$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal Km. 250, Riviera Maya, 77100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
218 reviews
Wonderful Complex and Great Value

My partner and I stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba complex for 11 days. This was our first... See full review

  • Nickolodeon
  • Dec 7, 2014
First Class All The Way

My husband and I stayed at the Bahia Principe Akumal Luxury Beach Resort for Thanksgiving week, we... See full review

  • I Felt Spoiled
  • Dec 2, 2014
One of 24 five-star beach resorts operated by Grupo Pinero's Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya affords adventurers easy access to a number of ancient Mayan pyramids and coastal, walled fortresses. This complex contains three individual resorts named after regional settlements, each of which is geared toward different kinds of travelers. As a result, it's relatively easy to book a business, adults-only, or family vacation in a villa surrounded by lush tropical palms. Simply wandering around this resort in the Mexican heat is a great way to stumble across inviting pools, cool bars and fascinating shops.
Key facts
  • Rooms by complex: Tulum - 858; Coba - 1,080; Akumal - 630
  • 11 international restaurants
  • 18 bars
  • 7 pools, including lazy river and lakes
  • Concierge service available
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
In the surrounding area, guests will discover hidden cenotes, water-filled caves that invite serious scuba divers and casual snorkelers alike, and parks like Xcaret, that give you a chance to enjoy the clear currents of a calm lagoon in a more naturalistic setting than found at any waterpark. Nearby Chichen Itza is a World Heritage Site, which includes The Castle, the Pyramid of Kukulcan and Juego de Pelota. The Sacred Cenote is a spot where the Mayans apparently made human sacrifices, and should not be missed by lovers of history, macabre and otherwise.
Hints and tips
Enjoy a quieter stay in this large complex by staying in a room further away from the central areas, or on the side of a villa opposite the nearest pool.

If you find yourself tired or lost from walking around after a long day, locate one of the many shuttle stops scattered throughout the resort, and wait for about five minutes to get a free ride.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Gran Baha Principe TULUM - Junior Suite
858 rooms, 774 Standard Rooms and 84 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe COBA - Junior Suite
1,080 Junior Suites (all with a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 36 rooms each. 6 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 queen-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron, ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe AKUMAL - Junior Suite
630 rooms distributed in 72 Standard Rooms and 558 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Snack
With fast food and snacks. Open 24hours(After midnight, only serving soft drinks).
Restaurant
Main Restaurant (international buffet) facing the ocean- breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets.
Gourmet International Specialty Restaurant
Only the Rest. "Gourmet" is air conditioned. 3 A la Carte dinners per week of stay (with reservations). One can choose among the 7 Specialty Restaurants in the complex, Italian Rest., Fish & Seafood Rest., Mexican Rest., Grill Rest., Oriental Rest. and two International Gourmet Restaurants. Red and white house wines available.
Mexican Specialty Restaurant
Mexican Specialty Restaurant.
Bars
3 Swim up bars in the pools, Lobby Bar, 1 Bar at the amphitheatre. Unlimited local drinks, beer and soft drinks in all of the hotel's bars until 11.00 pm. All local drinks at the "La Plaza Mayor" Bar and the "Sport Bar" located in the "Hacienda Dona Isabel".
Grill
Specialty Restaurant breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (218)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 218
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mexi nari
Business
new jersey
Nov 19, 2014

perfect getaway

staff was beyond friendly, always glad to help with a smile on their face. bed is a little hard but nonetheless a wonderful experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snow sad
Business
Ontario, Canada
Nov 25, 2013

Nice Vacation

The staff were friendly and helpful...service was very good, Did have some concerns about cleanliness...plastic cups that were picked up off the beach and thrown into a plastic bag with dozens of cups were dunked in a tub of soapy water at the bar and immediately used again to serve drinks. My husband and friend got sick while we were at this resort and it worries me that the lack of cleanliness may have had something to do with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dzezbedara
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 24, 2013

Great

We were in Sian Kaan newest hotel in Gran Bahia Principe in Tulum and there is not enough words to describe all we had over there. This was our third all inclusive vacation in Mexico and it was the best one. We recommend to go to this place - it is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
summertraveler
Business
USA
Jul 22, 2013

Had Ball

The beds are a little hard. Had some ants if anything was left out at all. Other than that it was awesome. beach was right behind our room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at Don Pablos!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boulder0925
Business
Chicago, IL
May 30, 2013

First all-inclusive stay

Let me first say that I had never been to Mexico prior to this trip, nor had I ever stayed at an all-inclusive anywhere prior to this trip either. I loved the resort for the fact that it's really 3 resorts in 1 all-inclusive giant resort. Which gave you PLENTY of options of pools, beaches, places to eat and more. We stayed at Coba which I really like, however, if I were to go again I would stay at Akumal just because of it's proximity to the beach and the fact that it sits in between Coba and the Tulum resorts. The buffet food was mediocre, nothing to write home about but I didn't expect anything spectacular. It was fine. The finer dinner restaurants were all great - we dined at Pescador & Tequila. The staff were helpful, if not a little slow. We arrived early in the day but our rooms weren't available until 3 pm EXACTLY so if you arrive early, make sure your swimsuits are accessible so you're not waiting around. My only complaint was that there were a couple times we tried to contact the front desk or housekeeping from our rooms and NO ONE ever answered the phone. That was a bit annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rekeem
Business
Denver
Feb 24, 2013

Not a four star anything

The resorts are nice, but they were short staffed and the service was poor. The food was not quite bad, but left A LOT to be desired. We tried Italian, Mediterranean, and seafood, and Mediterranean was the only one worth it - the buffets were better than the restaurants. The beach was nice and the snorkeling OK, but overall this resort was a big disappointment. Not one we will be returning to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

The shopping is actually pretty good. We went to Playa and couldn't get anything better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PNei Bird Girl
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Enjoyable Trip

This resort has quite a large property. It affords you the ability to do a whole array of activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
diav
Business
Windsor, Ontario
Mar 16, 2012

very nice resort

we went the first year it opened and 6 years later it is still a very nice, clean place to go--would highly recommend--very good staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
saskjohnstons
Business
Prince Albert, SK, Canada
Mar 7, 2012

The best vacation ever!

From the moment we arrived to when we left the experience was top notch. It helped that it was sunny 9 of the 10 days we were there! Staff were friendly, the food was good the room, facility and beach was clean. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Traveler... next stop...
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 7, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe... Breathtaking!

This hotel COMPLEX, was amazing. The grounds were kept impecable... so much so any stray coconuts that fell on the beaches during the day were cleaned up by the following day. The amenities were fantastic! Several pools to choose from, several bars, several restaurants, several events, hundreds of yards of beach to walk on, are just some of the few things. The staff were wonderful. If anything was not up to par... they easily fixed it and quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A must see and do are the Coba Ruins and nearby Cenotes (caves)! The Coba ruins are still climable and the nearby Cenote was a wonder in itself... bring your swimsuit as taking a dip in the prestine water is a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top