$463 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Riviera Maya, KM 324-342 Villas Del Mar No.3, Puerto Morelos, 77580
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
437 reviews
Can You say AMAZING

This was a birthday gift from my boyfriend and we had never been to a resort before. The trip was... See full review

  • Navy Chick
  • Nov 20, 2014
No complain

Very good & comfortable stay! We would love to go back. See full review

  • Bernie6008
  • Nov 17, 2014
Excellence Riviera Cancun, an adults-only resort, is a great location for those who'd like to enjoy this popular travel destination without being overwhelmed by other visitors. Experience an excursion on pristine white sands before floating in the clear nearby waters. The resort's 440 luxury accommodations cater especially to couples and business travelers, with eight international restaurants, beach yoga classes and even a nightclub. Laze around on your balcony hammock and enjoy romantic touches inside the rooms, like king-size beds and marble bathrooms, where you can cool down after hot days beneath the Mexican sun.
Key facts
  • 440 guestrooms
  • 4 floors
  • 9 buildings
  • 6 outdoor pools
  • Dining: Agave, Basmati, Chez Isabelle, The Grill, The Lobster House, Oregano, Las Olas, Spice and Toscana
  • Health club/spa
  • Alegria Nightclub
  • Bars/lounges: Martini, CakeKafe, Blue, Sol, Cielo, Stars, Sports Bar, X Lounge, Revive, La Habana and Casino Bar
  • 2 poolside bars
  • 24-hour room service
  • Business center
  • 5 meeting/conference rooms
Neighborhood
Excellence Riviera Cancun is surrounded by jogging trails that make it easy to get acclimatized to the local scene before diving fully into Quintana Roo. Visit the many Mayan remains in the area, such as Las Ruinas Del Rey near the hotel sector, and El Meco. In addition to typical Mayan Riviera activities like scuba diving, guests who book their stay at Excellence often participate in deep-sea fishing charters, cycling tours, and deep-water dives that allow guests to explore colonial shipwrecks.
Hints and tips
Although Excellence Riviera Cancun is pretty exclusive and only 15 minutes from the airport, it's still best to prepare for regional traffic if you plan on exploration along the coast.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Excellence Club Junior Suite Swim Up Ocean View
All our Junior Ocean View Excellence Swim Out Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi and direct access to the pool. Superior amenities include king beds, full views of the Caribbean Sea, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, Service box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, Iron and Ironing board, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, upgraded room service menu including wine and liquor preference, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks and water. KING BED
Junior Suite Swim up Spa Pool View 668 Sq.Ft
All our Junior Spa Pool View / Swim Out Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi and direct access to the pool. Amenities include king beds, magnificent view of the Spa and pool, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 27" satellite TV, Service box for Room service, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD / DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod Connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Excellence Club Honeymoon Suite Ocean View
The spacious Honeymoon Suites are 1,041 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi for two and full views of the Caribbean Sea. Superior VIP amenities include king bed, wet bar, living room, full marble bathroom with private massage room, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, service Box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD / DVD player, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service an Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED
J S SPA or Pool View
All Junior Spa Pool View Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished balcony. Superior amenities include king beds or two double beds, magnificent view of the Spa and pool, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 27" satellite TV, Service Box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, iron and Ironing board, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD / DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod Connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Suite ocean View
All Junior Suites Ocean View are 668 sq. ft. in size. Superior amenities include king bed, magnificent Ocean View,sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and double vanities, 27" satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing, pillow menu, direct dial phone, high speed internet data port, air-conditioning with in-room climate control,CD / DVD player, radio alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks
Excellence Club Two Story Roof Top Terrace Suites
All Excellence Club Two Story Roof Top Terrace Suites are 668 sq ft in size and offer private furnished balconies with Ocean front View, outdoor Jacuzzi, and 390 sq ft furnished Rooftop Terrace with HydroSpa Pool and shower. Superior amenities include king beds, full views of the Caribbean Sea, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for 2, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, Service box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, Iron and Ironing board direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with IPod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, pillow menu, upgraded room service menu including wine and liquor preference, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft water and snacks. KING BED
Excellence Club Junior Suite Ocean View
All Junior Ocean View Excellence Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi and direct access to the pool. Superior amenities include king beds, full views of the Caribbean Sea, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, Service box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, Iron and Ironing board direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, pillow menu, upgraded room service menu including wine and liquor preference, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft water and snacks. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

OREGANO
For casual Italian lunch and dinner, Oregano Pizza e Pasta Italian is a popular outdoor gathering spot. Our trattoria-style restaurant serves simple but delicious fare including pizza--from traditional to unpredictable--calzones, pastas and a selection of sweet treats. Think of it as a bit of the Old World on the Riviera Maya. Lunch open from noon - 5:00 pm Dinner open from 6:00 pm - 1:00 am
CHEZ ISABELLE
Our signature French restaurant, is as alluring as a night in Paris. You'll feel transported from the Riviera Maya to the Left Bank as you choose among savory hors d'oeuvres, mouth-watering entrees and desserts that live up to the French culinary reputation. Open for Dinner
BARCELONA
We serve breakfast and lunch on buffet, and for dinner you will be able to taste the world famous mediterranean cusine. A la carte for dinner. No reservation required. BREAKFAST Dress code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the access with sleeveless undershirt (tank shirt), in bathing suit and humid clothes; Obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. LUNCH Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap and undershirts with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the access in sleeveless undershirt (tank shirt), in bathing suit and with humid clothes; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals; Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in shorts, or undershirt with or sleeveless.
THE GRILL
For lunch, The Grill at Excellence Riviera Cancun serves up an a la carte menu of hearty salads, sandwiches, burgers and wraps in a giant thatch-roof palapa. For alfresco dinner, the sizzle of prime steaks, chicken and shrimp searing on an open flame tips you off that you're in for an exceptional meal. Lunch open from noon - 6:00 pm Dinner open from 6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
THE LOBSTER HOUSE
The Lobster House serves up tasty breakfast and lunch with tableside service. For dinner, the glow of soft lanterns and reflection of our meandering pool turns the restaurant into a wonderful atmosphere for all things lobster. This is the place on the Riviera Maya for exquisite shellfish dishes prepared to your tastes. Breakfast open from 9:00 am - noon Lunch open from 12:30 pm - 3:00 pm Dinner open from 6:30 pm - 11:00pm
SPICE
Step into the world of pan-Asian delights with exotic specialties from Japan, China, Vietnam and Thailand. If you like Japanese iron griddle cooking, cozy Teppanyaki rooms are the place to delight your senses as talented chefs prepare your meal right in front of you. Open for Dinner
TOSCANA
Buon Appetito at Toscana Restaurant, where the wondrous flavors of Italy come alive. You'll discover inventive spins on traditional favorites. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet-style. For dinner, enjoy pasta selections, prepared as you like them.... and meat and seafood dishes infused with fresh ingredients and artfully prepared to five star standards. Save room for dessert. Breakfast open from 7 am - 11 am Lunch open from noon - 4:00 pm Dinner open from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
AGAVE
Enjoy authentic Mexican specialties grilled, sauted or marinated. Your choice of romantic indoor seating or outdoors under the moonlight in our hacienda-style courtyard. Tableside mariachi entertainment completes your perfect Mexican evening. Open for Dinner
BASMATI
Riviera Cancun's newest resort restaurant. Basmati specializes in the regional dishes of India's North-West frontier, mixing up tangy herbs, spices and cooking techniques against a dramatic backdrop. Open for Dinner
LAS OLAS
Enjoy the ocean, sun and a bite at Las Olas snack grill. Located on the beach with selection of fast food, salads, wood-oven pizzas and grilled favorites. Open for Lunch

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Excellence Riviera Cancun has over 19,695 sq. ft. of dedicated meeting and function space; "De Grand Ballroom" offers 5,920 sq. ft. of freestanding of flexible space as it divides into three sections. Additionally, the Excellence Riviera Cancun also offers: 2 breakout rooms with 775 sq., 3,000 sq. ft. of pre-function space located right outside the Grand Ballroom and an outstanding outdoor venue including pool side reception space, private ocean front 10,000 sq. terraces and a spectacular beach for private cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (437)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
437 out of 437
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yelena101
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 9, 2014

Great hotel

We had a great time at Excellence. Would definitely recommend. Service was awesome, everyone from bell boys to room service to random workers on the hotel grounds always eager to help. Beach and pools kept clean. We did not have any problems finding a spot to relax or getting towels (Staying Aug 2-8) Food was good. Each restaurant had somewhat short menu but you have plenty if places to choose from. Room service was OK, I did not really like breakfast eggs but everything else was delicious. Shows and activities were great. You get a schedule of tomorrow's activities every night. We really enjoyed night shows and tours you can order through Front desk - like seeing Mayan pyramids or swimming with whale sharks ( you pay extra for tours, but in all honesty you always have something to do in the hotel all day from 7am to 10:30pm - anything from yoga on the beach, pool volley to Texas Holdem and dancing lessons. Overall our stay was great. Both me and my husband agree we would plan to come back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Each day one of the restaurants is closed. You can check your "excellence time" paper they bring you every night to see which one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Popica
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Aug 8, 2014

The effort is there!

It is obvious the management thrives toward a 5 star resort but they are not there yet. For effort I give a 4 star. Food is in general good with the exception of any beef dishes( fillet mignion is not at all filett mignion, ribeye is too fat and chewy). The beach is nice, sand soft and an effort to keep it clean of algae is inconsistent( some day the truck with the rake was going back and forth some days not at all). The water full of algae, not at all clear and blue like other location in Mexico. Snorkeling very basic: corrals and a few, very few tropical fish to see. If this is the first time for someone, it will not be impressive and might not determine them to always seek that experience every time they get a chance like my 1997 Cancun snorkelling experience did for me. The shows were good, but their acoustics in need of repair or upgrade. While it might seem I only have only negative things to say, I want to recognize the superior aspect of the premises, the obvious effort of staff to rise to the level of a 5 stars, and their effort to make the experience a great one. In conclusion, I just want to say, if it is the first time you go to Mexico, IF you are an older person and want only quiet and relaxation or you go to celebrate your anniversary, I would say it's a good place, just don't attempt to eat stakes. If you like more excitement and fun I would not recommend. No children here! Nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hectic life
Business
Bronx, NY
Aug 5, 2014

couple getaway

This was a great location for anyone that wants to get out of the whole fast paced New York city environment and into a quiet and serene place just to relax. The staff was great. Very hospitable. The spa therapy was amazing. I would definitely go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
needing lots of rest and
Business
long island, ny
Jul 27, 2014

rest and relaxation

Overall fine experience. Live bands every night. Dancing in disco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bands, nightclub followed by disco-kept busy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joywill
Business
Wallkill, NY
Jul 26, 2014

Not so excellent.

I just returned from the Excellence Maya Riviera and it is a beautiful resort. Very beautiful.... The food.......not so much. The food was very average for my liking. The buffet was not as plentiful as most buffets are at resorts like that are. Check in took a great portion of my day. This was definitely the longest check in I have ever had. The bell hop that took us to our room didn't point out anything as he took us to our room like most other bell hops I saw do therefore we really had to find things on our own. The check in staff, bellhops and restaurant staff are pretty pleasant however most of the housekeeping staff failed to offer a greeting. The top sheet on my bed had a nasty stain on it which I did not put there and Im sure the housekeeper saw it when she put the sheets on the bed because I saw it right away. Beautiful resort, I must stress, however Excellence isn't living up to their name at this resort. Food and service is big and I am very disappointed with the food and check in should not have taken as long as it did furthermore most employees didn't speak English and instead of trying to accommodate you by finding someone that does speak Spanish they would just tell you they do not speak english. Other than that it was a beautiful resort and my mother and sister who I traveled with do not have my same sentiments. They loved everything about the resort including the food. I must add that my sister is vegan and gluten free and they made special dishes for her so she loved it. I also must add that the Basmati restaurant was a very nice experience. I loved the food there. I just thought the buffet lacked a lot and the pool pizza maker should be open a little later than 12pm-3pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Basmati Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bbrown0203
Business
Paris, TX
Jul 24, 2014

Enjoyed every second!

Booked this resort last minute for our anniversary & it beat every expectation! This resort was recommended by many friends & they were right! The staff was more than accommodating & went the extra mile to make our anniversary special. The rooms were amazing with a jetted tub & insense. We will definitely be back here soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VDale
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 19, 2014

Great Resort, Murky Beach

We started out with a room with two double beds but with a little persuasion they changed it to a king for our anniversary. The resort was very nice and the service was great. Restaurants had a minimum wait if any and they were vary accommodating if you did not like something. The beach was great but the ocean was dirty with sea weed, plastic, and debris. You could not see your feet through the water it was so murky. Over all a great resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pre-book a shuttle service for cost and convenience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jewels the Nomad
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 9, 2014

Couples Retreat

Love this place! 7th time there and will absolutely come back for 7 more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
happily married 10 years
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jul 7, 2014

AWESOME 10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY

The resort is absolutely beautiful. The service was excellent, everyone was very attentive and helpful. The rooms are huge and very clean. The drinks included were great, all brand name liquors was nice. Spa water therapy experience was incredible, pedicure was just ok. The breakfast buffet was very good, nice selection. Lunch buffet and pizza not great. My only big disappointment was the food at the french restaurant, everything tasted boiled, even the filet mignon. And the Lobster House was pretty bland too. Basmati, Indian restaurant was excellent. We will definitely go back. But don't forget your sunscreen, I'm pale and had no choice but to pay $40 in the gift shop for a bottle of Banana Boat spray!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
X vault X
Business
Chicago
Jul 1, 2014

Perfect getaway.

Great and helpful staff really make the experience. Grounds and facility are super clean. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top