$449 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km 256-100, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
250 reviews
Excelent hotel

Excelent dinning, excelent beach, everything was perfect. I love this hotel. Excelent for families... See full review

  • Chucha perez Love to trav
  • Jan 12, 2015
Fantastic Stay

This was our fifth stay at Grand Palladium. Value is great and staff are even better. Very welcoming. See full review

  • IowaStateFan
  • May 14, 2014
Caribbean beach complex offers four all-inclusive resorts in one
The Grand Palladium Riviera Maya all-inclusive resort complex combines four resorts in one. Resort sections are the Riviera Resort, the White Sand Resort, the Royal Suites Yucatan and the Colonial & Kantenah Resort and Spa. These resorts strive to offer creature comforts and luxury in harmony with nature. The adults-only Royal Suites Yucatan is the complex's VIP entity. Guests there enjoy exclusive access to bars and restaurants and access to all other resorts on the property. The Grand Palladium Riviera Maya complex has five pools, 13 bars, a mini-golf course and spa.
Highlights:
  • Four resorts in one in a natural setting
  • Five pools, one exclusively for Royal Suites guests
  • Mini-golf course
Rooms:

Accommodations at Grand Palladium Riviera Maya vary among the resorts, but expect heavy Spanish influences with neutral color schemes and comfortable amenities. All rooms include one king or two double beds, in-room climate control, private terrace or balcony and personal mini-bar. For a fee, guests enjoy docking station for MP3 players, pillow menu and pay-per-view channels with movies. The 22 bungalow-style cabins called Mayan Suites are designed for couples and include hydromassage bathtubs, outdoor shower and a private entrance to the outside. These suites are positioned on the edge of large on-site lake.

Features:

Guests at Grand Palladium Riviera Maya can partake in a number of outdoor and water activities including archery, badminton, tennis, canoeing and snorkeling. For a fee, sailing, windsurfing and scuba diving classes are available. At night, the resort offers live entertainment and access to the discothèque, a dance club stocked with local and international drinks and music hits. For a quieter trip, check out the reading lodge or book a massage (fees apply) in the spa and enjoy free access to the gym, sauna and steam bath at Grand Palladium Riviera Maya.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (75 minutes)
Attractions
  • Akumal (4 mi/7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (19 mi/31 km)
Business
  • 12 conference rooms
  • One luxury convention center that seats up to 600 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)
Policies and Fees
  • The access to the wet areas (hot tubs, pool, sauna and steam baths) in the Zentropia Palladium Spa & Wellness centres is charged at $10 USD per guest and per day. Also, patrons who purchase any of spa treatments at Zentropia Palladium Spa & Wellness will be given free access to the wet areas that day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
All rooms have two double beds or one king-size bed, air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar restocked daily, TV (satellite), movie channel, telephone, electronic safe, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, tea and coffee facilities, smoke detectors, iron and ironing board, alarm clock, Wifi*, MP3 player station and pillow menu (Additional Charges).
Junior Suite
These rooms feature the same amenities as the Standard Rooms but have a sofa bed, hydro massage tub, bathrobes and slippers.
Mayan Suite
These rooms feature the same amenities as the Junior Suites, plus a separate entrance and a terrace, a magnificent bathroom with whirlpool and an outdoor Mayan-style shower. ADULTS ONLY

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Dining

El Dorado
*Steak house
Mare Nostrum
*Mediterranean style cuisine
Bamboo
*Asian Cuisine
La Adelita
*Mexican cuisine
Ribs and More
*Grill and barbecue style dinner
Tikal
*Italian corner Mexican corner *Show cooking
Kabah
Buffet restaurant *Italian and mexican cuisine
Laguna
*Buffet restaurant *Italian cuisine *Show cooking *Smoking allowed
La Hacienda
Buffet service with Italian corner, Mexican corner and Show Cooking and A / C.
La Gran Azul
It is located off the main pool at Grand Palladium Colonial / Kantenah. Buffet Service gorgeous outdoor restaurant with a spectacular palapa and wonderful views over the main pool. It features Italian corner and Show Cooking. *Smoking allowed

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Grand Palladium Riviera Complex offers 12 Conference rooms an 1 Luxury Convention Center, ranging from 45 m2 to 505 m2, for 40 - 600 people, fully equipped with all the necessary technology and services for any type of celebration (subject to availability and with extra charge).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (250)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
250 out of 250
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Aug 10, 2011

Nice vacation

The resort experience is excellent. We travel quite often and stay at many all-inclusive resorts. The personnel are very attentive and kind. The property is well maintained. The only drawback was the mosquitoes and the fact that they did not sell repellent or anti-itch cream in the stores. Bring that with you! Otherwise, you'll have a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have a large group, arrive at the speciality restaurants early enough to get seating. The restaurant staff was phenomenal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Aug 9, 2011

Great Hotel. Lots of mosquitoes!

Second time at this hotel. I love the gym and the no reservation restaurants. Beach was great. Given the jungle setting, mosquitoes are ferocious and you need bug spray all day, not just at sunset. Still got many bites. I thought it might be because of some rain. However, I split my trip with some time at a hotel in playacar that was not in a jungle setting. Never used bug spray there and no bites. I would go back though. It is a good value. Just be prepared for the bugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young father vacationing with family
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 6, 2011

Excellent - Great Experience

Overall, the experience was great. For an all-inclusive, the food was very good. The service was very friendly and on-average prompt. Rooms were clean and in good condition. The beach, pools, activities, kids club, and other facilities were fantastic. The property is huge, which is good and bad. Lots to experience, a different restaurant every night, lots of folks from all over the world. Be prepared to walk no matter where your room is. The property is also very beautiful and lush. Given the tropical, jungle-like environment, expect bugs. With insect repellent not a big problem. Bring all of your essentials and a calling card with you. The hotel store charges outrageous prices for things like sun block, insect repellent, etc. The calling rates to the U.S. are just as outrageous ($5/minute from the room and $1/minute with a call card which can be purchased in the lobby).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dawnlovessun
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 5, 2011

Not up to the hype.

Having literally just returned from the Grand Palladium, I wanted to write my review while it was still fresh in my mind. First of all, this place is beautiful, but getting close to needing renovation. Lots of tile missing in the pool, etc. The grounds are lovely, and the wildlife was neat, however in August at least, it was too hot and humid to walk anywhere! We went from room (which is very outdated and basic) to the large pool, to the restaurants and back again. Even the air conditioned restaurants are not adequately cooled. There is little relief anywhere. Exploring the grounds was not really an option for us. Even the pool temp is not very nice unless you find a spot of shade under the bar. I ended up with a terrible heat rash on the second day and am still suffering with it. I have been all over the world and never experienced anything like it. Also, we were eaten alive by mosquitos, even after dousing ourselves in bug spray, especially my poor two year old. She had at least 30 bites on her. The food is pretty standard all inclusive fare. We didn't find the food in the al a cartes to be any better than the buffets. Nothing outstanding but nothing awful. The drinks are good after a few well placed tips although I noticed when we first arrived before we tipped the alcohol was non existent in my drinks. We used the baby club for a couple hours most days and most of the staff are great, however there was one person specifically I didn't want watching my daughter. We kept going back to check on our daughter, and we walked in on the person sitting there letting my daughter cry and doing nothing. My major complaint: We booked (and paid) for the Kantenah and they put us in the Colonial, telling us it was the same, and better because we asked for a central location close to the kids club. First of all, we were not centrally located at all. We weren't near anything! I am very disappointed to learn that the rooms are not the same. We paid several hundred dollars more for the Kantenah, but we didn't ask to be moved because we didn't realize it til we got home. Also, I emailed them ahead of time letting them know that it was our 5 year anniversary and inquiring as to any special dinners we could book, etc...and we didn't get anything, not an upgrade, not a bottle of "free" wine, not even a happy anniversary. I feel very taken advantage of now. Also, please be careful as when it rains, as it did daily, the tile floors get very slippery. My daughter fell constantly and I fell once, leaving a nasty bruise on my knee. Overall, we had an ok vacation, but we were more than ready to leave after all the things that happened to us. Please keep the temperature, humidity and bugs in mind, as they can ruin your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saki
Business
New York, NY
Aug 3, 2011

Fantastic resort

This was my 7th trip to Riviera Maya, and probably my favorite. Grand Palladium is a large, well-run resort, with many activities, fantastic beach, 6-7 restaurants, and several bars. However, despite the size, what I found most impressive was the level of service. Everyone tries their best to make your stay enjoyable. The beach is one of the nicest in the Mayan Riviera, with palm trees and palaps providing much needed shade. I would recommend this resort highly to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
our family summer vacation
Business
chicago il
Aug 3, 2011

my family stay at the palladium riviera.

My experience at the hotel was not good at all first when we came in on a very hot day 100 degree weathet they kept us outside because they couldnt find our reservation ! No one smiles at the hotel I lost my 2 cameras and no one in the personal seem to care at all! The servers are rude and not courteous at all the coffe was cold every morning no matter what restaurant we ate at and when i went to brazilian restaurant where u dont need reservations we waited 1 hour to get in and once we were in after the salad bar we waited over 50 minutes before we got any other service when yhe meat person finally came he would just trhew the meat in our plates in a very bad mood not askingyou if you would like some or at least let you know what it was ok i was waiting. For a very important call and kept asking the front desk if i had any messages since the morning i was waitin well the call came in at 100 pm and the message was delivered to my room at 6.00 pm and cost me a lot of money it was a very important call to me . Yhe air conditioning in my kids room did not work we called them to let them know and never fixed it the room was super cold the !iir would not turn off ! My kids endeup in our room every night ! And for my husband and me they gave us 2 full size beds of cousre we couldnt sleep together all vacation time. We had requested joined rooms they said they were all taken they put us in a wait list and ib all seven days we n were ever moved ! And last i.called the night before we were leavingto book a taxi to take us to the airport . They told me yes it will be here at 4 am in the morning because the airport is one and a half hour away from the hotel ! They had booked me and priced me something and when we got to the airport charged me doble!!!! And im talking a lot of money .. the distance for this hotel to cancun to playa del carmen to night life to go shopping is super far and the taxi rates are 5 times what we would pay in the us ! Im sory but i would not recommend this place or come bacj to this place ever again i feel that all the money i had spend for a family of 6 for seven days was a.waste we have never felt trated soo poorly before even my kids were upset .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you ate planning on eating at any dinnet restaurnt be there at least 1 hour before even if no reservation is required and if you plan on going out at night to cancun is at least 2 hours away and taxi rates are the same as if you rented a good nice car for 2 days here in the us !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loves2Travel
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
Jul 31, 2011

Beautiful Resort and Beach

Had a wonderful relaxing vacation at the Grand Palladium, beautiful grounds and beach. Snorkeling off shore was good. On a star rating system, Grounds/resort 5 stars-beautiful, wild and well maintained-contrary statement, but it's how I would describe it. Loved the wooded paths and covered walkways. Rooms would be 3 stars-they were just okay--pillows very uncomfortable, furniture old looking and towels and sheets were thin. The room was always very clean and the maid left cute towel art which we all appreciated-especially our 4 year old. Food was barely 2 stars (surprisingly fish always tasted stale and was almost uneatable), ala carte restaurants hit or miss-the Moroccan restaurant was the best- and service was always good at the ala cartes. Very, very hit or miss in the buffet. Buffet ran out of coffee cups in the morning so no coffee-THAT was unacceptable-especially since that 1st morning cup of java is much needed! Servers didn't always come to tables to take drink order. (we always left a buck or two if we did get service). Desserts were usually good. Surprisingly, there wasn't a lot of Mexican food and what there was, wasn't very good. I wish that management would include more authentic tasty Mexican food. Pools were absolutely beautiful, plenty of shade if you wanted it. Good shade and sun also at the beach. Plenty of lounge chairs everywhere. Towel station was at the main pool, but they needed one on the beach; far walk from the beach and very inconvenient, especially since they ran out of towels two afternoons that we needed it- I went back 3 times in a span of 3 hours and no towels whatever. That was also unacceptable to me. Topless beach could be a little off putting especially around kids. Lots of smokers everywhere(except restaurants) just lighting up on the beach and walkways. In hot tropical weather it can be very cloying around all that smoke. However, everything was very clean and well maintained. We enjoyed sailing and snorkeling. Entertainment was 'entertaining'-some good , some cheesy but always fun to watch. Could be a qualified as little risqué for kids under 13-except for the Disney show. The entertainers worked hard and also enjoyed what they did. Our daughter really enjoyed the mini club, and I felt like she was in safe hands-they were always outside playing and doing activities. However, I wish in the heat of the day, there could have been a dedicated air conditioned area where they could play (there was one, but it was for the 1-3 year olds). Overall, I would recommend this resort-it was so beautiful (and wild) if the above criticisms don't bother you too much. I know there are a lot of criticisms, but the good far outweighed the bad, and we would come back in a heartbeat! We had such a wonderful relaxing time in such a beautiful, gorgeous setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you love to snorkel, definately go to Xel-Ha (pronounced 'shel ha') Lots of fish, including 6 feet parrot fish! Food was good too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Second timer...
Business
Chicago
Jul 30, 2011

Great once again

This was our second stay at this hotel. We did nothing except to decide beach or pool or both..and where to eat. We got an exceptional price for two rooms, which were very nice as usual. Service was very good as well, as was the food at both the buffets and the ala carte restaurants. Daughter played lots and lots of volleyball with great guests. Only thing lacking was air conditioning on the morning we left for home, as the crazy storm the night before must have knocked out some power for awhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We used USA Transfers to get to/from the hotel and they did a reliable job for far less than the transport service that typically comes with the package.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mosquitoes and Bad A La Carte Restaurant
Business
Irvine CA
Jul 30, 2011

Slow A La Carte restaurants & Mosquitoes

The hotel looks very impressive and well decorated. The beach activities, buffets and rooms are very nice. However, two major deficiencies ruined our vacation: very slow a la carte restaurants which took two hours plus to get foods served once you sit down and mosquitoes everywhere in the hotel and its grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear long pants due to plenty of mosquitoes. Avoid A La Carte restaurants which served good foods but extremely long and slow service. It is not that they are busy, they are just slow because there are plenty of tables with no servers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justrelaxing
Business
Akron, NY
Jul 29, 2011

Second Trip here!

This was our second stay at this resort, the last time was in 2003. We love the resort but it is very large with many walkways and wooden bridges. Ala cartes are great and you can go as many times as you like with no reservations. The beach bbq was rained out the night we were supposed to go. Buffets have something for everyone and food was always fresh. Beach bars are few and far between but the beach itself is beautiful, it is a coral like sand, not super soft but still very nice. There are few swimming areas with no rocks but the beach is very long and has very rocky parts and very smooth parts. Good for snorkeling. We saw fish in the swimming area and even a sting ray one day. The pellicans are great to watch and sometimes flew right into the middle of the swimming area! Rooms are good size and cleaned everyday. Mini bar was well stocked, although for some reason they had no pepsi light the entire stay, maid said they were out of it. Four beers each day and various soft drinks, plenty of water. We did the segway tour on the resort and had lots of fun. We have been to this region many times and did not do any excursions this time. It was very hot and humid with rain only a few times and usually overnight. Staff was wonderful. You can go to any other hotel lobby and restaurants. Small touches like a welcome drink were missing, but other than that I can't think of anything else. You do have to make a reservation for the beach bbq at Punta Emilia starting at 10 am the day before, they only have this on Wendsday and Friday and as I said ours got rained out. If you want a show table at Sumptori you have to go the the restaurant around 3 pm to request it, otherwise you have a regular table, which was fine for us, we ate there twice, it was so good. Used AGI for the transport and they were wonderful. Next time we will go when the temperatures are not so hot! In comparison to other resorts we have stayed at which include Catalonia Royal, Bahia Principe (3x), Barcelo, Iberostar Tucan and two in the DR, we like this resort, but it is alittle large with alot of walking from rooms to beach and rooms to lobbies. We liked other beaches better, but this one was very good. There are different reasons we like or dislike each of the resorts we have stayed at and haven't found the perfect one yet, but we will continue to try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring enough cigarettes with you if you can, the price on the resort is $10.00 a pack but keep in mind you can purchase cigarettes and liquor at the duty free before you leave the airport. We bought two bottles of Baccardis rum for the room for $24. On the way back they had 3 cartons of Marlboro for $75.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top