$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Boulevards El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
222 reviews
Good

We Loved our week at the resort. I would just make sure that I get a receipt for cash payment made... See full review

  • sandy and terry
  • Feb 28, 2014
luxury for the average family

We are enchanted and want to start planning our trip here next year already. We booked a five-day... See full review

  • Punica
  • Jan 16, 2014
Caribbean resort overlooking Puerto Morelos National Reef Park
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort is located only 20 minutes from Cancun International Airport and less than a mile from the quaint fishing village of Puerto Morelos. The resort boasts four restaurants, a state-of-the-art oceanfront spa, a 22,000-square-foot free-form pool, 120-slip marina with a dive shop, mini-supermarket, sport fishing fleet and a convention center. Those looking for some quiet relaxation enjoy the adults-only silent zone with Jacuzzi and massage huts. The resort overlooks the Puerto Morelos National Reef Park.
Highlights:
  • Full-service 120-slip marina with dive shop
  • Adults-only silent zone with Jacuzzi and massage huts
  • 13,000-square-foot El Cocay Spa with a Mayan-inspired steam bath
  • Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort overlooks the Puerto Morelos National Reef Park
Rooms:

Expect contemporary-style rooms in neutral, soothing earth tones with modern, colorful pillows and rich wood furniture. Suites are at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach feel pleasantly residential and feature ocean, pool or garden view. Pampering amenities include satellite TV, pillow menu, turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini-bar and full marble bathrooms. Guests can choose from many different suites, each with private balcony. Spa suites have Jacuzzis and terraces.

Features:
Whether you're looking for relaxation or adventure, you'll find it at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach. The 22,000-square-foot free-form pool features a separate kids area with water slides and rock formations for jumping. Water sports including windsurfing, Hobie Cats, kayaking, boogie boards and paddle boats are available as part of the all-inclusive package. Additionally, guest can practice their backswing on one of the two tennis courts or explore with a bike tour to Puerto Morelos. When you've exhausted yourself, head to the spa for some relaxation. The Mayan-inspired steam bath is the perfect way to unwind after an action-packed day (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (20 minutes)
Attractions
  • Puerto Morelos (0 mile/.5 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (22 mi/37 km)
  • Tulum ruins (25 mi/41 km)
  • Chichen Itza (137 mi/221 km)
Business­
  • 11,974 square feet of function space divisible into six breakout rooms
  • 7,500-square-foot convention center
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Platinum Club Level
Luxury and Platinum Rooms Features: Guaranteed Ocean View units, welcome fruit basket with wine, bathrobes and slippers, turn-down service with chocolate covered strawberries as welcome amenity, room aroma menu, umbrella and beach bag for use during stay, scale and butler service. Plus: dedicated check-in and check-out area, complimentary access to the Platinum Room (beverages, snacks, fruit, Internet access, TV, newspapers and books), reservation of individual beach palapa huts, guaranteed reservations in specialty restaurant, late check-out (subject to availability).
Spa Suite Garden or Pool View with Jacuzzi, Balconyuzzi, Terrace
Includes $150 USD Spa Credit per room per stay (minimum 3 paid nights) as well as a Spa amenity kit and an aroma menu in the room. Spacious bright, airy Suite featuring pool or garden view. Elegant decor in modern minimalist decoration. Bathroom is above the industry standard with in-room and / or terrace Jacuzzi, large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer.
Honeymoon Suite with Balcony, Jacuzzi w/Jacuzzi Pool or Garden View
Spacious bright, airy Honeymoon Suite featuring pool or garden view. Elegant decor in modern minimalist decoration. Bathroom is above the industry standard with in-room Jacuzzi, large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer and snacks.Platinum Club Level Included (Platinum accommodation subject to availability)
Luxury Garden View Pool View or Ocean View with Balcony
One king bed or two double beds. Bright, airy room featuring oceanfront or pool view. Elegant decor in fresh, tropical hues. Bathroom is above the industry standard with large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer.
Family Room - Ocean View Garden View or Pool View with Balcony
Spacious bright, airy Family room featuring ocean, pool, or garden view. Elegant decor in modern minimalist decoration. Bathroom is above the industry standard with large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer.
OneBedroom Garden - Ocean Pool View with Balcony
One Bedroom Suite includes: spacious unit nicely decorated in contemporary styles and colors with 1 king bed in separate bedroom AND 1 queen Murphy bed in large living/dining area, balcony, satellite TV; Ocean View. Platinum Club Level included:upgrade is available in all suites upon request directly at the hotel at US$45 per person per night and guarantees Ocean View units, welcome fruit basket with wine, bathrobes and slippers, turn-down service, room aroma menu, umbrella and beach bag for use during stay, scale and butler service. Plus: dedicated check-in and check-out area, complimentary access to the Platinum Room (beverages, snacks, fruit, Internet access, TV, newspapers and books), reservation of individual beach palapa huts, guaranteed reservations in specialty restaurant, late check-out (subject to availability)
Junior Suite Pool View or Ocean View with Balcony
Junior Suite includes: Deluxe new suite nicely decorated in contemporary styles and colors with 1 king bed AND 1 queen Murphy bed, balcony, satellite TV; Ocean, pool, or garden view. All inclusive property.
One Bedroom Suite with balcony and kitchenette Ocean, Pool, or Garden View
One Bedroom Suite includes: Spacious unit nicely decorated in contemporary styles and colors with 1 king bed in separate bedroom AND 1 queen Murphy bed in large living/dining area, balcony, satellite TV; Ocean, pool, or garden view. All inclusive property.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.8349 -86.8896
Area served
Cancun, Puerto Morelos.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 20 minutes and distance is 19 km (12 miles).
Area description
This oceanfront resort is located on the Mayan Riviera, within one and a half km (one mile) from Puerto Morelos and the National Reef Park. Puerto Morelos is a very small fishermen community located on the northern part of the Riviera Maya, 12 miles south of the Cancun International Airport, and it's the site of the Puerto Morelos National Reef Park.

Dining

La Alhambra
Dine indoors or al fresco at the casual La Alhambra, adjacent to the lobby. Either way, you'll savor the ever-changing gourmet buffet and a-l-minute dishes. The menu pleases the palate with everything from salads, sandwiches and pizza to sushi, chicken and roast beef. Calorie-watchers, beware of the dessert bar, with its to-de-for ice cream, pies, cakes and crepes.
Hacienda Arrecife
The poolside Hacienda Arrecife pairs gourmet Mexican cuisine with generous portions of traditional local decor. A testimonial to success, Hotel Marina El Cid has expanded this hacienda-style restaurant, doubling occupancy to accommodate 220 guests. A new buffet and freshly prepared, a-la-minute bars serve healthy breakfasts and international luncheon fare. Elegant dinners are available a la carte accompanied by a selection of more than 100 different tequilas.!Viva Mexico!
Other food and beverage services
Other food and beverage services include a lobby coffee station and martini bar with live entertainmen; afternoon tea time in the lobby; poolside, swim-up bar; healthy meal corner; in-room mini-bar stocked with drinks; 24 hour room service as well as beachside and poolside beverage service.
Scaramanga Moon & Beach Lounge
Enjoy cocktails from a hammock at the Scaramanga Moon & Beach Lounge. Located on the resort's white, sandy shore, this new lounge is as unique as its name. The lounge is open till midnight. At Scaramanga! guests relax in hammocks under breezy palms or on plush mattresses beneath cabanas. What's the meaning of the name, many ask. Cool ocean breezes, sand beneath your feet, and reggae music, all amidst a convivial ambiance - that's Scaramanga!
La Marina
La Marina serves up fresh seafood and stunning sunset views overlooking the clear waters of Puerto Morelos Bay. Open for daily a la carte lunch and dinner. Situated at the marina next to the resort, Reservations are required.
El Alcazar
El Alcazar is a favorite for romantic dinners and special occasions. Located off the lobby, this fusion gourmet restaurant boasts elegant, minimalist dcor. Diners enjoy a creative blend of Asian and Mediterranean cuisine. The wine cellar a large variety of wines, including classic favorites and emerging labels from countries around the globe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
222 out of 222
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
kat gio
new jersey
Apr 17, 2013

getaway

it was totaly awesome. i cant wait to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Casey410
Chicago, IL
Apr 7, 2014

Great for Families

Had a great spring break with the kids. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Lube
Alberta, Canada
Mar 26, 2014

Family & Friends Getaway

We enjoy the size of the hotel with our large group, easy to find. Room layout was great. Food and wait staff was excellent. Pools and grounds were clean and well groomed. Rooms could use some more attention when cleaning. Bed side tables had cup ring stains that were there when we arrived and were never clean the 10 days we stayed. Twice my hat got flattened sitting on a table, like something was thrown on top of it and never knew what time our room was going to be cleaned, sometimes at 10:00AM or may be 4:00PM? Found the purchased Wifi not worth it, very hit and miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Did not have a bad meal the whole time.

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Laura37
New Hampshire
Mar 25, 2014

Food and Beach terrible

We went during my daughter's February vacation. Two things that are very important to us is beach and food. The food was terrible, except for at the new Italian restaurant. I am not sure how anyone could think the food was good. We upgraded to Platinum so we were able to eat there 3-nights. Do wait util you get to resort to upgrade. We only paid $600 to upgrade. However, did not see any real benefit to it except got us dinner reservations and 2 suites verses one. The beach had so much debris floating in it that my daughter would not go in it and not the blue green was hoping for. The pool area was awesome and daughter had a blast jumping off the cliff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Sup Family
Des Moines, IA
Mar 20, 2014

Sup Review

The hotel was great. We are use to a little more "action" at our all-inclusive vacations, but it was a nice relaxing time. The food was incredible and the resort itself was beautiful. The staff were amazing! The only minor complaint I have is that the activity is just, done, after 11:00. Great live music at the lobby bar and then... nothing. The beds are hard considering the quality of the resort, but we are never in our rooms that much anyway. The platinum member rewards were incredible and we felt like royalty throughout the trip. We would probably not return as a couple, but look forward to bringing our 4 boys someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Super Cute
Kansas City, KS
Mar 13, 2014

Good family get away

Didn't like the beach area, not enough umbrellas and chairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
sandy and terry
grand rapids, mi
Feb 28, 2014

Good

We Loved our week at the resort. I would just make sure that I get a receipt for cash payment made for WI FI. I had to wait 2 days to pay because the girls at the front desk did not have change for my 100.00 bill USD and then when I sent back she did. I stupidly did not ask for a receipt and when we went to check out, they told me I still owed for it. I fought them for it, because my husband saw me pay them. The manager finally stepped in and said she probably posted it to someone elses account. Service around the pool is not the best (Gilberto) spent his time drinking a beer with guests to us rather than getting us our drinks, however after this we went to the beach and service on the beach was awesome. Everyone is very clean! If you have ever stayed at any of he Palace Resorts this resort is comparable. The rooms are very nice, clean grounds are very cleans, food is very good especially Italian Restaurant (Awesome). We look forward to revisiting this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
jleon
San Jose, Costa Rica
Feb 22, 2014

Nice hotel

World class customer service. It was a really nice staying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Yomanne
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Feb 22, 2014

Great Restaurants

We booked the standard luxury room and ended up on the 3rd floor of building 18 which provided a partial ocean view from the balcony. The room was very clean and everything worked! The resort was the perfect size for us (342 rooms). It wasn't so big that you had to ride carts to get from one end to the other but it's big enough that you can walk on the pathways through the beautiful landscaping and feel like you're in a tropical paradise. The food was the best we've had in any all inclusive resort. The new Italian restaurant opened the week before we arrived and was our favorite. There's a total of five restaurants to choose from for the evening meal - one of them being the main buffet restaurant. The other four require reservations for dinner. The white sand beach is very nice, although it is not developed north of the resort.. They raked up seaweed every day to try and keep ahead of it. Unless you pay for Platinum service, you need to be up and out pretty early to stake out your chairs. If you walk toward the south and go past the marina, there's a stretch of very nice beach that extends about a mile. The little fishing village of Puerto Morelos is about a 20 minute walk to the north and has a flea market and small shops and restaurants. The resort also has bikes you can ride into town as a group complete with tour guide. We've stayed at many resorts in the Cancun/Riviera Maya area and this is now our favorite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner reservations sometime fill up fast but if you get the Platinum service you can make multiple reservations in advance. Platinum also provides free Internet service. Otherwise, it's $60/week.

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
rt31
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Feb 17, 2014

Pay for the Platinum Level for better service

Pros - The facilities were well kept and the pool area was excellent for kids. The main Buffet was very good and had a nice variety, but the food at times was cold. I recommend doing the pasta, burgers or pizzas since those would usually be warm. At night, do any of the meat specials they offered, again, because they would be warm. Our room was very spacious and had a nice deck. (More to come on this area) The wait staff in the buffets were usually very helpful and attentive. The check in process was pretty painless and the person checking us in was friendly enough. Cons- There is no snack bar located outside of the buffet areas for poolside snacks. We were traveling with 5 kids, ages 8, 6, 3(2) and 1. It would have been far more convenient to grab a quick snack and bring it to them, rather than having to pack them up and take them to the food. We have stayed at numerous all inclusive resorts in Mexico, Jamaica and the Dominican Republic and that has always been the case. The specialty restaurants were nothing to brag about. The food was mediocre at best and the amount of time it took to complete the meals was ridiculous. I wouldn't recommend any of them. The rooms, while spacious, left a lot to be desired because of the noise level. It is amazing that cement floors an echo from above like we dealt with. We were put in building 19 which is about as far away from everything that you can get. The first day we had 2 wash clothes, after that, even when requested we could not get wash cloths. Part of our group had booked through a time share and had anywhere from 2 - 6 wash cloths in there rooms each day. Our mini fridge may or may not be stocked with beer each day. My son who was not traveling as a Platinum tag, had the same experience in building 19. Our view from our second floor room consisted of what they refer to as a "lagoon"...aka..swamp. The mosquitoes pretty much ate you alive if you tried to sit on the deck in the evening. We were up at the lobby bar one evening and had a waiter who was well tipped and had been waiting on us regularly. A group of "Platinum" people came and sat next to us and we no longer could get waited on. At check in we were told that we could come and see them the next morning and get moved to a different building. When one of our group tried that they were told that the resort was 100% full and there were no other accommodations available. This was interesting since you could pretty much throw a bowling ball down the pool and buffets and not hit anyone. There was no indoor area for shows. Shows were held in a small area next to the pool. Shows were good, but there was very little seating available. The beach, while nice for snorkeling, was not good for swimming. Very rocky and on Wednesday, you would not believe the garbage that was floating in the water and washing up on the only area of beach that could offer swimming. Yes, there a lot of beach chairs, but a large part are roped off and only available for "Platinum" guests. While I'm not saying we won't go back, if we do go back it will be with the "Platinum" option so that we can get treated like guests instead of inconveniences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret is worth visiting! But plan on a full day and put together a plan to see what you want to see. If you have cash handy see the booth in Puerto Morelos for tickets. You get picked up at the hotel for much less than the hotel or Pronotours offers.

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
Freezing in WI
Wisconsin
Feb 4, 2014

Horrible Nightmare

This was definitely not what we expected at all! Did not like the location of the hotel from the start. Only about 20 minutes from the airport but went down dirt roads to hotel that did not make us feel very safe. Upon arrival at 11:30 we were told the room would be ready at 2 p.m....no problem, we were hungry so we went to get lunch. This was the worst idea of all. A big thing for me is cleanliness especially when preparing my food...at the buffet, I witnessed a cook take raw chicken and drip the juices all over the floor and anything else that was in between there and the grill. Then used a spoon for seasoning the chicken on raw chicken as well as cooked chicken. Raw meats and fishes are left on the counter in the buffet area where it is grilled...there is also pasta in that area,,,the thought of all the cross contamination almost made us room. Food as a whole was not good at all! Attempted one more meal before we decided to just leave! None of the food was very appetizing and we could not muster enough courage to eat anything at the grill area after what we had witnessed earlier. The whole resort smelled like raw sewage, and I know that the sewer smell occurs quite often in Mexico but I have never had the whole resort smell before. Now the service....went back to the desk at 2:00 so we could get into our room. The desk clerk said they were still cleaning and it would be done in 5 minutes. Fast forward 20 minutes and we went back and she told us there were 3 ladies cleaning, amnother 10 minutes. I do not have a problem with this but would much rather have been told we couldn't get the room until 4. So we went back to the desk 15 minutes later, and a very rude desk person said "I heard what she told you and the room will not be ready until 3." I was very taken aback at the rudeness, on top of the fact that this is not what the previous woman had told me. Not sure if she had gotten me mixed up with someone else, but the rudeness was completely unnecessary! When we finally got our room, there were tons of bugs on the ceiling like someone had left the door open and a horrible haze in the room. The beds are like rocks and there was water leaking out of a locked closet in the room. We went to the pool area for a short period of time and the kids loved the cliffs and the slides. They upgraded us to platinum service and delivered wine and fruit to our room, but this could not make us stay! As we headed back to our room to figure out what we were going to do, we stopped at the lobby bar and asked for Absolute.....we were told that they didn't have it....when they did earlier and were in no rush to get some more! Needless to say we headed for our room and made several phone calls and left the resort the next morning! Ended up having a fantastic vacation at another resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top