$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal Km. 250, Riviera Maya, 77100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
217 reviews
perfect getaway

staff was beyond friendly, always glad to help with a smile on their face. bed is a little hard but... See full review

  • mexi nari
  • Nov 19, 2014
23rd birthday

We decided to stay in riveria Maya since we did not want to do the typical cancun trip. I must say... See full review

  • maritza c.
  • Nov 19, 2014
One of 24 five-star beach resorts operated by Grupo Pinero's Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya affords adventurers easy access to a number of ancient Mayan pyramids and coastal, walled fortresses. This complex contains three individual resorts named after regional settlements, each of which is geared toward different kinds of travelers. As a result, it's relatively easy to book a business, adults-only, or family vacation in a villa surrounded by lush tropical palms. Simply wandering around this resort in the Mexican heat is a great way to stumble across inviting pools, cool bars and fascinating shops.
Key facts
  • Rooms by complex: Tulum - 858; Coba - 1,080; Akumal - 630
  • 11 international restaurants
  • 18 bars
  • 7 pools, including lazy river and lakes
  • Concierge service available
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
In the surrounding area, guests will discover hidden cenotes, water-filled caves that invite serious scuba divers and casual snorkelers alike, and parks like Xcaret, that give you a chance to enjoy the clear currents of a calm lagoon in a more naturalistic setting than found at any waterpark. Nearby Chichen Itza is a World Heritage Site, which includes The Castle, the Pyramid of Kukulcan and Juego de Pelota. The Sacred Cenote is a spot where the Mayans apparently made human sacrifices, and should not be missed by lovers of history, macabre and otherwise.
Hints and tips
Enjoy a quieter stay in this large complex by staying in a room further away from the central areas, or on the side of a villa opposite the nearest pool.

If you find yourself tired or lost from walking around after a long day, locate one of the many shuttle stops scattered throughout the resort, and wait for about five minutes to get a free ride.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Gran Baha Principe TULUM - Junior Suite
858 rooms, 774 Standard Rooms and 84 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe COBA - Junior Suite
1,080 Junior Suites (all with a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 36 rooms each. 6 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 queen-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron, ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe AKUMAL - Junior Suite
630 rooms distributed in 72 Standard Rooms and 558 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Snack
With fast food and snacks. Open 24hours(After midnight, only serving soft drinks).
Restaurant
Main Restaurant (international buffet) facing the ocean- breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets.
Gourmet International Specialty Restaurant
Only the Rest. "Gourmet" is air conditioned. 3 A la Carte dinners per week of stay (with reservations). One can choose among the 7 Specialty Restaurants in the complex, Italian Rest., Fish & Seafood Rest., Mexican Rest., Grill Rest., Oriental Rest. and two International Gourmet Restaurants. Red and white house wines available.
Mexican Specialty Restaurant
Mexican Specialty Restaurant.
Bars
3 Swim up bars in the pools, Lobby Bar, 1 Bar at the amphitheatre. Unlimited local drinks, beer and soft drinks in all of the hotel's bars until 11.00 pm. All local drinks at the "La Plaza Mayor" Bar and the "Sport Bar" located in the "Hacienda Dona Isabel".
Grill
Specialty Restaurant breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobW22
Salt Lake City
Nov 4, 2012

Great Place

Great place. Very good location. Wonderful staff. Excellent restaurants. The hotel is very large and spread out. If you don't mind waiting 5 - 10 minutes, a cart / tram will pick you up to take you where you want to go. This was nice since my wife broke a toe a week before our trip, and could not walk very well. We'd like to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mexi nari
Business
new jersey
Nov 19, 2014

perfect getaway

staff was beyond friendly, always glad to help with a smile on their face. bed is a little hard but nonetheless a wonderful experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maritza c.
Business
New Jersey
Nov 19, 2014

23rd birthday

We decided to stay in riveria Maya since we did not want to do the typical cancun trip. I must say that was a great decision. The resort is absolutely beautiful. Everything was perfect. The workers made sure you are always accommodated and kept the grounds clean. My boyfriend complained the beds were a little hard but it didn't bother me much. Everyday our rooms were cleaned and fridge restocked. This resort is the last on the strip so it is a bit of a drive from the airport but the beaches are well worth it. The buffets are enormous, more food than you can possibly dream. We tried out both coba and tulum's buffets and enjoyed both. My only complaint is I wish there was more authentic mexican food. Other than that everything was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheCuteBlondes
Business
New York, NY
Nov 17, 2014

Splendid!!

We escaped the bitter cold of NYC for six nights in February with the hopes of some sunshine and relaxation. Grand Bahia Principe Tulum surpassed all of our expectations and desires. The staff was attentive and friendly, the food was tasty and plentiful, the drinks were strong and delicious, and the grounds were gorgeous and immaculate. It was a perfect mix of fun and relaxation. I was happy to sit by one of the many beautiful pools with a book, while my boyfriend was happily entertained by the numerous activities going on throughout the day. The entertainment staff does an excellent job of including everyone and offering a variety of options. They clearly love their jobs as their zeal is contagious. Jeremy was especially gracious and hospitable. Likewise, Carlos at the concierge desk was a great resource in helping us to get the most out of our trip. While we tried a few of the restaurants, Toucan was our favorite as it offered a large variety of options (namely delicious authentic Mexican food). They make it very easy to pop in and out at your leisure. The coconut ice cream was extraordinary - simple and just right for a balmy night. The steak house was also a real treat! We enjoyed every aspect of our trip and had no complaints whatsoever. I look forward to making the trip an annual tradition!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
btmm
Business
New York
Nov 15, 2014

Awesome Getaway

Had an amazing time at the Grand Bahia Principe. Mexico is beautiful and so was the resort. Loved seeing the animals and iguanas at the hotel. We swam with the dolphins which was conveniently located at the resort. The shuttles were perfect for the days we were too tired to walk back from the beach. Definitely will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ira884
Business
Michigan
Nov 8, 2014

vacation

The employees didnt look happy. I like it better in Dominican republic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
minnow
Business
Burlington, WI 53105, USA
Nov 4, 2014

excellent resort

the pool activity people were incredible, super friendly. a/c in room could be a bit cooler.drinks and food were great.one of the top resorts in riviera maya.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reteachu
Business
Fredericksburg, VA
Sep 11, 2014

Great Service and Beautiful Resort

The hotel is huge, so the beach and pool areas were sometimes a bit crowded. Humidity was high so the room smelled musty. After a heavy rain, the ceiling leaked, but it was repaired promptly. Aside from those negatives, our experience was great! There was much variety of food in the buffet restaurant, and most was quite tasty. Having the choice to dine on 3 occasions in the reservation restaurants was a nice treat. The food and service in all was wonderful. Because the complex of 4 hotels is so large, the shuttle service offered an easy dependable way to get around. It was great to be able to try out the amenities of each of the different hotels. Staff at the Bahia is to be commended for their consistent positive attitude and exceptional service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martha the traveler
Business
Mty, Mexico
Sep 6, 2014

Great vacation

Although rain and thunderstorms were showing up, we had a fantastic time daily. Great service, fun, a lovely beach and the perfect setting to relax were some of the highlights of this trip. I would certainly go back again! thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Antonio P.
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 18, 2014

Great Place to take a vacation

I wrote a great review but without any profanity or mentioning things that I should not but it kept on giving me error.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Best food at the Tulum Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Masan
Business
New York, NY
Aug 6, 2014

You get what you pay for

We choose this hotel because they seem to cater to kids, this was our first time away with our 8year and 3 year old girls. However, the only thing kid friendly is the kiddy pool that they show in the pictures. The food was not catered to kids, but they found something that they would eat. In the buffets there is no air condition, which is absolutely crazy in 100 degree weather. It's not a good feeling to eat a meal drenched in sweat. They kids didn't notice it because all the wanted was to be at the beach and pool. I would not go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top