$436 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Riviera Maya, KM 324-342 Villas Del Mar No.3, Puerto Morelos, 77580
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
693 reviews
Couples Retreat

Love this place! 7th time there and will absolutely come back for 7 more! See full review

  • Jewels the Nomad
  • Jul 9, 2014
AWESOME 10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY

The resort is absolutely beautiful. The service was excellent, everyone was very attentive and... See full review

  • happily married 10 years
  • Jul 7, 2014
Excellence Riviera Cancun, an adults-only resort, is a great location for those who'd like to enjoy this popular travel destination without being overwhelmed by other visitors. Experience an excursion on pristine white sands before floating in the clear nearby waters. The resort's 440 luxury accommodations cater especially to couples and business travelers, with eight international restaurants, beach yoga classes and even a nightclub. Laze around on your balcony hammock and enjoy romantic touches inside the rooms, like king-size beds and marble bathrooms, where you can cool down after hot days beneath the Mexican sun.
Key facts
  • 440 guestrooms
  • 4 floors
  • 9 buildings
  • 6 outdoor pools
  • Dining: Agave, Basmati, Chez Isabelle, The Grill, The Lobster House, Oregano, Las Olas, Spice and Toscana
  • Health club/spa
  • Alegria Nightclub
  • Bars/lounges: Martini, CakeKafe, Blue, Sol, Cielo, Stars, Sports Bar, X Lounge, Revive, La Habana and Casino Bar
  • 2 poolside bars
  • 24-hour room service
  • Business center
  • 5 meeting/conference rooms
Neighborhood
Excellence Riviera Cancun is surrounded by jogging trails that make it easy to get acclimatized to the local scene before diving fully into Quintana Roo. Visit the many Mayan remains in the area, such as Las Ruinas Del Rey near the hotel sector, and El Meco. In addition to typical Mayan Riviera activities like scuba diving, guests who book their stay at Excellence often participate in deep-sea fishing charters, cycling tours, and deep-water dives that allow guests to explore colonial shipwrecks.
Hints and tips
Although Excellence Riviera Cancun is pretty exclusive and only 15 minutes from the airport, it's still best to prepare for regional traffic if you plan on exploration along the coast.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.8748 -86.8662
Area served
Puerto Morelos.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
At Excellence Riviera Cancun you are secluded but not isolated. The all-suite, all-adult resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, 15 minutes away from Cancun's airport, on an immaculate white sand beach. The surrounding region is rich with archeological and cultural sites, as well as eco-tourism destinations including tropical coves, rain-forest and caves. Cancun, Playa del Carmen and Cancun International Airport are all just a short drive away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Excellence Club Junior Suite Swim Up Ocean View
All our Junior Ocean View Excellence Swim Out Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi and direct access to the pool. Superior amenities include king beds, full views of the Caribbean Sea, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, Service box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, Iron and Ironing board, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, upgraded room service menu including wine and liquor preference, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks and water. KING BED
Junior Suite Swim up Spa Pool View 668 Sq.Ft
All our Junior Spa Pool View / Swim Out Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi and direct access to the pool. Amenities include king beds, magnificent view of the Spa and pool, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 27" satellite TV, Service box for Room service, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD / DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod Connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Excellence Club Honeymoon Suite Ocean View
The spacious Honeymoon Suites are 1,041 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi for two and full views of the Caribbean Sea. Superior VIP amenities include king bed, wet bar, living room, full marble bathroom with private massage room, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, service Box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD / DVD player, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service an Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED
J S SPA or Pool View
All Junior Spa Pool View Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished balcony. Superior amenities include king beds or two double beds, magnificent view of the Spa and pool, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 27" satellite TV, Service Box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, iron and Ironing board, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD / DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod Connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Suite ocean View
All Junior Suites Ocean View are 668 sq. ft. in size. Superior amenities include king bed, magnificent Ocean View,sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and double vanities, 27" satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing, pillow menu, direct dial phone, high speed internet data port, air-conditioning with in-room climate control,CD / DVD player, radio alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks
Excellence Club Two Story Roof Top Terrace Suites
All Excellence Club Two Story Roof Top Terrace Suites are 668 sq ft in size and offer private furnished balconies with Ocean front View, outdoor Jacuzzi, and 390 sq ft furnished Rooftop Terrace with HydroSpa Pool and shower. Superior amenities include king beds, full views of the Caribbean Sea, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for 2, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, Service box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, Iron and Ironing board direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with IPod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, pillow menu, upgraded room service menu including wine and liquor preference, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft water and snacks. KING BED
Excellence Club Junior Suite Ocean View
All Junior Ocean View Excellence Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi and direct access to the pool. Superior amenities include king beds, full views of the Caribbean Sea, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, Service box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, Iron and Ironing board direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, pillow menu, upgraded room service menu including wine and liquor preference, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft water and snacks. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Excellence Riviera Cancun has over 19,695 sq. ft. of dedicated meeting and function space; "De Grand Ballroom" offers 5,920 sq. ft. of freestanding of flexible space as it divides into three sections. Additionally, the Excellence Riviera Cancun also offers: 2 breakout rooms with 775 sq., 3,000 sq. ft. of pre-function space located right outside the Grand Ballroom and an outstanding outdoor venue including pool side reception space, private ocean front 10,000 sq. terraces and a spectacular beach for private cocktails.

Dining

OREGANO
For casual Italian lunch and dinner, Oregano Pizza e Pasta Italian is a popular outdoor gathering spot. Our trattoria-style restaurant serves simple but delicious fare including pizza--from traditional to unpredictable--calzones, pastas and a selection of sweet treats. Think of it as a bit of the Old World on the Riviera Maya. Lunch open from noon - 5:00 pm Dinner open from 6:00 pm - 1:00 am
CHEZ ISABELLE
Our signature French restaurant, is as alluring as a night in Paris. You'll feel transported from the Riviera Maya to the Left Bank as you choose among savory hors d'oeuvres, mouth-watering entrees and desserts that live up to the French culinary reputation. Open for Dinner
BARCELONA
We serve breakfast and lunch on buffet, and for dinner you will be able to taste the world famous mediterranean cusine. A la carte for dinner. No reservation required. BREAKFAST Dress code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the access with sleeveless undershirt (tank shirt), in bathing suit and humid clothes; Obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. LUNCH Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap and undershirts with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the access in sleeveless undershirt (tank shirt), in bathing suit and with humid clothes; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals; Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in shorts, or undershirt with or sleeveless.
THE GRILL
For lunch, The Grill at Excellence Riviera Cancun serves up an a la carte menu of hearty salads, sandwiches, burgers and wraps in a giant thatch-roof palapa. For alfresco dinner, the sizzle of prime steaks, chicken and shrimp searing on an open flame tips you off that you're in for an exceptional meal. Lunch open from noon - 6:00 pm Dinner open from 6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
THE LOBSTER HOUSE
The Lobster House serves up tasty breakfast and lunch with tableside service. For dinner, the glow of soft lanterns and reflection of our meandering pool turns the restaurant into a wonderful atmosphere for all things lobster. This is the place on the Riviera Maya for exquisite shellfish dishes prepared to your tastes. Breakfast open from 9:00 am - noon Lunch open from 12:30 pm - 3:00 pm Dinner open from 6:30 pm - 11:00pm
SPICE
Step into the world of pan-Asian delights with exotic specialties from Japan, China, Vietnam and Thailand. If you like Japanese iron griddle cooking, cozy Teppanyaki rooms are the place to delight your senses as talented chefs prepare your meal right in front of you. Open for Dinner
TOSCANA
Buon Appetito at Toscana Restaurant, where the wondrous flavors of Italy come alive. You'll discover inventive spins on traditional favorites. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet-style. For dinner, enjoy pasta selections, prepared as you like them.... and meat and seafood dishes infused with fresh ingredients and artfully prepared to five star standards. Save room for dessert. Breakfast open from 7 am - 11 am Lunch open from noon - 4:00 pm Dinner open from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
AGAVE
Enjoy authentic Mexican specialties grilled, sauted or marinated. Your choice of romantic indoor seating or outdoors under the moonlight in our hacienda-style courtyard. Tableside mariachi entertainment completes your perfect Mexican evening. Open for Dinner
BASMATI
Riviera Cancun's newest resort restaurant. Basmati specializes in the regional dishes of India's North-West frontier, mixing up tangy herbs, spices and cooking techniques against a dramatic backdrop. Open for Dinner
LAS OLAS
Enjoy the ocean, sun and a bite at Las Olas snack grill. Located on the beach with selection of fast food, salads, wood-oven pizzas and grilled favorites. Open for Lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (693)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
693 out of 693
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waff les
new orleans
Jan 25, 2013

Cold pools

Over all it was very nice. The grounds are beautiful. Nice rooms, bed was not as comfortable as I would like, great jacuzzi in room. Pools could be warmer especially since there aren't many hot tubs. Spa treatment was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If dining later say 7:00 pm there is usually a wait but you can go earlier and get the restaurant beeper and either finish getting ready or a drink and wait.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beerman and the baker
Maine
Dec 13, 2012

Great Vacation

It was a great time. the hotel and grounds were extremely well kept and manicured. the staff I can't say enough about. They were the best anywhere I've ever been. One example I'd like to share I witnessed with another guest. My wife and I were lounging by one of the more secluded pools and this guy was walking around looking for his passport and asked if we had seen one, which we hadn't. He also told us he had $1000.00 USD in it as well. One of the grounds keepers found it and turend it in to hotel security with every penny still in it. Any place else I've been it would have been long gone. I was extremely impressed with that kind of honesty, which is pretty rare these day at least in my part of the world. The food at the hotel was hit or miss. some of it was top notch and some was severely over cooked. I was really looking forward to try some new things and it turned out to be a let down. I visited the area almost 20 yrs ago and the food was about the same then as well. Not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No Kids Allowed Adults
Oklahoma
Nov 25, 2012

Service lives up to Excellence name!

Our 2nd trip to an Excellence (prior was Playa Mujeres in '08). Service wonderful as we expected, food/drink/room service always prompt and curtious. Love the "no reservation" policy and food was the best we have had at an AI resort. Would recommend Toscana for bolangnese, veal, and carpaccio. Agave for lobster tacos and Chez Isabelle for the escargot and creme brûlée! Would recommend getting to beach BBQs early b/c food gets cold/not so tasty quickly, or avoid all together. Pools clean and spacious, plenty of loungers in any area you choose: near bar, beach, pool, quiet areas or near the action of activities, and waiters everywhere to bring drinks. Much more beautiful beach than Playa Mujeres, but much larger and older resort +\-. The rooms are spacious and beautiful, but I felt as though they were "straightened" each day day vs cleaned thoroughly during our stay. Fresh towels each day of course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MaOm
Washington, DC
Nov 19, 2012

Lovely time!

Our eleventh stay in Cancun; first time at the Excellence Riviera Cancun, and we were not disappointed at all. We have also stayed at the Excellence Playa Mujeres. At each resort, we took advantage of the Club level. Both resorts are similar with Playa Mujeres being newer I believe. At Riviera Cancun, the beach for the club level was steps from the pool area - nice - and the lounging options were varied and quite cozy. A minor negative was the abundance of seaweed. Plus, perhaps because of the location, the water was not as blue nor as wavy as it is at other resorts where we've stayed. The staff went out of their way to cater to every need. I was traveling with my elderly parents, and the staff tended to them with genuine care. Oh, and the food. Let's just say we all came home with a few extra pounds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
countryclub librarian
Michigan
Nov 18, 2012

Son's Destination Wedding

This was the perfect place for a destination wedding. From the moment that we were greeted at the door with flutes of champagne to the wedding itself.....we were treated like royalty. I was a bit hesitant to go to Mexico due to safety concerns but this a truly safe resort. Rooms were VERY clean, staff was attentive etc. One word of caution. If you are given a wine menu it is an extra cost ...even though it's an all inclusive resort. You won't need to order an entire bottle, instead order by the glass. There are also nightly shows that are entertaining. One big positive is that you don't need to send someone down to reserve chairs! There are plenty of available chaise lounge chairs, both with and without shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the French Restaurant as it's very popular otherwise you might have a long wait.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Navy Chick
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Oct 30, 2012

Great Birthday Week

This was our first all inclusive resort and it was AMAZING!!! We got the package deal of flight, hotel and transportation and I strongly recommend including the transportation. One thing I wish we would have known is for the Men to bring dress pants. Since it was our first trip and in the Caribbean we didn't think they would be needed. HOWEVER we were unable to eat at a couple of restaurants because he did not have dress pants. Oh caution if this is your first time to the airport BEWARE of the friendly people that are greeting you before you exit. They want to sell you a time share. All of the transportation is located outside of the airport and the areas are clearly marked. If you can get the BY THE OCEAN COUPLES MESSAGE which is followed by a ROMANTIC DINNER and the MARINE WELLNESS TREATMENT. Also we got the package to swim with the dolphins which we made at the hotel. It was our first trip but will not be our last. We were there for five days and I loved every minute of it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AliBi
Montreal, Canada
Oct 22, 2012

Fatastic Honeymoon

AMAZING!!! We were soo happy that the pictures on the website are really like reality. It's beautiful, the service is great the enterntainment is unbelievable. We didn't even have to leave the hotel once since we had so much fun and we stayed 9 nights. The food is great and the upgrade in the Excellence Club is worth it. The little points to improve is the room service is very slow and the see water is not turquoise. But there are so many restaurants and pools that it really does not matter. I recommend this hotel for anyone who wants the perfect honeymoon. we had the swim up suite ocean view and it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the Michael Jackson show!!!

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katkat Spumoni
New York
Oct 2, 2012

Ecellence is excellent!

It was the perfect place to celebrate my Aunts 60th Birthday. I have stayed at the Playa Mujeres property in the past, and loved it, I had hope for the same here and was not dissappointed. Super friendly& courtious service all around . From our arrival ..greeted by a doorman with the cold towels , to the bubbly offered during check in, along with the personal greeting by Marianna Montes from guest services set the stage for a delightful stay. Pool side/ Beach service always available,Room service was fast, clean rooms and delicious food you can't beat it.. I've been to Mexico 5 times just to relax and decompress. After another excellent experience I will only stay at an Excellence property. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RN to beach
Kansas City, KS
Sep 12, 2012

Not even close to Playa Mujeres

The friendliness of the staff left much to be desiredd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nadrealista
Falls Church, VA
Sep 7, 2012

Nice resort, relaxed and easygoing

This is a great place to take quiet and relaxing vacation. Amenities are nice and service is very good. No big crowds or long wait times at the restaurants. Will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top