$226 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

3 stars
Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km 256-100, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
383 reviews
Fantastic Stay

This was our fifth stay at Grand Palladium. Value is great and staff are even better. Very welcoming. See full review

  • IowaStateFan
  • May 14, 2014
Great Place! Lots to do!

We stayed the week of March 24th for 8 nights! Had a really wonderful relaxing time. Good food,... See full review

  • Sun Dancer Tim
  • Apr 4, 2014
Caribbean beach complex offers four all-inclusive resorts in one
The Grand Palladium Riviera Maya all-inclusive resort complex combines four resorts in one. Resort sections are the Riviera Resort, the White Sand Resort, the Royal Suites Yucatan and the Colonial & Kantenah Resort and Spa. These resorts strive to offer creature comforts and luxury in harmony with nature. The adults-only Royal Suites Yucatan is the complex's VIP entity. Guests there enjoy exclusive access to bars and restaurants and access to all other resorts on the property. The Grand Palladium Riviera Maya complex has five pools, 13 bars, a mini-golf course and spa.
Highlights:
  • Four resorts in one in a natural setting
  • Five pools, one exclusively for Royal Suites guests
  • Mini-golf course
Rooms:

Accommodations at Grand Palladium Riviera Maya vary among the resorts, but expect heavy Spanish influences with neutral color schemes and comfortable amenities. All rooms include one king or two double beds, in-room climate control, private terrace or balcony and personal mini-bar. For a fee, guests enjoy docking station for MP3 players, pillow menu and pay-per-view channels with movies. The 22 bungalow-style cabins called Mayan Suites are designed for couples and include hydromassage bathtubs, outdoor shower and a private entrance to the outside. These suites are positioned on the edge of large on-site lake.

Features:

Guests at Grand Palladium Riviera Maya can partake in a number of outdoor and water activities including archery, badminton, tennis, canoeing and snorkeling. For a fee, sailing, windsurfing and scuba diving classes are available. At night, the resort offers live entertainment and access to the discothèque, a dance club stocked with local and international drinks and music hits. For a quieter trip, check out the reading lodge or book a massage (fees apply) in the spa and enjoy free access to the gym, sauna and steam bath at Grand Palladium Riviera Maya.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (75 minutes)
Attractions
  • Akumal (4 mi/7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (19 mi/31 km)
Business
  • 12 conference rooms
  • One luxury convention center that seats up to 600 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)
Policies and Fees
  • The access to the wet areas (hot tubs, pool, sauna and steam baths) in the Zentropia Palladium Spa & Wellness centres is charged at $10 USD per guest and per day. Also, patrons who purchase any of spa treatments at Zentropia Palladium Spa & Wellness will be given free access to the wet areas that day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
All rooms have two double beds or one king-size bed, air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar restocked daily, TV (satellite), movie channel, telephone, electronic safe, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, tea and coffee facilities, smoke detectors, iron and ironing board, alarm clock, Wifi*, MP3 player station and pillow menu (Additional Charges).
Junior Suite
These rooms feature the same amenities as the Standard Rooms but have a sofa bed, hydro massage tub, bathrobes and slippers.
Mayan Suite
These rooms feature the same amenities as the Junior Suites, plus a separate entrance and a terrace, a magnificent bathroom with whirlpool and an outdoor Mayan-style shower. ADULTS ONLY

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.441 -87.2871
Area served
Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Jurez Km, 256-100, 77710 Municipio Solidaridad - Riviera Maya (Mxico)
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
The "Mayan Riviera" is the name given to the area located in the eastern extreme of the Yucatan peninsula and to the south of Cancun. An incomparable tourist destination whose main attractions are its beautiful water and white sandy beaches, the Mayan Riviera is home to the second largest coral barrier reef in the world. This area of the Mexican Caribbean, full of exotic animals, offers plenty of places to explore. Winding underground rivers that pour into beautiful cenotes (natural wells), caverns and caves and the archaeological remains of the thousand-year-old Mayan civilization that once flourished in the region amaze and delight visitors. The plentiful and spectacular marine life of the Mayan Riviera also provides an unforgettable experience for those who love diving and snorkeling.

Dining

El Dorado
*Steak house
Mare Nostrum
*Mediterranean style cuisine
Bamboo
*Asian Cuisine
La Adelita
*Mexican cuisine
Ribs and More
*Grill and barbecue style dinner
Tikal
*Italian corner Mexican corner *Show cooking
Kabah
Buffet restaurant *Italian and mexican cuisine
Laguna
*Buffet restaurant *Italian cuisine *Show cooking *Smoking allowed
La Hacienda
Buffet service with Italian corner, Mexican corner and Show Cooking and A / C.
La Gran Azul
It is located off the main pool at Grand Palladium Colonial / Kantenah. Buffet Service gorgeous outdoor restaurant with a spectacular palapa and wonderful views over the main pool. It features Italian corner and Show Cooking. *Smoking allowed

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Grand Palladium Riviera Complex offers 12 Conference rooms an 1 Luxury Convention Center, ranging from 45 m2 to 505 m2, for 40 - 600 people, fully equipped with all the necessary technology and services for any type of celebration (subject to availability and with extra charge).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (383)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 383
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
5 girls
cleveland ohio
Aug 20, 2012

Great vacation and relaxing

We had a great visit. The hotel is a great value and provides plenty of activities, food and drinks!!! The pool was awesome. It was clean which was really important. It is a great place for couples, families or a girls getaway! The only bad thing is the staff did not know a lot of English so the language was a barrier when asking questions. But there is a big mix of travelers who all speak different languages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Siwoo
Boston, MA
Jun 7, 2012

Relaxing

Very nice stay, the pools were nice, the spa was my favorite. The beach was right there, white sands and warm waters. Very convenient to have a lot of beach chairs everywhere. The food was ok, not the best, but still good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andre B.
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2012

Third stay at Grand Palladium.

It was our third stay at Palladium Riviera Maya, this time we stayed at Royal Suite( May 08 -May 15th). We always travel with group of friends. We love Grand Palladium Complex! I have been to Sandals, Secrets, Excellence, Iberostars, Valentin Imperial, etc.. Grand Palladium Riviera Maya is the best value for the money. Great beach, good restaurants, premium drinks. The only complaint we have is very slow service at the restaurants, but this is common problem at all the resorts we have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Foxy Badger
New York, NY
May 31, 2012

Royal Suites is worth the up-charge

Had a great time in the adults only section. Food and service can be a little inconsistent, but once you know what to eat and where to go, it's a fantastic experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The 30 Something Girls
Chicago, IL
May 6, 2012

A fabulous Vacation celebration Girls' trip!

We just returned from a GREAT week celebrating some 30th birthdays! The Grand Palladium was absolutely gorgeous with fun always available. The staff was friendly and the entertainment left us in stitches MANY times a day. We are already talking about the next time we go, and we haven't been home for 24 hours yet! We loved being in the Riviera Maya, and would choose it over Cancun any day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dawnlovessun
Dallas, TX
Aug 5, 2011

Not up to the hype.

Having literally just returned from the Grand Palladium, I wanted to write my review while it was still fresh in my mind. First of all, this place is beautiful, but getting close to needing renovation. Lots of tile missing in the pool, etc. The grounds are lovely, and the wildlife was neat, however in August at least, it was too hot and humid to walk anywhere! We went from room (which is very outdated and basic) to the large pool, to the restaurants and back again. Even the air conditioned restaurants are not adequately cooled. There is little relief anywhere. Exploring the grounds was not really an option for us. Even the pool temp is not very nice unless you find a spot of shade under the bar. I ended up with a terrible heat rash on the second day and am still suffering with it. I have been all over the world and never experienced anything like it. Also, we were eaten alive by mosquitos, even after dousing ourselves in bug spray, especially my poor two year old. She had at least 30 bites on her. The food is pretty standard all inclusive fare. We didn't find the food in the al a cartes to be any better than the buffets. Nothing outstanding but nothing awful. The drinks are good after a few well placed tips although I noticed when we first arrived before we tipped the alcohol was non existent in my drinks. We used the baby club for a couple hours most days and most of the staff are great, however there was one person specifically I didn't want watching my daughter. We kept going back to check on our daughter, and we walked in on the person sitting there letting my daughter cry and doing nothing. My major complaint: We booked (and paid) for the Kantenah and they put us in the Colonial, telling us it was the same, and better because we asked for a central location close to the kids club. First of all, we were not centrally located at all. We weren't near anything! I am very disappointed to learn that the rooms are not the same. We paid several hundred dollars more for the Kantenah, but we didn't ask to be moved because we didn't realize it til we got home. Also, I emailed them ahead of time letting them know that it was our 5 year anniversary and inquiring as to any special dinners we could book, etc...and we didn't get anything, not an upgrade, not a bottle of "free" wine, not even a happy anniversary. I feel very taken advantage of now. Also, please be careful as when it rains, as it did daily, the tile floors get very slippery. My daughter fell constantly and I fell once, leaving a nasty bruise on my knee. Overall, we had an ok vacation, but we were more than ready to leave after all the things that happened to us. Please keep the temperature, humidity and bugs in mind, as they can ruin your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dawnlovessun
Dallas, TX
Aug 5, 2011

Not up to the hype.

Having literally just returned from the Grand Palladium, I wanted to write my review while it was still fresh in my mind. First of all, this place is beautiful, but getting close to needing renovation. Lots of tile missing in the pool, etc. The grounds are lovely, and the wildlife was neat, however in August at least, it was too hot and humid to walk anywhere! We went from room (which is very outdated and basic) to the large pool, to the restaurants and back again. Even the air conditioned restaurants are not adequately cooled. There is little relief anywhere. Exploring the grounds was not really an option for us. Even the pool temp is not very nice unless you find a spot of shade under the bar. I ended up with a terrible heat rash on the second day and am still suffering with it. I have been all over the world and never experienced anything like it. Also, we were eaten alive by mosquitos, even after dousing ourselves in bug spray, especially my poor two year old. She had at least 30 bites on her. The food is pretty standard all inclusive fare. We didn't find the food in the al a cartes to be any better than the buffets. Nothing outstanding but nothing awful. The drinks are good after a few well placed tips although I noticed when we first arrived before we tipped the alcohol was non existent in my drinks. We used the baby club for a couple hours most days and most of the staff are great, however there was one person specifically I didn't want watching my daughter. We kept going back to check on our daughter, and we walked in on the person sitting there letting my daughter cry and doing nothing. My major complaint: We booked (and paid) for the Kantenah and they put us in the Colonial, telling us it was the same, and better because we asked for a central location close to the kids club. First of all, we were not centrally located at all. We weren't near anything! I am very disappointed to learn that the rooms are not the same. We paid several hundred dollars more for the Kantenah, but we didn't ask to be moved because we didn't realize it til we got home. Also, I emailed them ahead of time letting them know that it was our 5 year anniversary and inquiring as to any special dinners we could book, etc...and we didn't get anything, not an upgrade, not a bottle of "free" wine, not even a happy anniversary. I feel very taken advantage of now. Also, please be careful as when it rains, as it did daily, the tile floors get very slippery. My daughter fell constantly and I fell once, leaving a nasty bruise on my knee. Overall, we had an ok vacation, but we were more than ready to leave after all the things that happened to us. Please keep the temperature, humidity and bugs in mind, as they can ruin your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saki
New York, NY
Aug 3, 2011

Fantastic resort

This was my 7th trip to Riviera Maya, and probably my favorite. Grand Palladium is a large, well-run resort, with many activities, fantastic beach, 6-7 restaurants, and several bars. However, despite the size, what I found most impressive was the level of service. Everyone tries their best to make your stay enjoyable. The beach is one of the nicest in the Mayan Riviera, with palm trees and palaps providing much needed shade. I would recommend this resort highly to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justrelaxing
Akron, NY
Jul 29, 2011

Second Trip here!

This was our second stay at this resort, the last time was in 2003. We love the resort but it is very large with many walkways and wooden bridges. Ala cartes are great and you can go as many times as you like with no reservations. The beach bbq was rained out the night we were supposed to go. Buffets have something for everyone and food was always fresh. Beach bars are few and far between but the beach itself is beautiful, it is a coral like sand, not super soft but still very nice. There are few swimming areas with no rocks but the beach is very long and has very rocky parts and very smooth parts. Good for snorkeling. We saw fish in the swimming area and even a sting ray one day. The pellicans are great to watch and sometimes flew right into the middle of the swimming area! Rooms are good size and cleaned everyday. Mini bar was well stocked, although for some reason they had no pepsi light the entire stay, maid said they were out of it. Four beers each day and various soft drinks, plenty of water. We did the segway tour on the resort and had lots of fun. We have been to this region many times and did not do any excursions this time. It was very hot and humid with rain only a few times and usually overnight. Staff was wonderful. You can go to any other hotel lobby and restaurants. Small touches like a welcome drink were missing, but other than that I can't think of anything else. You do have to make a reservation for the beach bbq at Punta Emilia starting at 10 am the day before, they only have this on Wendsday and Friday and as I said ours got rained out. If you want a show table at Sumptori you have to go the the restaurant around 3 pm to request it, otherwise you have a regular table, which was fine for us, we ate there twice, it was so good. Used AGI for the transport and they were wonderful. Next time we will go when the temperatures are not so hot! In comparison to other resorts we have stayed at which include Catalonia Royal, Bahia Principe (3x), Barcelo, Iberostar Tucan and two in the DR, we like this resort, but it is alittle large with alot of walking from rooms to beach and rooms to lobbies. We liked other beaches better, but this one was very good. There are different reasons we like or dislike each of the resorts we have stayed at and haven't found the perfect one yet, but we will continue to try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring enough cigarettes with you if you can, the price on the resort is $10.00 a pack but keep in mind you can purchase cigarettes and liquor at the duty free before you leave the airport. We bought two bottles of Baccardis rum for the room for $24. On the way back they had 3 cartons of Marlboro for $75.

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashlee
Fort Collins, CO
May 23, 2011

May 14 - May 21

This was our third time to the Palladium Kantenah. Again a wonderful stay, and we will definately be back. We love the jungle walks, the food, and the beach. Just a note: this resort is a complex - which means it is a set of four hotel sections spanning many acres. There is a train and you can call the front desk to have a golf cart come and pick you up (if you tip well, they don't mind doing this frequently). They don't expect to be tipped, but tipping for drinks may get you better service. There are 8 ala carte restaurants and many bars to satisfy any taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't purchase souveniers from the hotel, take a taxi into Playa Del Carmen and negotiate prices there, it's a lot cheaper.

Back to menu Return to top