$378 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Riviera Maya, KM 324-342 Villas Del Mar No.3, Puerto Morelos, 77580

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
470 out of 470
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
May 31, 2011

Nice All Inclusive get away for couples

Good value. Nice dining. Beautiful pools and great rooms. Staff was generally very friendly, courteous, and helpful. Beaches are nice but a little rocky with some seaweeds. Only issue was with on site scuba snorkel trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Lots of activities on site. Bike trip into town was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
May 22, 2011

excellence is excellent!

My wife and I went on vacation here in Riviera Maya for our honeymoon not knowing what to expect this being out first time in Mexico and all. Well, I have to tell you the hotel was absolutely gorgeous. The staff was more then helpful and everyone to the hotel guests and staff were so nice. The room we were in was the ocean view suite and it was amazing. The only gripe we had was that it was our honeymoon and they didn't have a room with the king size bed available just the 2 queen sizes. But, nonetheless it was still a great room and the indoor and outdoor jacuzzis were great. They had tons of events at excellence from a Mexican festival, casino night, and a Caribbean buffet on the beach. Every night was something different and the restaurants were out of this world. The only one that my wife and I didn't care for was the lobster house. If you are looking for an amazing get away and a couples only resort this is definitely the place to go. I can't wait to go back for our anniversary. One thing that bothered me on the trip was that we booked our airport and hotel pickup with grayline mayaland and though they did a great job picking us up on time when it came time to pick us up to leave they were a half hour late and made it difficult for us to make our plane on time. SO, that is something to keep in mind. Otherwise, our trip was 5 stars all the way the weather was perfect, the people were amazingly nice and the hotel atmosphere itself the many restaurants and bars made it a honeymoon to remember!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marpc
Business
New York, NY
May 14, 2011

Overall, very good trip...

The resort is beautifully landscaped and immaculate. Our room (Room 1003), however, was not. We had to call the front desk many times during our four night stint. The area out back was dirty, the bathroom light needed to be replaced, the air conditioner broke down twice, and there was WAY too much noise outside the room, as the recycling room was right outside our door! Also, the hotel was a bit crowded - it is ginormous, so there was always a problem getting a lounge chair in the shade or a good one by the pool (unless we got up at the crack of dawn and "reserved" them, like many guests did). The food was the worst part, for sure. If you are from New York, or another big city known for it's food, trust me! You will not enjoy the food! Even the Mexican food was not up to par. They use Velveeta on the nachos! The French restaurant was by far the best, and it wasn't even that great. That said, the grounds and the beach are beautiful, but if you're looking for a quiet, relaxing resort with good food, this is NOT the place for you. They may as well allow children at the resort. One last thing, I may have gotten the BEST massage I've ever had in my life (and living in New York, we have some of the best spas money can buy) from Carolina at the resort's beautiful spa. Careful though, another guest caught a foot fungus at the marina. Hope this helps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Not good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 14, 2011

Fantastic vacation

We went for a relaxing,romantic vacation and the Excellence delivered! This was our 3rd trip to Mexico and the best. Staff was perfection! Meals were very good.The beach was also better at the Excellence. Don't hesitate to book your vacation at the Excellence,we plan to return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terri M
Business
Pasadena, MD
Apr 11, 2011

EXCELLENTE!!!!!

Abosolutely LOVED this hotel!!!! The service was the best. We've stayed at Sandals resorts in the past this hotel is a much better value for your money if you were trying to decide between Sandals or Excellence. The staff is so friendly and helpful. As we were exiting the hot tub one night the towel guy ([...]) arrived with 2 warm towels right from the dryer.....it doesn't get any better than that!!! The rooms were immaculate, the refrigerator in the room was stocked each day with your favorite drinks. Room service was quick and delicious! Best all inclusive resort, would highly recommend, lush foliage throughout. The only thing I would caution you about, the tile walkways near the pools can get very slippery when wet. Hotel staff tries very hard to keep yellow warning signs about but I would highly recommend watching for wet areas on the tile walkways. The food was EXCELLENT with many choices to choose from, Indian, Lobster, French, Asian, Italian all perfect. Great martini bar!!! Belly dancers and fire show on the beach with food, felt like I was in the middle of the desert, best show - don't miss it!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Entertainment each night - FANTASTIC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Apr 11, 2011

Excellent Vacation at Excellence!

The accommodations are fabulous and clean. The hotel staff are friendly and will go out of their way to make your trip very satisfying. It was as near to a perfect vacation as you can get!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Puerto Morelos is about a 45 minute walk down the beach. It is a very safe walk and a nice place to shop the small local shops without much buying pressure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drj
Business
Queensbury, NY
Mar 13, 2011

Great vacation

Excellent food & drinks. We had an Excellence Club roof top terrace with private pool - fantastic. Beach great Mix up as to us having a free anniversary package which we did not get. They did do some extras for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

need to get a shaded poolside palapa early if you want one. Roof top terrace was very private & well worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mario Lapointe
Business
Sainte-Sabine, Quebec, Canada
Mar 6, 2011

Wondeful resort

Just gigantic. All marble, rooms are breath taking. Highly recommanded...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring tip even if included in package. 1 dollard bills. Take XPLOR trip, a must to the trip...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexican at Heart
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 26, 2011

Only sort of Excellente

We booked our stay at this hotel based on the reviews on several websites and a friend's recommendation. Here's the good: the resort itself is beautiful and the upkeep is unparalleled. I loved the meandering pools. My massage at the spa ($120 for a 50-minute massage, a little pricey) was excellent. The bad: the food, the wait for food (1 hour to 1:30), and the battle for beach chairs. The so-so: the service. This was my 13th trip to Mexico, 3rd trip to the Cancun area. I'm not a snob by any stretch of the imagination. I'm a middle- middle-class Midwesterner whose favorite hotel in Mexico has pink shag carpeting. I guess my biggest gripe, as probably evident from above, was the food. It ranged from acceptable to inedible. I was served fetuccini alfredo (alfredo sauce should be cream, butter, parm, and seasoning) that had bits of other pasta dishes in it, partially undercooked (not al dente) pasta, and a sauce that was a roux-based sauce thinned with milk, but mostly chicken stock and topped with something that resembled mozzarella. I had almost raw potatoes served to me at the Lobster House. We went there for lunch and my veggies were incredibly oily and my fish was cooked to oblivion. I don't even know what to say about the eggs served at any of the breakfast places or in room service. It's almost impossible to mess up scrambled eggs, yet they were lumpy and chewy. If you don't get to a restaurant when it opens for dinner, you're in for an hour to 1:30 wait. We returned from a trip to Chichen Itza at 6:30 and had to shower and get dressed (to their dress code) and by the time we got downstairs at 7:15, we wouldn't be eating until clost to 8:30/9:00. I guess that would be alright if we could nibble something over cocktails, but we don't drink; I'm 5 months pregnant. We sought help from the front desk and were seated at Spice within a half hour with apologies. The staff, which many reviewers raved about, was about average for Mexican resorts. Even though we tipped well and often, it didn't really improve our experience. Finally, if you're not out by 7am, you don't get a lounge chair. The "no saving lounge chairs" rule is not enforced. I've found this to be a problem at about 2/3 of the resorts I've visited in Mexico and I guess I just find it to be obnoxious. I'm in Mexico to relax and *gasp* sleep in a bit. This was the most expensive stay we've had in Mexico by a long shot but, I wouldn't return to this resort again. Don't let its fancy facade trick you into booking here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Feb 23, 2011

Great place to stay

We have been here before, so knew to expect good things. Great food!!! Amazing hospitality show by the staff. We love this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Indian restaurant was our favorite this time, followed closely by the French

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top