$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal Km. 250, Riviera Maya, 77100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
211 reviews
Great Place to take a vacation

I wrote a great review but without any profanity or mentioning things that I should not but it kept... See full review

  • Antonio P.
  • Aug 18, 2014
BEST OF THE 4 HOTELS IN THE COMPLEX

Tulum is the best of all, closest to the beach, best food buffet and the quietest! See full review

  • Carol Z
  • Jun 13, 2014
One of 24 five-star beach resorts operated by Grupo Pinero's Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya affords adventurers easy access to a number of ancient Mayan pyramids and coastal, walled fortresses. This complex contains three individual resorts named after regional settlements, each of which is geared toward different kinds of travelers. As a result, it's relatively easy to book a business, adults-only, or family vacation in a villa surrounded by lush tropical palms. Simply wandering around this resort in the Mexican heat is a great way to stumble across inviting pools, cool bars and fascinating shops.
Key facts
  • Rooms by complex: Tulum - 858; Coba - 1,080; Akumal - 630
  • 11 international restaurants
  • 18 bars
  • 7 pools, including lazy river and lakes
  • Concierge service available
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
In the surrounding area, guests will discover hidden cenotes, water-filled caves that invite serious scuba divers and casual snorkelers alike, and parks like Xcaret, that give you a chance to enjoy the clear currents of a calm lagoon in a more naturalistic setting than found at any waterpark. Nearby Chichen Itza is a World Heritage Site, which includes The Castle, the Pyramid of Kukulcan and Juego de Pelota. The Sacred Cenote is a spot where the Mayans apparently made human sacrifices, and should not be missed by lovers of history, macabre and otherwise.
Hints and tips
Enjoy a quieter stay in this large complex by staying in a room further away from the central areas, or on the side of a villa opposite the nearest pool.

If you find yourself tired or lost from walking around after a long day, locate one of the many shuttle stops scattered throughout the resort, and wait for about five minutes to get a free ride.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3617 -87.3323
Area served
Riviera Maya.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
The Mayan Riviera, the unspoiled Mexican Caribbean: Boarded by the United States to the north and Belize and Guatemala to the south, Mexico covers an area of two million km2 and has a population of 73 million inhabitants. The Tulum region is in the state of Quintana Roo in the southern Mexican republic, in the western portion of the Yucatan peninsula. It takes two hours by plane to cover the distance between Mexico City and the town of Cancun (128 kilometers to the south, and one hour and 55 minutes along federal highway 307).The Mayan Riviera is a strip of unspoiled beaches and tropical forest of 150-km which stretches out 40 km to the south of Cancun.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Gran Baha Principe TULUM - Junior Suite
858 rooms, 774 Standard Rooms and 84 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe COBA - Junior Suite
1,080 Junior Suites (all with a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 36 rooms each. 6 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 queen-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron, ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe AKUMAL - Junior Suite
630 rooms distributed in 72 Standard Rooms and 558 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Snack
With fast food and snacks. Open 24hours(After midnight, only serving soft drinks).
Restaurant
Main Restaurant (international buffet) facing the ocean- breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets.
Gourmet International Specialty Restaurant
Only the Rest. "Gourmet" is air conditioned. 3 A la Carte dinners per week of stay (with reservations). One can choose among the 7 Specialty Restaurants in the complex, Italian Rest., Fish & Seafood Rest., Mexican Rest., Grill Rest., Oriental Rest. and two International Gourmet Restaurants. Red and white house wines available.
Mexican Specialty Restaurant
Mexican Specialty Restaurant.
Bars
3 Swim up bars in the pools, Lobby Bar, 1 Bar at the amphitheatre. Unlimited local drinks, beer and soft drinks in all of the hotel's bars until 11.00 pm. All local drinks at the "La Plaza Mayor" Bar and the "Sport Bar" located in the "Hacienda Dona Isabel".
Grill
Specialty Restaurant breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JAD Unhappy
Business
Milo, Ia
Mar 13, 2014

not as good as it gets

The minute we check in I should have know this was not what I sign up for. First night the air did not work, after {I} meaning me got that to work by working with the patio doors. I ask to have the beds to be put together which they said that they could do it was never done. I had to go hunt up clean towels from day to day not to mention bath mats wash cloths and hand towels. There free wifi was for one hour a day and slow, could not check you email the and respond to them. I have been to mexico at least 7 time and never been sick this time I was, and so was my grandson and daughter.Happy not at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Horrible vacation
Business
Austin, Texas
Dec 26, 2012

My worst "All Inclusive" experience

Just to start, they have a rainbow of wrist bands and they will make sure they let you know all the things you do not have access too. Also they are part of time share, or whatever name they call it now days, so they will harass you every opportunity they can to be part of a presentation (only 90 minutes). If you ask for anything they will say yes but but nothing happened. The food is horrible and I am not asking for gourmet, just decent fresh food. I have an strong stomach, that have resisted street car food all over the world but I got food poisoned in "The mediterranean" special dinner restaurant, and when we tried to get help from the front desk to have an alka-seltser or any thing to help tame my stomach, their answer was: "Sorry you do not have Room service", so my husband walked over to the front desk, just to hear that he needed to go buy whatever I needed to the shop. Also need to remark that the beach is very far away (easy a 30 minute walk from the room) so they offer shuttle services that only go every 25 minutes and traveling with an infant made it worst, because we had to open and close the stroller to climb in them if we caught them on time. I saw ants and bugs walking freely around the buffets, you could not take food out of the restaurants, so if you wanted to eat you needed to pick up all your family and things and go to restaurant (long walk again). And to make my trip to that place any more memorable, my daughter got sick with a eruptive virus and the help from the hotel to assist me was almost none, Just a couple of employees were really helpful, but as expected, guest services came to talk to us, after I was making a big deal because I did not want to pass the virus to other guest of the hotel. I really hope that you think twice before you pick this hotel, because honestly I thought it might be that I am having bad luck, but after asking locals (and several of the employees) this is one of the worst hotels in the area. Looks awesome and their landscape is gorgeous, iguanas taking the sun everywhere you look... but don't let their mask rob you of having a good vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MeBag
Business
Illinois
Jan 4, 2014

Christmas at Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya

We had a very bad experience on our arrival as we were told that the hotel we had made our confirmed room reservation, Akulam, was oversold and not available. After 2-3 hours of argument with the hotel staff they moved us onto Tulum without any compensation, which is a less expensive hotel. My son's bed had ants on it. Also, it is very hard to make reservations as the Ala Carte restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make early reservations at Ala carte restaurents, but even then you most probably won't get it. This happens while when you go to the restaurents you will see a lot of empty tables.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AJRED
Business
Dresden, Ontario
Jan 12, 2014

Customer Service Lacking

Overall the level of customer service was not great in a number of instances before and during the stay. I would not stay at this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JT Minnesota
Business
Minnesota
Jan 4, 2012

Much too big

When we took the $100 USD, 80 minute taxi ride, we were surprised to hear our driver ask, which complex are you staying at? We had no idea and said Akumal. We came to find out that the complex is enormous with multiple reception areas. We found our room would not be available until 3:00 so we changed in the workout room. When we got to our room it was the type of room you'd expect at a Super 8. 2 single beds and a bath. The pools were ok, but the DJ was absolutely terrible. They blasted mexican music. We could only make 2 reservations for dinner and the dinner times were less than ideal. The breakfast buffet was almost the same every day. The quantity of food was incredible, but the quality was poor. (think of the Old Country Buffet). Beach chairs are filled by 10:00 with people who claim a chair by placing thier stuff on the chair. The beach was not swimable. There was coral rocks all over the beach with huge sand bags to protect the beach. Our room was next to the looby bar and the entertainment complex. The first night the music and the annoying mexican DJ blasted Karoke music until past midnight. I went to ask for a room change and was told they couldn't make a change until the morning before our departure. I would not recommend this resort to anyone. The beach, food, staff, and rooms sucked. My wife and I have been to Playa over 10x and this destination and resort is not a good reflection of the Playa region. We are in our 30's and would not recommend this resort to any age.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The only dinner reservation worth making is at the Japanese location, but you'll have to travel 30 minutes on the trolly to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pamy000
Business
Michigan
Jun 5, 2013

Family getaway

I just didn't like to hotel services, really bad and I don't think that I would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ms. Cj
Business
New Jersey
Jul 26, 2013

Nothing Speical

07/18/13- the hotel is very nice but almost too big. I have stayed at different Bahia Principe locations and this was not up to their standards. The hotel is older and in need of upgrades. I had the worse time communicating with staff- no one really spoke any English-at all. When I checked in, the rep had already left and never came back my entire stay. I had to beg someone to make a call a 1-800 number because if I called from my room it would be some ridiculous amount of money. All in all- the beach is nice but rocky, the food is just "okay". I would not go back to this location, I was not happy..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Avidexplorer
Business
Brooklyn,ny
Jul 30, 2011

Couple getaway

The landscaping and overall look of the hotel is great. The staff is not friendly at all half of them do not know English or know where anything is located. I was a group of 8 people we made dinner reservations and when we got to the resturant whoever made the reservation put us down for 6 so they had a huge embarrassing argument with us over that issue. The air conditioning and comfort level is horrendous. Overall I would not go to the resort ever again. Also the complex is so massive that you need trollys to get from one part to the other and sometimes those trollys take 10 to 15 min to come.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
turtle4409
Business
fort myers fl
Oct 17, 2010

Never Never Never Again

We just spend 8 nights at Gran Bahia Principal Coba, where we spend 2 days in our room sick with food poisoning. The health standards for food preparation and food storage are definitely not being meet at this resort. Majority of food selection is buffet style, BEWARE of consumption. There was also a lack of customer service. Employees seemed to be more concerned with socializing or tasking instead of taking care of guest. The LARGE hotel grounds were very well maintained and on the surfaced presented a relaxing and welcoming ambiance, but the fear of being hit by an oncoming golf cart or the annoyance of waiting for transportation was definitely not a stress free vacation. The beach is very rocky and the pools were a little on the chilly side. The title says it all, Never...Never...Never..Again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you do stay in this part of the Rivera Maya be sure to check out Akumal Public Beach. You can snorkel right off the beach there and will likely see an array of tropical fish, rays, squid, barracuda, and sea turtles. It is a great spot is you into snorkeling and the best part is it won't cost you a thing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa
Mar 22, 2011

The Good and not so Good

We stayed at the Bahia Principe in Riviera Maya and the rooms were just okay. We had no water the first morning after we woke up. We were sick from the food after the second day, and after being so careful about what we ate and drank. For the money that was charged, no one should get sick off of any food and I will never stay there again. They should close the joint and sanitize everything. Awful Food. Too bad people are still staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top