$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km 256-100, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NJ
Jul 12, 2010

Royal service at the Royal Suite Yucatan

-Enjoyed the pool with the butler service, enjoyed the salt water pool. -Nothing, I wish I could have stayed longer. -Previously we stayed at the Mayan Suites in the Colonial part of the resort which are nice but after going Royal, can't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shops at the resort are overpriced and so are the merchants who come. If you want cheaper merchandise, go to Chichen Itza and peddle with them.

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jul 6, 2010

Nice resort - could be better.

A tropical storm hit during our trip which made the marble walkways very slippery to walk on. They were constantly brushing them off, but couldn't keep up with the rain. We found it very difficult to get service at the bars and tour kiosks. Many rude people that would just walk up and start speaking spanish. Didn't matter if we were waiting for ten minutes, they got served right away. We were with our kids for a family vacation and to our surprise found topless women on the beach. Not sure if they were supposed to be there, but noone was telling them otherwise. The grounds are beautiful, but bring your walking shoes. We were close to the beach and pool, but about a ten minute walk to the bars, lobby and food. The snack bar near our room was supposed to be open late with food, but we found out that they close it for dinner until midnight and you have to have reservations. The other snack bar was at one of the sister resorts you needed to take a shuttle to. The buffet food was the best I have had at an all inclusive. The restaurants were wonderful as well, but could use more wait staff. We spent 2 hours in Rodizio...most of the time waiting for food. We loved the shopping in Playa Del Carmen. Xcaret was nice, but beware of the biodegradable sun block...it does not work the best. We were in the sun for three hours and got bad sunburn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret - be careful with the biodegradable sun block that they make you use in the park. We were in the sun for three hours and got bad sunburn.

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romomma
Family
Washington, DC
Jul 3, 2010

Great Vacation!!

Beautiful facility, relaxing, extremely clean and well run. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. I enjoyed the mix of indoor/outdoor. Restaurants were enclosed but marble walkways (outside) were covered. All inclusive is the way to go - as you could get food and drinks about anytime. The entertainment at the main stage and bands in the lobbies were very good. Sports bar there also and club for pre-teens/teens. Pool area with beach access was breathtaking! Offered Salsa and other dance lessons as well as aerobics out by the pool. Had tennis/golf/archery as well. Great vacation!!! About 1 1/2 hours from airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pamlarudy
Single
Kingston, TN
Jul 3, 2010

Great Place and Service

Visited Chichen-Itza ruins and it was fantastic except for the long ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skepticus
Couples
San Antonio, Texas
Jun 14, 2010

This place has everything

This is our second stay along the Riviera Maya in an all-inclusive. The last time we stayed at the El Dorado Royale. We had a great time there, but our stay at the Grand Palladium was even better (and much cheaper than the El Dorado, which has gone way up in price since our trip in 2003). We paid a little more to stay in the Adults only section in the "Royal Suites." We picked this section because of the 24 room service and the huge jacuzzi on the patio. We took advantage of the room service for breakfast almost evey morning. (Food was good, portions were huge, although sometimes order was mixed up). On first night, the staff filled up the jacuzzi for us while we were at dinner as per our request. Nice touch! Pools were spotless and numerous. The big one at the center was truly impressive. Salt water pool is also available. Beach area was beautiful and spacious. (Snorkeling was good first day on beach, not so good the rest of the time). Beach a bit of a walk from "Royale" section, but you can request a tram to pick you up and drop you off anywhere on the grounds. Royale has its own section reserved on beach too with covered outdoor beds. There were about 8 restaurants to chhose from in addition to buffet areas and beach snack bar. Easy to make reservations and get in to each. Food was above average in most of them. Staff was friendly and there were shows every night. A bit of a drive from airport (1 hour), but overall it was worth it to get to a mroe secluded area. Fully stocked fridge in room. Can go through an entire bottle of tequila or Jack Daniels with no extra charge. Overall, this place was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Orange county, CA
Jun 10, 2010

It's still good

I've stayed at the Grand Palladium 6 times.It's still a nice all-inclusive resort.The food was fine. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris - Can't wait to return
Family
Ontario, Canada
Jun 3, 2010

Fabulous location and surroundings

This was our second trip to the G.Palladium in Riviera Maya. We like the location and the close proximity to do excursions if we feel like it. The beach is great and there is never a shortage of chairs. We enjoyed the many different ala cartes, the towel art and the beautiful grounds. The on-site scuba facility had knowledgeable and friendly staff. Our young adult daughters were excited to do their PADI certification and our family enjoyed our snorkle trip to Akumal Bay to see the sea turtles. We liked the small wildlife that we would see as we walked around the resort (iguanas, birds, hermit crabs, etc.). We enjoyed all of the free activities at the spa. We like it being a bigger resort because we can always find something new to see. It was a wonderful 12 days and can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Hidden Worlds which was about a 12.00 taxi (or $3.00 Collectivo) ride. There were cenotes, sky bicycles over the jungle canopy, zip lines and zip lines into a cenote.

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
santa barbara, california
Jun 1, 2010

Grand Palladium Perfect

Don't miss it! The pools and ocean were incredibly beautiful. We've been to 6 other all inclusive in the RM and this is definitely in the top 2. The grounds are unbelievable, how they integrated the jungle and the hotel. The 8 alacarte restaurants were great but they even had chefs cooking to order 3 kinds of fish and beef, pork, chicken and burgers as well as a carving station for leg of lamb, pork and turkey at every luncheon buffet. We just shifted our eating time to7:00 and had no trouble getting into the alacartes every nite. This is the first hotel we went to where they used the indigenous Mayans as servers and not just as maids and busboys. They are shy but very considerate and hard working. The workers get 8 - 10 dollars a day so we took $2 bills for tips and thought they might think they were not real but they all knew they were lucky and lit up when we gave them to them. ONly complaint - who would design a huge magnificent pool that is 5' 3" deep throughout? Bring a floaty - Walmart has a Sun- Float on-line for $14 which is great, and bring your own drink mug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Anywhere, Everywhere
Jun 1, 2010

"DO NOT STAY HERE"

First let me just say that I have traveled all over the world from China to Canada to the Caribbean and this by far has been the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. [...] Once we arrived we checked in which was pretty smooth and then were taken to our hotel room in Kantenah. We both woke up in the middle of the night scratching all over to then turn on the lights to see small bugs crawling everywhere, our bed, the bathroom, the floor, our end tables and vanity. I walked to the guest service desk to explain the issue since the phone didn't work and they said they couldn't do anything until the manager came in at 7:30 a.m. so we just had to wait until then. We waited until 9:00 a.m. and still hadn't heard anything, so we went back to the front desk, that's when they said they would try to find us another room, which wouldn't be ready until 3:30 p.m. and they would put our stuff just in the front lobby. So right from the start we realized this wasn't a great start to our vacation. Next came the food/drinks, both my husband and I got deathly ill from the food/water. We were violently ill from whatever it was the food, the ice cubes, the beer, something. We brought Pepto and Mylanta and tums, but nothing helped. It was horrible. The food is never the correct temperature and is just unedible.The pools were disgusting especially the adult pools. There were dead bugs and trash floating all over the water in the pools which I thought they would have cleaned up, but did not. However, the only pool that has a nice quite view would be the salt water pool, which was relaxing. I guess since it was ocean water and not dirty pool water, that's why it felt cleaner.About 92% of the guests are non-US citizens so English is the minority language for sure. By the end of the trip you just wanted to get back to the good ol U S of A!In the end the vacation was a waste of money and vacation time! We will not be returning to Riviera Maya or ever stay at a Palladium/Fiesta Group Hotel again! They only thing I could say is I would recommend staying at a Grand Bahia hotel chain, which we have found to be a lot cleaner and nicer from previous stays in the caribbean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop in town, not the hotel. Take the local transportation to Playa del Carma and shop on 5th Avenue.

Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeanneryland
Couples
Auburn, AL
Jun 1, 2010

Wonderful!! Go, you won't regret it!

We stayed in the Royal section of the Grand Palladium. For the difference in price, it is well worth the upgrade. The property is beautiful!! The grounds were well maintained and gardens lovely. Lots of pretty flowers and wildlife! Such diversity - a jungle like lush around the rooms and building and then the beach was wonderful. The water was a stunning aqua blue with very nice beaches to walk and sunbath or coral rocky areas to snorkel. The pools were very numerous and diverse. Some were fun for children with fountains and such. While others more secluded and quiet for adults only. The food was very good in the a la carte restuarants and in the private Royal restuarant, El Jardin. Dinners at the Japanese hibatchi grill, Chinese and Brazilian resturants were superb! The buffets were fine with nice variety. Also, 24 hr room service which we enjoyed often late afternoon or late night. Another nice perk with Royal section are the private carts and drivers. The resort is huge but easy to navigate esp if you have personal drivers. They knew our names and room numbers by the second day. This was a fabulous get away for my husband and self. It was the perfect mix of quiet down time and activity. We went to the disco one night and it was high energy and fun with the staff dancing and encouraged a fun time. We also saw several shows that were entertaining. We really enjoyed the spa and gym. We even had personal training sessions and fitness classes that are included with being in the Royal section. The saunas & hydrotheraphy area of the spa is included in the stay and was nice and relaxing. In the Royal rooms, you have a very large hydropool/ jacuzzi. Fantastic! The staff will even draw a bubble bath for you when you like. We also met several couples and ate dinners with them and hung out some at the pools & beach. Everyone was very friendly and ready to enjoy themselves! I am already trying to book a trip for next year! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you stay in Royal section, personal fitness classes are included in your stay. We had a fitness instructor give us a one-on-one kickboxing class one morning and a step and pilates class another day. It was great! Also, please tip the staff!! They are great and work hard. A nice excursion is snorkeling with the Sea Turtles in Aukmel. Very short ride - take the bus/collectivo. Cheap - only $1.50 each way. Loved swimming with the sea turtles!

Back to menu Return to top