Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal Km. 250, Riviera Maya, 77100

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
234 reviews
awesome family trip

Everyone is so nice. Best staff! We loved the resort. See full review

  • Maria S.
  • Feb 28, 2015
Awesome resort without plenty to do even for young married couple

My wife and I loved this resort . We've been to a few other all inclusives and this one was near... See full review

  • Jeremy
  • Jan 28, 2015
One of 24 five-star beach resorts operated by Grupo Pinero's Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya affords adventurers easy access to a number of ancient Mayan pyramids and coastal, walled fortresses. This complex contains three individual resorts named after regional settlements, each of which is geared toward different kinds of travelers. As a result, it's relatively easy to book a business, adults-only, or family vacation in a villa surrounded by lush tropical palms. Simply wandering around this resort in the Mexican heat is a great way to stumble across inviting pools, cool bars and fascinating shops.
Key facts
  • Rooms by complex: Tulum - 858; Coba - 1,080; Akumal - 630
  • 11 international restaurants
  • 18 bars
  • 7 pools, including lazy river and lakes
  • Concierge service available
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
In the surrounding area, guests will discover hidden cenotes, water-filled caves that invite serious scuba divers and casual snorkelers alike, and parks like Xcaret, that give you a chance to enjoy the clear currents of a calm lagoon in a more naturalistic setting than found at any waterpark. Nearby Chichen Itza is a World Heritage Site, which includes The Castle, the Pyramid of Kukulcan and Juego de Pelota. The Sacred Cenote is a spot where the Mayans apparently made human sacrifices, and should not be missed by lovers of history, macabre and otherwise.
Hints and tips
Enjoy a quieter stay in this large complex by staying in a room further away from the central areas, or on the side of a villa opposite the nearest pool.

If you find yourself tired or lost from walking around after a long day, locate one of the many shuttle stops scattered throughout the resort, and wait for about five minutes to get a free ride.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Gran Baha Principe TULUM - Junior Suite
858 rooms, 774 Standard Rooms and 84 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe COBA - Junior Suite
1,080 Junior Suites (all with a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 36 rooms each. 6 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 queen-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron, ironing board and balcony or terrace.
Gran Baha Principe AKUMAL - Junior Suite
630 rooms distributed in 72 Standard Rooms and 558 Junior Suites (Standard Rooms have a bathtub and Junior Suites a hydro-massage tub) located in three-floor villas with 18 rooms each, as well as views of the sea and the gardens. 12 rooms have been adapted for the disabled. Forty per cent of the rooms are for nonsmokers and are duly marked. All are equipped with: 2 full-size beds (1.25 m x 2.0 m) or 1 king-size bed (2.0 m. x 2.0 m.), air conditioning, fully fitted bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, safe (with surcharge), mini-bar, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Snack
With fast food and snacks. Open 24hours(After midnight, only serving soft drinks).
Restaurant
Main Restaurant (international buffet) facing the ocean- breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets.
Gourmet International Specialty Restaurant
Only the Rest. "Gourmet" is air conditioned. 3 A la Carte dinners per week of stay (with reservations). One can choose among the 7 Specialty Restaurants in the complex, Italian Rest., Fish & Seafood Rest., Mexican Rest., Grill Rest., Oriental Rest. and two International Gourmet Restaurants. Red and white house wines available.
Mexican Specialty Restaurant
Mexican Specialty Restaurant.
Bars
3 Swim up bars in the pools, Lobby Bar, 1 Bar at the amphitheatre. Unlimited local drinks, beer and soft drinks in all of the hotel's bars until 11.00 pm. All local drinks at the "La Plaza Mayor" Bar and the "Sport Bar" located in the "Hacienda Dona Isabel".
Grill
Specialty Restaurant breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (234)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bippo
UK
Oct 29, 2012

Fanastic

The whole hotel was brilliant from the staff to the food to the AI. Yes it is a huge resort but we took advantage of being able to eat in any restaurant & visit any bar. If felt like you were going out somewhere different. We could find no fault with this hotel & would return in a flash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria S.
Business
N/A
Feb 28, 2015

awesome family trip

Everyone is so nice. Best staff! We loved the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alyssa D.
Business
N/A
Feb 27, 2015

Great Trip

Great hotel! My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time. The resort offered a great deal of variety as you were allowed access to the other Grand Bahia hotels. The shows were great. Food was great! Overall great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamie K.
Business
N/A
Feb 23, 2015

Just OK

Our visit was a little disappointing. Here are the key points: The hotel was not prepared for the number of people. They were frugal with towels, and there were nowhere near enough pool chairs to go around. The only way to get a seat was to get up early and save one. Beach seating was a little better but still not great. This was a problem because it meant that we had to decide the night before whether we wanted to hang out by the pool. The food was pretty good but sometimes things were mislabeled and the ice cream machines were often broken. The desserts looked nice but were just ok. The Mexican style dishes were the best. Big deal - we did not know that the Bahia Coba was not beachside!!!! We were told that it was the best for families but we would have been much happier staying at Tulum where the pool was beachside. We had to take a shuttle to get to the beach. It wasn't far but it wasn't the experience we were looking for. The hotel staff was just so-so. The restaurant staff was good but others less so. The concierge desk was not very helpful, and often backed up. On more than one occasion we waited in line only to get an insufficient response.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KrissyNY
Business
Brooklyn
Feb 18, 2015

Pretty place, awful food

This resort was very beautiful with nice staff and large, clean rooms. We liked the idea of booking an all-inclusive so we could enjoy nice meals and comfort. While everything was very clean and well-maintained, unfortunately, the food was sub-par. My husband got sick the first day after eating at one of the a la carte restaurants (The Medeteranneo). There seemed to be a consensus among guests that the food was poor quality. The food that was served in the appetizer/dessert buffet was served the following day in the main buffet to give you an idea. The seafood had a horrible taste, wasn't fresh, and one staff member pointed out wasn't even from Mexico. Eesh. The vegetables were frozen, and stuck to the serving dishes. And for such a tropical climate, fruits and vegetables had little to no taste. While the buffet had plenty of selection, there were very few healthy options. Mostly dry, overcooked hamburgers and soggy french fries with little to no mexican options. Kind of what you might find at a low cost chain buffet. We actually couldn't even bring ourselves to eat there. The second night I had fruit for dinner. Not what you're hoping for on your "luxury" vacation. It definitely wasn't a 5 star hotel. While the staff was friendly and helpful in general, when my husband got sick, I was unable to get any help. Luckily it wasn't an extreme emergency, because the reception and info buttons on our phone had no one picking up on the other end. After about 10 tries, I got an answer from the front desk telling me to "pay for a doctor". After some insistence on my end, they agreed to bring extra water to the room. The inside of the safe also had a sharp piece of metal sticking out, which sliced my arm open. I brought it to the attention of the staff when I was checking out, just so it wouldn't happen again to the next guest. They didn't seem too interested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeremy
Business
Greeley
Jan 28, 2015

Awesome resort without plenty to do even for young married couple

My wife and I loved this resort . We've been to a few other all inclusives and this one was near the top. It seemed a little dated but the fact that there were so many people made it very interesting and entertaining all the time. So many different cultures together made it an enjoyable time. Also the beach volleyball is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olga G.
Business
N/A
Jan 24, 2015

Winter Getaway

The Grand Bahia resort is huge. Our personal preference is a smaller hotel...but it all depends on what you like. It took us a couple of days to adjust to the size and figure out where everything was. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard G.
Business
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

Food and drink problem

The hotel was fine, good amenities, but food was below average and drinks were not of good quality. Probably cheaper liquor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Off site tours were excellent. Hotel does not allow some tour buses access to their lobby o0r entrance, but Cancun Discount company was an excellent tour, despite this. The Excaret tour was fun also, but used a bus allowed on the hotel property. The restaurants on property were just slightly better than buffet. Found the mexican food best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gina
Business
waterbury
Jan 16, 2015

Family vacation

The Grand Bahia Principe Tulum was a very nice resort. The rooms were always kept very clean and anything you needed was there . The only thing is that the beach has the wave breakers in the water so when you go in unless you go past them the water is only up to your thighs. Also we went to 2 restaurants while there from the 9th to the 14th of January and the food was ok but not what was expected. The food was ice cold in the Mediterranean restaurant . The flavor was good but better if it was at least warm. The entertainment is not worth watching . The company should invest in putting on a real show at their resorts. If you want to relax , lay on the beach, or by the pool and drink,then this is for you. The buffet restaurants were great. Overall I would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristen Q.
Business
Troy
Jan 5, 2015

Beautiful Mexico

Loved everything. The ac didn't work as well as it could but it didn't bother me. Excellent location in the heart of all the excursions and shopping you can do. Several trips to Mexico and this one was the greatest location. Beach pictures a little deceiving bc they leave the seaweed in the beach and the man made breakers are a bit of an eyesore but it didn't take away from our time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus instead of taxis to local excursions like Tulum and Playa DSL Carmen for shopping. $3-4 a person instead of a $25 taxi fare. Safe and friendly!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chad Watterud
Business
Hastings
Jan 5, 2015

Great 2nd trip there

We loved it there! Just booked our 3rd trip there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top