$233 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km 256-100, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pats fan 57
Hobe Sound, FL
Dec 9, 2012

Great get away!

Wonderful resort. There are 5 hotels in the resort and we had access to 4 of them. Lots to do on site and close to great options for exploring. Staff is very helpful and there is a wonderful international flavor to the resort. We will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bell Family
Business
Staten Island, NY, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Bell Family

We had a good time the hotel was very beautiful and well maintained. The room was very good A/C functioning very well beds were comfortable. The staff was professional, helpful and friendly. We are going back. See you next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The food was really good.

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexico Addict Family
Business
Galena, Ohio
Aug 16, 2011

Great place for family vacation

We really enjoyed the many activities organized around the pool. The restaurants were great. We never had to wait for a table because we were arriving at 6:30 PM or so. We had a minor medical emergency with one of our kids and they had a doctor in the premises which was very convenient. The only complaint I have is that they allowed smoking almost everywhere. This was a big problem when we were downwind from a smoker. I would suggest designating non-smoking areas around the pool and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get there no later than 7:00 PM.

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe76
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Aug 15, 2011

Absolutely satisfied

We stayed one week and just enjoyed ourselves. We were either in the pool, at the hotel beach or explored the huge area belonging to the hotel complex. We did one daytrip to Tulum and Xelha. We had a great time and we didn't miss anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xelha - snorkling, inner tube riding, great playground for kids. We recommend the combi package Tulum + Xelha

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Aug 10, 2011

Nice vacation

The resort experience is excellent. We travel quite often and stay at many all-inclusive resorts. The personnel are very attentive and kind. The property is well maintained. The only drawback was the mosquitoes and the fact that they did not sell repellent or anti-itch cream in the stores. Bring that with you! Otherwise, you'll have a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have a large group, arrive at the speciality restaurants early enough to get seating. The restaurant staff was phenomenal!

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Aug 9, 2011

Great Hotel. Lots of mosquitoes!

Second time at this hotel. I love the gym and the no reservation restaurants. Beach was great. Given the jungle setting, mosquitoes are ferocious and you need bug spray all day, not just at sunset. Still got many bites. I thought it might be because of some rain. However, I split my trip with some time at a hotel in playacar that was not in a jungle setting. Never used bug spray there and no bites. I would go back though. It is a good value. Just be prepared for the bugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young father vacationing with family
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 6, 2011

Excellent - Great Experience

Overall, the experience was great. For an all-inclusive, the food was very good. The service was very friendly and on-average prompt. Rooms were clean and in good condition. The beach, pools, activities, kids club, and other facilities were fantastic. The property is huge, which is good and bad. Lots to experience, a different restaurant every night, lots of folks from all over the world. Be prepared to walk no matter where your room is. The property is also very beautiful and lush. Given the tropical, jungle-like environment, expect bugs. With insect repellent not a big problem. Bring all of your essentials and a calling card with you. The hotel store charges outrageous prices for things like sun block, insect repellent, etc. The calling rates to the U.S. are just as outrageous ($5/minute from the room and $1/minute with a call card which can be purchased in the lobby).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dawnlovessun
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 5, 2011

Not up to the hype.

Having literally just returned from the Grand Palladium, I wanted to write my review while it was still fresh in my mind. First of all, this place is beautiful, but getting close to needing renovation. Lots of tile missing in the pool, etc. The grounds are lovely, and the wildlife was neat, however in August at least, it was too hot and humid to walk anywhere! We went from room (which is very outdated and basic) to the large pool, to the restaurants and back again. Even the air conditioned restaurants are not adequately cooled. There is little relief anywhere. Exploring the grounds was not really an option for us. Even the pool temp is not very nice unless you find a spot of shade under the bar. I ended up with a terrible heat rash on the second day and am still suffering with it. I have been all over the world and never experienced anything like it. Also, we were eaten alive by mosquitos, even after dousing ourselves in bug spray, especially my poor two year old. She had at least 30 bites on her. The food is pretty standard all inclusive fare. We didn't find the food in the al a cartes to be any better than the buffets. Nothing outstanding but nothing awful. The drinks are good after a few well placed tips although I noticed when we first arrived before we tipped the alcohol was non existent in my drinks. We used the baby club for a couple hours most days and most of the staff are great, however there was one person specifically I didn't want watching my daughter. We kept going back to check on our daughter, and we walked in on the person sitting there letting my daughter cry and doing nothing. My major complaint: We booked (and paid) for the Kantenah and they put us in the Colonial, telling us it was the same, and better because we asked for a central location close to the kids club. First of all, we were not centrally located at all. We weren't near anything! I am very disappointed to learn that the rooms are not the same. We paid several hundred dollars more for the Kantenah, but we didn't ask to be moved because we didn't realize it til we got home. Also, I emailed them ahead of time letting them know that it was our 5 year anniversary and inquiring as to any special dinners we could book, etc...and we didn't get anything, not an upgrade, not a bottle of "free" wine, not even a happy anniversary. I feel very taken advantage of now. Also, please be careful as when it rains, as it did daily, the tile floors get very slippery. My daughter fell constantly and I fell once, leaving a nasty bruise on my knee. Overall, we had an ok vacation, but we were more than ready to leave after all the things that happened to us. Please keep the temperature, humidity and bugs in mind, as they can ruin your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
our family summer vacation
Business
chicago il
Aug 3, 2011

my family stay at the palladium riviera.

My experience at the hotel was not good at all first when we came in on a very hot day 100 degree weathet they kept us outside because they couldnt find our reservation ! No one smiles at the hotel I lost my 2 cameras and no one in the personal seem to care at all! The servers are rude and not courteous at all the coffe was cold every morning no matter what restaurant we ate at and when i went to brazilian restaurant where u dont need reservations we waited 1 hour to get in and once we were in after the salad bar we waited over 50 minutes before we got any other service when yhe meat person finally came he would just trhew the meat in our plates in a very bad mood not askingyou if you would like some or at least let you know what it was ok i was waiting. For a very important call and kept asking the front desk if i had any messages since the morning i was waitin well the call came in at 100 pm and the message was delivered to my room at 6.00 pm and cost me a lot of money it was a very important call to me . Yhe air conditioning in my kids room did not work we called them to let them know and never fixed it the room was super cold the !iir would not turn off ! My kids endeup in our room every night ! And for my husband and me they gave us 2 full size beds of cousre we couldnt sleep together all vacation time. We had requested joined rooms they said they were all taken they put us in a wait list and ib all seven days we n were ever moved ! And last i.called the night before we were leavingto book a taxi to take us to the airport . They told me yes it will be here at 4 am in the morning because the airport is one and a half hour away from the hotel ! They had booked me and priced me something and when we got to the airport charged me doble!!!! And im talking a lot of money .. the distance for this hotel to cancun to playa del carmen to night life to go shopping is super far and the taxi rates are 5 times what we would pay in the us ! Im sory but i would not recommend this place or come bacj to this place ever again i feel that all the money i had spend for a family of 6 for seven days was a.waste we have never felt trated soo poorly before even my kids were upset .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you ate planning on eating at any dinnet restaurnt be there at least 1 hour before even if no reservation is required and if you plan on going out at night to cancun is at least 2 hours away and taxi rates are the same as if you rented a good nice car for 2 days here in the us !

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mosquitoes and Bad A La Carte Restaurant
Business
Irvine CA
Jul 30, 2011

Slow A La Carte restaurants & Mosquitoes

The hotel looks very impressive and well decorated. The beach activities, buffets and rooms are very nice. However, two major deficiencies ruined our vacation: very slow a la carte restaurants which took two hours plus to get foods served once you sit down and mosquitoes everywhere in the hotel and its grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear long pants due to plenty of mosquitoes. Avoid A La Carte restaurants which served good foods but extremely long and slow service. It is not that they are busy, they are just slow because there are plenty of tables with no servers.

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waunakee, WI
Jul 27, 2011

Awesome All-Inclusive in Riviera Maya

We love this resort! This was our THIRD time back, and we loved it just as much as the first time! It is a beautiful location, with areas to please all guests, whether you are a family with children or couple that doesn't want to be bothered by kids! The snorkeling and beach are great, but bring your water shoes for all the coral! The food is great and options for entertainment are many! We would highly recommend this resort!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own snorkeling gear (mask and snorkel) for sure, fins if you want. If you don't bring fins, make sure you have water shoes! The best snorkeling is from the White Sands Beach, down the beach from Kantenah and Colonial.

Back to menu Return to top