$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal Km. 250, Riviera Maya, 77100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
211 reviews
Great Place to take a vacation

I wrote a great review but without any profanity or mentioning things that I should not but it kept... See full review

  • Antonio P.
  • Aug 18, 2014
BEST OF THE 4 HOTELS IN THE COMPLEX

Tulum is the best of all, closest to the beach, best food buffet and the quietest! See full review

  • Carol Z
  • Jun 13, 2014
One of 24 five-star beach resorts operated by Grupo Pinero's Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya affords adventurers easy access to a number of ancient Mayan pyramids and coastal, walled fortresses. This complex contains three individual resorts named after regional settlements, each of which is geared toward different kinds of travelers. As a result, it's relatively easy to book a business, adults-only, or family vacation in a villa surrounded by lush tropical palms. Simply wandering around this resort in the Mexican heat is a great way to stumble across inviting pools, cool bars and fascinating shops.
Key facts
  • Rooms by complex: Tulum - 858; Coba - 1,080; Akumal - 630
  • 11 international restaurants
  • 18 bars
  • 7 pools, including lazy river and lakes
  • Concierge service available
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
In the surrounding area, guests will discover hidden cenotes, water-filled caves that invite serious scuba divers and casual snorkelers alike, and parks like Xcaret, that give you a chance to enjoy the clear currents of a calm lagoon in a more naturalistic setting than found at any waterpark. Nearby Chichen Itza is a World Heritage Site, which includes The Castle, the Pyramid of Kukulcan and Juego de Pelota. The Sacred Cenote is a spot where the Mayans apparently made human sacrifices, and should not be missed by lovers of history, macabre and otherwise.
Hints and tips
Enjoy a quieter stay in this large complex by staying in a room further away from the central areas, or on the side of a villa opposite the nearest pool.

If you find yourself tired or lost from walking around after a long day, locate one of the many shuttle stops scattered throughout the resort, and wait for about five minutes to get a free ride.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3617 -87.3323
Area served
Riviera Maya.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
The Mayan Riviera, the unspoiled Mexican Caribbean: Boarded by the United States to the north and Belize and Guatemala to the south, Mexico covers an area of two million km2 and has a population of 73 million inhabitants. The Tulum region is in the state of Quintana Roo in the southern Mexican republic, in the western portion of the Yucatan peninsula. It takes two hours by plane to cover the distance between Mexico City and the town of Cancun (128 kilometers to the south, and one hour and 55 minutes along federal highway 307).The Mayan Riviera is a strip of unspoiled beaches and tropical forest of 150-km which stretches out 40 km to the south of Cancun.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Gran Baha Principe TULUM - Junior Suite
858 rooms, 774 Standard Rooms and 84 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe COBA - Junior Suite
1,080 Junior Suites (all with a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 36 rooms each. 6 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 queen-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron, ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe AKUMAL - Junior Suite
630 rooms distributed in 72 Standard Rooms and 558 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Snack
With fast food and snacks. Open 24hours(After midnight, only serving soft drinks).
Restaurant
Main Restaurant (international buffet) facing the ocean- breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets.
Gourmet International Specialty Restaurant
Only the Rest. "Gourmet" is air conditioned. 3 A la Carte dinners per week of stay (with reservations). One can choose among the 7 Specialty Restaurants in the complex, Italian Rest., Fish & Seafood Rest., Mexican Rest., Grill Rest., Oriental Rest. and two International Gourmet Restaurants. Red and white house wines available.
Mexican Specialty Restaurant
Mexican Specialty Restaurant.
Bars
3 Swim up bars in the pools, Lobby Bar, 1 Bar at the amphitheatre. Unlimited local drinks, beer and soft drinks in all of the hotel's bars until 11.00 pm. All local drinks at the "La Plaza Mayor" Bar and the "Sport Bar" located in the "Hacienda Dona Isabel".
Grill
Specialty Restaurant breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morgan867
Yellowknife
Mar 28, 2014

Very nice vacation

We loved this resort! The grounds were beautiful and well kept, the privacy of the resort was nice, although far from the airport, it was away from other resorts and the beaches weren't packed. It was at 70% capacity but seemed very quiet and we could always find loungers at the beach/pool. The staff were super friendly. The minor nit-picking we had was that the air conditioning was pretty weak, not able to adjust it yourself in the room and sometimes was not cool enough. The food was good but the a la cart restaurants we went to weren't very good, and it was hard for us to get in for reservations. It was only 2 of us and we went in to book as soon as we arrived at the resort, and the only times we could get into any of the a la carts was at 930pm. I did not like how expensive the spa and the dolpinarium were. Otherwise we enjoyed the resort and would definitely come back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nonsmokey
Calgary
Mar 27, 2014

one of my best holidays

Everything it was perfect. For some people this resort might be huge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chad Watterud
Hastings, MN
Mar 25, 2014

Senior Trip for our kids

We went to this Hotel last year too and felt it would also be a great place to take our kids for their "Senior Trip' this year. We were right! We have never gone to the same resort twice in the past, but are considering going back there for a 3rd time! Jose the bellman at Premier was again our favorite employee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the daily free Dolphin show!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JAD Unhappy
Milo, Ia
Mar 13, 2014

not as good as it gets

The minute we check in I should have know this was not what I sign up for. First night the air did not work, after {I} meaning me got that to work by working with the patio doors. I ask to have the beds to be put together which they said that they could do it was never done. I had to go hunt up clean towels from day to day not to mention bath mats wash cloths and hand towels. There free wifi was for one hour a day and slow, could not check you email the and respond to them. I have been to mexico at least 7 time and never been sick this time I was, and so was my grandson and daughter.Happy not at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa C
Livonia MI
Mar 7, 2014

Excellent Resort for Families !

probably one of the best family oriented resorts we have stayed in. The vast size of the pools, and them not being too deep (in Coba section) makes it perfect for young and smaller children. the buffet makes LOTS of appealing food for little kids. There is a great variety for everyone. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. We would return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JONTODD
Maine
Feb 17, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Could not have been better. We have been frequent travelers to the all inclusives in the carribean for ten years and the Grand Bahia Principe is the best value around. They have all-inclusive down to a science. Cant say enough good about this place..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the cab ride to Akumal and snorkel with the turtles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barry Massachusetts
Massachusetts
Feb 13, 2014

Incredible luxury, heart of nature, nearly prefect, staff issues

Really an outstanding, vast, breath taking nature set dream vacation. Super in all ways. Many of the service staff were genuinely warm heated while providing excellent and professional service. Only issue is some of the staff (up to 30%+ at some if the buffet restaurants) clearly did not have their heart in it and it was quite apparent to me though they were polite and consultants but acting, not feeling, the part and that was unfortunate. Moreover, this can detract from those who are excellent and the underling negativity of these employees can and if not properly address, may likely spread, to the great ones. Dealing with divergent tourists from many counties and attitudes certainly must be very difficult and without knowing more about their treatment and compensation it is difficult to more specifically detail the root issue. Despite the fantastic, really outstanding vacation, amenities, value and grounds, this issue is noteworthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Le Gourmet restaurant was simply flawless, bravo!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zsolt Janka
New York
Jan 23, 2014

Great

We had a great time. I was worried that it might be too loud with too many parties, but it was actually a bit too much on the quiet side. No complaints though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heyd
Winnipeg, Canada
Jan 20, 2014

Awesome vacay!

Resort was well kept. Very clean. Staff was helpful, friendly & will always make sure you'll get the help you need. Mario from the Fitness centre is very nice, accommodating and helpful! Food is great. Lots of options to choose from. Beach, especially on the akumal side, is gorgeous! Nice to swim in. Lots of birds ie pelicans on the beach, which just tells you how clean the beach is. Still lots of animals around the resort! Location, it's about 35 mins from playa del Carmen. You can just take the "collectivo" or shuttle bus, it's only 3$. Tulum is a cute little town which is only 10 mins away. You can see the ruins here too. Cancun is about 1.5 hr away. The resort is big, but it's easy to get around. There are little carts the go non stop until 230 am. I definitely recommend grand Bahia principe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Tried Le gourmet, Don Pablo & grand Tortuga they are all great restaurants!! Try to make reservations as soon as you check in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AJRED
Dresden, Ontario
Jan 12, 2014

Customer Service Lacking

Overall the level of customer service was not great in a number of instances before and during the stay. I would not stay at this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search