$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal Km. 250, Riviera Maya, 77100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
218 reviews
Wonderful Complex and Great Value

My partner and I stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba complex for 11 days. This was our first... See full review

  • Nickolodeon
  • Dec 7, 2014
First Class All The Way

My husband and I stayed at the Bahia Principe Akumal Luxury Beach Resort for Thanksgiving week, we... See full review

  • I Felt Spoiled
  • Dec 2, 2014
One of 24 five-star beach resorts operated by Grupo Pinero's Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya affords adventurers easy access to a number of ancient Mayan pyramids and coastal, walled fortresses. This complex contains three individual resorts named after regional settlements, each of which is geared toward different kinds of travelers. As a result, it's relatively easy to book a business, adults-only, or family vacation in a villa surrounded by lush tropical palms. Simply wandering around this resort in the Mexican heat is a great way to stumble across inviting pools, cool bars and fascinating shops.
Key facts
  • Rooms by complex: Tulum - 858; Coba - 1,080; Akumal - 630
  • 11 international restaurants
  • 18 bars
  • 7 pools, including lazy river and lakes
  • Concierge service available
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
In the surrounding area, guests will discover hidden cenotes, water-filled caves that invite serious scuba divers and casual snorkelers alike, and parks like Xcaret, that give you a chance to enjoy the clear currents of a calm lagoon in a more naturalistic setting than found at any waterpark. Nearby Chichen Itza is a World Heritage Site, which includes The Castle, the Pyramid of Kukulcan and Juego de Pelota. The Sacred Cenote is a spot where the Mayans apparently made human sacrifices, and should not be missed by lovers of history, macabre and otherwise.
Hints and tips
Enjoy a quieter stay in this large complex by staying in a room further away from the central areas, or on the side of a villa opposite the nearest pool.

If you find yourself tired or lost from walking around after a long day, locate one of the many shuttle stops scattered throughout the resort, and wait for about five minutes to get a free ride.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Gran Baha Principe TULUM - Junior Suite
858 rooms, 774 Standard Rooms and 84 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe COBA - Junior Suite
1,080 Junior Suites (all with a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 36 rooms each. 6 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 queen-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron, ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe AKUMAL - Junior Suite
630 rooms distributed in 72 Standard Rooms and 558 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Snack
With fast food and snacks. Open 24hours(After midnight, only serving soft drinks).
Restaurant
Main Restaurant (international buffet) facing the ocean- breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets.
Gourmet International Specialty Restaurant
Only the Rest. "Gourmet" is air conditioned. 3 A la Carte dinners per week of stay (with reservations). One can choose among the 7 Specialty Restaurants in the complex, Italian Rest., Fish & Seafood Rest., Mexican Rest., Grill Rest., Oriental Rest. and two International Gourmet Restaurants. Red and white house wines available.
Mexican Specialty Restaurant
Mexican Specialty Restaurant.
Bars
3 Swim up bars in the pools, Lobby Bar, 1 Bar at the amphitheatre. Unlimited local drinks, beer and soft drinks in all of the hotel's bars until 11.00 pm. All local drinks at the "La Plaza Mayor" Bar and the "Sport Bar" located in the "Hacienda Dona Isabel".
Grill
Specialty Restaurant breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (218)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 218
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nickolodeon
Business
Ireland
Dec 7, 2014

Wonderful Complex and Great Value

My partner and I stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba complex for 11 days. This was our first trip to Mexico and we will definitely return - probably to this complex. It has everything we look for in a winter sunshine holiday. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite in the Premier area of the complex and loved the balcony with our view of one of the swimming pools and the gardens and the jacuzzi bath was such a treat. The complex is pristine, with lots of staff constantly cleaning the apartments as well as the public rooms,trimming the lawns and gardens, cleaning the restrooms, swimming pools etc. Staff are very friendly and polite - although not always fluent in English, but love when guests try out their Spanish with them. We really enjoyed our visit to the Gourmet restaurant but perhaps the other specialised restaurants could provide a better experience. Food is available 24/7 - either in the buffet restaurants or the cafeteria. Evening entertainment is varied and fun and it is just magic to sit outside in the evenings wih a Margarita or a Mohito, listening to music or dancing, with Christmas trees all around the complex! Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I Felt Spoiled
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 2, 2014

First Class All The Way

My husband and I stayed at the Bahia Principe Akumal Luxury Beach Resort for Thanksgiving week, we had access to all 4 resorts including all gourmet restaurants, buffets, shows and activities. We have stayed at Riu Palace resorts and many others but this place this one we place in the same category as the Excellence Luxury Resorts. The premium drinks were great! The food at the buffet was a work of art with a great selection to choose from. The specialty restaurants were terrific. All the fish and seafood was so fresh, the seasoning, sauces and presentation, not to mention the taste, was some of the best we have ever had! You do need to make reservations but they do not limit you to how many gourmet restaurants you may book! There are small shuttles that come right by your room and take you to any of the 4 resorts, we loved the staff as well, just so helpful and kind. We are talking with our family about going back with a group next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

As soon as you check in, book your specialty restaurants, one for each night. You can always cancel one if something comes up but it is difficult to get the times you want if you wait

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maritza c.
Business
New Jersey
Nov 19, 2014

23rd birthday

We decided to stay in riveria Maya since we did not want to do the typical cancun trip. I must say that was a great decision. The resort is absolutely beautiful. Everything was perfect. The workers made sure you are always accommodated and kept the grounds clean. My boyfriend complained the beds were a little hard but it didn't bother me much. Everyday our rooms were cleaned and fridge restocked. This resort is the last on the strip so it is a bit of a drive from the airport but the beaches are well worth it. The buffets are enormous, more food than you can possibly dream. We tried out both coba and tulum's buffets and enjoyed both. My only complaint is I wish there was more authentic mexican food. Other than that everything was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheCuteBlondes
Business
New York, NY
Nov 17, 2014

Splendid!!

We escaped the bitter cold of NYC for six nights in February with the hopes of some sunshine and relaxation. Grand Bahia Principe Tulum surpassed all of our expectations and desires. The staff was attentive and friendly, the food was tasty and plentiful, the drinks were strong and delicious, and the grounds were gorgeous and immaculate. It was a perfect mix of fun and relaxation. I was happy to sit by one of the many beautiful pools with a book, while my boyfriend was happily entertained by the numerous activities going on throughout the day. The entertainment staff does an excellent job of including everyone and offering a variety of options. They clearly love their jobs as their zeal is contagious. Jeremy was especially gracious and hospitable. Likewise, Carlos at the concierge desk was a great resource in helping us to get the most out of our trip. While we tried a few of the restaurants, Toucan was our favorite as it offered a large variety of options (namely delicious authentic Mexican food). They make it very easy to pop in and out at your leisure. The coconut ice cream was extraordinary - simple and just right for a balmy night. The steak house was also a real treat! We enjoyed every aspect of our trip and had no complaints whatsoever. I look forward to making the trip an annual tradition!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
btmm
Business
New York
Nov 15, 2014

Awesome Getaway

Had an amazing time at the Grand Bahia Principe. Mexico is beautiful and so was the resort. Loved seeing the animals and iguanas at the hotel. We swam with the dolphins which was conveniently located at the resort. The shuttles were perfect for the days we were too tired to walk back from the beach. Definitely will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reteachu
Business
Fredericksburg, VA
Sep 11, 2014

Great Service and Beautiful Resort

The hotel is huge, so the beach and pool areas were sometimes a bit crowded. Humidity was high so the room smelled musty. After a heavy rain, the ceiling leaked, but it was repaired promptly. Aside from those negatives, our experience was great! There was much variety of food in the buffet restaurant, and most was quite tasty. Having the choice to dine on 3 occasions in the reservation restaurants was a nice treat. The food and service in all was wonderful. Because the complex of 4 hotels is so large, the shuttle service offered an easy dependable way to get around. It was great to be able to try out the amenities of each of the different hotels. Staff at the Bahia is to be commended for their consistent positive attitude and exceptional service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redskinboy
Business
Hanover, Pa
Jun 29, 2014

Better Than Expected

I'm big on reviews but I try to keep an open mind. This resort exceeded expectations. The food was good enough and the lack of good AC (I can understand the open air concepts in the restaurants and buffets but the AC in the room should be ice cold - it's the reason I didn't give a 5 rating) made it a challenge. Overall very happy with everything, especially the staff, they were amazing!! Going back in October!! Work on making sure that AC works great in all rooms and it will be the 5 star that you are looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

All a la cartes seemed ok with shorts and sandals for guys except for Le Gourmet. Sandals ok but no shorts. Go figure?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol Z
Business
California
Jun 13, 2014

BEST OF THE 4 HOTELS IN THE COMPLEX

Tulum is the best of all, closest to the beach, best food buffet and the quietest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Brazilian Restaurant was the BEST! make reservations when you arrive for all restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bkris
Business
pleasanton, california
Apr 28, 2014

A pleasant stay

Our stay at GB was very good. This all inclusive resort had a variety of food options with nice warm water beaches, good staff and reasonable entertainment. GB resorts within were well connected through 'trains'. We stayed for a week and we had a mix of relaxation and adventurous activities in the region. The best part of our trip was the cenotes. Its a must do for everyone visiting the Riviera Maya/Yucatan region. April being the hottest month of the year cenotes provides a cool and comfort experience. Particularly the Azul Cenotes right by the freeway 307 is just amazing. They only charge around $6 for such a wonderful place. We were given three A La Carte restaurant options to choose from a list of around 10 restaurants. Being vegetarian our choices were very limited. But the overall ambiance of the restaurants were great. They were flexible with changing the reservations in the last hour. I recommend booking the restaurants the day you arrive. All beverages were unlimited in all places of the resort. However the quality was not the best. The only beer option was Dos Equis. The cocktails were not the best. I just had vodka/gin, whiskey/soda most of the time. Overall our trip to Riviera Maya was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TakeMeToTheCaribbbean
Business
Alabama
Apr 9, 2014

A great all-inclusive resort in Mexico!

We have been to several AIs on many islands and this one ranks among the best. The staff is friendly and efficient, the food above-average, the beach expansive with some private areas to be found. The grounds are beautiful. The pools are nice. The main pool has a rowdier crowd in the afternoons (mainly due to the fun entertainment staff and swim-up bar). The beach is quieter and there's always a chair to be found. An hour from the airport but close to some ruins and other excursions. Not a spring-break party crowd. Guests range from kids to elderly. A wonderful vacation for my husband and I traveling solo. Would recommend it and return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

See the Tulum Ruins on the coast! Beautiful! A must! Just a short drive from the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top