$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal Km. 250, Riviera Maya, 77100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
212 reviews
Great Place to take a vacation

I wrote a great review but without any profanity or mentioning things that I should not but it kept... See full review

  • Antonio P.
  • Aug 18, 2014
BEST OF THE 4 HOTELS IN THE COMPLEX

Tulum is the best of all, closest to the beach, best food buffet and the quietest! See full review

  • Carol Z
  • Jun 13, 2014
One of 24 five-star beach resorts operated by Grupo Pinero's Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya affords adventurers easy access to a number of ancient Mayan pyramids and coastal, walled fortresses. This complex contains three individual resorts named after regional settlements, each of which is geared toward different kinds of travelers. As a result, it's relatively easy to book a business, adults-only, or family vacation in a villa surrounded by lush tropical palms. Simply wandering around this resort in the Mexican heat is a great way to stumble across inviting pools, cool bars and fascinating shops.
Key facts
  • Rooms by complex: Tulum - 858; Coba - 1,080; Akumal - 630
  • 11 international restaurants
  • 18 bars
  • 7 pools, including lazy river and lakes
  • Concierge service available
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
In the surrounding area, guests will discover hidden cenotes, water-filled caves that invite serious scuba divers and casual snorkelers alike, and parks like Xcaret, that give you a chance to enjoy the clear currents of a calm lagoon in a more naturalistic setting than found at any waterpark. Nearby Chichen Itza is a World Heritage Site, which includes The Castle, the Pyramid of Kukulcan and Juego de Pelota. The Sacred Cenote is a spot where the Mayans apparently made human sacrifices, and should not be missed by lovers of history, macabre and otherwise.
Hints and tips
Enjoy a quieter stay in this large complex by staying in a room further away from the central areas, or on the side of a villa opposite the nearest pool.

If you find yourself tired or lost from walking around after a long day, locate one of the many shuttle stops scattered throughout the resort, and wait for about five minutes to get a free ride.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3617 -87.3323
Area served
Riviera Maya.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
The Mayan Riviera, the unspoiled Mexican Caribbean: Boarded by the United States to the north and Belize and Guatemala to the south, Mexico covers an area of two million km2 and has a population of 73 million inhabitants. The Tulum region is in the state of Quintana Roo in the southern Mexican republic, in the western portion of the Yucatan peninsula. It takes two hours by plane to cover the distance between Mexico City and the town of Cancun (128 kilometers to the south, and one hour and 55 minutes along federal highway 307).The Mayan Riviera is a strip of unspoiled beaches and tropical forest of 150-km which stretches out 40 km to the south of Cancun.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Gran Baha Principe TULUM - Junior Suite
858 rooms, 774 Standard Rooms and 84 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe COBA - Junior Suite
1,080 Junior Suites (all with a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 36 rooms each. 6 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 queen-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron, ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe AKUMAL - Junior Suite
630 rooms distributed in 72 Standard Rooms and 558 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Snack
With fast food and snacks. Open 24hours(After midnight, only serving soft drinks).
Restaurant
Main Restaurant (international buffet) facing the ocean- breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets.
Gourmet International Specialty Restaurant
Only the Rest. "Gourmet" is air conditioned. 3 A la Carte dinners per week of stay (with reservations). One can choose among the 7 Specialty Restaurants in the complex, Italian Rest., Fish & Seafood Rest., Mexican Rest., Grill Rest., Oriental Rest. and two International Gourmet Restaurants. Red and white house wines available.
Mexican Specialty Restaurant
Mexican Specialty Restaurant.
Bars
3 Swim up bars in the pools, Lobby Bar, 1 Bar at the amphitheatre. Unlimited local drinks, beer and soft drinks in all of the hotel's bars until 11.00 pm. All local drinks at the "La Plaza Mayor" Bar and the "Sport Bar" located in the "Hacienda Dona Isabel".
Grill
Specialty Restaurant breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (212)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jonkode
New York, NY
Dec 22, 2013

Awesome resort, great value

We had a fantastic vacation. Great buffets, excellent service, highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The buffets are all excellent. The ala carte restaurants were underwhelming, but overall an excellent experience.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snow sad
Ontario, Canada
Nov 25, 2013

Nice Vacation

The staff were friendly and helpful...service was very good, Did have some concerns about cleanliness...plastic cups that were picked up off the beach and thrown into a plastic bag with dozens of cups were dunked in a tub of soapy water at the bar and immediately used again to serve drinks. My husband and friend got sick while we were at this resort and it worries me that the lack of cleanliness may have had something to do with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dzezbedara
Atlanta, GA
Nov 24, 2013

Great

We were in Sian Kaan newest hotel in Gran Bahia Principe in Tulum and there is not enough words to describe all we had over there. This was our third all inclusive vacation in Mexico and it was the best one. We recommend to go to this place - it is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bixbyc
Tulsa, OK
Oct 8, 2013

Great Family Resort

Gran Bahia Principe is a wonderful resort, especially for those traveling with children. We had 2 toddlers (16mos and 14mos) with us on our trip. They have all of the amenities you would need when traveling with kids- nice cribs, high chairs, a great food selection. Though the resort is great at accomodating families, you don't feel as though you are surrounded by screaming kids. They have various pools to choose from, including a 'party pool' and a couple of quieter pools. The beach is nice, but very rocky in places. The resort has employees that clean up the rocks that wash up on shore so they keep the area as nice as possible. The food is great! Service is wonderful! The resort is huge so if you are looking for more options, you can visit the other 2 resort areas that are all connected. Be sure to make reservations at the restaurants before your trip, as it was difficult to get one during our 5 day stay. Also, they charge for some of the nightly entertainment, which seems a little silly if you ask me and are looking for a truly "all-inclusive experience". Rooms are some of the nicest I've stayed in Mexico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alice M
London
Sep 13, 2013

Great hotel but not a 5star

Hotel is about an hour and a half away from Cancun airport. Huge hotel complex with many pools & restaurants. Rooms are average with hard beds and slim pillows however clean. Only problem is not enough sun loungers and people reserving from 6am! And we went 2 days without any clean beach towels as they weren't washed?! This happened three times in two weeks! Definitely not a 5star but a very good 4star. Fab beach and activities for all ages. Excellent kids club! Huge buffets with food at plenty. A'la carte restaurants some are standard others are exceptional and worth a visit. Dolpharium was quite basic to other ones we have visited in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Souvenirs, foods etc are cheaper in the hotel than going to Playa de Carmen!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
8th trip to the Riviera
Moncton New Brunswick
Sep 3, 2013

A beautiful place to stay

the food is wonderful. the staff are extremely helpful. this resort has an amazing beach with great snorkeling. I have been to about 8 resorts in Mexico and so far this is my favorite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

book a t Akumal. It has the best beach and is close to everything.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super detective
Montreal, Canada
Aug 20, 2013

Wonderful for family

This hotel is perfect for a family. There is a mini station buffet for the children. A lot of activities are organized for all the ages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Great Super
Haymarket, VA
Aug 19, 2013

Great Family Trip

It is a very nice hotel. It has a very nice water park and they have very nice and big pools. The service of the hotel was really good. Rooms have great size but beds are to small (full size). Food is very good! And the beach is great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to Mikado Restaurant is delicious!!!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle ...
Austin
Aug 14, 2013

Great place to relax

When I arrive at the hotel, I have to wait for about 2 hours for my room to be ready this was about 11pm and I am tired and hungry. The room they provide was a king size, which I specifically note that I need 2 double since I am travelling with my son. That did not happen, the front desk guys that was helping me was no help at all because he wants to go home already and his shift was over. I understand a little bit of Spanish so I understand what he was saying. They change my room the next day but I have no room from 11 am-4pm. I just stayed at the beach and started my vacation and I don't want to be bother by the little glitz. Went to the beach but they have no lounge chair available because everyone saves the lounge chair all day even they were not there. This is really frustrating. The resort is really big and they provide a golf cart services to pick you up and the service is 24 hours. The front desk staff and the bar tender in the main swimming pool are so rude, I have to raised my voice because of his rudeness.They also have bottled water in the room and few other drinks in their mini ref. Overall, I had an amazing time, the beach is really beautiful and so relaxing. The food was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Mikado restaurant is the best!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelingmomof2
jacksonville, arkansas
Aug 7, 2013

family beach trip

We traveled to the Bahia principe akumal July 27-aug 4. We stayed in the royal golden section of the Akumal section of the resort. Upon checking in, we had a hard time getting our room assignment and there was a lot of confusion. The resort is average. We stayed at the Barcel├│ in 2009 and enjoyed it a lot more than this vacation. My overall biggest complaint is the size of the resort. It is extremely too big and way too crowded! Also, none of the buffets seem to have air conditioner along with some of the a la carte restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search