$378 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Riviera Maya, KM 324-342 Villas Del Mar No.3, Puerto Morelos, 77580

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
493 out of 493
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunshine and blue sky
Business
Nebraska
Mar 26, 2014

Third times a charm in Mexico???

Enjoyed our visit to the Excellence-our first time. Those on vacation from Europe, Canada and fellow Americans were wonderful and enjoyed visiting with. them. We had a great time making new friends. We enjoyed the Valentine's celebration. We had a fabulous experience. Staff did a wonderful job. Room service-staff and food were great. Remember to tip them... We enjoyed great weather and getting away from COLD weather...10 day stay was perfect for us. We missed INTERACTIVE evening entertainment. We missed having a cigar bar as at another previous resort visited. Suggestions include karaoke, later evening bands which relate to differing age groups after 10 p.m. hours... Food was enjoyed at the Indian, Lobster and Oriental settings. Great entertainment provided mid afternoon and needed more of it where we saw the greatest interactive crowds. Volleyball was a blast...Zumba was exhilarating. We would rate our experience 3.75-4.00. Suggestions include having softer pillows. Computers were inconsistent as had some difficulty accessing. Front staff was friendly upon arrival but could improve on continued friendliness. Improvement could be made on communication tools provided nightly to each room...we weren't always sure of activities available during afternoon hours. Variety of food and entertainment was great outdoors at lunchtime...couldn't readily find area for bike tour...missed some activities by my own fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Bring plenty of sunscreen. It is expensive to buy on resort...bring plenty of US dollars for tipping...Confirm transportation with your travel site from airport to resort and back...COMMUNICATE needs and expect results. SERVICE is IMPORTANT. Limited shopping at resort. Playa is a great place to visit off site...ask resort about taxi cost/return.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lilninja
Business
Oak Lawn ,IL
Mar 23, 2014

Best vacation ever!

The Excellence Resort in Riviera Maya is beyond excellent and exceeded all my expectations. The resort was well maintained and fully staffed with helpful staff. The food was excellent and there are many restaurants to choose from. The entertainment was top notch as well. I cannot find one thing to complain about!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunshine and blue sky
Business
Nebraska
Mar 17, 2014

Mixed review

We had a fabulous vacation with many new cherished friendships and memories...aside from transportation issues to and from the airport with mixed feelings about front desk staff, we had a wonderful experience. Those vacationing here were open and friendly and HAPPY. Room service/staff were excellent with wonderful choices to enjoy after an event filled day...we really enjoyed the Indian, Lobster and SPICE restaurants. The buffet was great too. Shopping was scarce on property. More 9-12 p.m. bands/karaoke/piano bars would be a nice complement to the current entertainment. Valentine's dinner was amazing as well as the wonderful entertainment that evening. Missed having a Cigar bar to lounge in during evening hours. Would have liked more usable pillows for sleep and a better communication tool handed out daily at night-it did not cover enough information for next day activities. Rooms were great. Would rate 3.75.+/close to a 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sweets and eggs are not as we would have in the USA. Please drink bottled water and rinse with after brushing teeth. Enjoy the variety of drinks available in the computer area...order double portions of your entree the second time around if you return to the same restaurant...ENJOY the moments

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex and Dana
Business
Chicago
Mar 1, 2014

Excellence

This place was amazing. The rooms are just like the pictures. The resort runs like a well oiled machine because of the friendly hard working staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Chez Isabelle and Lobster House are the best for dining out. Ajillo Shrimp for room service.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zuk831
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ
Feb 16, 2014

fabulous couple's vacation

Top notch with the best people serving you. Simply Excellence

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rockchaulk
Business
Kansas City, KS
Feb 11, 2014

Perfect!

My wife and I were there five days and four nights and our stay was perfect in everyway. The staff, facilities, beach,and arrangements were all excellent. We sought to just relax and did just that. While the pool was not heated, which would have been desirable in early February, it is understandable given its size, and the ocean offered a swimmable alternative. It is one of the most beautiful hotels we have stayed at in many years. At 82 years of age, I have been traveling internationally since the early 1950's and definitely give this hotel a thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The French restaurant is very good.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve shtomkite
Business
Long beach
Feb 9, 2014

Adults rejoice

Just wonderful. Could use improvement with check in/out service. Way too slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aerobloom
Business
newton, Massachusetts
Feb 3, 2014

Great relaxing vacation

This was our 2nd time at the Excellence Riviera Maya resort, and it was excellent! The room was in Building 2, which was fine, but next time we would like to be nearer to the beach area. Service was exceptional in all areas....our server at breakfast, Walton, was terrific! The 2 bartenders at the Martini Bar (a must) were Jorge and Luis-again, fantastic! We wanted a relaxing vacation, and we got it! We walked the beach every day, ate very well(the food was terrific), and had a wonderful trip! Highly recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The best food was at Spice, the Asian restaurant-try the grouper-,Basmati, the Indian restaurant, and Chez Isabelle. The Mexican was ok, but the hostess makes you wait for no reason. The beach spot, Las Olas, was good every day...different but yummy! Enjoy!

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AU Chicago Mom
Business
Chicago area
Jan 29, 2014

An "Excellent" Experience

We have been to the Excellence Playa Mujeres, and this time tried Riviera Cancun--which I think we prefer. The beach is nicer, and affords more opportunities for walking. Food is wonderful--how can people complain? Nearly every vacation where you are on your own for food, you're going to find a meal or two that are average, or worse. There were no meals worse than average--Barcelona buffet breakfast comes to mind--and all are included in the cost of your room. Several meals were Excellent--Chez Isabelle, Spice--though this was nearly ruined by noise from large groups--, breakfast at Lobster House. Bars are numerous and high quality, pool area gorgeous with lots of chairs and places to relax. Yes, water is on the cool side, but still lovely. The spa alone is reason enough to return--each experience is sublime. In addition, there are numerous yoga, pilates, and other fitness classes offered in the spa--with many concluding with a quick 5-minute massage and stretch from the instructor. Great variety of ages--from late 20's to 80's. Entertainment is enjoyable--but you can't please everyone. Only detractor is the boisterous "frat-house" Americans who occasionally mar elegant dining experiences. We'd return in a heartbeat, and plan to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaybald
Business
Portsmouth, NH
Jan 29, 2014

such a great staff

Every member of their staff was awesome. Room was very nice and had a great time. I do wish they had a casual food area as they don't want you to eat anywhere in your swim trunks. But I did anyway a few times and no one said anything. Channel 37 and 38 in the rooms are memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Long drive. Playa Del Carmen was truly disappointing and almost nothing interested me. A lot of mass produced junk. I really wanted to bring back something unique.

Back to menu Return to top