$378 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Riviera Maya, KM 324-342 Villas Del Mar No.3, Puerto Morelos, 77580

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
470 out of 470
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jewels the Nomad
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 8, 2014

Perfection!

Our 8th time to return to this hotel, and the experience was even better! We stayed in the rooftop, two-story room and it seems that everything has been updated in the last year; the decor, the bed, the mattress. Everything was great! Love the staff and food is delicious! Can't wait to go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debbie Love Mexico
Business
Hamitlon, NJ
Jun 5, 2014

We will be returning next year

The resort grounds are beautiful. The weather could have been better as it rained a lot but the way the all are connected with Breezeways you did not get wet walking to the main square where the bars and restaurants are. My only complaint is we had a room with a pool view and where the pool was situated was right next to a noisy road with cars and trucks going back and forth-felt like I was home but we moved to another pool and no traffic noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EricaAmerica
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Jun 3, 2014

Great all inclusive

Went to Excellence for our honeymoon and had a great experience. The room was spacious and luxurious, grounds were beautiful, staff great. The restaurants offered a lot of choices and didn't have to make reservations. The nightly entertainment and shows were overall good. The pool and beach weren't overcrowded and the pool near the spa was quiet and calm. The beach/ocean wasn't like other Caribbean locations as it wasn't as clear and full of seaweed but can't fault the resort for that. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Married to an angel
Business
Manalapan, NJ
May 28, 2014

Ordinary Cancun

The hotel was lovely but when the only activities are the facilities and food, the food failed to live up to the competency of the staff or the facilities. I was disappointed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The BBs
Business
Richmond , VA
May 28, 2014

Great stay!

This was my third trip to Mexico and by far the best experience. The grounds were beautiful, the room was spacious and clean, every encounter with the staff whether it was poolside or at the front desk was pleasant. We did experience some issues with consistency in dress code enforcement at the restaurants (other guests were permitted to wear things we were turned away in) and the food quality was a bit inconsistent. The buffets, beach lunches, and asian restaurant were on point. The staff made quick accommodations on a rainy day with music and activities to entertain. Wouldn't mind seeing less of the "local merchants" roaming the beach. Overall a great stay and we can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Beware the sales men. Typical bait and switch on pricing for excursions, however the problem was taken care of quickly and without hassle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KennedyMomToBe
Business
Columbia, SC
May 12, 2014

Not quite like last time, but still a wonderful trip

We stayed at the Excellence Riviera Cancun 4 years ago for our anniversary. We gave it 5 stars across the board - not a thing that could have been better. We still thoroughly enjoyed our stay this time as well (April 21-27), but there were a few things that could have been improved. The food there is outstanding and the staff is wonderful. Delicious and diverse food and the staff are very accommodating. The only issue was that there seemed to be a worse staff to guest ratio. We waited for tables at restaurants every night, where 4 years ago, we waited 1 time in 2 weeks. I felt the same at the bars. Sometimes you had to wait a while for a drink, where as last time, our glass was never empty. The pools are generally impeccable, however we did notice 'oil slicks' from tanning oil in the spa lazy river pool - which 'grossed me out' a bit, so we chose to spend our pool time at a less central pool behind our building. So although I've mentioned a few cons, this place has way more pros than cons. If you are looking for a relaxing resort, this offers that. There do seem to be folks looking for more excitement in the 'main pool', with techno music to match, but you don't have to hear that if you don't want and can find quiet places on the resort. The food and service can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you like Indian cuisine, Basmati never seems to have a line, also, you can plan to eat at 6:30 for no wait as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacy F
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 4, 2014

An excellent vacaation

Visited Excellence Riviera Cancun April 25-May2, 2014. The weather was perfect during our stay at around 85 degrees each day. Although the humidity must have been close to 100%. The hotel grounds were beautiful as was the beach. Many palapas around the pool and on the beach to escape the burning rays of the sun. The restaurants served deliciously prepared food and normal portion sizes, not huge American portion sizes. This allowed us to enjoy our meal and to also enjoy a small dessert. There were a good number of restaurants to choose from and if we weren't in the mood to go out to the restaurant (since you do have to dress up a bit) then room service had excellent food too. We didn't take advantage of any of the activities since we were there to just completely disconnect and relax. They did have a number of activities to choose from. I did however take advantage of their fitness center. It was nicely air conditioned and have plenty of equipment to get a good workout. We walked to the little town of Puerto Morelos from the resort along the beach and it took about 45 minutes. It was a nice walk and you can check out the other resorts along the way. One resort along the way catered to the people who like to bare it all. :) Puerto Morelos is a nice place to pick up souvenirs or buy more sunblock if needed. I picked up a beautiful sarong and was able to negotiate a price much lower than what they were asking. You just have to be willing to barter. We went to the Michael Jackson impersonator show one night and it was very entertaining. They have some very talented dancers. It was fun to watch and they perform to the more popular Michael Jackson songs. The resort has an excellent staff and they work very hard to make the resort enjoyable. Last year we visited the Excellence Playa Mujeres and this resort is very similar to EPM. We enjoyed both resorts very much and would go back to either one in a heart beat. My #1 tip would be to bring lots of sunscreen (it's expensive at the resort) and to remember to reapply it often. Nothing worse than getting burned and not being able to enjoy your vacation. Thankfully we did remember to reapply and stayed comfortable. :) Recommendation: If you want a fabulous resort with variety and relaxation this is definitely the place to be. And it's really, really nice that it's an ADULT ONLY resort. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs Gundy
Business
Milwaukee wi
Apr 27, 2014

sister fun

The experience was everything my sister and I hoped for. .. There was not one complaint. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly, full of personality and helpful in every way. The food was top notch as were all of our experiences. The beach was beautiful. .. Sand as soft as any I've ever felt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Housemoney
Business
Richmond VA
Apr 26, 2014

Excellence Riviera Cancun lives up to it's name.

My wife and i had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Despite being told that the hotel was fully booked, upon arrival we were still able to upgrade our room to a swim-up suite. We've stayed at the Excellence in Punta Cana in the past ( which we loved) and this one was equal to or better than that hotel in every category, The Riviera's grounds are larger and it never seems crowded even when it's full and the food was better in all of the restaurants. Room Service was especially fast and they always followed up with a call to make sure we were satisfied with our service.It doesn't get much better than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The French Restaurant is closed on Wednesdays, and that seems to cause a bit of a line at the other most popular restaurants, so show up early for dinner on Wed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff and Dianne
Business
Ohio
Apr 14, 2014

Another "Excellent" Vacation

This was our fourth stay at this resort in 6 years. The hotel management staff do a fabulous job keeping the grounds immaculate. The food in every restuarant is first class as are the drinks. The hotel staff are professional and friendly. This resort is know as the best resort in the Cancun area. Things we enjoyed: Walking the beach to Puerto Morelos, it's safe to walk. Volleyball games at 11:00 and 4:30 Many games and afternoon activities at the Sol bar. Drinks in the hot tub at the end of the day. Nice place to meet people from all over the world. We used to vacation at a top hotel chain in Jamaica which can't compare to the Excellence in food quality, cleanliness, service, and cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the Hibachi Grill at Spice Restuarant. Be there at 5:30 to make your reservation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top