$512 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

El Dorado Maroma a Gourmet Inclusive Resort, by Karisma - Adults Only

4 stars
Carretera Cancun - Tulum, Km 55.3 Riviera Maya Mplo.De Solidaridad, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
30 reviews
Secluded and Subdued Adult Getaway

My girlfriend and I celebrated her birthday here in early May at the recommendation of a friend who... See full review

  • LAbywayofChiTown
  • May 7, 2014
Romantic Escape!

This is an intimate resort that is friendly, yet quiet. The rooms have thatched roofs and one... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 16, 2011
All-inclusive, adult-only, and beachfront resort in Riviera Maya

El Dorado Maroma Beachfront Gourmet All Inclusive Adults Only invites beach lovers and travelers to luxurious accommodations and state-of-the-art facilities while in a vacation in this side of Mexico. This all-suites hotel has 99 units, all appointed with sophisticated comforts to make sure all is well while you are away from home. Diners can sample Asian-inspired cuisines at Kiyoko, traditional Italian flavours at Mio Cucina Italiana, tasty snacks at Papitos Gourmet Cucina, and Mexican and Caribbean specialties at Sabores. Patrons can also enjoy delicious beverages and refreshments at "24" Swim-Up Bar, Rick's Bar, and Sabores & Terrace Swim-Up Bar.

At El Dorado Maroma Beachfront Gourmet All Inclusive Adults Only, visitors will have lots of things to do, that you do not need to go out of the resort! Vacationers can experience different water activities like paddle boating, kayaking and snorkelling, go parasailing and have zip lining at Marina Maroma Adventures, or have fun in the outdoor pools, fitness center, and spa. For other conveniences, car and shuttle rentals, and concierge are on offer.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • All-inclusive resort in a beachfront setting
  • Four restaurants and three bars as dining options
  • Marina Maroma Adventures for outdoor escapades

El Dorado Maroma Beachfront Gourmet All Inclusive Adults Only rooms:

The 99 suites at El Dorado Maroma Beachfront Gourmet All Inclusive Adults Only have magnificent Mexican Caribbean views and come equipped with coffee/tea maker, iron/iron board, DVD/CD player, mini bar, radio alarm clock, satellite LCD TV, Jacuzzi, terrace/balcony, and private outdoor shower. Some units are fitted with safe deposit box, and living area. Mi Hotelito Suites are positioned in a beachfront setting.

Things to do:

  • El Manglar Golf Course (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Avenida 5 (10 mi/16 km)
  • Riviera Art Gallery (10 mi/16 km)
  • Parque 28 de Julio (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Xcaret Park (15 mi/24 km)

Hotel Map

20.7574 -86.958
Area served
El Dorado Maroma, a Beachfront Resort, by Karisma is located directly on the spectacular "MAROMA BEACH", in Riviera Maya, Mexico, is one of the top beaches in the world by independent reviewers, including Travel Discovery Channel.
Nearby airports
Cancun Airport-40 minutes
Area description
Deemed one of the most romantic boutique resorts, the upscale and intimate 72-room luxury property features all Jacuzzi Jr. Suites with breathtaking ocean views. The Hotel is just 40 Minutes south of Cancun Airport, 35 minutes south of downtown Cancun, 10 minutes north of Playa del Camen and 15 minutes from the Playacar Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Dorado Maroma a Gourmet Inclusive Resort, by Karisma - Adults Only also booked these hotels.

El Dorado Maroma a Gourmet Inclusive Resort, by Karisma - Adults Only Rooms

Run of the House
1 king bed. Pillow menu. Access via exterior corridors. Balcony. Ocean view. Separate sitting area. Desk. In-room safe. Cable television service. Satellite television service. Cable/satellite television channels. Television. DVD player. Direct-dial phone. Phone. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathroom phone. Bathrobes. Slippers. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Air conditioning. Non-smoking only.
Swim Up Jacuzzi Suite
1 king bed. Pillow menu. Access via exterior corridors. Balcony. Ocean view. Separate sitting area. Desk. In-room safe. Cable television service. Satellite television service. Cable/satellite television channels. Television. DVD player. Direct-dial phone. Phone. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Jetted tub. Separate bathtub and shower. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathroom phone. Bathrobes. Slippers. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking only.
Mi Hotelito Ocean Front Suite
1 king bed. Pillow menu. Access via exterior corridors. Balcony. Ocean view. Separate sitting area. Desk. In-room safe. Cable television service. Satellite television service. Cable/satellite television channels. Television. DVD player. Direct-dial phone. Phone. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathroom phone. Bathrobes. Slippers. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Air conditioning. Non-smoking only.
Infinity Pool Jacuzzi Suite
1 king bed. Pillow menu. Access via exterior corridors. Balcony. Ocean view. Separate sitting area. Desk. In-room safe. Cable television service. Satellite television service. Cable/satellite television channels. Television. DVD player. Direct-dial phone. Phone. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Jetted tub. Separate bathtub and shower. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathroom phone. Bathrobes. Slippers. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking only
Honeymoon Suite
1 king bed. Access via exterior corridors. Balcony. Ocean view. Separate sitting area. Desk. In-room safe. Satellite television service. Cable/satellite television channels. Television. DVD player. Direct-dial phone. Phone. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathroom phone. Bathrobes. Slippers. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Welcome amenities. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Beach Palapa
Providing relaxing lunches every day at the Beach Palapa offers delicious and amazing cook outs like a Skewer Festival, Potato Festival, Taco Bar, Fish Market, BBQ, Paella and Mexican Flavours. No dress code required. Lunch: 12:00pm to 2:00pm
Bar 24 Swim-Up Bar Located
Located next to the Mi hotelito beachfront section, this ocean front bar serves Mexican beers, an exciting variety of tropical drinks, cheladas prepared to taste and healthy energiting drinks in a laid back Caribbean atmosphere. Open from 10:00am to 6:00pm
Sabores & Terrace Swim up Bar
Sea front Bar with an exciting varietyof tropical drinks, Mexican beers, healthy energiting drinks and cheladas prepared to taste in a relaxing atmosphere
Kiyoko-Oriental Restaurant
Where the sea meets the sky a unique heaven arises. Kiyoko a la carte restaurant is a mystical combination of heaven and ocean. Here you will experience Asian-inspired cuisine served in the most creative ways. Sushi, sashimi, tepanyaki, dumplings, and other delicious main courses are enjoyed in this tasteful setting. Dinner from 5:30PM to 10:00 PM. Non smoking restaurant. Reservation not required. Dress Code: please complie with our -Casual Elegance- drees code in all restaurants. Sample menu: Sushi Kiyoko (Filled with avocado, cucumber and wrapped with marinated eel and sesame)/ Sushi Eye of Tiger (with salmon, shrimps, cucumber, egg crepe, masago and sesame)/Flank steak Patay with Soya sprouts and water chesnuts/ Our special Teppanyaki show, your choice of flank steak, fresh salmon, shrimps, mahi mahi, chicken breast and oriental sesame oil vegetables and soya sauce, garnished with fried or steam rice.
Sabores-New Mexican Caribbean Cuisine
A la Carte Restaurant Serving power breakfast to make you ready for an adventurous day; irresistible Mexican & Caribbean specialties with international flair, as well as the most exclusive fresh seafood dishes caught daily for the travelling epicurean. Chef uses the latest culinary techniques to make every bite an unforgettable experience. Breakfast from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM, Lunch from 12:00 PM to 4:00 PM, Dinner from 5:30 PM to 10:00 PM. Italian Night: 6:00pm to 10:00Pm (Thurdays only). Mexican Night: 6:00pm to 10:00 pm (Saturdays only). Non smoking restaurant. Reservation not required. Dress Code: please complie with our -Casual Elegance- drees code in all restaurants. Sample menu: Breakfast: Apple pancakes with cinnamon accompanied with banana mousse/ Scrambled eegs with mole poblano sauce, fresh cheese and sour cream. Dinner: Shrimp taco "pastor" style/ Mahi Mahi filet zarandeado style with banana cream and fritters
Mio-Cuccina Italiana
Intimate Italian dining with a traditonal approach featuring creative cuisine from Italy's sunny coastal and island areas. Enjoy a variety of Ocean Fresh Fish Carpaccios, Fruti di Mare and exquisite Pasta among other succulent dishes and authentic ingredients in a relaxing and romantic atmosphere. Dinner from 5:30 PM to 10:00 PM.Non smoking restaurant. Reservation not required. Dress Code: please complie with our -Casual Elegance- drees code in all restaurants. Sample menu: Apadano cheese risotto with butter cream and black truffle essence/ Vegetables lasagna with zucchini and mushrooms cream sauce gratinade with mozarella cheese and pepperoncino chilli olive oil/ Pork saltimboca with potatoes pure and mushrooms sauteed in romana style/ Angus beef tenderloin with sicilian potato and green pepper demi glase with Barolo wine reduction.
Rick's Bar
Offering a wide selection of national and international premium brands, this classic Mexican ocean front bar allows for relaxation and fun all in one, featuring pool tables, music and great drinks. Open from 6:00 PM to 2:00 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for El Dorado Maroma a Gourmet Inclusive Resort, by Karisma - Adults Only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 30
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Dorado Maroma a Gourmet Inclusive Resort, by Karisma - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LAbywayofChiTown
Los Angeles, California
May 7, 2014

Secluded and Subdued Adult Getaway

My girlfriend and I celebrated her birthday here in early May at the recommendation of a friend who has frequented the Mayan Riviera. I can't say enough how glad we are that we took him up on the referral. This resort is secluded, about 30 minutes south of Cancun and outside the congestion of Playa del Carmen, away from the cluster of other resorts in the area. The customer service was without a doubt exceptional. Everyone we encountered on staff was friendly, helpful and mindful of us having the best experience possible. In many cases, that also meant being left alone to enjoy our beachfront paradise, but within a short distance of helping with whatever we needed. This is a vacation for couples looking for a quiet and romantic getaway. In our late 20ies/mid30ies respectively, we were among the youngest guests at the resort. As a result, there's not much activity on the property after 10pm if that's what you're looking for. Also, be mindful that "all-inclusive" has many exceptions. The staff will work hard to up-sell you on many of the exclusive features not included with the day rate like spa treatments, bottle service, and excursions. We opted out and still enjoyed incredible meals, wonderful "free" drinks at several of the open bars, 24 hour room service, including turn-down service, and many of the other room and property features as advertised. A tucked away gem. I would love to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There are a number of excursions the hotel offers. We did a Tulum/Jungle Adventure through Alltournative, a separate company, that was a bit pricier than the packages offered at the resort, but was very much worth the extra money given all of the cool features that company offers.

Review of El Dorado Maroma a Gourmet Inclusive Resort, by Karisma - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Watered down drinks
CT
Dec 13, 2013

Don't go there !

The septic odor awful. construction noise. dirty pool water. harassed to purchase tours from the hotel staff. Beach destroyed by erosion barriers close to swim area. Slow service typically occurs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to visit water park Xcel-Ha.. good value.

Review of El Dorado Maroma a Gourmet Inclusive Resort, by Karisma - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sulem and Nick
Livermore, California
Nov 6, 2013

Pretty and quiet but not perfect

The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. We had some issues with our room that make this review less than stellar. We paid for a nice room, with the access to the pool right outside our door, which was great! The looks of the room, first impression, and spaciousness were all amazing too. But our bathroom door lock broke the first day, which required a maintenance guy to take apart the lock to get out of the bathroom. Our room phone wasn't working properly, randomly ringing throughout the night with an intercom tone, and our mini fridge wasn't getting restocked, even after we called and requested. Additionally, there was water constantly dripping right outside our room (when the weather was nice) that we had to walk under each time we entered or left our room. These are all minor inconveniences, but for the price we paid, I expected more. The food was great, room service was awesome, and the small size of the resort gave it a comfortable feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of El Dorado Maroma a Gourmet Inclusive Resort, by Karisma - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Apr 5, 2011

Constructive Feedback!

Positives: Fantastic location. Beautiful beach and grounds. Restaurants / Food are excellent with a choice of Japanese, Mexican (authentic not TexMex) and Italian. Quality and presentation of meals was faultless. Massage Man was amazing - genuinely friendly. Negatives: Overbooked (we were transferred to a sister hotel for our first night - apparently this isn't uncommon!). Rooms are clean and nice-enough but perhaps not fitting for a "luxury" resort? (we stayed in the standard room but at $500+ per night you expect better...)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of El Dorado Maroma a Gourmet Inclusive Resort, by Karisma - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Apr 5, 2011

Constructive Feedback!

Positives: Fantastic location. Beautiful beach and grounds. Restaurants / Food are excellent with a choice of Japanese, Mexican (authentic not TexMex) and Italian. Quality and presentation of meals was faultless. Massage Man was amazing - genuinely friendly. Negatives: Overbooked (we were transferred to a sister hotel for our first night - apparently this isn't uncommon!). Rooms are clean and nice-enough but perhaps not fitting for a "luxury" resort? (we stayed in the standard room but at $500+ per night you expect better...)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of El Dorado Maroma a Gourmet Inclusive Resort, by Karisma - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Apr 1, 2011

Very relaxing

We really enjoyed our stay at the El Dorado Maroma. The hotel and the rooms were really beautiful and the staff was lovely, friendly and helpful. The beach was just sooo beautiful, and some of the extras - such as waiter service on the beach were very welcome! There were some teething problems though, and areas in which I could suggest improvements. Firstly the housekeeping was a little temperamental - our room was very clean and lovely, but we got the turn down service on the first night, and no others. Some days our mini bar fridge would be refilled, but not others. The timing of when the room cleaning differed dramatically, so on one day when we wanted to spend the afternoon on our balcony after 2pm, the room wasn't clean and we didn't end up getting it done that day. Also, we felt that whilst a lot of the food was lovely, the menus, including for room service, were a little limited, and the Italian and Japanese restaurants on-site were not that great. One major issue we had was that an error had been made with our booking, and that of a number of other customers on the day we arrived. That meant that we had to spend our 1st night of only 5 in total in a sister hotel, a 15min drive away. We were compensated for this with a free speciality dinner, and a couples massage, but it was still frustrating, as one of our full days was broken up and reduced by the fact that we had to check out of the sister hotel, and back into our original one. Whilst they couldn't have been nicer about the whole thing, it was still a little disappointing when we had spent what we considered to be quite a lot of money, and only had 5 days in total. We would however go back again, but I would probably try to get a slightly better rate, as I think we paid quite a lot! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of El Dorado Maroma a Gourmet Inclusive Resort, by Karisma - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Apr 1, 2011

Very relaxing

We really enjoyed our stay at the El Dorado Maroma. The hotel and the rooms were really beautiful and the staff was lovely, friendly and helpful. The beach was just sooo beautiful, and some of the extras - such as waiter service on the beach were very welcome! There were some teething problems though, and areas in which I could suggest improvements. Firstly the housekeeping was a little temperamental - our room was very clean and lovely, but we got the turn down service on the first night, and no others. Some days our mini bar fridge would be refilled, but not others. The timing of when the room cleaning differed dramatically, so on one day when we wanted to spend the afternoon on our balcony after 2pm, the room wasn't clean and we didn't end up getting it done that day. Also, we felt that whilst a lot of the food was lovely, the menus, including for room service, were a little limited, and the Italian and Japanese restaurants on-site were not that great. One major issue we had was that an error had been made with our booking, and that of a number of other customers on the day we arrived. That meant that we had to spend our 1st night of only 5 in total in a sister hotel, a 15min drive away. We were compensated for this with a free speciality dinner, and a couples massage, but it was still frustrating, as one of our full days was broken up and reduced by the fact that we had to check out of the sister hotel, and back into our original one. Whilst they couldn't have been nicer about the whole thing, it was still a little disappointing when we had spent what we considered to be quite a lot of money, and only had 5 days in total. We would however go back again, but I would probably try to get a slightly better rate, as I think we paid quite a lot! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of El Dorado Maroma a Gourmet Inclusive Resort, by Karisma - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelgeek
Chicago, IL
Jan 19, 2011

Low-Key Paradise

Our time at El Dorado Maroma was great and served its' purpose of some much needed R & R. We just returned and were unfortunately cursed with bad weather for 3.5 out of 7 days. We were told the weather was not typical since it wasn't their rainy season but we had quite a bit of rain and overcast skies. Some nights were upper 50s/low 60s and daytime 60s and 70s. The last couple of days there were fabulous and beautiful though and nothing less than paradise. The mostly clear sky days were in the low 80s, but it still felt quite hot due to the 100% humidity. Just in case, women should take a pair of pants and long sleeve shirts for the evenings and check the weather outlook before traveling. Our experience started at the airport. We took a cab which took about 30 to 40 minutes. There were security guards at the entrance to the resort who seemed to carefully check names and record when someone comes into and leaves the resort. The road to the resort was a bit of an adventure and added some excitement. It was paved but long and winding with natural Mexican jungle on both sides. When we arrived to the resort, we were greeted with a smile and given some sparkling wine. The woman who checked us in asked for a print out of our confirmation from [...]. When I told her I didn't have it, she said, "no problem". Not sure why she wanted it. They seemed to already have our names, reservation, etc. We arrived before check in, but it was not an issue. We were given a tour of the property and ate lunch at Pepito's while our room was being prepared. We had a honeymoon suite in the "500" building, that had the most amazing view of the ocean and grounds. The grounds are immaculately maintained. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and always said "Hola!" when passing by. The food was great in some cases and good to fair in other cases. Breakfast at Pepito's was great. It was nice to enjoy breakfast with an ocean view and peaceful music each morning. There was a small chef station where you could have eggs prepared how you like and bowls of ingredients to pick from to add to the eggs. There was also bacon and sausage and they frequently had breakfast potatoes and a couple of other rotating warm dishes. In addition, there were fresh fruits, granola, yogurt, cereal etc. We highly recommend the "green juice". You'll probably have to ask for it if you'd like to try it. We always ate lunch at Pepito's as well because it was fun to try the theme lunch and the special drink and dessert of the day. It was also consistently really good. If you are there on a "taco bar" day, then don't miss it!We ate at Sabores for the theme night dinners. Keep in mind that there is a dinner dress code and men are required to where pants and non-beach shoes. The entertainment was good and the mariachi band was a lot of fun. Make your reservations for these nights as soon as you can because preferred times fill up fast. It seemed that most guests ate there on the theme nights. We also tried the Italian and Oriental restaurants. The Oriental was preferred over the Italian by us. At the Oriental restaurant, we ate appetizers which were okay and had some great sushi. Each order you only get 4 pieces, so specify if you want more sushi. We weren't very hungry, so we didn't try the entrees there. The Italian restaurant was okay. The spinach soup was good, the pork was okay. The tiramisu was strange to say the least. The "deconstruction" didn't really work with the gelatin squares on the bottom.The beach butlers frequently came around and offered water and to bring other drinks to us on the beach. Margaritas and pina coladas were great. The mojitos- not so much. Try the Caribbean Passion and Rosa Maya drinks which were also very good and seemed to be popular. On sunny days you will need to get up early if you want a lovely beach bed. Most people "reserved" their bed on the beach by putting down towels and personal belongings. Beach beds by the pool were typically...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you get bored easily and want some adventure, then check out the on-site Lomas Travel at the hotel. They have various tours of attractions in the area. The Chichen Itza/Cenotes tour was fun and worth it but keep in mind it takes the whole day.

Review of El Dorado Maroma a Gourmet Inclusive Resort, by Karisma - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelgeek
Chicago, IL
Jan 19, 2011

Low-Key Paradise

Our time at El Dorado Maroma was great and served its' purpose of some much needed R & R. We just returned and were unfortunately cursed with bad weather for 3.5 out of 7 days. We were told the weather was not typical since it wasn't their rainy season but we had quite a bit of rain and overcast skies. Some nights were upper 50s/low 60s and daytime 60s and 70s. The last couple of days there were fabulous and beautiful though and nothing less than paradise. The mostly clear sky days were in the low 80s, but it still felt quite hot due to the 100% humidity. Just in case, women should take a pair of pants and long sleeve shirts for the evenings and check the weather outlook before traveling. Our experience started at the airport. We took a cab which took about 30 to 40 minutes. There were security guards at the entrance to the resort who seemed to carefully check names and record when someone comes into and leaves the resort. The road to the resort was a bit of an adventure and added some excitement. It was paved but long and winding with natural Mexican jungle on both sides. When we arrived to the resort, we were greeted with a smile and given some sparkling wine. The woman who checked us in asked for a print out of our confirmation from [...]. When I told her I didn't have it, she said, "no problem". Not sure why she wanted it. They seemed to already have our names, reservation, etc. We arrived before check in, but it was not an issue. We were given a tour of the property and ate lunch at Pepito's while our room was being prepared. We had a honeymoon suite in the "500" building, that had the most amazing view of the ocean and grounds. The grounds are immaculately maintained. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and always said "Hola!" when passing by. The food was great in some cases and good to fair in other cases. Breakfast at Pepito's was great. It was nice to enjoy breakfast with an ocean view and peaceful music each morning. There was a small chef station where you could have eggs prepared how you like and bowls of ingredients to pick from to add to the eggs. There was also bacon and sausage and they frequently had breakfast potatoes and a couple of other rotating warm dishes. In addition, there were fresh fruits, granola, yogurt, cereal etc. We highly recommend the "green juice". You'll probably have to ask for it if you'd like to try it. We always ate lunch at Pepito's as well because it was fun to try the theme lunch and the special drink and dessert of the day. It was also consistently really good. If you are there on a "taco bar" day, then don't miss it!We ate at Sabores for the theme night dinners. Keep in mind that there is a dinner dress code and men are required to where pants and non-beach shoes. The entertainment was good and the mariachi band was a lot of fun. Make your reservations for these nights as soon as you can because preferred times fill up fast. It seemed that most guests ate there on the theme nights. We also tried the Italian and Oriental restaurants. The Oriental was preferred over the Italian by us. At the Oriental restaurant, we ate appetizers which were okay and had some great sushi. Each order you only get 4 pieces, so specify if you want more sushi. We weren't very hungry, so we didn't try the entrees there. The Italian restaurant was okay. The spinach soup was good, the pork was okay. The tiramisu was strange to say the least. The "deconstruction" didn't really work with the gelatin squares on the bottom.The beach butlers frequently came around and offered water and to bring other drinks to us on the beach. Margaritas and pina coladas were great. The mojitos- not so much. Try the Caribbean Passion and Rosa Maya drinks which were also very good and seemed to be popular. On sunny days you will need to get up early if you want a lovely beach bed. Most people "reserved" their bed on the beach by putting down towels and personal belongings. Beach beds by the pool were typically...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you get bored easily and want some adventure, then check out the on-site Lomas Travel at the hotel. They have various tours of attractions in the area. The Chichen Itza/Cenotes tour was fun and worth it but keep in mind it takes the whole day.

Review of El Dorado Maroma a Gourmet Inclusive Resort, by Karisma - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Dec 1, 2010

Intimate getaway for couples

We weren't sure what to expect for our first all inclusive to Riviera Maya, MX. El Dorado Maroma was small, yet intimate and recommended. Upon arrival we were greeted with glasses of champagne and given a free upgrade from the Mi Hotelito to the newer high rise area. The gourmet all-inclusive was true: grey goose vodka, cook to order breakfasts, lunches and dinners (no buffets). However, some dinners were average and the portions were small but plated wonderfully. The entertainment at Rick's Bar included a surprisingly level pool table with decent cues, and quite entertaining shows including a funny and deceptive magic show, energetic and compelling Michael Jackson impersonator, a cirque de soleil style circus, and karyoke among other various live band shows. Playa Del Carmen was only minutes from the resort, but we had some issues renting a car at the airport. make sure you see the difference between standard and automatic. We were charged an excess amount even though we paid previously through [...]. You can't really argue. The beach was quaint and snorkeling was great and free! beach reclamation is an ongoing chore but it has afforded quite a nice aquatic environment within a few yards of the beach. we saw numerous fish, starfish, crabs and rays. We also saw racoons and their smaller cousins in the evening. The pools and pool bars were excellently maintained and staffed. you name the drink and Orlando can make it! which brings me to something else, you get to know the staff. you see them every day and its their job to make you feel at home and they do. One thing you should do if you go there is take small amounts and tip. They deserve it. For example, We ordered room service one night and Oberlin delivered it in a pouring driving rain. he was soaked but smiling when he got to my third floor room. Each day the grounds staff cleans the beach. they rake it and take the rakings away so the beach was clean - the beach was two hundred yards long!! You will meet people. they will become friends. you will eat well and small portions aren't that bad of a thing. you will drink as much as you wish and be content if you wish. This is a great place to go for couples who want a little bit of entertainment but a lot of quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top