$240 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km 256-100, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellevue, WA
Aug 19, 2010

Excellent Quality for the Price

Overall a great hotel, we have 2 kids 13 and 15 and took a junior suite at the colonial, the room was huge basically 2 rooms in one, very modern, 2 tv's and 4 beds. So it was very comfortable with the 4 of us. Bathroom was a good size and very well equipped. The all inclusive was amazing, best we have had. The quality of the restaurants was very good, no reservations required for the "a la carte" restaurants and no limit to how many times you could eat in them. The SPA and gym facilities (adults only) were very good. Sauna, Gym, steam rooms, pool, jacuzzi's were included, you only have to pay for massages etc .. The Hotel complex is huge (3 hotels) and you can use the facilities from all the hotels, restaurants included. Complex is on a natural jungle/mangroves. You do need to walk quite a lot but no issue for us (there is a regular train/shuttle available). We went diving (ocean and cenotes) with a club not too far from the hotel which was very good. Also we found that there is a diving club at the hotel. It is not very well advertised but we did dive with them once and it was good. Despite the complex being huge we found easily room and areas on the beach where it was quite; there are areas/bars reserved for adults.House wines not bad at all. Only negative points were the mosquitos (take a good anti mosquitos product) and some of the staff at times not too friendly however no big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rosarina
Business
Paris, France
Aug 17, 2010

A great Hotel

it's a great hotel, great services, great beach !i loved it, even the fodd is very good, and the spa : beautifulthe only bad thing: when we arrived they didn't have our reservation and no existence about our [...] reservation. we had to wait almost 3 hours to have a room, time for them to check with [...]...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, CA
Aug 15, 2010

Had a good time!

Resort is about one hour & ten minutes away from Cancun airport by taxi. (we paid $120 for 6 people one way). when you get there, be prepared to walk...this is a huge resort...four resorts in one complex. transportation shuttles are available from one lobby to another, or from room to lobbies, but the wait time is from 5-15 minutes sometimes...they are not around when you need them. Take a lot of bug sprays with you, and spray the room around the beds, so you won't get a lot of "bed bites". No vendors in beach trying to sell you stuff/tours (good thing), so you can relax!! If you attend their 90 minutes resort presentation tour, you will only pay $50 for the taxi back to cancun airport on check-out date. they will try to sell you "vacation weeks". try it! it may make sense to your travel habits. Negotiable prices!! There are hidden pools for adults (topless), but we didn't see anyone toplessthere. Overall we had a good time, and I recommend this resort to families who want to relax & stay away from cancun crowd/traffic, and annoying various vendors. Take a lot of single bills, tipping is expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop in Tulum or Playa del Carmen. Much cheaper than vendors in the resort. visit 5th st. shopps in Playa del Carmen. Cheap! 15-30 minutes drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Worth, TX
Aug 13, 2010

Great experience!

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food pretty good most places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 11, 2010

Good value for price !!

My 2nd time here and cheaper than 6 years ago. Food quality variety availability is out of this world. Place is so huge with VERY large pools, it didn't seem crowded ever. Shows at the Colonial theater are cheasy except for the Mexican. Didn't see the show at the White Sands because they start at 10:30p and my daughter couldn't stay up for it. Would recomend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunnygirl
Business
Montreal, Canada
Aug 10, 2010

Grand Palladium July 2010

Good hotel. Not a 5 stars but a good 4! Food in the buffet is really good. Beach is really nice, pools very large and clean. Lots, lots, lots of mosquitos, never saw that and we've been to Riviera Maya 5 times. Bring insect repellant you will definitely need it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunnygirl
Business
Montreal, Canada
Aug 10, 2010

Grand Palladium July 2010

Good hotel. Not a 5 stars but a good 4! Food in the buffet is really good. Beach is really nice, pools very large and clean. Lots, lots, lots of mosquitos, never saw that and we've been to Riviera Maya 5 times. Bring insect repellant you will definitely need it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pa.
Aug 9, 2010

July 2010 Wedding

Very large complex. Good food. Nice beach and pool. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Day trip to ChichenItza (2 hrs. away) including a swim in a Cenote was very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MDexec
Business
Rhode Island
Aug 7, 2010

Family trip, Mom,Dad,and 3 boys: 9,11,14

Enjoyable trip! The resort was pretty full, lots of Spanish, German, French and Mexican people. American and Canadian too. It's a large resort, so be ready to walk a lot.There is transportaion available every 15 - 30 minutes or so. The main pool is always busy, as is the swim up bar. But the other 4 pools scattered around the resort are calmer. Most staff are friendly, with some ruder exceptions. We tipped regularly. Food was disappointing. After a while the buffets all tasted the same. Restaurants were lacking also - the food was unremarkable. Bars were well located, a drink was always available. Our only big problem was that the TV (old fashioned, out of date 19inch) exploded, with electrical smoke pouring out). It was replaced with the same type of TV the same day. Picture quality was always terrible - the kids always complained. Also, the remotes constantly did not work - we replaced them 8 times in the two weeks we were there. We had regular rooms on the second floor of the villa, with jungle views. The rooms smelt musty when we arrived, but after a couple of days of air conditioning, they smelt better. Bring sunscreen and INSECT REPELLENT. No wifi in room, in the lobby only (a pain in the butt).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are staying for a while and need laundry service, don't use the resort as it costs a fortune. We drove into playa del carmen and used the laundry service at the Chedraui Shopping Center. Wash, dry and fold for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MDexec
Business
Rhode Island
Aug 7, 2010

Family trip, Mom,Dad,and 3 boys: 9,11,14

Enjoyable trip! The resort was pretty full, lots of Spanish, German, French and Mexican people. American and Canadian too. It's a large resort, so be ready to walk a lot.There is transportaion available every 15 - 30 minutes or so. The main pool is always busy, as is the swim up bar. But the other 4 pools scattered around the resort are calmer. Most staff are friendly, with some ruder exceptions. We tipped regularly. Food was disappointing. After a while the buffets all tasted the same. Restaurants were lacking also - the food was unremarkable. Bars were well located, a drink was always available. Our only big problem was that the TV (old fashioned, out of date 19inch) exploded, with electrical smoke pouring out). It was replaced with the same type of TV the same day. Picture quality was always terrible - the kids always complained. Also, the remotes constantly did not work - we replaced them 8 times in the two weeks we were there. We had regular rooms on the second floor of the villa, with jungle views. The rooms smelt musty when we arrived, but after a couple of days of air conditioning, they smelt better. Bring sunscreen and INSECT REPELLENT. No wifi in room, in the lobby only (a pain in the butt).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are staying for a while and need laundry service, don't use the resort as it costs a fortune. We drove into playa del carmen and used the laundry service at the Chedraui Shopping Center. Wash, dry and fold for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top