Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$410
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 20, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016

Grand Palladium Perfect

Would recommend Tue, Jun 1, 2010
Don't miss it! The pools and ocean were incredibly beautiful. We've been to 6 other all inclusive in the RM and this is definitely in the top 2. The grounds are unbelievable, how they integrated the jungle and the hotel. The 8 alacarte restaurants were great but they even had chefs cooking to order 3 kinds of fish and beef, pork, chicken and burgers as well as a carving station for leg of lamb, pork and turkey at every luncheon buffet. We just shifted our eating time to7:00 and had no trouble getting into the alacartes every nite. This is the first hotel we went to where they used the indigenous Mayans as servers and not just as maids and busboys. They are shy but very considerate and hard working. The workers get 8 - 10 dollars a day so we took $2 bills for tips and thought they might think they were not real but they all knew they were lucky and lit up when we gave them to them. ONly complaint - who would design a huge magnificent pool that is 5' 3" deep throughout? Bring a floaty - Walmart has a Sun- Float on-line for $14 which is great, and bring your own drink mug.

| santa barbara, california Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

"DO NOT STAY HERE"

Would not recommend Tue, Jun 1, 2010
First let me just say that I have traveled all over the world from China to Canada to the Caribbean and this by far has been the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. [...] Once we arrived we checked in which was pretty smooth and then were taken to our hotel room in Kantenah. We both woke up in the middle of the night scratching all over to then turn on the lights to see small bugs crawling everywhere, our bed, the bathroom, the floor, our end tables and vanity. I walked to the guest service desk to explain the issue since the phone didn't work and they said they couldn't do anything until the manager came in at 7:30 a.m. so we just had to wait until then. We waited until 9:00 a.m. and still hadn't heard anything, so we went back to the front desk, that's when they said they would try to find us another room, which wouldn't be ready until 3:30 p.m. and they would put our stuff just in the front lobby. So right from the start we realized this wasn't a great start to our vacation. Next came the food/drinks, both my husband and I got deathly ill from the food/water. We were violently ill from whatever it was the food, the ice cubes, the beer, something. We brought Pepto and Mylanta and tums, but nothing helped. It was horrible. The food is never the correct temperature and is just unedible.The pools were disgusting especially the adult pools. There were dead bugs and trash floating all over the water in the pools which I thought they would have cleaned up, but did not. However, the only pool that has a nice quite view would be the salt water pool, which was relaxing. I guess since it was ocean water and not dirty pool water, that's why it felt cleaner.About 92% of the guests are non-US citizens so English is the minority language for sure. By the end of the trip you just wanted to get back to the good ol U S of A!In the end the vacation was a waste of money and vacation time! We will not be returning to Riviera Maya or ever stay at a Palladium/Fiesta Group Hotel again! They only thing I could say is I would recommend staying at a Grand Bahia hotel chain, which we have found to be a lot cleaner and nicer from previous stays in the caribbean.

Money saver

Shop in town, not the hotel. Take the local transportation to Playa del Carma and shop on 5th Avenue.

| Anywhere, Everywhere Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Wonderful!! Go, you won't regret it!

Would recommend Tue, Jun 1, 2010
We stayed in the Royal section of the Grand Palladium. For the difference in price, it is well worth the upgrade. The property is beautiful!! The grounds were well maintained and gardens lovely. Lots of pretty flowers and wildlife! Such diversity - a jungle like lush around the rooms and building and then the beach was wonderful. The water was a stunning aqua blue with very nice beaches to walk and sunbath or coral rocky areas to snorkel. The pools were very numerous and diverse. Some were fun for children with fountains and such. While others more secluded and quiet for adults only. The food was very good in the a la carte restuarants and in the private Royal restuarant, El Jardin. Dinners at the Japanese hibatchi grill, Chinese and Brazilian resturants were superb! The buffets were fine with nice variety. Also, 24 hr room service which we enjoyed often late afternoon or late night. Another nice perk with Royal section are the private carts and drivers. The resort is huge but easy to navigate esp if you have personal drivers. They knew our names and room numbers by the second day. This was a fabulous get away for my husband and self. It was the perfect mix of quiet down time and activity. We went to the disco one night and it was high energy and fun with the staff dancing and encouraged a fun time. We also saw several shows that were entertaining. We really enjoyed the spa and gym. We even had personal training sessions and fitness classes that are included with being in the Royal section. The saunas & hydrotheraphy area of the spa is included in the stay and was nice and relaxing. In the Royal rooms, you have a very large hydropool/ jacuzzi. Fantastic! The staff will even draw a bubble bath for you when you like. We also met several couples and ate dinners with them and hung out some at the pools & beach. Everyone was very friendly and ready to enjoy themselves! I am already trying to book a trip for next year! :)

Attractions

If you stay in Royal section, personal fitness classes are included in your stay. We had a fitness instructor give us a one-on-one kickboxing class one morning and a step and pilates class another day. It was great! Also, please tip the staff!! They are great and work hard. A nice excursion is snorkeling with the Sea Turtles in Aukmel. Very short ride - take the bus/collectivo. Cheap - only $1.50 each way. Loved swimming with the sea turtles!

| Auburn, AL Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Ok location for the price

Would not recommend Mon, May 31, 2010
We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks, we were very disappointed of the service when we first arrived, we had to wait for 40 minutes so they could take us to the room then when we got there the fridge did no work and all the drinks were worm. [...]. Back at the hotel most of the staff is lazy and it takes a while to get a drink at the bars or if you order it through a waiter. I was very disappointed at the drinks that they served, since they seemed to run out of certain drinks all the time. On the good side, the beach was great ocean warm and calm. Pools were great also, very clean and warm. Food was excellent, there was enough food for every taste. I especially liked the El Dorado stake house, stakes and service was a 5 star there. Every night there was a great show, people of palladium truly made the best of it. Over all it was a good experience, but it is not a 5 or 4 star I would probably say this is a more towards 3 star hotel.

Dining

El Dorado steakhouse

| Macomb MI Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Paradise & excellent value for the price

Would recommend Wed, May 26, 2010
Beautifully maintained grounds & resort build around the natural environment. Endless activities & the staff is very friendly & cater to every need.

| S.C.S, MI Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great Family vacation

Would recommend Fri, May 21, 2010
We were at the beach most of the time. The beach is great, planty of beds any time of the day, planty of shade. We loved to have an access to the Internet in the lobby. Beautiful resort, great landscape, nice pools, decent food. Unlimited ala carete restaurants. The only bed thing we found in the resort is a transportation inside of the resort. The train only comes every 15-20 min. with only 1-2 carts. Some times we had to wait for almost 30 min, specially when it rains. More trains would be appreciated.

Dining

For the ala carte restaurants you need to get there between 6 and 6:30pm to be seated right away, otherwise you will have to wait for about an 1 hour.

| Chicago Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

2nd trip to the palladium!

Would recommend Sat, May 15, 2010
2nd time at the palladium and we're upgraded to a junior suite 1 minute from the ocean...love this resort. We cant wait to book our next palladium adventure in 2011...........NO, complaints at all, We both loved it! what more can you say :)

Nightlife hint

This resort has a little for everyone! would recommend it to my best friends..already done that! we are all addicts and cant wait for 2011...YIpeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

| Nanaimo, British Columbia....see you in Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

You Don't Know Until You Try . . .

Would not recommend Fri, May 14, 2010
First and foremost, we had a good time. We were two couples in our thirties (still are for that matter). We just spent a week in the Royal Suites at the Palladium. We spent a week at the Valentin last year and had the most amazing time. Our standard for comparison was high. The Palladium is not the same experience. The rooms were lovely and clean. The staff is this property's greatest asset - they make every effort to solve problems, anticipate your needs and create a great experience. This is a very large resort catering to many different groups of people. (and it seemed, lots of smokers). The size of the property is not a positive or a negative, just an observation. As a Royal Suites guest you can take golf cart shuttles around the resort. This is a great amenity but you are occassionally shuffled to the front of the line where others have been waiting for substantial periods of time. Some reviewers really liked this, I felt poorly mannered for not having waited my turn. My singular complaint about the hotel would be the food. We are not picky eaters, we aren't fussy. We could have survived on nachos and beer. The nachos were "stadium cheese" and the beer was seldom cold. The restaurants are in great selection and the food was presented beautifully, we all ended up with at least 4 days of, let's call it "intestinal discomfort". Very salty meals, lots of mass-produced, over cooked food. Plenty of other people there loved the food and I ignored the reviews about the sketchiness of what's being served thinking that it would be "good enough". I was wrong. And here I am days after being home and still feeling the effects. Guests of the Royal Suites can dine at the El Jardin restaurant and while it seemed less "cruise ship buffet-like", I still had a beautiful lobster tail that had been cooked three times too long. Until this trip I would never have guessed that bad food could have had such an impact on a vacation. This resort was a great value. We will certainly pay more next time having learned a very valuable lesson.

| Colorado Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Family Gateway

Would not recommend Fri, May 14, 2010
No AC in most restaurant locations

| Edmonton, Alberta, Canada Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great hotel, sad to leave

Would recommend Wed, May 5, 2010
The hotel was wonderful. The resort itself was just unreal. It was decorated beautifully and the lighting at night was awesome. The only thing in regards to decor, the rooms could have been a little more updated. We requested a couple things before we got there and they were not granted, so that was a bummer. The food was good, not the best I have ever had, but the resort pretty much had anything you were in the mood for, there honestly was tons of choices. We got a little bug one night, but it passed with in 24 hours (not sure what caused this problem, but we're good now). The service was good every where but the buffets. There were so many people coming and going, I understand that, but that it could have been a little faster. In regards to the activities, the best part was that you could be as involved as you like. If you went to the main pool there was always something going on. If you went to the adult pool you could just relax in the quiet. The only thing I would have liked is a hot tub actually in your hotel not just the spa. Overall it was a great time and we will be going back soon.

Nightlife hint

Bring bug spray, this hotel is built in the jungle and there are a lot of bugs.

| Indianapolis, IN Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5