$316 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Boulevards El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos, 82110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Schlemkowicz
Business
New York
Nov 8, 2013

It's good, but not good enough to go back to....

This hotel claims it's 4-star, but it isn't. It is not well lit at night and the hallways are slippery when wet which make it dangerous. Our room was not made up 2 of the seven days, wireless internet access costs extra, the beach is in an area that a lot of sand and dirt get into the surf...not that gorgeous blue you expect, the hot tub was not working one day and was just a tub, and services for handicapped persons were poor....not exactly the 4-star experience you'd expect... However, the food and waiter service is very good, and overall it was a good value for the money....but just one time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma2008
Business
NYC
Nov 6, 2013

Nice!

Room was large and clean. Food was simply great. We could not swim in the sea: water was muddy and with lots of seaweed, but the pool was good. We did not really like the entertainment: no stage, no comfortable seating, and, most of all, ridiculous show themes, like the rememberance of the dead. Anyway, the vacation was very good, especially for the discounted price we paid, which was $1,980 for two adults and one child all-inclusive with the airfare from New York city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CWAFBROWN
Business
Nederland, Texas
Sep 23, 2013

A Little Disappointed

Hotel provides no transportation to and from the airport. "Upgraded" package at $80 per night is not worth the money. The upgrade was supposed to include several extras that we had to beg to get after they were promised to us. One restaurant of the 4 was closed. One other was open only part of the time. No much entertainment on the resort. The only shop in the resort had items marked up over 250% even on small items like candy or lighters. The VIP lounge is very small and doesn't offer much. All of the TV channels are in Spanish. The hotel grounds were nice and so were the staff. I just feel that the hotel made promises and then did not fulfill them without me having to remind them. Seems an upgraded package would have come with the benefit of them knowing you upgraded. This hotel is great if all you want to do is sit by the pool. There are not many adult activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Princess Sarah 1
Business
Toronto
Aug 28, 2013

I had the best vacation ever!

perfect! It was the best place for my kids and my parents. 5 days at the hotel just flew by so fast,, but I know that I would cherish every moment at the hotel for a very long time. Thanks to all the wonderful staff at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Sign up for snorkeling at the hotel. 15 minutes boat ride and over 90 minutes of snorkeling. It was the most wonderful experience!

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Surburban Mom
Business
Bethesda, MD
Aug 4, 2013

Great family trip!

The room is clean, clean, clean! Let me emphasize that again, clean. I'm not a total clean freak but dirty hotel rooms really upset me and could ruin the whole trip. Furthermore, staff are constantly cleaning the walkways, trimming the foliage, cleaning the common areas. I'm really impressed with the cleanliness of the public restroom around the pool. We spent the majority of our time in the pool. My kids (8 y.o and 6 y.o) loved the diving cliff and slide. My hubby loved the pool bar :) The beach is very rocky so water shoes are a must. Bring your snorkeling gear to investigate right off the beach. We saw sea urchins, angel fish and a buffalo fish. I gained 3 lbs from eating the food. This resort knows how to cook fish and chicken right! I had every day for lunch and dinner. I also had incredible salmon sashimi at the main buffet. My husband and I loved Mexican food and we were in "hog heaven". Don't miss the Mexican night on Saturday nights at the main buffet. We only ate twice at the restaurants, the Mexican and seafood Marina. The restaurant food was good but we prefer the buffet selections. The staff were friendly, delicious food, clean room and good drinks. We are contemplating going back in Jan 2014.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Edith
Business
California
Aug 1, 2013

Great Vacation!!!

It was our first time in Mexico & was not disappointed! Hotel was beautiful, food was great, staff was friendly & helpful, the only thing that could be better is the internet connection, otherwise, we all had a great time, my kids did not want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to xplor if you want a fun day experience, definitely worth it!

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Milkywaybaby
Business
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Jul 23, 2013

Great Family Trip

We took a trip with our three girls , that were 6, 14, and 17 years old. The trip was amazing. The pool is very large and it is super fun to jump of the cliff jump that they have in the pool. The pool is very big so there is a lot of room for everyone. The late night activities were a blast we loved it. They had a show every day which was super intertaning. The beach was kinda small we expected for sandy beach but it was good enough. The ocean is very rocky. So you cant just swim out there and put your feet down on the ground because there are rocks there. Cancun is not to far from the hotel too so we rented out a car and drove it to cancun for a day. It was soo fun there. We pulled over and swam in the bright blue waters. The ocean was much better here (: The food at the hotel was lovely too. We ate at the buffet a lot cause it was fast. Overall great hotel loved it a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JimR17
Business
Las Vegas
Jun 23, 2013

Bad Vacation

1st Room very Bad had to be moved Bathroom door was Glass and had 2 inch gap were it didn't seal.. No privacy.. New room was wooden Door and closed Much better... Ants in rooms....Food was the same every day in the buffet you get tired of the same stuff.... My Son was not allowed to eat in the buffet on night because he had on Board Shorts and they said it looked like a swimsuit although I seen and I also went in with my swim trunks on several Times at dinner this is causal dress at all 3 meals in the buffet only dinner on the mexican theme night did there have a problem with the swim trunks I complained to the Hotel Manager and NOTHING Was Done......Beaches were nice after they cleaned up the Seaweed each day, Rocks out in the water about 20 feet out, hard to walk on.. need water shoes if you plan on playing in the ocean... I would Never STAY at this Hotel AGAIN !!!!!!!! Stay at a Palace Resort I heard they were much Better....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Never stay at this Hotel

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMFF
Business
Ohio
Jun 21, 2013

Great Staff at El Cid

Perfect for our teenage family, staff was wonderful and fun but not pushy. Guests were friendly not snooty. It was away from tourists and shopping which we wanted. Food and drinks were delicious and abundant. Chairs , cabanas and umbrellas everywhere so no a.m. fight to reserve space. We would go back. 2 problems, bank machine never worked, concierge did not speak English. Kind of important to know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MNTurtleBoy
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 24, 2013

Great get away

My wife and I were looking for an escape from a busy and hectic year at a place that let us do nothing but rest, relax and get away from it all. This spot is perfect for what we were looking for. We enjoyed sitting quietly at the pool in the morning and spent the afternoons on the beach. We didn't have to do any thinking for a week. I'd recommend the Platinum buy up for the extra reservation options you'll receive around the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top