$273 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal 387 KM 234, Km 234, Tulum, 77780
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
276 reviews
Dreams Tulum

First time to a resort. Very good choice. The grounds/gardens are kept very well. The room was... See full review

  • First Timer from Illinois
  • Jun 3, 2013
Great Getaway.

Beautiful resort. Ocean is beautiful but rocky. Also, a lot of wildlife can be seen from the shore.... See full review

  • zelno
  • Jun 3, 2013
Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa transports guests to a utopia of flourishing gardens, soft sand beaches and high-caliber accommodations. Marble flooring is soothing underfoot as you step out of the Tulum heat, while the modern Mexican hotel decor and ocean- or garden-facing rooms allow for meditative nature-watching. Rejuvenate your skin with treatments at the spa - from facials to exfoliations and massages - before sampling local Mexican dishes at El Patio, one of the hotel's exquisite restaurants. Romantic and indulgent, this resort is great for honeymooners, though the Explorer's Club ensures that little ones also have plenty to do (restrictions apply).
Key facts
  • 432 guestrooms and suites
  • Some adults-only rooms
  • Restaurants: Bordeaux, El Patio, Gohan Restaurant, Himitsu, Portofino Restaurant, Seaside Grill, World Cafe, Barefoot Grill, Coco Cafe
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Ballroom: seats up to 600 people
  • Full-service business center
  • 3 meeting rooms: each seats up to 60 people
  • Fully supervised children's club
  • Spa
Neighborhood
Forgo the crowded popularity of Cancun in favor of the quaint town of Tulum to the south. Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa has its own private, palm-lined beach nestled in acres of lush coastal forest that make for great exploration and hiking. Travel a few brief miles to soak in the sights at historical, walled Tulum, one of the last Mayan cities to survive Spanish colonization. Visit the natural lagoon at Xel-Ha to swim a few laps alongside a friendly dolphin, and observe endangered sea turtles in their natural environment.
Hints and tips
Higher-numbered rooms are closer to the beach at the Dreams Resort, while some of the accommodations offer swim-out entry.

Be sure to inquire about these if you're interested in taking a super-convenient dip.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.2527 -87.4023
Area served
World's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore; Nearby underground rivers, caves and jungles;Attractions at Xel-H; Mayan ruins of Tulum, Coba, Chichen-Itza and Kohunlich; Xcaret Park; Cozumel - ferry from Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 75 minutes and distance is 106 km (66 miles).
Area description
Ideally located between Playa del Carmen and Tulum and just a 75-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, Dreams Tulum is situated along a stretch of magnificent white sandy beach in the Riviera Maya.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Garden or Ocean View Room: 450.9 sq ft.
Standard room hacienda-style with colonial decoration. In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king size bed or two double beds, bathroom with shower and bidet, garden view, private balcony or terrace with hammock.
Junior Suite Garden or Ocean View Room: 513.3 sq ft
This hacienda-style room with colonial decoration. In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king bed and a separate area with two sofas, bathroom with bath tub and bidet, double sink, garden view and private balcony or terrace with hammock.
Premium Junior Suite Garden View Room: 546.8 sq ft or 564.02 sq ft
In addition to the all of the above amenities, this room offers contemporary decor, king bed or two double beds, separate living area with a sofa, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub, telephone extension in the bathroom, double sink and a garden or Ocean View.
Preferred Club Hacienda Suite: 622 sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Hacienda Suite, wood floors and authentic colonial decoration, a king bed, bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bathtub, private concierge service and partial ocean view. These suites are located in the 14th building* of rooms, ideally above the Coco Caf and the preferred club, next to the main plaza and restaurant area.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean Front: 546.8.sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Junior Suite offers contemporary decor, king bed, separate living area with sofa, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub, double sink, secrets box for private room service, and telephone extension in the bathroom, private concierge service, ocean front views, private balcony or terrace. These rooms are located on the third floor in the 15th a and f building* of rooms facing the pool and beach. This section is next to the main plaza and restaurant area.
Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite: 627.23 sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite offers contemporary dcor, king size bed and separate living area with a sofa, in either ocean view and garden view, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub and telephone extension in the bathroom walking closet, double sink, private concierge service, private balcony or terrace and Secrets box for private room service. Located on the third floor in the 15th a and f building* of rooms facing the pool and beach this section is next to the main plaza and the restaurant area.
Connecting Rooms and Family Suites
Dreams Tulum now offers two great options for families and groups. We have increased our number of connecting rooms in the Deluxe and Junior Suite categories. As a result, we have the ability to confirm connecting rooms in advance. With the largest number of connecting rooms totaling over 200 (100 units), Dreams Tulum is now the best option for families in the destination. In the Premium and Preferred Club sections, all rooms and suites are grouped in clusters. Our new Family Suites provide us with the opportunity to host large families, weddings and small groups in very private settings. Our new Family Suites come in segments of 4, 5, 6, 7, 10 or even 12 rooms. These room segments are accessed through one master door and together they share one large living room area. All external hallways surrounding these Family Suites have been closed to provide privacy and isolation. These Family Suites are available for an additional daily charge.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Garden Swimout
In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king bed and a separate area with two sofas, bathroom with bath tub, double sink, garden view and private balcony or terrace with terrace and a beautiful direct swim-out access to one of the 4 swimming pools that flows to each private patio. Located in the 10th building* of rooms and built in the shape of the old haciendas centering the garden and plaza with a fountain and benches creating a sense of old Mexico.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Dreams Tulum provides a beautiful new convention center with 6 meeting rooms for up to 600 people. Av equipment available for rent as well as top of the art facilities for banquets, meetings and show performances. with 4 breakouts, a magnificent foyer and a gourmet cuisine. The Chichen Itza Ballroom hosts 400 people in Banquet style and up to 600 for cocktail.

Dining

Portofino
(Italian Cuisine) - la carte -Exploring the flavors of the Mediterranean and Italian cuisine. -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 102 -Dinner only, la Carte from 6:00 p.m. -10:30 p.m.
Seaside Grill
- la carte -Casual attire -Located directly on the beach, offering a light snack to a full meal during the day and an la carte steak house menu in the evening. -Approximate seating capacity - 80 Daily breakfast la carte 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. (seasonally) Daily lunch 12:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m Dinner la carte 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Desires Music Lounge
-Located in the main lobby, enjoy the night in a sports bar lounge ambience, serving international and national beverages. Adults only, 18 years of age and older. -Casual attire -Hours: 10:00 p.m. - 12:30 a.m.
Coco Cafe
-Premium coffee and deli snacks in a casual and relaxed atmosphere. -Open daily from 7 am to 9 pm -Dress code: Casual
Manatee Bar
(Swim-up bar at the main pool) -Located in the main pool, our swim-up bar offers tropical drinks and wait service in the pool area. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. -Beach attire
World Caf
-Continental and Mexican cuisine with a variety of international specialty items and classics. -Approximate seating capacity - 340 -Special kids corner in the buffet section. -Casual attire Continental breakfast - 6:30 a.m - 7:00 a.m Breakfast - buffet style - 7:00 a.m -11:00 a.m. Lunch - buffet style - 12:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Dinner - buffet style - 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Barracuda Bar
-Located between Himitsu and Bordeaux, guests will enjoy a variety of drinks. A perfect place to enjoy a drink or cocktail before or after dinner. -Hours: 6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Himitsu & Gohan Restaurant
HIMITSU RESTAURANT - la carte -Specializing in Asian cuisine (Chinese - Thai) -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 98 -Dinner only, la Carte from 6:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m. GOHAN RESTAURANT (Sushi Bar) - la carte -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 24 -Dinner only, la carte from 6:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Rendezvous
-Located in the main lobby offers international and national drinks including tropical drinks and wait service. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Sugar Reef Bar & Revive Bar
SUGAR REEF BAR -Guests can relax in the sun or shade at the main bar while enjoying cool cocktails including international and national brands, juices and soft drinks. Wait service is provided at the pool deck. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m. REVIVE BAR -Guests can enjoy cool and natural drinks while relaxing at the spa after a wonderful treatment -Hours: 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (276)

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 276
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Occasional Traveler
Los Angeles, California
Jan 28, 2014

4.5 Stars!

Dreams Tulum was a wonderful friendly experience. The grounds are large, airy, excellently-maintained and very pleasant. It is an upscale resort but yet very comfortable and the staff went out of their way to make me, a solo traveler, feel welcome. It is a very family-friendly place but I never felt overwhelmed by the presence of children. There are a plethora of activities during the day and the evening programs, though sometimes corny, were fun and varied! The different restaurants offer high quality service and presentation. The food, while not always exceptional, was still highly enjoyable. My only suggestions for improvement: 1. Increase the quantity and quality of items on room-service menu; and 2. Improve the cleanliness and appearance of the hallways/stairways leading to the rooms. Overall, I was very impressed and happy with the experience at the hotel and have already recommended the hotel to my friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southoceanwind
Vancouver, Canada
May 12, 2013

Very relaxing

I stayed here for a week of April 12 to 18. It's the second time I stay a Dreams Resort, the previous was in Puerto Vallarta. When I arrived I was offered an room upgrade for a low amount, and I'm glad I took it. I had a room in the main lobby building and it was impeccable. Spotless clean and with a fairly large balcony with a view of the grounds. My only disappointment was the mini bar - wish they would give more than just small bottles of beer and some pop. I've travelled all over the world, am fairly young and was alone on this trip just looking for a place to relax. I'm not the kind to participate in the group entertainment or packaged experiences. Nevertheless I appreciated to comfort and convenience of the Dreams. The food was great, I particularly enjoyed a steak at the beachfront restaurant on the first day. Most of the food was not incredible, but considering this as an all inclusive it was awesome value, and the variety is a great bonus. The restaurants are very nice and the service, as expected at Dreams, quite outstanding. You get the sense the staff try harder to make you feel like you're in a special place - not always, but often enough. I liked the grounds very much. The gardens are great, everything was nice and clean. They seemed to have a lot of entertainment activities, for those that wanted them. I had a rental car so I often went to the beaches in Tulum, which I found more peaceful and to my taste than the noisy hotel pool area. I liked that this hotel is so close to Tulum. I decided to extend my stay for a coupe of nights, and when I first asked at reception I was told by a non-Mexican staff member that it would not be possible to stay in the same room for the same price, she told me it would be more than $100 a night more - so I was quite disappointed. Next day though I asked again, this time it was a Mexican lady and with a smile told me it would be no problem to stay in the same room for the same price! Overall, for someone who doesn’t usually stay at resorts, I would go to a Dreams again. Excellent service, rooms, grounds, and food - a great value and place to relax in paradise. If you don't want to feel like you're trapped in a cruise with other foreigners, you can leave the grounds and explore the real Mexico anytime you want, then come back and enjoy what the hotel has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victor G.
Santa Barbara California
May 23, 2012

I love this resort

Nice resort, great staff and clean rooms. Food was great and bars were always fully stocked, nice pools and beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sister of a Groom
Charleston, SC
Jun 1, 2011

Gorgeous and pristine grounds

-I attended my brother's wedding while at the resort. They have stayed at other Dreams Resorts with many other couples from the wedding party and all noted that it was by far the best Dreams Resort.-I had an ocean view suite room on the ground floor with a pool view as well. It was very nice with a walk in shower, jacuzzi tub, seating area, king size bed, outdoor patio and view of the ocean (although obscured slightly). Everything was very clean and housekeeping and room services were excellent.- I did have some difficulty sleeping some nights. the doors are made of very heavy wood and i was near an outdoor entrance to the buidling. the halls echoed and the doors could be heard easily while inside. My suggestion is to request a room away from outside door and on a higher floor.-The most annoying thing was finding the shuttle service to return to the airport. Typically the shuttle services acts as a tourism company that also provides other excursions so they plan to meet with you to schedule your return airport ride, but also to book excursions (sales pitch). I booked through [...]Gray Line and they did not call me to set a return and i was not provided with a number to contact them. Concierge at the Resort was very helpful.- i suggest booking airport shuttle with someone other than Gray Line.-Go to Chichen Itza... it was awesome, even though it takes a full day.-skip deep sea fishing! we caught nothing and everyone got sick!-be careful of the rocks on the shore of the beach at Dreams. Several people of our party had foot injuries. Sea urchin also reside in the waters. -Bring lots of single dollar bills for tips. Getting change for 20$ is difficult. -the wedding was gorgeous and well put together and planned out. everything went smoothly and it was fun. my brother had a noon wedding with cocktail at 1 and reception at 2 pm. there are several weddings daily. it was hot, but there was shade for reception under palm trees... and we all jumped in the pool in our dresses! -there are many restaurants to choose from. we did wait some nights, but that is becasue we had large parties. there is a wide range of foods: italian, french, asian, sushi, mexican, seafood, and casual buffet. there's also a range of dress code from casual to collared shirts/no shorts. Read the dress code descriptions before you go- they will send you to change!-i was treated to a spa package with swedish massage, eye treatment, facial, foot treatment and pedicure. it was AMAZING. very pricey (but i didnt pay)! the spa is top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

long drive- via charter bus... Chichen Itza! take the trip- we booked with Amstar/ Mayaland. and had [...] as a tour guide. he was very knowledgeable and has taught college courses on Mayan history. The tour was wonderful. If you go, take the umbrella provided by the hotel as a source of shade. it is VERY hot... and take extra water and sunscreen! WE had a side trip to a cenote in Ik-Kil. Very unique experience.

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shawano, *
Jul 15, 2008

Mellow Vacation Spot

Dreams Tulum was exactly what I was expecting, although the staff exceeded my expectations - every single person on site was extremely polite and sincerely friendly. I felt very comfortable there. My room was clean & cool and well kept-up. The location of this hotel makes it feel secluded and very much off the beaten bath (unlike Cancun). The only thing I would change was the food - everything is good but it is quite difficult to get anything spicy or regional. I suggest taking a cab ride up to Playa del Carmen for lunch or dinner if you have the chance. Also seems to be a jewel of a restaurant in each little town...you just have to find it. This hotel is about 5 minutes from the Tulum ruins and about 2 hours from Chichen Itza - be ashamed of yourself if you are in the area and don't visit these sites - I missed Coba but will see it next time - I definitly plan on heading back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jul 9, 2007

4 Stars

Very nice. Nice rooms; tile and iPod radios, cablel TV, hammock, Nice grounds. Constantly maintained, geometric, clean, varied. Large hotel, many guest compounds, essential shopping very nice. Food from pretentious to plentiful and good. Beach just fine with thatch umbrellas and many chairs. Full service everything, all the time, free; with the all-inclusive package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

1 hour everything Mexican.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search