$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya

5 stars
Carretera Federal Cancun, Playa Del Carmen KM 298, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
38 reviews
very nice

Excellent hotel, staff, ambiance Hotel is beautiful. Among all the Mayakobas in playa del carmen... See full review

  • enrique . miami
  • Aug 4, 2014
paradise

This is a luxurious and beautiful resort. While the physical hotel is outstanding, it is really the... See full review

  • bklynbob
  • Dec 17, 2012
Award-winning, eco-friendly luxury resort in the Mayakoba community
The Fairmont Mayakoba in Riviera Maya offers guests the opportunity to experience nature: Mangroves, tropical forests, lagoons, water canals and coastal dunes are all on the property. Boat, electric golf carts and bicycles are the only transportation allowed. The Fairmont Mayakoba boasts four restaurants -- two AAA Four Diamond winners -- access to a Greg Norman golf course, El Camaleon, and the Willow Stream Spa with two mineral pools. Kids have a blast at a supervised discovery club and adventure camp, available daily.
Highlights:
  • AAA Five Diamond hotel with two AAA Four Diamond restaurants
  • Fairmont Mayakoba is amid water canals and set under a forest canopy; no cars are allowed on the property
  • Access to Greg Norman golf course, El Camaleon
  • Willow Stream Spa with 20 treatment rooms
  • Kid's discovery club and adventure camp
Rooms:

Most of the 401 rooms at Fairmont Mayakoba are set back from the sea for ecological reasons, but there are a few exclusive seaside suites. Expect neutral colors peppered with cheery, bright fabrics and amenities such as evening turndown service. A 24-hour concierge, valet, daily newspaper, LCD TV and high-speed Internet access (daily fees apply) are standard. Signature suites include two bathrooms, living room, private infinity pool on the terrace and sea views. The Presidential suite, located on its own island, is a three-bedroom home complete with living, office and dining rooms, private pool and full-sized refrigerator.

Features:

The AAA Four-Diamond restaurant, Las Brisas Restaurant & Lounge Bar serves global contemporary cuisine, such as a sashimi trio for two, Monday through Saturday for dinner, and on the terrace for lunch. Regional and international flavors can be had at the Fairmont Mayakoba's AAA Four-Diamond winner El Puerto, which overlooks the lagoon. The more casual La Laguna Grill & Bar offers a breakfast buffet and a la carte lunch with mangrove and canal views. There are two pool bars and a lobby lounge, with free morning coffee and martinis from 11 a.m. to 1 a.m.

The Fairmont Mayakoba is a member of the World Heritage Alliance for Sustainable Tourism.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (6 mi/10.5 km)
  • Tulum (34 mi/56 km)
Business­
  • Full business center with computer solution, communications, copying and printing
  • Computers are available for rent
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available
Policies and Fees
  • During peak season, the hotel charges a nightly rate for connecting rooms. Requests for connecting rooms can only be confirmed by Fairmont Mayakoba's in-house reservation department and are produced in writing within 24 hours/at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6709 -87.0476
Area served
The 45-acre Fairmont Mayakoba is a luxury community designed around a network of crystal clear waterways.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - CUN and Cozumel International Airport - CZM.
Area description
The Riviera Maya is located in Mexico on the Yucatan Peninsula. In the State of Quintana Roo, the Riviera Maya rests alongside the Caribbean Sea. The Fairmont Mayakoba, situated in the heart of the Riviera Maya, is approximately 42 miles or 70 km south of Cancun and about 10 miles north of Playa del Carmen. Tucked under a forest canopy and designed around a network of crystal clear waterways, The Fairmont Mayakoba encompasses 45 acres within a master-planned luxury community. For individuals or groups, the resort offers all the comforts of home, and the exceptional Mayan experience.

Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya Rooms

Private Signature Casita
The Private Casita Signature rooms are located in the beach area and offer an extensive butler service. The rooms feature a large four-piece marble bathroom with soaker tub and separate glazed shower stall. All Private Casita Signature rooms offer a telephone, large windows to maximize the natural light, and a private landscaped terrace or spacious balcony.
Fairmont room
Located in the Mayan-inspired low-rise buildings, these rooms offer guests either one King bed or two Queen beds. A large four-piece marble bathroom featuring a soaker tub and separate glazed shower stall compliment the room. Fairmont rooms also include a telephone, large windows to maximize the natural light and private landscaped terrace or spacious balcony.
Private Ocean Front Casita
The Private Casita Oceanfront rooms are located directly on the beach, with access to the water via pathway. In addition to the extensive butler service, the room feature a large four-piece marble bathroom with soaker tub and separate glazed shower stall. All Private Casita Oceanfront rooms offer a telephone, large windows to maximize the natural light, and a private landscaped terrace or spacious balcony.
Private Ocean Front Casita Suite
Embracing the very essence of the local area, these large rooms offer guests a King size bed as well as a large four-piece marble bathroom featuring a soaker tub and separate glazed shower stall. These suites also offer an enhanced sitting area with couch, large windows to maximize the natural light, and a private landscaped terrace directly on the Ocean Front with a Private Stairway descending to the beach These suites feature their own private Infinity Pool on their terrace.
Deluxe Casita
Situated in 90 Casita buildings throughout the resort, these elegant rooms offer guests either one King bed or two Queen beds. A large four-piece marble bathroom featuring a soaker tub, separate glazed shower stall compliment the room. All Deluxe Casitas offer a telephone, large windows to maximize the natural light, and private landscaped terrace or spacious balcony that extends into the surrounding tropical forest.
Signature Casita Suite
They are elegant and oversized with either one King bed or two Queen beds as well as a large four-piece marble bathroom featuring a soaker tub and separate glazed shower stall. All Signature Casitas feature besides the spacious and elegant Master Bedroom a separate Living Room setting with a sofa bed, offer a telephone, an enhanced sitting area with couch, large windows to maximize the natural light and private landscaped terrace or spacious balcony that extends into the surrounding tropical forest overlooking the lagoons and water canals.
Signature Casita
Signature Casitas offer exceptional views of the lagoons. They are elegant and oversized with either one King bed or two Queen beds as well as a large four-piece marble bathroom featuring a soaker tub and separate glazed shower stall. All Signature Casitas offer a telephone, an enhanced sitting area with couch, large windows to maximize the natural light and private landscaped terrace or spacious balcony that extends into the surrounding tropical forest.
Private Signature Casita Suite
Very reflective in design and decor of the natural harmony of the local area, these suites are located in the Private area only steps away from the beach, boast skylights, cathedral ceilings and offer guests a separate living area, large windows to maximize the natural light, spacious bedroom, luxurious four-piece marble bathroom with soaker tub, and a private landscaped terrace or spacious balcony with lagoon views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Puerto Restaurant
Inspired on a former port area, spectacular views over the lagoon and cozy atmosphere, at dinner time El Puerto Restaurant becomes a place for fresh Caribbean lobster, shellfish platters, live clams and oysters, crab legs, giant shrimps and daily fisher market delicacies.
La Laguna Grill & Bar
Surrounded by crystal clear waters from the Mayakoba lagoons, a Caribbean Island itself at the main pool area. This relaxed yet enchanting location serves outstanding breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner including wood-fired pizzas, light and healthy alternatives and outstanding cuisine with a hint of Latino - Mex inspired cuisine transporting you from the Incas to the Mayas.
Las Brisas Restaurant & Lounge Bar
At the Fairmont Mayakoba's signature beachfront restaurant, the air has a deliciously salty tang, and the breeze tastes indefinably turquoise blue. Las Brisas is designed in sensual harmony with nature to become the most desired dining in the Mayan Riviera, offers an eclectic warmth contemporary sea food inspired cuisine under the heights of a graceful palapa in an intimate setting.
Las Olas & Aqua pool bars
Surround yourself with liquid refreshment at one of these pool bars. Serving a whole menu of thirst-quenchers from healthy tropical nectars to frosty margaritas made with premium tequilas, both are located by the naturally inspired main pool.
Caf Maya
From sunrise to sunset this market caf serves mouthwatering pastries, classic deli favorites, gourmet coffees and ice cream. Caf Maya also stocks supplies for our in-room refreshment centers - guests can browse for themselves or order for delivery.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Fairmont Mayakoba offers unique indoor and outdoor function space for your next meeting. Featuring two divisible ballrooms of 10,000 square feet and 5000 square feet, alongside seven breakout rooms ranging from 650 to 1000 square feet, Fairmont Mayakoba is equally able to accommodate a large conference or a small-scale board meeting. All rooms are equipped with the latest in modern technology.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FAIRMONT SUCKS
CHICAGO, IL
Jul 26, 2012

IF YOU WANT TO GET RIPPED OFF GO HERE

EVERYTHING WAS OVER PRICED. FOOD, DRINKS, AND ALOT OF HIDDEN FEES. IF YOU CALL A CAB THEY DO NOT TELL YOU THERE IS A FEE FOR PARKING OF THE CAB. DRINKS ARE 10 DOLLARS WITH LITTLE TO NO LIQUOR. BEERS ARE 6 DOLLARS. FOOD IS JUST AS BADLY PRICED. I DO NOT MIND PAYING HIGH DOLLAR BUT AT LEAST TREAT YOUR CUSTOMERS GOOD. THE BAR TENDERS AND WAITERS WERE RUDE. WAS KICKED OUT OF POOL FOR BEING TOO LOUD. NO ONE WAS LOUD. WORST VACATION EVER!!!! WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT GO TO THIS RESORT. ONLY THING GOOD WAS THE OCEAN WHICH IS A MILE FROM THE HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT EAT OR DRINK ANYTHING UNLESS YOU WANT TO GET CHEATED.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr.A
New York, NY
Nov 14, 2010

Fantastic vacation!

Just returned from a fantastic stay at the Fairmont. The hotel is beautiful with truly 5 star service. We enjoyed both the pools and the beach in addition to the gym and all the restaurants. The food, while expensive, was definately among the best hotel food I have had. The property is huge but there are always golf carts to shuttle you around or bikes. Its also only a short distance from the town of playa del carmen which was very cute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mpls, MN
Jun 14, 2011

Beautiful... but be ready to spend $$

I was at Fairmont Mayakoba for a wedding and it was beautiful. The resort had a lagoon that ran throughout the entire place and had bikes, golf carts and boats to transport the guests. And believe me, to get to the beach, you are going to need it. With several pools, bars, restaurants and wildlife to explore and enjoy, we were not bored. However, I would have liked it if there was a shuttle that would also take us off the resort property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring snacks for the room, as the resort fees and costs of food within the resort added up quickly. I brought some oatmeal and granola bars for an easy breakfast. It was cheap and gave me more time for the beach and pool!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Feb 13, 2010

Playa - Great Golf

Beautiful place, friendly people. We enjoyed the food and service but felt like the prices were very high. Spa is especially expensive and that is perhaps why is is empty. Great choice if you love to Golf, but don't forget to bring your clubs. >$350 if you forget.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 29, 2011

Beautiful, great service, but pricey!

My husband and I came to the Fairmount Mayakoba for a long weekend to get away and relax for a couple of days. I've been to Mexico several times before as a young party girl, but going to the Riveria Maya as a couple was a different experience. It's not crazy party scene like Cancun. At the Fairmount we found it peaceful, relaxing and romantic. Their crowd at the time we were staying was either young couples with children, or "matured adults". We didn't see any college kids, but this place was pricey so that's probably the reason. There are many little details that impressed us such as.... -Breath taking, Contemporary look of the resort -Greeted with a glass of iced berry juice. -We arrived 2 hours before the normal check in time, so we asked where to go to get something to eat since. The front desk suggested La Laguna and to call them after we finished our meal, and that they would send someone to bring us our key when we were done. An employeed walked us to a part of the resort which had resort's transportation. We were driven to La laguana & had great lunch with margarita's. I ordered the skirt steak quesadillas which honestly was the best quesidilla I've ever had. I also had the cucumber margerita which became my favorite drink during the entire stay. When we were finished with our meal we called the front desk and waited in front of the restaurant, as promised someone brought us our keys. The person also brought us to our room (We were upgraded to the Casita Signature Room!)and showed us the details, and showed us a map of the whole resorts. -Room was very large, clean, beautiful bathroom. It's hard to explain this but it's designed in a way that you're bathing or taking a shower outdoors. Bed comforable and soft luxury sheets. Room had a patio with chairs and table and beautiful view. -We went to La laguna for breakfast also, it was good again expensive. Service was very good. -We had also had lunch at Las Brisas (by the beach), ordered Wild mushroom quesadilla, and tuna tartar as an appetizer. Both very good! Again great service! -Dinner at Banyan Tree Hotel(neighboring Adult Only hotel) Restaurant is called Safron which was an amazing Thai place. I was greeted with a beautiful orchid which was place in my hair. My favorite flower, so it was a good start. Drinks, food and service was excellent. -Room service, we ordered room service dinner once. Even that was great. The server does a nice job making a nice presention on the table in your room. The food was also great, and you call them back to pick up your plates. -Favorite pool, the infinity pool by the beach. Amazing view of the ocean without having to get too sandy. The towel guys set up your lounge chair by arranging the towel on the chair for you and making a second towel into a pillow for your head. No swim up bar, but they have waiters that come around taking orders. -Front desk, Concierge, all employees..I was never disappointed with anyone. Just for you reference sake, I've traveled to Jamaica, China, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Philippines, various places within the US..the Fairmount Mayakoba really impressed us with service. -Check out, I called for our bags to be picked up and they came within 10 minutes. I have read reviews that it took a long time to get luggage picked up previously before my trip so i was surprised they came quickly. We had to check out early around 7:00 am, so that is probably why it was so fast. So after my all my ahhs and oohs over this wonderful hotels, there comes a price. For 2 people the cost of staying this place including room, food, drinks, tips, misc charges at hotel was approx $2000 for 3 nights, and we didn't even drink as much as we normally do, but we do splurge on food. If this cost is normal for you, then you will love this place. This is high for us, but I loved every minute of it. I would go again if I get a nice bonus next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

They have trolleys that drive you throughout the entire resort 24 hours a day. They also provide transportion on comfortable SUV's to neighboring hotels such as Banyan Tree or Rosewood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJrunnergirl
New Jersey
Oct 24, 2010

Great place - a truthful review

The place is beautiful in the midst of a jungle and waterways. Food was GREAT and the rooms are very nice and spacious. Rooms are far from beach, you can either wait for a golf cart (10 min) to pick you up or ride a bike. The bikes are great but there are not enough of them. They need more bikes and some system that allows there to be a few bikes in each spot. Service was excellent for the most part with the exception of the concierge, who never answered the phone and when he/she did, then promised to get back and never did. You have to pay for everything. How hard can it be to have free internet or at the very least free wifi in lobby or designated places of the hotel. $10/day/person for the use of the gym is a but much......so we opted for running on the paths around the complex. One should not have to pay for exercise....goes against the principle of healthy body. There are 3 pools. We basically had our own private pool close to our room, but that was far from the beach. The pool close to the beach is small, crowded and full of noisy people. If you want peace and quiet....the other 2 pools or the beach (far from the restaurant) are better bets. Hotel is frequented by Mexicans, not too many foreign tourists. All in all, we would go back for a good price, but would not pay the full price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Jan 8, 2011

A Safe Bet

Nice facilities and clean hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nightlife is in playa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brown1980
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 9, 2012

Great relaxing hotel

We enjoyed our time here. It is clean, luxurious & comfortable. But it is quite a way from Playa & it is a pain to get around the resort, because it is huge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food in the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
May 17, 2011

Great Resort!

This is the best hotel I've stayed at in Playa del Carmen/Riviera Maya area. I've been 3 times and this place was very nice! Clean rooms, great pool, and great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Pretty pricey but expected for a 4-5 star hotel. Also, not all-inclusive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
california
Mar 10, 2011

Nice but expect to pay

Very nice facilities. The guestrooms are nice and are together in a single building so there was more noise from the neighboring rooms, the road and a lot from the hallway. The casitas were really nice, more private and definitely quiet. $17 each way to the city by taxi. pay extra for the gym. pay extra resort fee. Pros: casita, pools, near ocean, complimentary bikes, scented toilet paper, high quality toiletries, nice golf course Cons: guestroom, cost, people at the front desk are not that friendly or helpful, a little far from the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search