$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km 256-100, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, Ca
Jul 22, 2010

travel with kids in July

Altough the staff are nice, and the pools are fun, the beach is great. I will not come back to this place. It is impossible to have a meal at the a lar carte restuarant unless we have dinner before 7pm. And the service is super slow that during our one week trip, we ended up making to the Japanese, Steakhouse, Italian and the service is so slow that one of us needs to take the kids back to the room (before a total melt down). And the food in the buffet is not bad compare to the a lar carte. Which makes me wonder, it is just worthless to have the hour long wait (they do not take reservation unless you are a VIP or stay at Royal suite). The Japanese restaurant is horrible. The rice is not cooked during our visit. Asked for wasabi to go with the raw fish, and ended up getting a wasabi that was mixed with mayonnaise. We waited for one hour to get in, it is totally a waste. The buffet is good, it is just that we ate there 3 meals a day, after couple days, we kind of sick of it. Their no reservation system make me wonder they do not like family with young kids. We went to one of the resturant and ask if we could put down our room number and come back half hour later (so that we might be able to get the table sooner). Was told, no, there is no waiting now, we could just come back and get a table. 20 mins later, we showed up, and was told, sorry, you need to wait for one hour. It is impossible to plan our dinner at all at this place, unless we hit the buffet every nights. I don't mind the buffet, it is just that we have young children, I ended up been the server to get their food every meal. I want a vacation, that is the reason that I come to an all inclusive, by hitting the buffet every meal, I ended up walking up and down to get food for my kids. It is very tiring for me. It is a fun place, good live music every night & nice people but too bad that we ended up very upset every day at dinner. I would not come back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to the a lar carte before 7pm. otherwise, just forget about it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jul 12, 2010

Royal service at the Royal Suite Yucatan

-Enjoyed the pool with the butler service, enjoyed the salt water pool. -Nothing, I wish I could have stayed longer. -Previously we stayed at the Mayan Suites in the Colonial part of the resort which are nice but after going Royal, can't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shops at the resort are overpriced and so are the merchants who come. If you want cheaper merchandise, go to Chichen Itza and peddle with them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jul 6, 2010

Nice resort - could be better.

A tropical storm hit during our trip which made the marble walkways very slippery to walk on. They were constantly brushing them off, but couldn't keep up with the rain. We found it very difficult to get service at the bars and tour kiosks. Many rude people that would just walk up and start speaking spanish. Didn't matter if we were waiting for ten minutes, they got served right away. We were with our kids for a family vacation and to our surprise found topless women on the beach. Not sure if they were supposed to be there, but noone was telling them otherwise. The grounds are beautiful, but bring your walking shoes. We were close to the beach and pool, but about a ten minute walk to the bars, lobby and food. The snack bar near our room was supposed to be open late with food, but we found out that they close it for dinner until midnight and you have to have reservations. The other snack bar was at one of the sister resorts you needed to take a shuttle to. The buffet food was the best I have had at an all inclusive. The restaurants were wonderful as well, but could use more wait staff. We spent 2 hours in Rodizio...most of the time waiting for food. We loved the shopping in Playa Del Carmen. Xcaret was nice, but beware of the biodegradable sun block...it does not work the best. We were in the sun for three hours and got bad sunburn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret - be careful with the biodegradable sun block that they make you use in the park. We were in the sun for three hours and got bad sunburn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romomma
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 3, 2010

Great Vacation!!

Beautiful facility, relaxing, extremely clean and well run. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. I enjoyed the mix of indoor/outdoor. Restaurants were enclosed but marble walkways (outside) were covered. All inclusive is the way to go - as you could get food and drinks about anytime. The entertainment at the main stage and bands in the lobbies were very good. Sports bar there also and club for pre-teens/teens. Pool area with beach access was breathtaking! Offered Salsa and other dance lessons as well as aerobics out by the pool. Had tennis/golf/archery as well. Great vacation!!! About 1 1/2 hours from airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pamlarudy
Business
Kingston, TN
Jul 3, 2010

Great Place and Service

Visited Chichen-Itza ruins and it was fantastic except for the long ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skepticus
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jun 14, 2010

This place has everything

This is our second stay along the Riviera Maya in an all-inclusive. The last time we stayed at the El Dorado Royale. We had a great time there, but our stay at the Grand Palladium was even better (and much cheaper than the El Dorado, which has gone way up in price since our trip in 2003). We paid a little more to stay in the Adults only section in the "Royal Suites." We picked this section because of the 24 room service and the huge jacuzzi on the patio. We took advantage of the room service for breakfast almost evey morning. (Food was good, portions were huge, although sometimes order was mixed up). On first night, the staff filled up the jacuzzi for us while we were at dinner as per our request. Nice touch! Pools were spotless and numerous. The big one at the center was truly impressive. Salt water pool is also available. Beach area was beautiful and spacious. (Snorkeling was good first day on beach, not so good the rest of the time). Beach a bit of a walk from "Royale" section, but you can request a tram to pick you up and drop you off anywhere on the grounds. Royale has its own section reserved on beach too with covered outdoor beds. There were about 8 restaurants to chhose from in addition to buffet areas and beach snack bar. Easy to make reservations and get in to each. Food was above average in most of them. Staff was friendly and there were shows every night. A bit of a drive from airport (1 hour), but overall it was worth it to get to a mroe secluded area. Fully stocked fridge in room. Can go through an entire bottle of tequila or Jack Daniels with no extra charge. Overall, this place was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange county, CA
Jun 10, 2010

It's still good

I've stayed at the Grand Palladium 6 times.It's still a nice all-inclusive resort.The food was fine. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FisherDude
Business
Kamloops, BC
Jun 3, 2010

Awesome First Trip to Mexico

Had a great trip to the Grand Palladium resort. This was our first trip to Mexico and we were really pleased. The service at this resort was great, all staff would go out of their way to ensure that our vacation was perfect. The beaches were also great with good snorkeling and fishing oppurtunities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkeling with the Turtles at Akumal was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris - Can't wait to return
Business
Ontario, Canada
Jun 3, 2010

Fabulous location and surroundings

This was our second trip to the G.Palladium in Riviera Maya. We like the location and the close proximity to do excursions if we feel like it. The beach is great and there is never a shortage of chairs. We enjoyed the many different ala cartes, the towel art and the beautiful grounds. The on-site scuba facility had knowledgeable and friendly staff. Our young adult daughters were excited to do their PADI certification and our family enjoyed our snorkle trip to Akumal Bay to see the sea turtles. We liked the small wildlife that we would see as we walked around the resort (iguanas, birds, hermit crabs, etc.). We enjoyed all of the free activities at the spa. We like it being a bigger resort because we can always find something new to see. It was a wonderful 12 days and can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Hidden Worlds which was about a 12.00 taxi (or $3.00 Collectivo) ride. There were cenotes, sky bicycles over the jungle canopy, zip lines and zip lines into a cenote.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa barbara, california
Jun 1, 2010

Grand Palladium Perfect

Don't miss it! The pools and ocean were incredibly beautiful. We've been to 6 other all inclusive in the RM and this is definitely in the top 2. The grounds are unbelievable, how they integrated the jungle and the hotel. The 8 alacarte restaurants were great but they even had chefs cooking to order 3 kinds of fish and beef, pork, chicken and burgers as well as a carving station for leg of lamb, pork and turkey at every luncheon buffet. We just shifted our eating time to7:00 and had no trouble getting into the alacartes every nite. This is the first hotel we went to where they used the indigenous Mayans as servers and not just as maids and busboys. They are shy but very considerate and hard working. The workers get 8 - 10 dollars a day so we took $2 bills for tips and thought they might think they were not real but they all knew they were lucky and lit up when we gave them to them. ONly complaint - who would design a huge magnificent pool that is 5' 3" deep throughout? Bring a floaty - Walmart has a Sun- Float on-line for $14 which is great, and bring your own drink mug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top