$366 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Boulevards El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
246 reviews
Awesome trip with grandsons

We were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Plenty of... See full review

  • Mimi9
  • Dec 3, 2014
Great choice,

Upgrading to an oceanfront room for $250 (would have been $350 before using a discount coupon) was... See full review

  • Amazing Traveling Ann
  • Nov 23, 2014
Caribbean resort overlooking Puerto Morelos National Reef Park
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort is located only 20 minutes from Cancun International Airport and less than a mile from the quaint fishing village of Puerto Morelos. The resort boasts four restaurants, a state-of-the-art oceanfront spa, a 22,000-square-foot free-form pool, 120-slip marina with a dive shop, mini-supermarket, sport fishing fleet and a convention center. Those looking for some quiet relaxation enjoy the adults-only silent zone with Jacuzzi and massage huts. The resort overlooks the Puerto Morelos National Reef Park.
Highlights:
  • Full-service 120-slip marina with dive shop
  • Adults-only silent zone with Jacuzzi and massage huts
  • 13,000-square-foot El Cocay Spa with a Mayan-inspired steam bath
  • Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort overlooks the Puerto Morelos National Reef Park
Rooms:

Expect contemporary-style rooms in neutral, soothing earth tones with modern, colorful pillows and rich wood furniture. Suites are at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach feel pleasantly residential and feature ocean, pool or garden view. Pampering amenities include satellite TV, pillow menu, turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini-bar and full marble bathrooms. Guests can choose from many different suites, each with private balcony. Spa suites have Jacuzzis and terraces.

Features:
Whether you're looking for relaxation or adventure, you'll find it at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach. The 22,000-square-foot free-form pool features a separate kids area with water slides and rock formations for jumping. Water sports including windsurfing, Hobie Cats, kayaking, boogie boards and paddle boats are available as part of the all-inclusive package. Additionally, guest can practice their backswing on one of the two tennis courts or explore with a bike tour to Puerto Morelos. When you've exhausted yourself, head to the spa for some relaxation. The Mayan-inspired steam bath is the perfect way to unwind after an action-packed day (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (20 minutes)
Attractions
  • Puerto Morelos (0 mile/.5 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (22 mi/37 km)
  • Tulum ruins (25 mi/41 km)
  • Chichen Itza (137 mi/221 km)
Business­
  • 11,974 square feet of function space divisible into six breakout rooms
  • 7,500-square-foot convention center
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Platinum Club Level
Luxury and Platinum Rooms Features: Guaranteed Ocean View units, welcome fruit basket with wine, bathrobes and slippers, turn-down service with chocolate covered strawberries as welcome amenity, room aroma menu, umbrella and beach bag for use during stay, scale and butler service. Plus: dedicated check-in and check-out area, complimentary access to the Platinum Room (beverages, snacks, fruit, Internet access, TV, newspapers and books), reservation of individual beach palapa huts, guaranteed reservations in specialty restaurant, late check-out (subject to availability).
Spa Suite Garden or Pool View with Jacuzzi, Balconyuzzi, Terrace
Includes $150 USD Spa Credit per room per stay (minimum 3 paid nights) as well as a Spa amenity kit and an aroma menu in the room. Spacious bright, airy Suite featuring pool or garden view. Elegant decor in modern minimalist decoration. Bathroom is above the industry standard with in-room and / or terrace Jacuzzi, large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer.
Honeymoon Suite with Balcony, Jacuzzi w/Jacuzzi Pool or Garden View
Spacious bright, airy Honeymoon Suite featuring pool or garden view. Elegant decor in modern minimalist decoration. Bathroom is above the industry standard with in-room Jacuzzi, large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer and snacks.Platinum Club Level Included (Platinum accommodation subject to availability)
Luxury Garden View Pool View or Ocean View with Balcony
One king bed or two double beds. Bright, airy room featuring oceanfront or pool view. Elegant decor in fresh, tropical hues. Bathroom is above the industry standard with large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer.
Family Room - Ocean View Garden View or Pool View with Balcony
Spacious bright, airy Family room featuring ocean, pool, or garden view. Elegant decor in modern minimalist decoration. Bathroom is above the industry standard with large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer.
OneBedroom Garden - Ocean Pool View with Balcony
One Bedroom Suite includes: spacious unit nicely decorated in contemporary styles and colors with 1 king bed in separate bedroom AND 1 queen Murphy bed in large living/dining area, balcony, satellite TV; Ocean View. Platinum Club Level included:upgrade is available in all suites upon request directly at the hotel at US$45 per person per night and guarantees Ocean View units, welcome fruit basket with wine, bathrobes and slippers, turn-down service, room aroma menu, umbrella and beach bag for use during stay, scale and butler service. Plus: dedicated check-in and check-out area, complimentary access to the Platinum Room (beverages, snacks, fruit, Internet access, TV, newspapers and books), reservation of individual beach palapa huts, guaranteed reservations in specialty restaurant, late check-out (subject to availability)
Junior Suite Pool View or Ocean View with Balcony
Junior Suite includes: Deluxe new suite nicely decorated in contemporary styles and colors with 1 king bed AND 1 queen Murphy bed, balcony, satellite TV; Ocean, pool, or garden view. All inclusive property.
One Bedroom Suite with balcony and kitchenette Ocean, Pool, or Garden View
One Bedroom Suite includes: Spacious unit nicely decorated in contemporary styles and colors with 1 king bed in separate bedroom AND 1 queen Murphy bed in large living/dining area, balcony, satellite TV; Ocean, pool, or garden view. All inclusive property.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Alhambra
Dine indoors or al fresco at the casual La Alhambra, adjacent to the lobby. Either way, you'll savor the ever-changing gourmet buffet and a-l-minute dishes. The menu pleases the palate with everything from salads, sandwiches and pizza to sushi, chicken and roast beef. Calorie-watchers, beware of the dessert bar, with its to-de-for ice cream, pies, cakes and crepes.
Hacienda Arrecife
The poolside Hacienda Arrecife pairs gourmet Mexican cuisine with generous portions of traditional local decor. A testimonial to success, Hotel Marina El Cid has expanded this hacienda-style restaurant, doubling occupancy to accommodate 220 guests. A new buffet and freshly prepared, a-la-minute bars serve healthy breakfasts and international luncheon fare. Elegant dinners are available a la carte accompanied by a selection of more than 100 different tequilas.!Viva Mexico!
Other food and beverage services
Other food and beverage services include a lobby coffee station and martini bar with live entertainmen; afternoon tea time in the lobby; poolside, swim-up bar; healthy meal corner; in-room mini-bar stocked with drinks; 24 hour room service as well as beachside and poolside beverage service.
Scaramanga Moon & Beach Lounge
Enjoy cocktails from a hammock at the Scaramanga Moon & Beach Lounge. Located on the resort's white, sandy shore, this new lounge is as unique as its name. The lounge is open till midnight. At Scaramanga! guests relax in hammocks under breezy palms or on plush mattresses beneath cabanas. What's the meaning of the name, many ask. Cool ocean breezes, sand beneath your feet, and reggae music, all amidst a convivial ambiance - that's Scaramanga!
La Marina
La Marina serves up fresh seafood and stunning sunset views overlooking the clear waters of Puerto Morelos Bay. Open for daily a la carte lunch and dinner. Situated at the marina next to the resort, Reservations are required.
El Alcazar
El Alcazar is a favorite for romantic dinners and special occasions. Located off the lobby, this fusion gourmet restaurant boasts elegant, minimalist dcor. Diners enjoy a creative blend of Asian and Mediterranean cuisine. The wine cellar a large variety of wines, including classic favorites and emerging labels from countries around the globe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 246
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amazing Traveling Ann
Business
Seattle
Nov 23, 2014

Great choice,

Upgrading to an oceanfront room for $250 (would have been $350 before using a discount coupon) was definitely worth it. even though your package may state that you get the type of room available you will get the least desirable room if you don't pay more. The hotel was vey well maintained and the room was new. Unfortunately walls are thin so you can easily hear your neighbor but the place was so beautiful I'd go back without hesitation. The dining options were of surprisingly high quality and the staff was consistently prompt and courteous. The beach was great but be sure to bring mosquito repellent. We splurged on one of the private romantic dinners and it was the most amazing experience ever. IF you have a special event to celebrate I whole heartedly recommend it. I was surprised and disappointed to learn there is no food served poolside but it probably is best for the environment and not a big deal. Also it was not your typical all inclusive bar/drink options. Brands were all mid to top shelf and the pours were always generous. Corona was on tap! We bought snorkel gear at the gift shop and enjoyed using it right there just off the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to bring and use Deep Woods Off mosquito repellent especially just after a rain.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Hernandez
Business
Northern, New Jersey
Oct 11, 2014

Birthday Getaway

This was my first trip to Mexico and my birthday getaway so my girlfriend wanted to make it special. She suggested that we stay at the Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort as she has been there twice (2x) before. We stayed from the 3rd to the 7th of October and our requested room was given to us. The staff was pleasant, helpful and hospitable. Even though the gratuities are included, we still tipped the staff (bell boys, housekeepers, wait staff etc.). We made sure to keep our valuables in the safe but I forgot my small wallet inside the zippered pocket of my bag which I know contained $50.00 and two (2) $5.00 bills. I realized this the evening of October 5. To our dismay, the $ 50.00 WAS GONE. To our knowledge, it was housekeeping and the staff who replenished our refrigerator entered our room. We personally informed the front desk staff and expressed OUR DISAPPOINTMENT - not the amount missing but the DISRESPECT, INTRUSION and VIOLATION OF OUR PRIVACY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jubito
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 10, 2014

Would love to give this hotel a better rating

We are frequent visitors to this area and were very excited to stay at the Hotel Marina El Cid with the added Platinum Club service, especially after reading all the positive reviews online. But sadly we ended up disappointed more than impressed. Pluses included: perfect location, magnificent property, gorgeous beach views, staff like Giovanni, Josue, and Ivan in the Mediterranean restaurant and Marco at the breakfast and lunch buffets, and night manager, Irvin. Negatives included: disinterested Platinum Club staff, a "butler" that never again contacted us after leaving us waiting for him in the rain the very first time he met us until we ran into him in the Club and he offered to get us some scented pillows that never seemed to arrive, cold food at dinner at almost every restaurant, and small but ultimately annoying lack of attention and inconsistent housekeeping and maintenance services like broken safe, broken patio door, continuous need to ask for wash cloths, etc. It's the small things that you remember sometimes!!! With a little attention to detail in customer service, housekeeping, and facility maintenance, this place could be a memorable and magnificent resort. But unfortunately, it's just not there yet. For example, instead of having the Platinum Club workers sitting around waiting for Club members to come in, why aren't they calling all the Platinum Club members in their rooms to check if they need anything special? A quick call is all that is needed to make a big impression. More attention seems to be paid to selling timeshares. That level of attention directed to guests that are not timeshare members would elevate this hotel to 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Benii
Business
Vancouver
May 4, 2014

Great resorte

The hotel was great. Food and services are fantastic. The staf was very welcoming and friendly. The place was very clean daly. The beach is beautiful, white sand and clear water. We definitely recommend it. Be aware of the sales people trying to sale you timeshare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa Del Carmen is 25,30 km from resort. Do not miss it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sup Family
Business
Des Moines, IA
Mar 20, 2014

Sup Review

The hotel was great. We are use to a little more "action" at our all-inclusive vacations, but it was a nice relaxing time. The food was incredible and the resort itself was beautiful. The staff were amazing! The only minor complaint I have is that the activity is just, done, after 11:00. Great live music at the lobby bar and then... nothing. The beds are hard considering the quality of the resort, but we are never in our rooms that much anyway. The platinum member rewards were incredible and we felt like royalty throughout the trip. We would probably not return as a couple, but look forward to bringing our 4 boys someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jleon
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Feb 22, 2014

Nice hotel

World class customer service. It was a really nice staying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yomanne
Business
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Feb 22, 2014

Great Restaurants

We booked the standard luxury room and ended up on the 3rd floor of building 18 which provided a partial ocean view from the balcony. The room was very clean and everything worked! The resort was the perfect size for us (342 rooms). It wasn't so big that you had to ride carts to get from one end to the other but it's big enough that you can walk on the pathways through the beautiful landscaping and feel like you're in a tropical paradise. The food was the best we've had in any all inclusive resort. The new Italian restaurant opened the week before we arrived and was our favorite. There's a total of five restaurants to choose from for the evening meal - one of them being the main buffet restaurant. The other four require reservations for dinner. The white sand beach is very nice, although it is not developed north of the resort.. They raked up seaweed every day to try and keep ahead of it. Unless you pay for Platinum service, you need to be up and out pretty early to stake out your chairs. If you walk toward the south and go past the marina, there's a stretch of very nice beach that extends about a mile. The little fishing village of Puerto Morelos is about a 20 minute walk to the north and has a flea market and small shops and restaurants. The resort also has bikes you can ride into town as a group complete with tour guide. We've stayed at many resorts in the Cancun/Riviera Maya area and this is now our favorite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner reservations sometime fill up fast but if you get the Platinum service you can make multiple reservations in advance. Platinum also provides free Internet service. Otherwise, it's $60/week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelle Bellie
Business
Blakesburg, Iowa
Jan 25, 2014

Great Vacation Resort!

This was our third stay at Marina El Cid. We have had great experiences each and every time! The few issues we had this time was: no wash cloths except for two days and then we had to track the housekeeper down, the last night we were there we had nothing to drink in our frig. But, all in all we had another great time and will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

There is a kids club that is opened from nine to nine. The resort is great with children and parents can have a night on the town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex whatever whatever
Business
NYC
Jan 15, 2014

great place, some inconsistency

We (couple) went for four nights and it was overall a great experience. A large reason I went to this resort was for using some water sports equipment, which was a bit disappointing. They have hobiecats (simple sail boats), but they won't let you take them out except with a staff member. this is pretty cramped for a small boat. Other places I have stayed at would let you go out on your own after proving competence. they had two wind surfers, but we were unable to take them out because the guy who had to show us how (even though we know) was frequently not around. I never saw anyone use them. the water sports gear was in rough shape generally - the boat's cabling cut my hand (not bad) which the life guard did a nice job cleaning up. the wind surfers looked pretty bad. staff, food, and general cleanliness was all great. we never got wash clothes after our first night, which was kind of weird. the adults only jacuzzi is only open to like 6 or 7pm. it seems like it would be nice if it was open later. The pool was really nice. the entertainment show we went to (mexican culture) was also great. they didn't even put something out for tips (though I was quite willing to). in general the staff were not hounding for tips at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

the beach is nice and sandy, but in the water there are rocks, bring water shoes if boogie boarding or sailing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Escape artist Supreme
Business
Western Kentucky
Jan 12, 2014

Winter Escape

The amenities were good. Everything was convienently located. The room smelled a little musky when we first arrived and there appeared to be some mold spots on the ceiling. The towels and mini bar was not restocked adequately. No creamer for the coffeemaker. Service could have been better. Very nice pool area and beach. The spa was nice and the massages were good. It was a pretty resort and the grounds seemed to be well maintained. Biggest complaint was the mattress. Cheap and hard with no padding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top