$381 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only, Gourmet All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum Kantenah, River Maya, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
53 reviews
There is no better way to experience Mexico!!

Just the right balance of authenticity and comfort. The food stands out as excellent for an... See full review

  • Mike and Susan
  • Feb 15, 2014
Great stay...

Had a great stay at EDSS. Food was EXCELLENT for an AI. It is about an hour and 15 minutes south of... See full review

  • jarv
  • Jun 16, 2014
Barefoot luxury plus gourmet delights in Mexico
El Dorado Seaside Suites is a romantic beach getaway on the Mexican Riviera Maya, offering a blissful, pampered experience in an idyllic setting. This all-inclusive resort features several dining options, including the savory Vida Garden Grill with its award-winning wine list. In addition to 6 restaurants, find extensive facilities such as a luxury spa which offers massages, reflexology and beauty treatments. El Dorado Seaside Suites also has a swimming pool with bar, meeting rooms, banquet facilities and nightly entertainment.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Romantic beachfront setting
  • Full service spa and beauty salon
  • 6 on-site restaurants
El Dorado Seaside Suites Rooms
Set in landscaped grounds along the beach, El Dorado Seaside Suites comprises 22 buildings with 282 guest rooms or suites. All-inclusive options feature meals, gourmet snacks and drinks, along with non-motorized water sports and evening shows. Guest rooms range from Junior Suites with views of the coastline or lazy river, to Beachfront Jacuzzi and Honeymoon suites featuring private oceanfront pools or Jacuzzis. All rooms are decorated in a modern Mexican style with pastel colors, billowing canopies and marble or tiled floors. There are sofas and seating areas plus satellite televisions, DVD players and complimentary bottled water. Bathrooms come with jetted tubs, bathrobes and complimentary toiletries. Internet access is available in public areas (fees apply).
Things To Do:
  • Playa del Carmen (26.4 mi/42.4 km) 
  • Mayan ruins at Tulum (27.7 mi/44.6 km)
Policies and Fees
  • Internet access (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.4568 -87.2682
Area served
Conveniently located just south of Puerto Aventuras, you will find it easy to access the ferry terminal to Cozumel Island and Isla Mujeres, Cancun Airport, downtown Playa del Carmen, Tulum Mayan Ruins and many other local attractions.
Nearby airports
CUN - Cancun International Airport
Area description
Breathtaking with a hint of casual elegance, it is no surprise Forbes.com named El Dorado Seaside Suites among the most romantic resorts in the world. Spectacular ocean views and creative gourmet cuisine are a few of the luxuries you will find here. Each of the six restaurants whips up culinary excellence with the likes of internationally inspired menus featuring Latino fusion cuisine, contemporary Italian and Pan Asian dishes. Of course, you wont have to wait in buffet lines since all of our gourmet restaurants serve a' la carte. Suites with direct access to the beach lend to the resort's charming appeal.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only, Gourmet All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only, Gourmet All Inclusive Rooms

Swim Up Jacuzzi Junior Suite
Guests can step right into a lazy river that flows in front of their suite and connects to a pool.Decorated in a blend of contemporary and authentic Mexican style. Equipped with air conditioning, king size bed and balcony or terrace with a view to our lush gardens and step directly into a lazy river that flows and connect to a pool. Amenities & Services: Jacuzzi, Color satellite TV, Daily stocked mini bar (water, beer, soft drinks) 24 hour room service, bathrobes, shower, Coffee/Tea Maker, DVD player, Hair Dryer, Safety deposit box, Direct dialing telephone. DVD's available 24 hours a day with guest services. All rooms are non smoking rooms.*All suites feature a Jacuzzi for two inside the suite.
Ocean View Junior Suite with Jacuzzi
Junior Suite with beautiful views of the Mexican Caribbean Sea. Featuring: Mexican decoration, air conditioning, ceiling fan, king size bed, marble or Mexican title floors, private bath, shower, color satellite TV, DVD player, Servi-bar, Coffee Maker Machine, hair dryer, safety deposit box, iron and iron board, a living room area with sofa and amenities kit. Every Suite has a terrace with chairs. All rooms are non smoking.*All suites feature a Jacuzzi for two inside the suite.
Oceanfront Junior Suite with Jacuzzi
Junior Suite directly facing the Mexican Caribbean Sea. Featuring: Mexican decoration, air conditioning, ceiling fan, king size bed, marble or Mexican title floors, private bath, shower, color satellite TV, DVD player, Servi-bar, Coffee Maker Machine, hair dryer, safety deposit box, iron and iron board, a living room area with sofa and amenities kit. Every Suite has a terrace with chairs. All rooms are non smoking.*All suites feature a Jacuzzi for two inside the suite.
Beachfront Jacuzzy Jr Suite
Suites include a king-sized bed, are located on the ground floor, and all face the beach. Featuring: Mexican decoration, air conditioning, ceiling fan, king size bed, marble or Mexican title floors, private bath, shower, color satellite TV, DVD player, Servi-bar, Coffee Maker Machine, hair dryer, safety deposit box, iron and iron board, a living room area with sofa and amenities kit. Every Suite has a terrace with chairs. All rooms are non smoking.*All suites feature a Jacuzzi for two inside the suite.
Honeymoon Ocean Front Suite
Particularly appealing to newlyweds and couples, our Honeymoon Suites afford guests the privilege of a private ocean-front pool, fresh flower arrangement, a bottle of wine from our selected private vineyards, complimentary champagne, daily fresh fruits, Gourmet Inclusive bites every night, turndown service, aromatherapy, daily newspaper and private beach bed topped by thatched palapas and draped with sheer linen sheets perfect for watching the sunrise.
Run of the House
With enticing garden or coconut palm tree views. Featuring: Mexican decoration, air conditioning, ceiling fan, king size or double bed, marble or Mexican title floors, private bath, shower, color satellite TV, DVD player, Servi-bar, Coffee Maker Machine, hair dryer, safety deposit box, iron and iron board, a living room area with sofa and amenities kit. Every Suite has a terrace with chairs. All rooms are non smoking rooms.*All suites feature a Jacuzzi for two inside the suite.
Jacuzzi, Junior Suite
Romantically decorated suites, and all with enticing garden or coconut palm tree views. Featuring: Mexican decoration, air conditioning, ceiling fan, king size or double bed, marble or Mexican title floors, private bath, shower, color satellite TV, DVD player, Servi-bar, Coffee Maker Machine, hair dryer, safety deposit box, iron and iron board, a living room area with sofa and amenities kit. Every Suite has a terrace with chairs. All rooms are non smoking rooms.*All suites feature a Jacuzzi for two inside the suite.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
El Dorado Seaside Suites is famous for its romantic dinner on the beach that can easily be an incredibly memorable group event.The Gourmet Inclusive, that is the signature of all Karisma Hotels, extends the greatest hospitality to all our visitors, and certainly our distinguished group guests. Meeting facilities are for a maximum of a 120 pax.

Dining

Sandwicherie
Wood-fired oven pizzas served to order, and a selection of Angus burgers, gourmet bites among other succulent Mexican "botana" preparations. Open air terrace serving a la carte favorites for breakfast from 6:00 am to 10:00 am and lunch from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm. Sample menu: Warm vegetable salad with fresh cheese perfumed with rosemary and olive oil served in papillote/ Chapata sandwich with rosemary perfumed leg of lamb, mint mayonnaise and tomato confit, accompanied by onion compote/El Dorado Angus burger served on chapata bread, crispy bacon with mixed Blue and Manchego cheese/Crispy fried burrito of seafood with poblano chili, onion, sweet corn and panela cheese/Seafood pizza with squids, shrimps and sea scallops perfumed with rosemary and basil and gratinated with mozzarella cheese.
Arrecifes International Restaurant
At Arrecifes, guests' appetites are met with enjoyable tastes from all over the world. With a great chef's menu we offer something for everyone in an elegant atmosphere. Breakfast: 7:00AM - 11:00AM, lunch: 12:30PM - 4:00PM, dinner : 5:30PM - 10:00PM. Reservations not required. No smoking restaurant. Dress code required: Dress shorts or pants, Shirt with sleeves, dress shoes or sandals (no tennis shoes or beach sandals).
Los Cotorros Bar
Bar with swings. Located at the relaxing pool across from the spa. Open: 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Guacamayas Lounge
Come enjoy cold Mexican beers, cheladas, exotic cocktails and aged Tequila while listening to tropical music under a traditional palapa and relaxing on a bar swing, located at the relax pool across from the SPA, open 10:00AM-2:00AM.
La Cantina Bar
Tequila tastery bar with a wide selection of Tequilas. (Inside La Carreta Restaurant). Open from 5:30 pm to 11:00 pm
Colibri Swim Up Bar
Swim-up pool bar offering a variety of drinks. Located next to villa 35. Open: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Swim Up Bar Arrecifes
Swim up bar lively pool bar to enjoy all kinds of drinks, open 9:00AM-6:00PM.
Gaviota Swim Up Bar and Lounge
This swim up bar and relax area is located in the heart of the hotel where one can enjoy the sounds of the waterfall as well as singing birds. Open: 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Vida Garden Grill Restaurant
Honored in 2008 with the Wine Spectator's Awards of Excellence. Vida Garden Grill offers a colorful presentation of Latin fusion grilled cuisine prepared by Chef Casares. We offer a extensive Margarita menu and the wine selection stocks a wide selection that can paired with the Latin cuisine. Wine Director and Sommelier were the craftsmen behind the award-winning. Breakfast from 7:00am to 10:30am Lunch from 12:30pm to 2:30pm Dinner from 5:30 pm to 10:00pm Reservation not required. Non smoking restaurant. Dress code required: Dress shorts or pants, Shirt with sleeves, dress shoes or sandals (no tennis shoes or beach sandals). Sample menu:Breakfast: French toast orange honey, strawberries with saffron and brown sugar cinnamon Lunch: Mahi Mahi Ceviche Acapulco style, marinated with lime served by avocado, tomato, cilantro, cucumber, onion, and Serrano chili Dinner: Cold hot tuna cubes served with tamarind and Meco chili sweet , sour sauce, with alfalfa sprouts and lime
Mia Casa Italian Restaurant
Contemporary Italian Cuisine. Open for dinner a la carte from 5:30 pm to 10:00pm. Air conditioned and outdoor dining opportunities. Reservation not required. Non smoking restaurant. Dress code required: Dress shorts or pants, Shirt with sleeves, dress shoes or sandals (no tennis shoes or beach sandals).Sample menu: Prawns Marie Rose, green salad and a touch of balsamic vinegar/ Fillet of Sole Livornese style with olives and capers/Roast Lamb in nut sauce with mashed potatoe and green salad/Parmesan style rissotto

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only, Gourmet All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only, Gourmet All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed vacationer
Dallas, TX
Sep 7, 2009

Awful!!!!!!!!!!

This had to be the worst vacation that I have ever taken. There was construction going on the whole time, the only good thing was that our room was a little ways down from the rooms being renovated at the time we were there. However, if you were on the beach you could hear all the construction the whole time all day long no matter where you were on the beach because the beach was so tiny and also very rocky. If you are wanting to take walks on the beach.....forget it unless you put some shoes on. The spa staff will also hound you relentlessly on the beach, the whole day to get massages and to make an appointment for a massage. There was also a man with a whistle standing in the ocean ALL day pumping sand back to the beach area with a very noisy generator....very noisy and annoying. The food was suppose to be gourmet.....more like gourmet dog food. It was awful! Most nights we starved and waited for the breakfast pastries the next morning. They only serve I think two different kinds of beer and a couple of mixed drinks...if you are looking for variety with your food and drinks, then this is not the place for you. If you want a spot on the tiny beach, set your alarm for about 6 so you can run out and get a spot, if you don't do this, you will not get a beach bed or chaise lounge. The spa was so dirty, it was suppose to be relaxing and the whole time all I could think was that I might pick up a disease during my massage. Then they solicit you to buy time shares while you are there, and then get mad at you when you tell them no. I thought this was suppose to be vacation! I will never return to this resort again, I stayed in the Maya Rivera before and the other resort was great, this one fell totally flat and for the price you pay it is robbery!!! Beware!!!! The best part of the whole vacation was getting to the airport to leave back home and we actually got some good food and a Corona.....this was more like a nightmare than a dream vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only, Gourmet All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, ohio
Jan 2, 2011

Only saw the front desk

After arriving to Cancun, the shuttle driver took my boyfriend and I to El Dorado Seaside. The drive was a little over an hour and we were greeted by the front staff. The lady handed me a registration form to fill out. The manager came over and sat down and infoed us that he had some good news and some bad news. He proceeded to tell us that they were overbooked by 10% and did not have a room available for us. We could wait to see if they have a cancellation. We arrived around 6:30pm on December 27th. He offered us a room at their sister resort which was only "25 minutes" away. We were hestant to accept the offer because we did not do any research on the the resort. The manager tried to bring up reviews on the Internet but he was able to because the connection was too slow. He blamed it on being out in the jungle. A couple arrived shortly after we did and they were able to check in without any problems. This was very unacceptable for this establishment to advise us that a room that we booked and paid for was unavailable. If this was th case we should've been told prior instead of spending over 2 hours in the car. The 25 minutes turned out to be 45 minutes. I would not recommend this resort due to the lack of organization and lack of customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only, Gourmet All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 6, 2008

Not prepared to accomodate a group

When we first checked in they gave us keys to a room that was occupied and needless to say the couple looked a little surprised when we walked in. We also received two double beds versus a king. That was just the beginning. We had 3 other couples with us and all the dining areas were not able to accomodate us together. I received food poisoning from the Asian restaraunt. I could not recommend this property to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only, Gourmet All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 6, 2008

Not prepared to accomodate a group

When we first checked in they gave us keys to a room that was occupied and needless to say the couple looked a little surprised when we walked in. We also received two double beds versus a king. That was just the beginning. We had 3 other couples with us and all the dining areas were not able to accomodate us together. I received food poisoning from the Asian restaraunt. I could not recommend this property to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only, Gourmet All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, ohio
Jan 2, 2011

Only saw the front desk

After arriving to Cancun, the shuttle driver took my boyfriend and I to El Dorado Seaside. The drive was a little over an hour and we were greeted by the front staff. The lady handed me a registration form to fill out. The manager came over and sat down and infoed us that he had some good news and some bad news. He proceeded to tell us that they were overbooked by 10% and did not have a room available for us. We could wait to see if they have a cancellation. We arrived around 6:30pm on December 27th. He offered us a room at their sister resort which was only "25 minutes" away. We were hestant to accept the offer because we did not do any research on the the resort. The manager tried to bring up reviews on the Internet but he was able to because the connection was too slow. He blamed it on being out in the jungle. A couple arrived shortly after we did and they were able to check in without any problems. This was very unacceptable for this establishment to advise us that a room that we booked and paid for was unavailable. If this was th case we should've been told prior instead of spending over 2 hours in the car. The 25 minutes turned out to be 45 minutes. I would not recommend this resort due to the lack of organization and lack of customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only, Gourmet All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 9, 2008

Hotel

Hotel was under updated construction . My room was right next to the work being done. It would of been nice if I would ok known . I would of stayed someplace else. The hotel and service was great however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa Del Carmen

Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only, Gourmet All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shakopee, MN
Feb 23, 2011

Very Romantic!!

This resort is extremely romantic and more secluded than most others. The beach is beautiful with comfortable beach beds and chairs. Very relaxing! The staff is accomodating to any request although there was a little language barrier sometimes. We had such a wonderful time and would recommend it for honeymooners or couples!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only, Gourmet All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Dec 30, 2010

A few complaints

The property & experience were great overall. The room was lacking quality. We stayed in a garden view suite. The pools weren't heated which made swimming a very cold experience in December. The linens and towels were rough. The screen door to the balcony was falling off it's track. Our toilet broke twice. That said, we didn't spend that much time in the room that it ruined the trip. The staff/service was excellent. The restaurants were great; our favorites were Vida, Mia Casa and La Careta. Our stay at the El Dorado Royale was superior to this property in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only, Gourmet All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kwsmithphoto
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 28, 2011

"right sized" resort, great location

We were there from 2/20-2/26. The resort is the perfect size - not so small that you don't have enough food choices, not so big that you're overwhelmed with people and the sheer size of the place. It has a small hotel vibe with big hotel services. The staff is super friendly (tip them for every meal and drink - most people don't but they really appreciate it). We have stayed there twice and both times received excellent service, despite them having to cut back on staff and reduce their pay to weather the recession. The rooms are quite nice, setup like townhomes with exterior entrances and they all face the ocean - which you can't really because of all the palm trees, but if the waves are up you can hear them from your room, which is nice. If you like to snorkel, their beach is great for that but unfortunately on this trip, it was rather windy night and day, so the visibility was poor and the surfline wasn't confined to the reef - white caps and choppy water every day ruled out most water sports. Fortunately, Xel-Ha Park is a short trip away and they are in a protected inlet which has superb snorkeling. The hotel is within 15-30 minutes from virtually everything - Tulum, Playa Del Carmen, Xel-Ha, Akumel Bay etc. so it's the perfect locale for exploring the best parts of Riviera Maya. Recommend a rental car so you can move about on your schedule. Taxi's are expensive so it's well worth paying just a bit more for your own car. The food is mostly all quite good - "Gourmet" might be pushing it, but they do a very nice job with most everything except the asian food, IMHO. TIP: if you like tequila, they used to have Don Julio on the bar shelf. Now they stash it so you have to ask. If they actually run out, which happened one day, they do have a 100% Agave tequila on the shelf that isn't too bad. But if you just ask for a margarita you won't get it unless you specify it. Your body will thank you in the morning. Overall, despite the minor cutbacks since our last visit in 2008, the resort is terrific! We'll be back again, I am sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Play Del Carmen. El Dorado has nice little shows but they can't compete with everything that's available in PDC. It's a super nice little town with lot's of things to do, day or night, but you gotta pay, of course.

Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only, Gourmet All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Inver Grove
Oct 7, 2008

My review of El Dorado Seaside Suites- Adults Only All Inclusive

It was a great experience at Seaside suites. The only downfall was we upgraded to the swim up pool and there was construction Monday-Saturday 8am-6pm on the rooms right behind our swim up. We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del Carmen has a lot of souvenir shopping and is about a 20 min. cab ride. $20 one way in American dollars

Back to menu Return to top