$542 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Riviera Maya, KM 324-342 Villas Del Mar No.3, Puerto Morelos, 77580
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
444 reviews
Fitting name

This is an excellent resort - and in my opinion a very good value for the money. The rooms are all... See full review

  • Adam H.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Fitting name

This is an excellent resort - and in my opinion a very good value for the money. The rooms are all... See full review

  • Adam H.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Excellence Riviera Cancun, an adults-only resort, is a great location for those who'd like to enjoy this popular travel destination without being overwhelmed by other visitors. Experience an excursion on pristine white sands before floating in the clear nearby waters. The resort's 440 luxury accommodations cater especially to couples and business travelers, with eight international restaurants, beach yoga classes and even a nightclub. Laze around on your balcony hammock and enjoy romantic touches inside the rooms, like king-size beds and marble bathrooms, where you can cool down after hot days beneath the Mexican sun.
Key facts
  • 440 guestrooms
  • 4 floors
  • 9 buildings
  • 6 outdoor pools
  • Dining: Agave, Basmati, Chez Isabelle, The Grill, The Lobster House, Oregano, Las Olas, Spice and Toscana
  • Health club/spa
  • Alegria Nightclub
  • Bars/lounges: Martini, CakeKafe, Blue, Sol, Cielo, Stars, Sports Bar, X Lounge, Revive, La Habana and Casino Bar
  • 2 poolside bars
  • 24-hour room service
  • Business center
  • 5 meeting/conference rooms
Neighborhood
Excellence Riviera Cancun is surrounded by jogging trails that make it easy to get acclimatized to the local scene before diving fully into Quintana Roo. Visit the many Mayan remains in the area, such as Las Ruinas Del Rey near the hotel sector, and El Meco. In addition to typical Mayan Riviera activities like scuba diving, guests who book their stay at Excellence often participate in deep-sea fishing charters, cycling tours, and deep-water dives that allow guests to explore colonial shipwrecks.
Hints and tips
Although Excellence Riviera Cancun is pretty exclusive and only 15 minutes from the airport, it's still best to prepare for regional traffic if you plan on exploration along the coast.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Excellence Club Junior Suite Swim Up Ocean View
All our Junior Ocean View Excellence Swim Out Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi and direct access to the pool. Superior amenities include king beds, full views of the Caribbean Sea, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, Service box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, Iron and Ironing board, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, upgraded room service menu including wine and liquor preference, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks and water. KING BED
Junior Suite Swim up Spa Pool View 668 Sq.Ft
All our Junior Spa Pool View / Swim Out Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi and direct access to the pool. Amenities include king beds, magnificent view of the Spa and pool, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 27" satellite TV, Service box for Room service, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD / DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod Connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Excellence Club Honeymoon Suite Ocean View
The spacious Honeymoon Suites are 1,041 sq. ft. and offers private and furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi for two and full views of the Caribbean Sea. Superior VIP amenities include king bed, wet bar, living room, full marble bathroom with private massage room, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, service Box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing board, pillow menu, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD / DVD player, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service an Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING BED
J S SPA or Pool View
All Junior Spa Pool View Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished balcony. Superior amenities include king beds or two double beds, magnificent view of the Spa and pool, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 27" satellite TV, Service Box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, iron and Ironing board, direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD / DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod Connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence Stationary, pillow menu, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Suite ocean View
All Junior Suites Ocean View are 668 sq. ft. in size. Superior amenities include king bed, magnificent Ocean View,sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and double vanities, 27" satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers, iron and ironing, pillow menu, direct dial phone, high speed internet data port, air-conditioning with in-room climate control,CD / DVD player, radio alarm clock with i-pod connection, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, daily turn down service, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks
Excellence Club Two Story Roof Top Terrace Suites
All Excellence Club Two Story Roof Top Terrace Suites are 668 sq ft in size and offer private furnished balconies with Ocean front View, outdoor Jacuzzi, and 390 sq ft furnished Rooftop Terrace with HydroSpa Pool and shower. Superior amenities include king beds, full views of the Caribbean Sea, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for 2, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, Service box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, Iron and Ironing board direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with IPod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, pillow menu, upgraded room service menu including wine and liquor preference, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft water and snacks. KING BED
Excellence Club Junior Suite Ocean View
All Junior Ocean View Excellence Suites are 668 sq. ft. in size and offers private furnished terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi and direct access to the pool. Superior amenities include king beds, full views of the Caribbean Sea, sitting area, marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi for two, separate shower and water closet with double vanities equipped with hair dryer, scale and vanity mirror, 42" flat screen satellite TV, Service box for Room Service, bathrobes and slippers, Iron and Ironing board direct dial phone, free high speed internet access (data port), air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee / tea maker, daily turn down service and Excellence stationary, pillow menu, upgraded room service menu including wine and liquor preference, refreshed mini bar with beer, juices, soft water and snacks. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

OREGANO
For casual Italian lunch and dinner, Oregano Pizza e Pasta Italian is a popular outdoor gathering spot. Our trattoria-style restaurant serves simple but delicious fare including pizza--from traditional to unpredictable--calzones, pastas and a selection of sweet treats. Think of it as a bit of the Old World on the Riviera Maya. Lunch open from noon - 5:00 pm Dinner open from 6:00 pm - 1:00 am
CHEZ ISABELLE
Our signature French restaurant, is as alluring as a night in Paris. You'll feel transported from the Riviera Maya to the Left Bank as you choose among savory hors d'oeuvres, mouth-watering entrees and desserts that live up to the French culinary reputation. Open for Dinner
BARCELONA
We serve breakfast and lunch on buffet, and for dinner you will be able to taste the world famous mediterranean cusine. A la carte for dinner. No reservation required. BREAKFAST Dress code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap and undershirt with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the access with sleeveless undershirt (tank shirt), in bathing suit and humid clothes; Obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. LUNCH Dress Code: Shorts, bermuda, wrap and undershirts with sleeve cuts. It is not permitted the access in sleeveless undershirt (tank shirt), in bathing suit and with humid clothes; obligatory the use of shoes semi closed, slippers or sandals. DINNER Dress code: Gentlemen-casual elegance: Use of long pants is required, shirt with sleeves and neck, shoes closed or dress sandals; Ladies-casual elegance: It is required long pants or skirt, night shoes or elegant sandals; It is not permitted the access to the restaurant in shorts, or undershirt with or sleeveless.
THE GRILL
For lunch, The Grill at Excellence Riviera Cancun serves up an a la carte menu of hearty salads, sandwiches, burgers and wraps in a giant thatch-roof palapa. For alfresco dinner, the sizzle of prime steaks, chicken and shrimp searing on an open flame tips you off that you're in for an exceptional meal. Lunch open from noon - 6:00 pm Dinner open from 6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
THE LOBSTER HOUSE
The Lobster House serves up tasty breakfast and lunch with tableside service. For dinner, the glow of soft lanterns and reflection of our meandering pool turns the restaurant into a wonderful atmosphere for all things lobster. This is the place on the Riviera Maya for exquisite shellfish dishes prepared to your tastes. Breakfast open from 9:00 am - noon Lunch open from 12:30 pm - 3:00 pm Dinner open from 6:30 pm - 11:00pm
SPICE
Step into the world of pan-Asian delights with exotic specialties from Japan, China, Vietnam and Thailand. If you like Japanese iron griddle cooking, cozy Teppanyaki rooms are the place to delight your senses as talented chefs prepare your meal right in front of you. Open for Dinner
TOSCANA
Buon Appetito at Toscana Restaurant, where the wondrous flavors of Italy come alive. You'll discover inventive spins on traditional favorites. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet-style. For dinner, enjoy pasta selections, prepared as you like them.... and meat and seafood dishes infused with fresh ingredients and artfully prepared to five star standards. Save room for dessert. Breakfast open from 7 am - 11 am Lunch open from noon - 4:00 pm Dinner open from 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
AGAVE
Enjoy authentic Mexican specialties grilled, sauted or marinated. Your choice of romantic indoor seating or outdoors under the moonlight in our hacienda-style courtyard. Tableside mariachi entertainment completes your perfect Mexican evening. Open for Dinner
BASMATI
Riviera Cancun's newest resort restaurant. Basmati specializes in the regional dishes of India's North-West frontier, mixing up tangy herbs, spices and cooking techniques against a dramatic backdrop. Open for Dinner
LAS OLAS
Enjoy the ocean, sun and a bite at Las Olas snack grill. Located on the beach with selection of fast food, salads, wood-oven pizzas and grilled favorites. Open for Lunch

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Excellence Riviera Cancun has over 19,695 sq. ft. of dedicated meeting and function space; "De Grand Ballroom" offers 5,920 sq. ft. of freestanding of flexible space as it divides into three sections. Additionally, the Excellence Riviera Cancun also offers: 2 breakout rooms with 775 sq., 3,000 sq. ft. of pre-function space located right outside the Grand Ballroom and an outstanding outdoor venue including pool side reception space, private ocean front 10,000 sq. terraces and a spectacular beach for private cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (444)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
444 out of 444
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stew65
Business
Pittsboro, NC
Sep 3, 2013

More than I expected

Wonderful experience. Resort outstanding, rooms clean and comfortable, staff extremely helpful. Way more than I expected. Food was very good, but not great, and that was the only very minor complaint we had. Would go back in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Mayan ruins!! There are numerous choices, all some distance from the hotel, but worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beachbum texas
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 28, 2013

beautiful!

beautiful place, best food at an all inclusive we have ever had in Mexico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

catamaran ride at the hotel was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kathy and frank
Business
staten island
Jul 12, 2013

excellence is excellent

everything was perfect.the staff could not have been friendlier or more courteous.from the management on down,everyone was wonderful.also the food was great with many restaurant choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikeJD
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 24, 2013

Terrific value

This was our second time at this resort with the previous time being 3 years ago. The staff is fantastic. Very responsive and work hard to make sure everything goes smoothly. They plan fun activities and make you feel very welcome. I would highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tasha19
Business
chicago
Jun 20, 2013

honeymoon!!!

great hotel and service! would recommend it to honeymooners and couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GingerUT
Business
SLC
Jun 4, 2013

Great Resort

Excellence Riviera is a great resort - only 20minutes from the airport - the rooms are huge - the mini bars are fully stocked with free drinks and snacks. The Asian and Indian restaurants are great for dinner, but oddly the mexican restaurant is lacking The biggest complaint I have is that the "Jacuzzis" look like hot tubs - the bubbles inviting you in for a relaxing soak - but really they are just as cold as the pool. So if you get cooler or rainy weather like we did don't expect to stay warm in the jacuzzi scattered around the pools When the rain started the staff went brought out games and passed appertizers and did a great job keep everyone happy while we all hide from the downpour Overall this is a nice place to spend a vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Basmati and Spice were delicious - I definitely recommend going to each at least once for dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ddr from Dallas
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel, but will NEVER return!!!!!

My husband and I are seasoned travelers having been to Mexico at least twice a year for 20 years. Excellence's grounds are impeccable, with many beautiful pool areas and the staffs at the bars and restaurants are friendly and very attentive. Our room, although well-appointed had problems, which the management refused to fix. Our air-conditioner was broken for the entire trip (8 days) and despite six phone calls to maintenance and the management, it was never fixed. We realize that the air-conditioning in Mexico is never as good as the states, but all it did was blow hot air. A couple we met gave us a thermometer and the temperature in our room never went below 78 degrees F. The first two times we complained, they did send maintenance, but all they did was lower the thermostat, which did nothing. Twice we asked to be moved and twice we were blown off. Our refrigerator was broken as well so we could not even get a bottle of cold water to help us through the miserable nights. Getting our room cleaned was another problem. We left our room each day around 9 AM and would return around 3 PM, but could not relax because we had to call for a maid and wait up to 2 hours for them to come clean the room. We could not even take a shower because we had not towels and each day we begged for extra towels that never came. Getting toilet paper was a problem and twice had to borrow some from our neighbors. Even though a copy of this review was emailed to Excellence on May 25th, we have not heard anything, not even an apology, especially given that Excellence is very expensive, they should have put us in a different room, even if it was a step up, they should have made it right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FamBamVacay 2013
Business
New Jersey
May 20, 2013

Family Getaway

This resort is located very close to the airport, approx 20 mins so the commute is great! The food is wonderful although we would have liked to see more variety at breakfast as well as more vegetarian options from all the different restaurants since some of the guest we traveled with were vegetarian. However, the dishes that were available we flavorful and delicious. Entertainment was by far one of the highlights of each night there. From their MJ show to Madonna to even local artist. Although it is all inclusive it was apparent that if you tipped certain waiters extra, they would frequent your area more often. We tipped a dollar for every drink we ordered but there were times like lunch when the waiters weren't great(ie we ordered chicken burgers on two separate occasions and both were given beef burgers, not sure if they just didnt have the chicken burgers) and made us want to not tip. Restaurants- Agave was ok nothing spectacular, Basmati was great, Toscana was great, Spice was nothing too amazing, Oregano was ok. We never got to try Chez Isabelle so not sure how that was. Be prepared to wait since there are no reservations. Because we wanted to make sure we made it to the show every night we usually left our rooms for dinner around 7pm. Also, the pool seats get taken ASAP. As early as 8am. So if all you want to do is sit by the pool, get up early. Beach seats were usually always available. The hotel staff were always very pleasant and respectful. Overall this vacation spot is great. Great for family, great for couples. I would definitely come back. I gave it 4 stars and not 5 because 5 would mean EVERYTHING was perfect including the food options which unfortunately werent always great. Other than that it was an amazing getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I mentioned a few tips along my review, please read them

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Lover33
Business
Texas
May 18, 2013

Great resort

Overall had a great time. We are a couple in our 20's. The wait to checkin was longer than we waited at the airport for customs or to get our luggage, so that was a little disappointing. Pros: Some (not all) employees were willing to do anything for you! Very peaceful resort Good selection of food and drinks Lots of pools Good amount of chairs around pools and on beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kollman
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
May 11, 2013

Fabulous honeymoon location

Beautiful room with the best service possible! I would recommend this resort to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top