$436 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Riviera Maya, KM 324-342 Villas Del Mar No.3, Puerto Morelos, 77580
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
693 reviews
Couples Retreat

Love this place! 7th time there and will absolutely come back for 7 more! See full review

  • Jewels the Nomad
  • Jul 9, 2014
AWESOME 10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY

The resort is absolutely beautiful. The service was excellent, everyone was very attentive and... See full review

  • happily married 10 years
  • Jul 7, 2014
Excellence Riviera Cancun, an adults-only resort, is a great location for those who'd like to enjoy this popular travel destination without being overwhelmed by other visitors. Experience an excursion on pristine white sands before floating in the clear nearby waters. The resort's 440 luxury accommodations cater especially to couples and business travelers, with eight international restaurants, beach yoga classes and even a nightclub. Laze around on your balcony hammock and enjoy romantic touches inside the rooms, like king-size beds and marble bathrooms, where you can cool down after hot days beneath the Mexican sun.
Key facts
  • 440 guestrooms
  • 4 floors
  • 9 buildings
  • 6 outdoor pools
  • Dining: Agave, Basmati, Chez Isabelle, The Grill, The Lobster House, Oregano, Las Olas, Spice and Toscana
  • Health club/spa
  • Alegria Nightclub
  • Bars/lounges: Martini, CakeKafe, Blue, Sol, Cielo, Stars, Sports Bar, X Lounge, Revive, La Habana and Casino Bar
  • 2 poolside bars
  • 24-hour room service
  • Business center
  • 5 meeting/conference rooms
Neighborhood
Excellence Riviera Cancun is surrounded by jogging trails that make it easy to get acclimatized to the local scene before diving fully into Quintana Roo. Visit the many Mayan remains in the area, such as Las Ruinas Del Rey near the hotel sector, and El Meco. In addition to typical Mayan Riviera activities like scuba diving, guests who book their stay at Excellence often participate in deep-sea fishing charters, cycling tours, and deep-water dives that allow guests to explore colonial shipwrecks.
Hints and tips
Although Excellence Riviera Cancun is pretty exclusive and only 15 minutes from the airport, it's still best to prepare for regional traffic if you plan on exploration along the coast.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Excellence Club Junior Suite Swim Up Ocean View
All our Junior Ocean View Excellence Swim Out Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi and direct access to the pool. Superior amenities include king beds, full views of the Caribbean Sea, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, Service box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, Iron and Ironing board, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, upgraded room service menu including wine and liquor preference, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks and water. KING BED
Junior Suite Swim up Spa Pool View 668 Sq.Ft
All our Junior Spa Pool View / Swim Out Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi and direct access to the pool. Amenities include king beds, magnificent view of the Spa and pool, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 27" satellite TV, Service box for Room service, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD / DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod Connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Excellence Club Honeymoon Suite Ocean View
The spacious Honeymoon Suites are 1,041 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi for two and full views of the Caribbean Sea. Superior VIP amenities include king bed, wet bar, living room, full marble bathroom with private massage room, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, service Box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD / DVD player, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service an Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED
J S SPA or Pool View
All Junior Spa Pool View Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished balcony. Superior amenities include king beds or two double beds, magnificent view of the Spa and pool, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 27" satellite TV, Service Box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, iron and Ironing board, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD / DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod Connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Suite ocean View
All Junior Suites Ocean View are 668 sq. ft. in size. Superior amenities include king bed, magnificent Ocean View,sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and double vanities, 27" satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing, pillow menu, direct dial phone, high speed internet data port, air-conditioning with in-room climate control,CD / DVD player, radio alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks
Excellence Club Two Story Roof Top Terrace Suites
All Excellence Club Two Story Roof Top Terrace Suites are 668 sq ft in size and offer private furnished balconies with Ocean front View, outdoor Jacuzzi, and 390 sq ft furnished Rooftop Terrace with HydroSpa Pool and shower. Superior amenities include king beds, full views of the Caribbean Sea, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for 2, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, Service box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, Iron and Ironing board direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with IPod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, pillow menu, upgraded room service menu including wine and liquor preference, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft water and snacks. KING BED
Excellence Club Junior Suite Ocean View
All Junior Ocean View Excellence Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi and direct access to the pool. Superior amenities include king beds, full views of the Caribbean Sea, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, Service box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, Iron and Ironing board direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, pillow menu, upgraded room service menu including wine and liquor preference, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft water and snacks. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.8748 -86.8662
Area served
Puerto Morelos.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
At Excellence Riviera Cancun you are secluded but not isolated. The all-suite, all-adult resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, 15 minutes away from Cancun's airport, on an immaculate white sand beach. The surrounding region is rich with archeological and cultural sites, as well as eco-tourism destinations including tropical coves, rain-forest and caves. Cancun, Playa del Carmen and Cancun International Airport are all just a short drive away.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Excellence Riviera Cancun has over 19,695 sq. ft. of dedicated meeting and function space; "De Grand Ballroom" offers 5,920 sq. ft. of freestanding of flexible space as it divides into three sections. Additionally, the Excellence Riviera Cancun also offers: 2 breakout rooms with 775 sq., 3,000 sq. ft. of pre-function space located right outside the Grand Ballroom and an outstanding outdoor venue including pool side reception space, private ocean front 10,000 sq. terraces and a spectacular beach for private cocktails.

Dining

OREGANO
For casual Italian lunch and dinner, Oregano Pizza e Pasta Italian is a popular outdoor gathering spot. Our trattoria-style restaurant serves simple but delicious fare including pizza--from traditional to unpredictable--calzones, pastas and a selection of sweet treats. Think of it as a bit of the Old World on the Riviera Maya. Lunch open from noon - 5:00 pm Dinner open from 6:00 pm - 1:00 am
CHEZ ISABELLE
Our signature French restaurant, is as alluring as a night in Paris. You'll feel transported from the Riviera Maya to the Left Bank as you choose among savory hors d'oeuvres, mouth-watering entrees and desserts that live up to the French culinary reputation. Open for Dinner
BARCELONA
We serve breakfast and lunch on buffet, and for dinner you will be able to taste the world famous mediterranean cusine. A la carte for dinner. No reservation required. BREAKFAST Dress code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the access with sleeveless undershirt (tank shirt), in bathing suit and humid clothes; Obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. LUNCH Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap and undershirts with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the access in sleeveless undershirt (tank shirt), in bathing suit and with humid clothes; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals; Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in shorts, or undershirt with or sleeveless.
THE GRILL
For lunch, The Grill at Excellence Riviera Cancun serves up an a la carte menu of hearty salads, sandwiches, burgers and wraps in a giant thatch-roof palapa. For alfresco dinner, the sizzle of prime steaks, chicken and shrimp searing on an open flame tips you off that you're in for an exceptional meal. Lunch open from noon - 6:00 pm Dinner open from 6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
THE LOBSTER HOUSE
The Lobster House serves up tasty breakfast and lunch with tableside service. For dinner, the glow of soft lanterns and reflection of our meandering pool turns the restaurant into a wonderful atmosphere for all things lobster. This is the place on the Riviera Maya for exquisite shellfish dishes prepared to your tastes. Breakfast open from 9:00 am - noon Lunch open from 12:30 pm - 3:00 pm Dinner open from 6:30 pm - 11:00pm
SPICE
Step into the world of pan-Asian delights with exotic specialties from Japan, China, Vietnam and Thailand. If you like Japanese iron griddle cooking, cozy Teppanyaki rooms are the place to delight your senses as talented chefs prepare your meal right in front of you. Open for Dinner
TOSCANA
Buon Appetito at Toscana Restaurant, where the wondrous flavors of Italy come alive. You'll discover inventive spins on traditional favorites. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet-style. For dinner, enjoy pasta selections, prepared as you like them.... and meat and seafood dishes infused with fresh ingredients and artfully prepared to five star standards. Save room for dessert. Breakfast open from 7 am - 11 am Lunch open from noon - 4:00 pm Dinner open from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
AGAVE
Enjoy authentic Mexican specialties grilled, sauted or marinated. Your choice of romantic indoor seating or outdoors under the moonlight in our hacienda-style courtyard. Tableside mariachi entertainment completes your perfect Mexican evening. Open for Dinner
BASMATI
Riviera Cancun's newest resort restaurant. Basmati specializes in the regional dishes of India's North-West frontier, mixing up tangy herbs, spices and cooking techniques against a dramatic backdrop. Open for Dinner
LAS OLAS
Enjoy the ocean, sun and a bite at Las Olas snack grill. Located on the beach with selection of fast food, salads, wood-oven pizzas and grilled favorites. Open for Lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (693)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
693 out of 693
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debbie Love Mexico
Hamitlon, NJ
Jun 5, 2014

We will be returning next year

The resort grounds are beautiful. The weather could have been better as it rained a lot but the way the all are connected with Breezeways you did not get wet walking to the main square where the bars and restaurants are. My only complaint is we had a room with a pool view and where the pool was situated was right next to a noisy road with cars and trucks going back and forth-felt like I was home but we moved to another pool and no traffic noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EricaAmerica
Columbus, OH, USA
Jun 3, 2014

Great all inclusive

Went to Excellence for our honeymoon and had a great experience. The room was spacious and luxurious, grounds were beautiful, staff great. The restaurants offered a lot of choices and didn't have to make reservations. The nightly entertainment and shows were overall good. The pool and beach weren't overcrowded and the pool near the spa was quiet and calm. The beach/ocean wasn't like other Caribbean locations as it wasn't as clear and full of seaweed but can't fault the resort for that. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The BBs
Richmond , VA
May 28, 2014

Great stay!

This was my third trip to Mexico and by far the best experience. The grounds were beautiful, the room was spacious and clean, every encounter with the staff whether it was poolside or at the front desk was pleasant. We did experience some issues with consistency in dress code enforcement at the restaurants (other guests were permitted to wear things we were turned away in) and the food quality was a bit inconsistent. The buffets, beach lunches, and asian restaurant were on point. The staff made quick accommodations on a rainy day with music and activities to entertain. Wouldn't mind seeing less of the "local merchants" roaming the beach. Overall a great stay and we can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Beware the sales men. Typical bait and switch on pricing for excursions, however the problem was taken care of quickly and without hassle.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Married to an angel
Manalapan, NJ
May 28, 2014

Ordinary Cancun

The hotel was lovely but when the only activities are the facilities and food, the food failed to live up to the competency of the staff or the facilities. I was disappointed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KennedyMomToBe
Columbia, SC
May 12, 2014

Not quite like last time, but still a wonderful trip

We stayed at the Excellence Riviera Cancun 4 years ago for our anniversary. We gave it 5 stars across the board - not a thing that could have been better. We still thoroughly enjoyed our stay this time as well (April 21-27), but there were a few things that could have been improved. The food there is outstanding and the staff is wonderful. Delicious and diverse food and the staff are very accommodating. The only issue was that there seemed to be a worse staff to guest ratio. We waited for tables at restaurants every night, where 4 years ago, we waited 1 time in 2 weeks. I felt the same at the bars. Sometimes you had to wait a while for a drink, where as last time, our glass was never empty. The pools are generally impeccable, however we did notice 'oil slicks' from tanning oil in the spa lazy river pool - which 'grossed me out' a bit, so we chose to spend our pool time at a less central pool behind our building. So although I've mentioned a few cons, this place has way more pros than cons. If you are looking for a relaxing resort, this offers that. There do seem to be folks looking for more excitement in the 'main pool', with techno music to match, but you don't have to hear that if you don't want and can find quiet places on the resort. The food and service can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you like Indian cuisine, Basmati never seems to have a line, also, you can plan to eat at 6:30 for no wait as well.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacy F
Sacramento, CA
May 4, 2014

An excellent vacaation

Visited Excellence Riviera Cancun April 25-May2, 2014. The weather was perfect during our stay at around 85 degrees each day. Although the humidity must have been close to 100%. The hotel grounds were beautiful as was the beach. Many palapas around the pool and on the beach to escape the burning rays of the sun. The restaurants served deliciously prepared food and normal portion sizes, not huge American portion sizes. This allowed us to enjoy our meal and to also enjoy a small dessert. There were a good number of restaurants to choose from and if we weren't in the mood to go out to the restaurant (since you do have to dress up a bit) then room service had excellent food too. We didn't take advantage of any of the activities since we were there to just completely disconnect and relax. They did have a number of activities to choose from. I did however take advantage of their fitness center. It was nicely air conditioned and have plenty of equipment to get a good workout. We walked to the little town of Puerto Morelos from the resort along the beach and it took about 45 minutes. It was a nice walk and you can check out the other resorts along the way. One resort along the way catered to the people who like to bare it all. :) Puerto Morelos is a nice place to pick up souvenirs or buy more sunblock if needed. I picked up a beautiful sarong and was able to negotiate a price much lower than what they were asking. You just have to be willing to barter. We went to the Michael Jackson impersonator show one night and it was very entertaining. They have some very talented dancers. It was fun to watch and they perform to the more popular Michael Jackson songs. The resort has an excellent staff and they work very hard to make the resort enjoyable. Last year we visited the Excellence Playa Mujeres and this resort is very similar to EPM. We enjoyed both resorts very much and would go back to either one in a heart beat. My #1 tip would be to bring lots of sunscreen (it's expensive at the resort) and to remember to reapply it often. Nothing worse than getting burned and not being able to enjoy your vacation. Thankfully we did remember to reapply and stayed comfortable. :) Recommendation: If you want a fabulous resort with variety and relaxation this is definitely the place to be. And it's really, really nice that it's an ADULT ONLY resort. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs Gundy
Milwaukee wi
Apr 27, 2014

sister fun

The experience was everything my sister and I hoped for. .. There was not one complaint. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly, full of personality and helpful in every way. The food was top notch as were all of our experiences. The beach was beautiful. .. Sand as soft as any I've ever felt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Housemoney
Richmond VA
Apr 26, 2014

Excellence Riviera Cancun lives up to it's name.

My wife and i had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Despite being told that the hotel was fully booked, upon arrival we were still able to upgrade our room to a swim-up suite. We've stayed at the Excellence in Punta Cana in the past ( which we loved) and this one was equal to or better than that hotel in every category, The Riviera's grounds are larger and it never seems crowded even when it's full and the food was better in all of the restaurants. Room Service was especially fast and they always followed up with a call to make sure we were satisfied with our service.It doesn't get much better than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The French Restaurant is closed on Wednesdays, and that seems to cause a bit of a line at the other most popular restaurants, so show up early for dinner on Wed.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff and Dianne
Ohio
Apr 14, 2014

Another "Excellent" Vacation

This was our fourth stay at this resort in 6 years. The hotel management staff do a fabulous job keeping the grounds immaculate. The food in every restuarant is first class as are the drinks. The hotel staff are professional and friendly. This resort is know as the best resort in the Cancun area. Things we enjoyed: Walking the beach to Puerto Morelos, it's safe to walk. Volleyball games at 11:00 and 4:30 Many games and afternoon activities at the Sol bar. Drinks in the hot tub at the end of the day. Nice place to meet people from all over the world. We used to vacation at a top hotel chain in Jamaica which can't compare to the Excellence in food quality, cleanliness, service, and cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the Hibachi Grill at Spice Restuarant. Be there at 5:30 to make your reservation.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danadana
New York, ny
Apr 6, 2014

Engagement-moon

The hotel was amazing. We loved the experience. Staff was extremely friendly and always bringing extra smiles to our face. My fiancé and I came here right after getting engaged in NYC and it was the perfect extension of the most magical moment! The rooms and grounds are super clean and inviting. The food was superb (French restaurant was the best) and the atmosphere was very romantic. The only flaw is that the drinks seemed very watered down. The work-around for that was just to fill empty water bottles with the alcohol they provided in our room to spike our own drinks ;) otherwise they were just sugar and watered down alcohol. Definitely recommend this resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top