$378 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Riviera Maya, KM 324-342 Villas Del Mar No.3, Puerto Morelos, 77580

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
470 out of 470
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Staci loves Punta Cana
Business
Akron, Ohio
Aug 17, 2014

Excellent Honeymoon at the Excellence

We had an amazing time at the Excellence during our honeymoon! This was our first time at an adults only resort and the quietness at the resort is noticeable. We arrived at the hotel roughly three hours before check-in. They took our bags and let us wander the resort freely until our room was ready. We found our first restaurant within minutes (The Grill) and the food was delicious. All the restaurants were good. I didn't know if I liked Indian food and their restaurant Basmati was the best of our trip. The wait staff was very attentive. Keep in mind that dinner has a dress code of "casual elegance" so take a couple of nicer outfits. When we checked in room, it was a very clean and tidy suite with a king size bed. The bed and pillows are very firm but a pillow menu is available. House keeping visits twice a day and would replace our towels at each visit (we liked to shower before lunch and dinner). The pool area was fantastic. They have a swim up bar and party area closer to the beach. There's also plenty of pool area for quieter moments located in the pool surrounding the spa. The wait staff would ask for drink orders roughly every hour. There are cabanas and loungers everywhere so we didn't have to search very long. Traveling in Mexico, there's always warnings about drinking the water. The hotel stocked the fridge with bottles and the restaurants purified the drinking water and ice. One compliant: the shower water did have a cleaning agent odor and the water pressure and temperature would be inconsistent but it was bearable. We did not get sick at the hotel and I feel they took great care in the maintenance of the water. We also visited the spa. They offer daily specials and honeymoons can receive 15% off a spa treatment, which we ended up not using because of a massage discount on Wednesday. With the massage purchase we got to experience the hydro therapy area. I'm a smaller person so one station with the spine jet pushed me around but my larger husband loved it. The rest of the stations were very relaxing and it was a cool thing to try. Overall, our honeymoon was so relaxing and we didn't have to worry about anything. The Excellence really made this a wonderful trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Entering the Cancun International airport is easy. Leaving the Cancun International airport is very time consuming. The travel guide said to arrive at least two hours early and he was not kidding. A few of the larger airlines had unbelievably long lines. We arrived about 9:50am for our 12:21pm flight and literally had to run through security (which was a breeze) to make it to our flight with minutes to spare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy and Eric
Business
Herndon, VA
Aug 15, 2014

Amazing getaway for two!!

My husband and I went for 6 days and recently returned from an amazing vacation! The staff and accommodations were top-notch! We loved our swim-up suite, variety of restaurants, and in-room mini bar. The staff was so helpful with everything we needed or wanted. I highly recommend Excellence Riviera Cancun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Arrive early if you want a good seat for the Excellence Theatre. They have great nightly shows!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrea loves to travel
Business
Fishers, Indiana
Aug 14, 2014

Excellent!

We had an amazing time and were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived. The food was amazing, the drinks were delicious and the evening entertainment was fantastic!! The only thing that wasn't perfect was the beach. There was so much seaweed!! We had to jump over a mountain of it just to get into the ocean. Once we did that, we had to fight it while swimming, there was so much of it!! We ended up spending most of our days in the pools and lazy river. We definitely would go back to Excellence, and can't wait to visit Excellence Punta Cana next.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wet Noodles
Business
San Diego, California
Aug 11, 2014

Romantic getaway in Paradise

Overwhelmed by the beauty and warmth of the property and its people!!! Our visit began with a warm greeting from a bellman as we stepped out of our cab. It was then followed by cold towels to refresh our faces and hands as it was quite hot outside. Then it was capped off with some bubbly cold champagne. We checked in and we were then escorted to our room. We were in building six in a swim up Jacuzzi suite. Our room was amazing! They thought of every little detail to make your stay wonderful...fully stocked mini fridge, four large bottles of premium top shelf alcohol and wine, many toiletries including shaving kit and toothbrush, a fresh long stem red rose on the bed, incense next to the Jacuzzi to burn to create a sense of bliss while you are relaxing in your bubble bath. We were blown away by the quality of food in the restaurants. My favorite place was the lobster house and the french restaurant. I love seafood and I was able to indulge every night. I suggest you order two entrees as the portions are rather small. The lobster tails and the Chilean sea bass were to simply die for. We spent most of our days in the main pool area as we are social butterflies, but if that is not your cup of tea then don't fret. There are plenty of quiet pools were you will be mesmerized by the birds and iguanas all over the property there. We took walks along the beach every evening, watched the sun rise up over the ocean, played some foosball and pool on the many tables they offer. The highlight of our trip however, came at the Spa. We pre-booked online before arriving and it was a good thing that we did. We saved 40 percent off the normal price and secured a spot as they filled up quickly. We did a couples 120 minute ritual. IT WAS FABULOUS!!!!!!! We started with a hydrotherapy session which included a steam room, sauna, hot and cold pools and high speed water jets which massaged our tense muscles, and ended that with a scalp and foot massage outside on wonderful tables surround by fountains and rain falling from the ceiling. I thought this was where we were getting our 120 minute massage but I was wrong. They then handed my husband and I robes and slippers and asked us to remove our clothes and put those on instead. Our valet then walked us up a spiral staircase where we were greeted warmly by our masseuses. The next 120 minutes were unbelievable...the ambiance was so tranquil..you could not help but fall asleep or feel so relaxed. It was truly the best spa experience I have ever had. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who desires a stress free, relaxing environment. I also thought there were many things that created a romantic atmosphere. My husband and I fell more in love with one another and we are already speaking of going back there. I cannot forget to mention the nightly entertainment....WOW!!!!!! The Michael Jackson show was our favorite , but bring the bug spray as the mosquitoes are out in droves. Thank you Excellence for our amazing stay at your resort! We will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

bring extra sunscreen...it will cost you $38.00 USD to get more on the property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yelena101
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 9, 2014

Great hotel

We had a great time at Excellence. Would definitely recommend. Service was awesome, everyone from bell boys to room service to random workers on the hotel grounds always eager to help. Beach and pools kept clean. We did not have any problems finding a spot to relax or getting towels (Staying Aug 2-8) Food was good. Each restaurant had somewhat short menu but you have plenty if places to choose from. Room service was OK, I did not really like breakfast eggs but everything else was delicious. Shows and activities were great. You get a schedule of tomorrow's activities every night. We really enjoyed night shows and tours you can order through Front desk - like seeing Mayan pyramids or swimming with whale sharks ( you pay extra for tours, but in all honesty you always have something to do in the hotel all day from 7am to 10:30pm - anything from yoga on the beach, pool volley to Texas Holdem and dancing lessons. Overall our stay was great. Both me and my husband agree we would plan to come back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Each day one of the restaurants is closed. You can check your "excellence time" paper they bring you every night to see which one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Popica
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Aug 8, 2014

The effort is there!

It is obvious the management thrives toward a 5 star resort but they are not there yet. For effort I give a 4 star. Food is in general good with the exception of any beef dishes( fillet mignion is not at all filett mignion, ribeye is too fat and chewy). The beach is nice, sand soft and an effort to keep it clean of algae is inconsistent( some day the truck with the rake was going back and forth some days not at all). The water full of algae, not at all clear and blue like other location in Mexico. Snorkeling very basic: corrals and a few, very few tropical fish to see. If this is the first time for someone, it will not be impressive and might not determine them to always seek that experience every time they get a chance like my 1997 Cancun snorkelling experience did for me. The shows were good, but their acoustics in need of repair or upgrade. While it might seem I only have only negative things to say, I want to recognize the superior aspect of the premises, the obvious effort of staff to rise to the level of a 5 stars, and their effort to make the experience a great one. In conclusion, I just want to say, if it is the first time you go to Mexico, IF you are an older person and want only quiet and relaxation or you go to celebrate your anniversary, I would say it's a good place, just don't attempt to eat stakes. If you like more excitement and fun I would not recommend. No children here! Nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hectic life
Business
Bronx, NY
Aug 5, 2014

couple getaway

This was a great location for anyone that wants to get out of the whole fast paced New York city environment and into a quiet and serene place just to relax. The staff was great. Very hospitable. The spa therapy was amazing. I would definitely go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
needing lots of rest and
Business
long island, ny
Jul 27, 2014

rest and relaxation

Overall fine experience. Live bands every night. Dancing in disco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bands, nightclub followed by disco-kept busy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joywill
Business
Wallkill, NY
Jul 26, 2014

Not so excellent.

I just returned from the Excellence Maya Riviera and it is a beautiful resort. Very beautiful.... The food.......not so much. The food was very average for my liking. The buffet was not as plentiful as most buffets are at resorts like that are. Check in took a great portion of my day. This was definitely the longest check in I have ever had. The bell hop that took us to our room didn't point out anything as he took us to our room like most other bell hops I saw do therefore we really had to find things on our own. The check in staff, bellhops and restaurant staff are pretty pleasant however most of the housekeeping staff failed to offer a greeting. The top sheet on my bed had a nasty stain on it which I did not put there and Im sure the housekeeper saw it when she put the sheets on the bed because I saw it right away. Beautiful resort, I must stress, however Excellence isn't living up to their name at this resort. Food and service is big and I am very disappointed with the food and check in should not have taken as long as it did furthermore most employees didn't speak English and instead of trying to accommodate you by finding someone that does speak Spanish they would just tell you they do not speak english. Other than that it was a beautiful resort and my mother and sister who I traveled with do not have my same sentiments. They loved everything about the resort including the food. I must add that my sister is vegan and gluten free and they made special dishes for her so she loved it. I also must add that the Basmati restaurant was a very nice experience. I loved the food there. I just thought the buffet lacked a lot and the pool pizza maker should be open a little later than 12pm-3pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Basmati Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bbrown0203
Business
Paris, TX
Jul 24, 2014

Enjoyed every second!

Booked this resort last minute for our anniversary & it beat every expectation! This resort was recommended by many friends & they were right! The staff was more than accommodating & went the extra mile to make our anniversary special. The rooms were amazing with a jetted tub & insense. We will definitely be back here soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top