$324 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal 387 KM 234, Km 234, Tulum, 77780

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
278 reviews
Girls trip before a wedding

This hotel was definitely extremely nice for an all inclusive. The resort is beautiful. Picturesque... See full review

  • fellow world traveler
  • Dec 30, 2014
Great Property

Really enjoyed. It is a bit overpriced though. At the price point they want you can find a better... See full review

  • Wasted My Money
  • Apr 4, 2014
Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa transports guests to a utopia of flourishing gardens, soft sand beaches and high-caliber accommodations. Marble flooring is soothing underfoot as you step out of the Tulum heat, while the modern Mexican hotel decor and ocean- or garden-facing rooms allow for meditative nature-watching. Rejuvenate your skin with treatments at the spa - from facials to exfoliations and massages - before sampling local Mexican dishes at El Patio, one of the hotel's exquisite restaurants. Romantic and indulgent, this resort is great for honeymooners, though the Explorer's Club ensures that little ones also have plenty to do (restrictions apply).
Key facts
  • 432 guestrooms and suites
  • Some adults-only rooms
  • Restaurants: Bordeaux, El Patio, Gohan Restaurant, Himitsu, Portofino Restaurant, Seaside Grill, World Cafe, Barefoot Grill, Coco Cafe
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Ballroom: seats up to 600 people
  • Full-service business center
  • 3 meeting rooms: each seats up to 60 people
  • Fully supervised children's club
  • Spa
Neighborhood
Forgo the crowded popularity of Cancun in favor of the quaint town of Tulum to the south. Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa has its own private, palm-lined beach nestled in acres of lush coastal forest that make for great exploration and hiking. Travel a few brief miles to soak in the sights at historical, walled Tulum, one of the last Mayan cities to survive Spanish colonization. Visit the natural lagoon at Xel-Ha to swim a few laps alongside a friendly dolphin, and observe endangered sea turtles in their natural environment.
Hints and tips
Higher-numbered rooms are closer to the beach at the Dreams Resort, while some of the accommodations offer swim-out entry.

Be sure to inquire about these if you're interested in taking a super-convenient dip.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Garden or Ocean View Room: 450.9 sq ft.
Standard room hacienda-style with colonial decoration. In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king size bed or two double beds, bathroom with shower and bidet, garden view, private balcony or terrace with hammock.
Junior Suite Garden or Ocean View Room: 513.3 sq ft
This hacienda-style room with colonial decoration. In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king bed and a separate area with two sofas, bathroom with bath tub and bidet, double sink, garden view and private balcony or terrace with hammock.
Premium Junior Suite Garden View Room: 546.8 sq ft or 564.02 sq ft
In addition to the all of the above amenities, this room offers contemporary decor, king bed or two double beds, separate living area with a sofa, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub, telephone extension in the bathroom, double sink and a garden or Ocean View.
Preferred Club Hacienda Suite: 622 sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Hacienda Suite, wood floors and authentic colonial decoration, a king bed, bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bathtub, private concierge service and partial ocean view. These suites are located in the 14th building* of rooms, ideally above the Coco Caf and the preferred club, next to the main plaza and restaurant area.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean Front: 546.8.sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Junior Suite offers contemporary decor, king bed, separate living area with sofa, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub, double sink, secrets box for private room service, and telephone extension in the bathroom, private concierge service, ocean front views, private balcony or terrace. These rooms are located on the third floor in the 15th a and f building* of rooms facing the pool and beach. This section is next to the main plaza and restaurant area.
Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite: 627.23 sq ft
In addition to all of the above amenities this Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite offers contemporary dcor, king size bed and separate living area with a sofa, in either ocean view and garden view, marble bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath tub and telephone extension in the bathroom walking closet, double sink, private concierge service, private balcony or terrace and Secrets box for private room service. Located on the third floor in the 15th a and f building* of rooms facing the pool and beach this section is next to the main plaza and the restaurant area.
Connecting Rooms and Family Suites
Dreams Tulum now offers two great options for families and groups. We have increased our number of connecting rooms in the Deluxe and Junior Suite categories. As a result, we have the ability to confirm connecting rooms in advance. With the largest number of connecting rooms totaling over 200 (100 units), Dreams Tulum is now the best option for families in the destination. In the Premium and Preferred Club sections, all rooms and suites are grouped in clusters. Our new Family Suites provide us with the opportunity to host large families, weddings and small groups in very private settings. Our new Family Suites come in segments of 4, 5, 6, 7, 10 or even 12 rooms. These room segments are accessed through one master door and together they share one large living room area. All external hallways surrounding these Family Suites have been closed to provide privacy and isolation. These Family Suites are available for an additional daily charge.
Preferred Club Junior Suite Garden Swimout
In addition to all of the above amenities this room offers, a king bed and a separate area with two sofas, bathroom with bath tub, double sink, garden view and private balcony or terrace with terrace and a beautiful direct swim-out access to one of the 4 swimming pools that flows to each private patio. Located in the 10th building* of rooms and built in the shape of the old haciendas centering the garden and plaza with a fountain and benches creating a sense of old Mexico.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Portofino
(Italian Cuisine) - la carte -Exploring the flavors of the Mediterranean and Italian cuisine. -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 102 -Dinner only, la Carte from 6:00 p.m. -10:30 p.m.
Seaside Grill
- la carte -Casual attire -Located directly on the beach, offering a light snack to a full meal during the day and an la carte steak house menu in the evening. -Approximate seating capacity - 80 Daily breakfast la carte 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. (seasonally) Daily lunch 12:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m Dinner la carte 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Desires Music Lounge
-Located in the main lobby, enjoy the night in a sports bar lounge ambience, serving international and national beverages. Adults only, 18 years of age and older. -Casual attire -Hours: 10:00 p.m. - 12:30 a.m.
Coco Cafe
-Premium coffee and deli snacks in a casual and relaxed atmosphere. -Open daily from 7 am to 9 pm -Dress code: Casual
Manatee Bar
(Swim-up bar at the main pool) -Located in the main pool, our swim-up bar offers tropical drinks and wait service in the pool area. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. -Beach attire
World Caf
-Continental and Mexican cuisine with a variety of international specialty items and classics. -Approximate seating capacity - 340 -Special kids corner in the buffet section. -Casual attire Continental breakfast - 6:30 a.m - 7:00 a.m Breakfast - buffet style - 7:00 a.m -11:00 a.m. Lunch - buffet style - 12:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Dinner - buffet style - 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Barracuda Bar
-Located between Himitsu and Bordeaux, guests will enjoy a variety of drinks. A perfect place to enjoy a drink or cocktail before or after dinner. -Hours: 6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Himitsu & Gohan Restaurant
HIMITSU RESTAURANT - la carte -Specializing in Asian cuisine (Chinese - Thai) -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 98 -Dinner only, la Carte from 6:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m. GOHAN RESTAURANT (Sushi Bar) - la carte -Neat attire - Long pants for men -Non-smoking restaurant -Approximate seating capacity - 24 -Dinner only, la carte from 6:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Rendezvous
-Located in the main lobby offers international and national drinks including tropical drinks and wait service. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Sugar Reef Bar & Revive Bar
SUGAR REEF BAR -Guests can relax in the sun or shade at the main bar while enjoying cool cocktails including international and national brands, juices and soft drinks. Wait service is provided at the pool deck. -Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m. REVIVE BAR -Guests can enjoy cool and natural drinks while relaxing at the spa after a wonderful treatment -Hours: 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Dreams Tulum provides a beautiful new convention center with 6 meeting rooms for up to 600 people. Av equipment available for rent as well as top of the art facilities for banquets, meetings and show performances. with 4 breakouts, a magnificent foyer and a gourmet cuisine. The Chichen Itza Ballroom hosts 400 people in Banquet style and up to 600 for cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lilly08387986369269
Business
Denver, CO
May 21, 2011

Awful. Go elsewhere.

Where to begin? We stayed at this "all-inclusive" as part of a wedding package for a good friend of ours. From the get-go, it was pretty disappointing. We typically don't travel in the all-inclusive Mexico circuit, but based on this experience, I'd rather spend money elsewhere. Firstly, upon arrival $5000 worth of camera equipment was stolen. The hotel did nothing. Absolutely nothing. Then we were "given" a USD$200 credit to our account as part of the incentive for booking through the wedding party travel agent. Of course, that was not real. We were asked to pay it all back before checking out. We spent more that $500 on activities while at the "all-inclusive". The food was bland and far below 5-star standards, and the supposed 24-hours of service had pretty ridiculous stipulations. Other issues that make for it being a gigantic rip-off - [*]. They RARELY smiled, and were hardly genuine. The room was dirty, the phone didn't work, there were tons of mosquitos already in the room, and there was blood stains on the fake marble floors. Unbelievable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rebel Spirit
Business
Dallas, TX USA
Jun 2, 2010

We love Tulum but not this resort.

Our first exposure to an "All inclusive" resort was Secrets Excellence between Playa and Cancun and because we were exceptionally pleased with that trip, we had little worries about this trip. Due to travel, we arrived very late, the desk staff was minimally attentive continuing to count money while we stood in front of them exhausted and hungry. Upon arrival to our room we were very disappointed. On vacation one of the most important things to us is the comfort of the bed and linens. Without going into the details I can just say that a Motel 6 would have been a far better choice than this room. For some strange reason the room next to us must have been a designated break room for employees because there was not a single ten minute time during our entire stay that someone was not moving chairs and furniture around. The food...well, a joke. Many of the 7 restaurants were closed the majority of the time. There was nothing gourmet about anything. The best meal we had during this trip was a tuna sandwich at Senor Frogs when we went into Playa for the day. The good news? Even though we drank like fish, we still lost weight. Although there were attempts at fun events, (i.e. "Movie on the beach" every night), the facility just couldn't pull it off. The pirated movies would jump from the beginning to the end and then back to the middle. It was a complete joke and very frustrating. Don't fall for the $200 worth of free spa services either. We started to book two massages and were then informed that only $40 could be used toward the massage. Their 50 minute massage was $130. Go figure. The best attribute was the beach. The beach was beautiful, the scenery spectacular....and the wait staff, although minimal, did their best to attend to your drink requests. Based upon this experience I doubt we will ever book an all-inclusive again. We would not recommend this resort. We would have rather stayed home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joe 'Sucker'
Business
Michigan
Jul 13, 2010

Dreams/Nightmare!

Hurricane Alex passed through during our four night stay. Constant rain/clouds wind...8'+ surf...sand blowing in food at open restaurants. At least two of the four restaurants were closed each day. Wedding on beach was disaster...wind blowing sand everywhere. To add to our problems...my wife and I were ROBBED on the way back to the Cancun airport. We were forcefully stopped on the highway in our rental car by a "Bogus" Police Officer who demanded 2000 pesos to recover my drivers license. This occurred on 30 June, at 11:00am between Xcaret and Playa del Carmen. This was reported to Mexican border authorities but they basically said I was lucky to only have $200.00 taken from us and not everything in my wallet confiscated or something worse! Never had an experience like this in over 30 years of traveling throughout the Carribean. I'll NEVER return to Mexico after that experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Find out restrictions and availability before walking 500 yards from room to open restaurants. Walking in rain on slippery tile walkways was extremely dangerous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 3, 2007

do not go to this resort

i went there labor day weekend for a wedding. this was about 1 1/2 weeks after hurrican dean. one pool was still under 6 ft of sand, 1/2 the beach was just large piles of sand, and the main pool was very very cloudy and the had 2 portable filters trying to clean the pool. the sea side grill which is the only place to eat by the pool took about 1 - 2 hours to eat. no just grab some food and go. the help at the resort was nasty. beach for the wedding still had glass on it and bathrooms were not clean by the main pool. when asked if they can clean the beach and bathrooms for the night of the wedding the had a hard time to accomidate us. well the wedding was a success. there is nothing to do no snorkeling or scuba diving at the resort and everything else is a bit of a trip 10 - 30 min cab ride. during the reception the workers unknown who...went into my room and took $ from my suitcase and form the grooms safe. the aisan restuant was awsome love the shrimp

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

drive 30 mins to fish or swim with dolphins

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
one bad bmw
Business
ny,ny
Jun 21, 2010

sting ray bit me

my room was a master suite. 2nd day they turned off my water because someone else wanted the room and were willing to pay more , so un fair. so i had no water or bathroom . they wanted to down grade me to a regular room, i argued until they turn back the water. the food was very bad, plus the bar & club at the hotel closed at midnight, it sucked...stay away!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MO CRUZ
Business
SAN DIEGO, CA
Apr 29, 2009

DREAM TULUM

WE HAVE PICTURES OF OUTSIDE OUR ROOM WHERE THEY LEAVE THE GARBAGE FOR THE WHOLE DAY. ON THEIR MEXICAN RESTAURANT, THEY HAD FISH AND SHRIMP TACOS. I AM ALLERGIC TO SHRIMP SO WE HAD ASKED TO REMOVE THE SHRIMP AND THEY TOLD ME NO. THEY CANNOT SERVE FISH TACOS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

DO THE XTREME MAYAN RUINS VISIT WITH REPEL, ZIP, AND SNORKELING

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mariya
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2010

Burger King for Morton's price

If you want Burger King for Morton's price-this is a hotel for you. While claiming the 'unlimited Luxury", the place does not provide you with any choice of eatable food or consumable drinks. It is impossible to get to any of the restaurants for dinner as they make you wait for hours to be seated while half of the restaurant is empty. The staff is unfriendly and talks back to you. The entertainment team is obnoxious and makes it unbearable to stay by the pool. There is a loud pounding music all day long around the resort which makes it impossible to relax. The rooms are run down (in the "upgraded Dreams" section) and the furnishings are cheap. While the location is decent and the grounds are nice-the hotel should be on "must avoid" list. If you do not want to drink $3/bottle Cabernet with no other choice where you do not have to pay for-stay away from this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MBEG
Business
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2014

Dreams Tulum

The only good thing about this resort is the beach! The beach is beautiful... The rest of the resort is very modest comparing to other resorts in Mexico... Variety of food is poor, the buffet is overcrowded ( had to wait in line 20-25 min to get two fried eggs)... Night life entertainment is a joke... Staff is trying to be friendly and professional but not there yet.. I trusted apple vacation rating of six golden apples where I would rate it 3 to 4 red apples... Considering the variety of very good and excellent resorts in that area, for about the same price ,I would not recommend this resort at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
go.dj
Business
Tulum, Mexico
Nov 21, 2011

The beach is a 10, but the rooms were the worst

The staff was amazing and extremly helpful and the beach was the best I've seen in the area. The only draw back were the rooms were extremely out dated with old furniture, chiped and peeling paint, crumbling plaster and sworms of mosquitos in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

cheaper to take the shuttle van from the road into town $2.00 opposed to the taxi from the hotel $15.00

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 2, 2008

Just ok

This was my 1st time to Mexico, my husband and I went for a freinds wedding. The hotel is ok. The food was good at the resturants, and the staff where nice, however no one really ever made conversation with us, maybe they just dont know English, not sure. We stayed in the older part of the resort, and it was smelly, dirty and in need of maintiance. The beach was ok, the sand is actually little pc of corel and rock, so not all that comfortable without shoes on. The pools where ok, nothing to brag about. They claim they have like 6 bars, but really there are only two and on of which closes at 6 pm, the other is right by the enteritment so you have no choice but to listen to it, and its not always so hot. Also that bar played bad 80's music the whole time, not very resort like. The drinks where not very good either. I am used to fresh fruit used in my tropical drinks and that was not so here. Also either they made it so strong you couldnt drink it or so weak you couldnt tell there was anything in it. The wedding I must say was very nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top