$244 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Boulevards El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos, 82110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Laura37
Business
New Hampshire
Mar 25, 2014

Food and Beach terrible

We went during my daughter's February vacation. Two things that are very important to us is beach and food. The food was terrible, except for at the new Italian restaurant. I am not sure how anyone could think the food was good. We upgraded to Platinum so we were able to eat there 3-nights. Do wait util you get to resort to upgrade. We only paid $600 to upgrade. However, did not see any real benefit to it except got us dinner reservations and 2 suites verses one. The beach had so much debris floating in it that my daughter would not go in it and not the blue green was hoping for. The pool area was awesome and daughter had a blast jumping off the cliff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sup Family
Business
Des Moines, IA
Mar 20, 2014

Sup Review

The hotel was great. We are use to a little more "action" at our all-inclusive vacations, but it was a nice relaxing time. The food was incredible and the resort itself was beautiful. The staff were amazing! The only minor complaint I have is that the activity is just, done, after 11:00. Great live music at the lobby bar and then... nothing. The beds are hard considering the quality of the resort, but we are never in our rooms that much anyway. The platinum member rewards were incredible and we felt like royalty throughout the trip. We would probably not return as a couple, but look forward to bringing our 4 boys someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Cute
Business
Kansas City, KS
Mar 13, 2014

Good family get away

Didn't like the beach area, not enough umbrellas and chairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sandy and terry
Business
grand rapids, mi
Feb 28, 2014

Good

We Loved our week at the resort. I would just make sure that I get a receipt for cash payment made for WI FI. I had to wait 2 days to pay because the girls at the front desk did not have change for my 100.00 bill USD and then when I sent back she did. I stupidly did not ask for a receipt and when we went to check out, they told me I still owed for it. I fought them for it, because my husband saw me pay them. The manager finally stepped in and said she probably posted it to someone elses account. Service around the pool is not the best (Gilberto) spent his time drinking a beer with guests to us rather than getting us our drinks, however after this we went to the beach and service on the beach was awesome. Everyone is very clean! If you have ever stayed at any of he Palace Resorts this resort is comparable. The rooms are very nice, clean grounds are very cleans, food is very good especially Italian Restaurant (Awesome). We look forward to revisiting this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jleon
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Feb 22, 2014

Nice hotel

World class customer service. It was a really nice staying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yomanne
Business
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Feb 22, 2014

Great Restaurants

We booked the standard luxury room and ended up on the 3rd floor of building 18 which provided a partial ocean view from the balcony. The room was very clean and everything worked! The resort was the perfect size for us (342 rooms). It wasn't so big that you had to ride carts to get from one end to the other but it's big enough that you can walk on the pathways through the beautiful landscaping and feel like you're in a tropical paradise. The food was the best we've had in any all inclusive resort. The new Italian restaurant opened the week before we arrived and was our favorite. There's a total of five restaurants to choose from for the evening meal - one of them being the main buffet restaurant. The other four require reservations for dinner. The white sand beach is very nice, although it is not developed north of the resort.. They raked up seaweed every day to try and keep ahead of it. Unless you pay for Platinum service, you need to be up and out pretty early to stake out your chairs. If you walk toward the south and go past the marina, there's a stretch of very nice beach that extends about a mile. The little fishing village of Puerto Morelos is about a 20 minute walk to the north and has a flea market and small shops and restaurants. The resort also has bikes you can ride into town as a group complete with tour guide. We've stayed at many resorts in the Cancun/Riviera Maya area and this is now our favorite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner reservations sometime fill up fast but if you get the Platinum service you can make multiple reservations in advance. Platinum also provides free Internet service. Otherwise, it's $60/week.

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rt31
Business
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Feb 17, 2014

Pay for the Platinum Level for better service

Pros - The facilities were well kept and the pool area was excellent for kids. The main Buffet was very good and had a nice variety, but the food at times was cold. I recommend doing the pasta, burgers or pizzas since those would usually be warm. At night, do any of the meat specials they offered, again, because they would be warm. Our room was very spacious and had a nice deck. (More to come on this area) The wait staff in the buffets were usually very helpful and attentive. The check in process was pretty painless and the person checking us in was friendly enough. Cons- There is no snack bar located outside of the buffet areas for poolside snacks. We were traveling with 5 kids, ages 8, 6, 3(2) and 1. It would have been far more convenient to grab a quick snack and bring it to them, rather than having to pack them up and take them to the food. We have stayed at numerous all inclusive resorts in Mexico, Jamaica and the Dominican Republic and that has always been the case. The specialty restaurants were nothing to brag about. The food was mediocre at best and the amount of time it took to complete the meals was ridiculous. I wouldn't recommend any of them. The rooms, while spacious, left a lot to be desired because of the noise level. It is amazing that cement floors an echo from above like we dealt with. We were put in building 19 which is about as far away from everything that you can get. The first day we had 2 wash clothes, after that, even when requested we could not get wash cloths. Part of our group had booked through a time share and had anywhere from 2 - 6 wash cloths in there rooms each day. Our mini fridge may or may not be stocked with beer each day. My son who was not traveling as a Platinum tag, had the same experience in building 19. Our view from our second floor room consisted of what they refer to as a "lagoon"...aka..swamp. The mosquitoes pretty much ate you alive if you tried to sit on the deck in the evening. We were up at the lobby bar one evening and had a waiter who was well tipped and had been waiting on us regularly. A group of "Platinum" people came and sat next to us and we no longer could get waited on. At check in we were told that we could come and see them the next morning and get moved to a different building. When one of our group tried that they were told that the resort was 100% full and there were no other accommodations available. This was interesting since you could pretty much throw a bowling ball down the pool and buffets and not hit anyone. There was no indoor area for shows. Shows were held in a small area next to the pool. Shows were good, but there was very little seating available. The beach, while nice for snorkeling, was not good for swimming. Very rocky and on Wednesday, you would not believe the garbage that was floating in the water and washing up on the only area of beach that could offer swimming. Yes, there a lot of beach chairs, but a large part are roped off and only available for "Platinum" guests. While I'm not saying we won't go back, if we do go back it will be with the "Platinum" option so that we can get treated like guests instead of inconveniences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret is worth visiting! But plan on a full day and put together a plan to see what you want to see. If you have cash handy see the booth in Puerto Morelos for tickets. You get picked up at the hotel for much less than the hotel or Pronotours offers.

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Freezing in WI
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 4, 2014

Horrible Nightmare

This was definitely not what we expected at all! Did not like the location of the hotel from the start. Only about 20 minutes from the airport but went down dirt roads to hotel that did not make us feel very safe. Upon arrival at 11:30 we were told the room would be ready at 2 p.m....no problem, we were hungry so we went to get lunch. This was the worst idea of all. A big thing for me is cleanliness especially when preparing my food...at the buffet, I witnessed a cook take raw chicken and drip the juices all over the floor and anything else that was in between there and the grill. Then used a spoon for seasoning the chicken on raw chicken as well as cooked chicken. Raw meats and fishes are left on the counter in the buffet area where it is grilled...there is also pasta in that area,,,the thought of all the cross contamination almost made us room. Food as a whole was not good at all! Attempted one more meal before we decided to just leave! None of the food was very appetizing and we could not muster enough courage to eat anything at the grill area after what we had witnessed earlier. The whole resort smelled like raw sewage, and I know that the sewer smell occurs quite often in Mexico but I have never had the whole resort smell before. Now the service....went back to the desk at 2:00 so we could get into our room. The desk clerk said they were still cleaning and it would be done in 5 minutes. Fast forward 20 minutes and we went back and she told us there were 3 ladies cleaning, amnother 10 minutes. I do not have a problem with this but would much rather have been told we couldn't get the room until 4. So we went back to the desk 15 minutes later, and a very rude desk person said "I heard what she told you and the room will not be ready until 3." I was very taken aback at the rudeness, on top of the fact that this is not what the previous woman had told me. Not sure if she had gotten me mixed up with someone else, but the rudeness was completely unnecessary! When we finally got our room, there were tons of bugs on the ceiling like someone had left the door open and a horrible haze in the room. The beds are like rocks and there was water leaking out of a locked closet in the room. We went to the pool area for a short period of time and the kids loved the cliffs and the slides. They upgraded us to platinum service and delivered wine and fruit to our room, but this could not make us stay! As we headed back to our room to figure out what we were going to do, we stopped at the lobby bar and asked for Absolute.....we were told that they didn't have it....when they did earlier and were in no rush to get some more! Needless to say we headed for our room and made several phone calls and left the resort the next morning! Ended up having a fantastic vacation at another resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelle Bellie
Business
Blakesburg, Iowa
Jan 25, 2014

Great Vacation Resort!

This was our third stay at Marina El Cid. We have had great experiences each and every time! The few issues we had this time was: no wash cloths except for two days and then we had to track the housekeeper down, the last night we were there we had nothing to drink in our frig. But, all in all we had another great time and will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

There is a kids club that is opened from nine to nine. The resort is great with children and parents can have a night on the town!

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
F. G
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 24, 2014

Nice Resort

Overall, the resort was very nice...family oriented. The staff went above and beyond to accomidate, but I was a little disappointed because i booked the Jr. suite for my trip but when i arrived, i was told that the resort was full and my room would have to be downgraded to a standard room. Wasn't too thrilled about that....There is no clubs/parties on site, but if you are looking to just relax, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top