$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal Km. 250, Riviera Maya, 77100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
219 reviews
Wonderful Complex and Great Value

My partner and I stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba complex for 11 days. This was our first... See full review

  • Nickolodeon
  • Dec 7, 2014
First Class All The Way

My husband and I stayed at the Bahia Principe Akumal Luxury Beach Resort for Thanksgiving week, we... See full review

  • I Felt Spoiled
  • Dec 2, 2014
One of 24 five-star beach resorts operated by Grupo Pinero's Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya affords adventurers easy access to a number of ancient Mayan pyramids and coastal, walled fortresses. This complex contains three individual resorts named after regional settlements, each of which is geared toward different kinds of travelers. As a result, it's relatively easy to book a business, adults-only, or family vacation in a villa surrounded by lush tropical palms. Simply wandering around this resort in the Mexican heat is a great way to stumble across inviting pools, cool bars and fascinating shops.
Key facts
  • Rooms by complex: Tulum - 858; Coba - 1,080; Akumal - 630
  • 11 international restaurants
  • 18 bars
  • 7 pools, including lazy river and lakes
  • Concierge service available
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
In the surrounding area, guests will discover hidden cenotes, water-filled caves that invite serious scuba divers and casual snorkelers alike, and parks like Xcaret, that give you a chance to enjoy the clear currents of a calm lagoon in a more naturalistic setting than found at any waterpark. Nearby Chichen Itza is a World Heritage Site, which includes The Castle, the Pyramid of Kukulcan and Juego de Pelota. The Sacred Cenote is a spot where the Mayans apparently made human sacrifices, and should not be missed by lovers of history, macabre and otherwise.
Hints and tips
Enjoy a quieter stay in this large complex by staying in a room further away from the central areas, or on the side of a villa opposite the nearest pool.

If you find yourself tired or lost from walking around after a long day, locate one of the many shuttle stops scattered throughout the resort, and wait for about five minutes to get a free ride.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Gran Baha Principe TULUM - Junior Suite
858 rooms, 774 Standard Rooms and 84 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe COBA - Junior Suite
1,080 Junior Suites (all with a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 36 rooms each. 6 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 queen-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron, ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe AKUMAL - Junior Suite
630 rooms distributed in 72 Standard Rooms and 558 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Snack
With fast food and snacks. Open 24hours(After midnight, only serving soft drinks).
Restaurant
Main Restaurant (international buffet) facing the ocean- breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets.
Gourmet International Specialty Restaurant
Only the Rest. "Gourmet" is air conditioned. 3 A la Carte dinners per week of stay (with reservations). One can choose among the 7 Specialty Restaurants in the complex, Italian Rest., Fish & Seafood Rest., Mexican Rest., Grill Rest., Oriental Rest. and two International Gourmet Restaurants. Red and white house wines available.
Mexican Specialty Restaurant
Mexican Specialty Restaurant.
Bars
3 Swim up bars in the pools, Lobby Bar, 1 Bar at the amphitheatre. Unlimited local drinks, beer and soft drinks in all of the hotel's bars until 11.00 pm. All local drinks at the "La Plaza Mayor" Bar and the "Sport Bar" located in the "Hacienda Dona Isabel".
Grill
Specialty Restaurant breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Antonio P.
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 18, 2014

Great Place to take a vacation

I wrote a great review but without any profanity or mentioning things that I should not but it kept on giving me error.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Best food at the Tulum Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Masan
Business
New York, NY
Aug 6, 2014

You get what you pay for

We choose this hotel because they seem to cater to kids, this was our first time away with our 8year and 3 year old girls. However, the only thing kid friendly is the kiddy pool that they show in the pictures. The food was not catered to kids, but they found something that they would eat. In the buffets there is no air condition, which is absolutely crazy in 100 degree weather. It's not a good feeling to eat a meal drenched in sweat. They kids didn't notice it because all the wanted was to be at the beach and pool. I would not go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hhonors member
Business
Simpsonville, SC
Jul 26, 2014

fantastic family vacation

Summary: There were 6 of us in 3 rooms and did not upgrade. We stayed at the Tulum facility. We would go back.. The good: The beach is fantastic, lot's of thatched roof shade, very swimmable, lot's of fish swimming around. The grounds were very well maintained. Nice clean pools. No rowdy drunks. The rooms were well appointed. The al a cart meals were very enjoyable. The food was very good for an all inclusive. The staff was excellent and very friendly & accommodating. The time share sales people never harassed us. There are three facilities that you can go to: Tulum, Akumel, and Coba. Coba is inland without a beach nearby, but there are constant shuttles available to take you anywhere on this very large campus. Our granddaughter went to the Dolphinarium and thoroughly enjoyed it. Had family photos done by the photo staff, was expensive, but high quality. The "could be improved": The room air conditioning was weak in two of them. The mattress felt like a piece of plywood with a mattress pad on it... very firm. Frig didn't keep beverages cold enough. The buffet at the Tulum facility was very hot and lacked air movement making it difficult to enjoy meals. The only place where someone brought a drink to you was the bar off the lobby, most 4 star resorts have people running around to fetch you a drink at least in the pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

definitely schedule your al a cartes as soon as you arrive, the meals are quite good with good service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chronic Vacationer
Business
Yardley, PA
Jul 2, 2014

Fantastic Family Vacation

We just returned from a FABULOUS family vacation (end of June 2014). COBA: It's a little far from the Cancun airport but Canada Transfer was excellent. Be prepared to pay $140 in cash for the cost of round trip from the airport to the hotel. We love this hotel. It is beautiful, clean and extremely well-maintained. ROOM: We were given the exact room we asked for (first floor, corner, and facing the quiet pool; room 32712). The room was massive and cleaned twice daily with nice animal-towel decorations. The kids looked forward to that every day. Air condition worked great but remember it is very difficult to keep things cool in such a hot place like Mexico. The refrigerator was cool, not cold, but was replenished everyday. Building 27 is close to the Premier Section which was really nice since it has one of the few restaurants that's air-conditioned. So if you hate the heat, upgrade to Golden club and use the Premier buffet. POOL: The quiet pool always has chairs available. If you like a lot of activities and music, go use the main pool but you would have to save chairs early. People get very upset that chairs are reserved early but there's not much the staff can do. They can only suggest that you refrain from reserving chairs but they can't enforce it so you either join the crowd, get up early and reserve your chair or live it the fact that you don't get a chair. For the hotel, I would suggest you put up tables or benches where people could put their stuff without taking over a chair. We didn't need a chair under the umbrella but unless we reserved one, we didn't have a place to put our stuff. BEACH: Coba is very very very close to Akumal beach (if you're near the Premier section). It's a short walk or wait for the trams. There were so many of them zipping around by all the time. By the way, we loved the Akumal pool and spent quite a bit of our time there as well. Beach is fabulous with lots of fish for the kids. Yes, it is a little bit rocky but if you want a perfectly sandy beach, go to Tulum. STAFF: They were the BEST part of this hotel. They were extremely friendly and polite. FOOD: Obscenely decadent. Make your reservations immediately upon arrival. SCUBA: Two members of our family got certified. Excellent training from a group of extremely friendly instructors. THANK YOU!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redskinboy
Business
Hanover, Pa
Jun 29, 2014

Better Than Expected

I'm big on reviews but I try to keep an open mind. This resort exceeded expectations. The food was good enough and the lack of good AC (I can understand the open air concepts in the restaurants and buffets but the AC in the room should be ice cold - it's the reason I didn't give a 5 rating) made it a challenge. Overall very happy with everything, especially the staff, they were amazing!! Going back in October!! Work on making sure that AC works great in all rooms and it will be the 5 star that you are looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

All a la cartes seemed ok with shorts and sandals for guys except for Le Gourmet. Sandals ok but no shorts. Go figure?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vaquero 16
Business
San Diego CA.
Jun 27, 2014

Too many thinks wrong

Bad service, food needs to be better quality room service is bad, food wasn't fresh

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JDLT1
Business
Fontana, California
Jun 25, 2014

A/C does not work in any room!!

Overall would be better but rooms A/C do not work our group had 4 rooms and none worked.. if you need A/C do not stay here. Staff took a look multiple times and indicated that was the lowest it would go.. not good in a very humid place..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mufanii
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 24, 2014

Nice Resort

The hotel is located inland which makes it very hot compare to the other hotels of the resort. The good think is that you can use the other properties and they have a very good transportation system in place that makes it very convenient to move around from the beach ,to restaurants and back. The food is regular for an all inclusive hotel. You find something for every taste.We preferred La Dolce Vita and Riviera for breakfast and lunch, both buffet stile. What set them apart from others are the incredible people that serves you there.Our favorites :Jose at Kukulcan,Maria at Riviera and the managers Octavio, Antonio are incredible individuals that went above and beyond to make sure that we have a great experience That"s what makes this place want you to come back.. With that being said ,pack your bags and take your family. You will have a great vacation .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kdog73
Business
C Bus, Ohio
Jun 22, 2014

Not bad, not great

My family did have a good time here. The staff was very friendly. The rooms however could be cleaner. The lampshades had mildew and rooms reaked of it. We saw two cockroaches which might not be bad for Mexican but more than I'd prefer. The food was well prepared but not much variety. The buffet was the best. I'd almost recommend skipping the a la carte restaurants which are hard to book anyway. The place is huge and ridding shuttles is required. It's hard to determine the shuttle schedule/routes. They don't publish a list of daily activities like many places do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat at main lobby buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol Z
Business
California
Jun 13, 2014

BEST OF THE 4 HOTELS IN THE COMPLEX

Tulum is the best of all, closest to the beach, best food buffet and the quietest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Brazilian Restaurant was the BEST! make reservations when you arrive for all restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top