$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 12, 2015

Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Boulevards El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos, 82110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NL Mom
Family
Newfoundland, Canada
Apr 5, 2013

great family vacation

This is a wonderful family hotel. This is the perfect resort for parents who love to engage in activities with their children. The waterslide and lagoon are terrific. The variety of food is excellent. Family rooms are also a great option for families requiring extra space. Above all else, the greatest asset is the friendly staff who go above and beyond to make everyone feel welcome. We are definitely planning another vacation at El Cid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Small resort. Everything is within a short walking distance

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dragonfly5
Family
Wisconsin
Apr 3, 2013

Great Time!

Our family of five included 3 teens ages 15, 17, and 19. They were active the entire trip and had a great time. Food was good and the location was beautiful. Avery relaxed atmosphere with amenities that were of great value for the price. Staff was accommodating and friendly. Be sure to get up early to reserve beach chairs. Rooms were large, well appointed, and cleaned well every day along with an evening visit from housekeeping to make sure towels and supplies were adequate. Overall a very nice vacation of 8 days at the resort and would definitely go again. Our kids are ready for next year! For a family planning a vacation, this is the place to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely take the time to visit the Cenotes.

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonifaces
Family
Northern VA
Apr 1, 2013

Great All Inclusive Stay

Stayed in the platinum one bedroom suite that was right on the water. Perfect for a family with two baths and a separate bedroom. Food was uniformly good. Resort nice small size with excellent service. Location very close to airport compared to Playa del Carmen, PA, Tulum. Could not get a chair at the pool but Platinum reserved palapa on beach was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi into Puerto and hire a snorkeling boat from the co-op...wonderful reef with abundance of fish and sea life very close to shore.

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michele W.
Family
Boise, ID
Mar 31, 2013

Great for for families with teenagers

We had a great beachfront room. The food was pretty good but we were tired of buffets by the time we left. Marcela greeted us when we arrived at the hotel and helped us book tours. She was great to work with. All in all this was the best family vacation we have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a great time at Xplore. Great adventure tour.

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
congo ewh 1
Family
riviera maya, mexico
Mar 25, 2013

Spring Break at Marina El Cid

My family and I enjoyed our vacation. The food was good. The entertainment and activities were great. I think the room was a little tight and one day the housekeeping didn't come to clean until late in the afternoon. We enjoyed all the beach amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jvmarr
Family
Ada, Oklahoma
Mar 25, 2013

Family Friendly Resort!

We had an amazing family vacation at this resort. Pool and beach areas are beautiful and kept immaculately clean. The superb recreation staff were diligent in insuring that everyone was invited to participate in the activities. The food variety was wide and quality good. I would recommend this property to any family seeking an all inclusive in Mexico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The closest shopping is in Puerto Morelos. It is a good walk or approximately $5 per person round trip in a cab. Many of the stores have the same merchandise...comparison shop!

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
colette c
Family
chatham ontario canada
Mar 16, 2013

average ...wont be back

the hotel was average...it was clean ...the room was NOT big enough for 2 adults and 2 teens.... they charge for all extras...wireless internet...and the connection was bad...the 600.00 resort credit was only used as a coupon book....30.00 off for massage...75 .00 off for a tour ....we did not use it at all that was a total rip off...the spa we always use when away we did not this year because one massage was 200 for an hour ...total rip off a family of 4 would have been 800.00 we will not be back.....we like to stay closer to Cancun the beach is short and rockie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Early tan
Family
Columbus, Indiana
Mar 10, 2013

Family Spring Break

This was our first experience with an all-inclusive resort. It is in a nice, quiet, family atmosphere. Beach was very nice and so was pool, but the pool water temperature was chilly. Nice restaurants but most food was just ok after being there a few days. Overall it was a nice relaxing stay and we were happy with the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather213
Family
Winnipeg, Canada
Mar 6, 2013

Ideal resort for families with young children

This resort is perfect for families. The kiddie pool is great for the younger ones and my 4 year old was devastated at the end of the day when she had to leave the kids club-the staff kept the kids entertained and I felt confident in leaving my daughter with them. Our 8 year old kept busy with cliff jumping and the pool activities-the entertainment crew were great at getting people to participate without being pushy. We booked a platinum club package and highly recommend it. Our room was oceanfront(bldg 15) with spectacular sunrise views and was always kept spotless and very well stocked by housekeeping. The staff were the friendliest we've ever encountered on any vacation, with the exception of the club platinum staff. They never smiled or exuded any kind of warmth, but that's the only negative thing I can come up with. Close proximity to Cancun and Puerto Morelos make this an ideal location.(20 minute ride from the airport) I would definitely return with the kids, but not if it were just my husband and I probably not, because of the number of children at this resort and no night life after the shows end at 9:30. Again, reasons this resort is ideal for young families:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For $39 US, an experienced guide will take you out from the marina at the resort to the reef for an incredible snorkeling experience...don't waste money on a pricey tour when the best snorkeling is a 2 minute walk and short boat ride away!

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lana loo
Family
Boston, Ma
Feb 24, 2013

mediocre

First of all, our rooms weren't ready when we arrived, claiming the hotel was full. They did give us a suit for a night, then next day noon we got to our rooms. The food was terrible, nicely presented, but simply uneatable, just poor quality. Nice beach and pool, but you have to get up 6 am to claim a chair, otherwise there is a chair war after 8 am. After 2 days of observing how to get a chair, finally the third day we could enjoy the pool. The beach is very nice and clean, but again shortage of chairs. you have to be a premium member to qualify for anything, otherwise you feel like 3d class Titanic passenger. They have 4 restaurants, which again you set your alarm to get reservations, however even we did get 8;30 reservation for 3d day at their so called best Mediterranean restaurant, and still the food was just awful. The mexican restaurant was terrible and none of our party members could eat what they ordered. Entertainment was OK. Overall, we were just happy for the warm weather and the pool, very kid friendly. The drinks were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top