reservation and payment. The good news is that Victor trusted us and put us in a room (#20) for the night until he could straighten out the issue. I don't know if this would have been the room of our reservation had been made as planned but we were thankful to have a place to stay. That said, the room we stayed in was smaller than we were expecting. It was also much darker than the pictures posted on the website. Even with all the windows open and the lights on, it was still very dark. We're both used to roughing it and appreciate that parts of Tulum are still off the grid. But we were not expecting to see a rat running along the top of a wall one evening. One of the reasons we chose this place was because of the included breakfast. We should have known that we'd only be getting a few pieces of fruit, some bread, with coffee and juice. It really wasn't much of a breakfast. We bought an extra meal almost every morning to make up for the little food that was provided. The staff was great and we enjoyed how friendly they were to us. They were very helpful with making reservations or getting cabs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Turquesa is a great place for a cheap and tasty lunch and some beer.

Review of Mestizo Hotel Boutique

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robbie B. F.
West Hollywood, CA
May 14, 2013

Perfect

This place is great. So great, in fact, that I hesitate to even write such a positive review because next time I return, and it will be soon, I'd like it to be as quiet and perfect as it was for me. This is not a commercial 5-star, all-inclusive nonsense type of towering place. It's got no AC and air freely flows into the room. There are bugs and lizards and birds and pretty much every other perfect thing that Tulum has to offer. You get to experience it all in a way that few untouched places in this world still are able to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top