$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Riviera Maya, KM 324-342 Villas Del Mar No.3, Puerto Morelos, 77580

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
451 out of 451
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trakksix
Business
York, PA
Sep 15, 2014

Great birthday trip!

This is our second stay at an Excellence resort, and they did not disappoint!! The food was wonderful, the grounds were gorgeous, and the staff made every effort to make our trip incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Basmati, Lobster House, and Agave were all great, but all of the restaurants had good food.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chrisloans
Business
vista, ca
Sep 8, 2014

Good Value

Great service, clean rooms and good value. Beach was nice but could not swim in water due to seaweed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luvies
Business
Denver, Colorado
Sep 2, 2014

Amazing Honeymoon

We had an amazing time! The staff is excellent and go out of their way to make you feel special!! I would recommend upgrading to the concierge service as you get other privileges that others in the hotel do not get such as: special drinks, special food, private pool area, less crowded, and overall better service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mollycorb123
Business
Sunbury, Ohio
Aug 31, 2014

Perfect vacation

This was our first visit to Cancun and couldn't have picked a better reort than Excellence. We arrived later in the day and we were still greeted with smiles and a glass of champagne. Our bell hop, Jose, was very nice and helpful while showing us around the resort. If you have the opportunity to upgrade to the Excellence Club I would suggest doing so, you get a private pool and a separate part of the beach, both in which are never crowded. Make sure to bring dress clothes every night you're there since there's a dress code for all the restaurants after 6:30. We definitely plan on going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make sure to do the "Clear Bottom" boat that also offers snorkeling. You visit 2 reefs and will see so much!

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfied in Chicago
Business
Chicago
Aug 18, 2014

Great luxury vacation

This is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful, hardworking, helpful staff. I've recommended this hotel to anyone who would listen and those who went loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Staci loves Punta Cana
Business
Akron, Ohio
Aug 17, 2014

Excellent Honeymoon at the Excellence

We had an amazing time at the Excellence during our honeymoon! This was our first time at an adults only resort and the quietness at the resort is noticeable. We arrived at the hotel roughly three hours before check-in. They took our bags and let us wander the resort freely until our room was ready. We found our first restaurant within minutes (The Grill) and the food was delicious. All the restaurants were good. I didn't know if I liked Indian food and their restaurant Basmati was the best of our trip. The wait staff was very attentive. Keep in mind that dinner has a dress code of "casual elegance" so take a couple of nicer outfits. When we checked in room, it was a very clean and tidy suite with a king size bed. The bed and pillows are very firm but a pillow menu is available. House keeping visits twice a day and would replace our towels at each visit (we liked to shower before lunch and dinner). The pool area was fantastic. They have a swim up bar and party area closer to the beach. There's also plenty of pool area for quieter moments located in the pool surrounding the spa. The wait staff would ask for drink orders roughly every hour. There are cabanas and loungers everywhere so we didn't have to search very long. Traveling in Mexico, there's always warnings about drinking the water. The hotel stocked the fridge with bottles and the restaurants purified the drinking water and ice. One compliant: the shower water did have a cleaning agent odor and the water pressure and temperature would be inconsistent but it was bearable. We did not get sick at the hotel and I feel they took great care in the maintenance of the water. We also visited the spa. They offer daily specials and honeymoons can receive 15% off a spa treatment, which we ended up not using because of a massage discount on Wednesday. With the massage purchase we got to experience the hydro therapy area. I'm a smaller person so one station with the spine jet pushed me around but my larger husband loved it. The rest of the stations were very relaxing and it was a cool thing to try. Overall, our honeymoon was so relaxing and we didn't have to worry about anything. The Excellence really made this a wonderful trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Entering the Cancun International airport is easy. Leaving the Cancun International airport is very time consuming. The travel guide said to arrive at least two hours early and he was not kidding. A few of the larger airlines had unbelievably long lines. We arrived about 9:50am for our 12:21pm flight and literally had to run through security (which was a breeze) to make it to our flight with minutes to spare.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy and Eric
Business
Herndon, VA
Aug 15, 2014

Amazing getaway for two!!

My husband and I went for 6 days and recently returned from an amazing vacation! The staff and accommodations were top-notch! We loved our swim-up suite, variety of restaurants, and in-room mini bar. The staff was so helpful with everything we needed or wanted. I highly recommend Excellence Riviera Cancun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Arrive early if you want a good seat for the Excellence Theatre. They have great nightly shows!

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrea loves to travel
Business
Fishers, Indiana
Aug 14, 2014

Excellent!

We had an amazing time and were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived. The food was amazing, the drinks were delicious and the evening entertainment was fantastic!! The only thing that wasn't perfect was the beach. There was so much seaweed!! We had to jump over a mountain of it just to get into the ocean. Once we did that, we had to fight it while swimming, there was so much of it!! We ended up spending most of our days in the pools and lazy river. We definitely would go back to Excellence, and can't wait to visit Excellence Punta Cana next.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wet Noodles
Business
San Diego, California
Aug 11, 2014

Romantic getaway in Paradise

Overwhelmed by the beauty and warmth of the property and its people!!! Our visit began with a warm greeting from a bellman as we stepped out of our cab. It was then followed by cold towels to refresh our faces and hands as it was quite hot outside. Then it was capped off with some bubbly cold champagne. We checked in and we were then escorted to our room. We were in building six in a swim up Jacuzzi suite. Our room was amazing! They thought of every little detail to make your stay wonderful...fully stocked mini fridge, four large bottles of premium top shelf alcohol and wine, many toiletries including shaving kit and toothbrush, a fresh long stem red rose on the bed, incense next to the Jacuzzi to burn to create a sense of bliss while you are relaxing in your bubble bath. We were blown away by the quality of food in the restaurants. My favorite place was the lobster house and the french restaurant. I love seafood and I was able to indulge every night. I suggest you order two entrees as the portions are rather small. The lobster tails and the Chilean sea bass were to simply die for. We spent most of our days in the main pool area as we are social butterflies, but if that is not your cup of tea then don't fret. There are plenty of quiet pools were you will be mesmerized by the birds and iguanas all over the property there. We took walks along the beach every evening, watched the sun rise up over the ocean, played some foosball and pool on the many tables they offer. The highlight of our trip however, came at the Spa. We pre-booked online before arriving and it was a good thing that we did. We saved 40 percent off the normal price and secured a spot as they filled up quickly. We did a couples 120 minute ritual. IT WAS FABULOUS!!!!!!! We started with a hydrotherapy session which included a steam room, sauna, hot and cold pools and high speed water jets which massaged our tense muscles, and ended that with a scalp and foot massage outside on wonderful tables surround by fountains and rain falling from the ceiling. I thought this was where we were getting our 120 minute massage but I was wrong. They then handed my husband and I robes and slippers and asked us to remove our clothes and put those on instead. Our valet then walked us up a spiral staircase where we were greeted warmly by our masseuses. The next 120 minutes were unbelievable...the ambiance was so tranquil..you could not help but fall asleep or feel so relaxed. It was truly the best spa experience I have ever had. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who desires a stress free, relaxing environment. I also thought there were many things that created a romantic atmosphere. My husband and I fell more in love with one another and we are already speaking of going back there. I cannot forget to mention the nightly entertainment....WOW!!!!!! The Michael Jackson show was our favorite , but bring the bug spray as the mosquitoes are out in droves. Thank you Excellence for our amazing stay at your resort! We will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

bring extra sunscreen...it will cost you $38.00 USD to get more on the property.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yelena101
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 9, 2014

Great hotel

We had a great time at Excellence. Would definitely recommend. Service was awesome, everyone from bell boys to room service to random workers on the hotel grounds always eager to help. Beach and pools kept clean. We did not have any problems finding a spot to relax or getting towels (Staying Aug 2-8) Food was good. Each restaurant had somewhat short menu but you have plenty if places to choose from. Room service was OK, I did not really like breakfast eggs but everything else was delicious. Shows and activities were great. You get a schedule of tomorrow's activities every night. We really enjoyed night shows and tours you can order through Front desk - like seeing Mayan pyramids or swimming with whale sharks ( you pay extra for tours, but in all honesty you always have something to do in the hotel all day from 7am to 10:30pm - anything from yoga on the beach, pool volley to Texas Holdem and dancing lessons. Overall our stay was great. Both me and my husband agree we would plan to come back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Each day one of the restaurants is closed. You can check your "excellence time" paper they bring you every night to see which one.

Back to menu Return to top