$276 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal 387 KM 234, Km 234, Tulum, 77780

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FunLoveTravel
Family
Georgia
Jun 15, 2012

Great experience

We had 3 rooms and 6 people and everyone enjoyed everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TuCuateRodrigo
Couples
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Jun 1, 2012

A Dream come true

Excellente hotel, maybe is not a Tulum tipical resort because is a big hotel and not a boutique, but is an excellent choice if youre gonna be there few days and want the ammenities of a big hotel in a great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask for a room next to the beach or tothe pool to don´t be tired for all the walking

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victor G.
Single
Santa Barbara California
May 23, 2012

I love this resort

Nice resort, great staff and clean rooms. Food was great and bars were always fully stocked, nice pools and beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jnlsgrc
Couples
Los Angeles, CA, USA
May 1, 2012

Honeymoon in Tulum

Had an overall great 12 days at Dreams Tulum. A couple hiccups with our door not working but otherwise excellent service, friendly staff, decent food, and an amazing activities entertainment staff. We stayed in the Puebla Hacienda suites (1200s, 2nd fl) and really enjoyed the privacy. We looked at an upgraded room but definitely not worth it. Only difference was a "jacuzzi" but otherwise everything else was identical so we stayed in our garden view jr suite away from the activites and walking traffic. We tried all the restaurants except the asian-fusion and our fav was seaside grill for dinner and barefoot grill for lunch and world cafe for breakfast. On our last night I surprised my wife with a romantic dinner under the stars, all lobster-based menu and it was delicious. Definitely worth it with the $60 coupons!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
antar
Couples
NM
Mar 29, 2012

Value and Quality of Beach

Airline cost was too high. I expected that the cost of Cost of Airline travel to be quite lower than what we could have got on our own. The Beach front is rather limited, and quite rocky on either side

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonepapa
Family
Des Moines, IA, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Excellence in nearly everything.

This is a beautiful location and worth the time to get to from the Cancun Airport. The staff are all very attentive and pleasant, The food was very good with very few items being marginal. That is saying a lot when we ate nearly every meal for a week there! The French restaurant was not great, but all of the others were wonderful. The grounds keepers were always touching up the landscaping and keeping the buildings tidy and clean. I was a bit surprised on a couple of louder and longer evenings of entertainment. Just not my thing and I was not expecting that all the way down to Tulum. It wasn't that bad, just surprising in an otherwise quite location. They are fairly aggressive about talking to you about their "Travel Club" which I was a bit annoyed by. They did get the hint after a while though. Would we go back? Oh, yeah, loved the place and the people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the El Captain Restaurant on the main street in the City of Tulum. Great food, good price, good for people watching too!

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
langrobin
Couples
Boston, MA
Mar 26, 2012

A beautiful resort, with some draw backs

This was our first trip to Mexico, so we really didn't know what to expect. The hotel and the beach were beautiful but the beach was so windy that it was difficult to enjoy at times. Nonetheless, still very beautiful. What I didn't enjoy was the food. With the exception of the Italian restaurant, Portofino, the food was average at best. The resort is located only 10 minutes away from the Tulum ruins, which I highly recommend. (Btw, if you are driving, it really isn't "just straight"! Be sure to get detailed directions or you will be driving "just straight" for a while!) If you do have a chance to go to the ruins, bring your bathing suit, snacks and water and make it a day! The beach there is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen!!! The staff were all nice, but the "VIP" guys could be a bit pushy when trying to get you to agree to sit in on a 1.5 hour time share presentation. Even when we said we were "busy" (a polite way of saying "no thanks"), they asked us what we were busy doing. Ok...you called my bluff. In summary, we had a great time but my experience was probably a 3.5 out of 5. The Tulum ruins and the beach especially made it all worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bubblesbet
Couples
Brooklyn, N.Y
Mar 20, 2012

Amazing vacation!

We just got back from Dream Tulum and it was an amazing hotel. It was a perfect week for me and my boyfriend to relax and enjoy the sun. The hotel is on the smaller size but was perfect for us because the pools and restaurants were never really crowded. We were always able to easily find seats by the pools or the beach. We would definitely come back. Pros: 1) Food was quite tasty for an all-inclusive (We have been to several all-inclusives and this was by far the best and even exceeding Sandals in Jamaica). The breakfast is almost the same everyday but we enjoyed the fresh omlettes, tostadas and rancheros. Lunch was decent at the Mexican restaurant and the Seaside Grill. We didn't bother with the grill (burgers and hotdogs) by the pool. Dinner at all the specialty restaurants were very good. Portofino was the best and don't miss the Rib eye at the Sea side grill. A main plus was Coco lounge which was a cafe dedicated to coffees, flaming coffees (3:30PM-5:30 PM only) so don't miss it, lattes, mochas and cappuccinos and some light snacks (try the bruchetta). My boyfriend and I were there every day and was one of our highlights we looked forward to. We have never had a lounge like this before at the other all-inclusives and thought it was very useful. They also had a small stand 'Coco Smoothies' on the other side of the lounge and made excellent fresh fruit smoothies. 2) Staff: The staff there were always friendly and courteous. They were really hard working and always went out of their way to make you happy. Whether it was the wait staff, cleaning staff or even maintenance, they always walked by with a friendly 'Hola'. Pool and beachside always had staff walking by to see if you needed a drink or a refill. 3) Unlimited towels (no towel cards). No ugly wristbands. No reservations for specialty restaurants. 24 hour room service which came in handy for an early ride to the airport. Cons: 1) My boyfriend had to kill 4 - 5 mosquitoes a night in our room. The cleaning lady def had the door open way too long when she was cleaning our room. 2) Larger pool was generally for the kids but was the only swim up pool with bar service. 3) Entertainment team didn't try very hard to get everyone to participate. We were used to the other AI's where they would wear bright shirts and try really hard to get everyone involved. 4) Nightly entertainment was dull except the fire show which was very cool. 5) Not that many activities besides lounging by the pool/beach. We got bored fairly quickly so we went on tours for 2 days but we like to keep busy. Tips: 1) Go on the Blue Caribe Cenote/swim with sea turtles/snorkeling tour. We had sooo much fun and saw so many sea turtles. 2) Xcaret is only worth going if you are going to do an extra activity (i.e. swim with dolphins, snuba). Other than that it was pretty boring there but maybe thats because we've been to too many of these types of parks. Do Xcaret Plus if you do go, it includes transport, buffet and equipment rental. 3) Skip the buffet for lunch and dinner. Eat at the specialty restaurants. 4) Order more than one appetizer/entree at the specialty restaurants if you're hungry! They are small portioned if you're a big eater. 5) Book your tours through the Hotel's tour place (next to Coco smoothies). They were the cheapest. 6) The trip from the airport to the hotel is about 1 - 1.5 hours away. Book a transport before you get there. At the airport, walk past the gauntlet of ppl trying to sell you transports and taxi rides. Don't listen and keep walking until you get outside. Once outside look for your transport company's greeter and follow them. We booked a private transfer with USA transfers. Very reliable and on time. - I was skeptical after reading mixed reviews about the hotel but all in all, we had a great time and would def come back! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MC1234567
Couples
Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Wonderful spot for honeymoon

We had an incredible time relaxing on the beach for a week and stuffing ourselves with great food. Dreams Tulum is a great value and we had a fantastic trip. The staff at the restaurants and bars was not as attentive as I expected, but the food was great and we were very satisfied with our choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tan and Red
Couples
Chicago
Feb 20, 2012

A good all inclusive

I stayed at Iberostar Tucan in Playacar previously and I felt like I was stacked on top of all these hotel, so I went to Tulum this year. Tulum is over an hour from the Cancun airport, but other than that it didn't have any drawbacks. The hotel is the only one for at least a mile down the beach, so there was plenty of space. However, the sand is not refined outside the resort, so it was a mix of shells and sand and was very rocky along the water line. Not a place to go for long beach walks. The whole resort was in good shape and clean. There were always staff all over either doing landscape or cleaning or repairs. My hotel safe didn't work the first night. I called the desk and a person was there in a few minutes. It took 30 minutes to fix, but they got it done. All of the service was pretty good, at the bars, restaurants, cafe, etc. There is plenty more I could say, but its not all important. Last, I will say there is a "VIP" program where the resort company tries to get a downpayment and yearly fee, and in return you get discounted vacations at all these resorts they own. It may be a good deal, but it took an hour of talking before I were told the "catch" of the downpayment. I got a spa coupon for our time, which I didn't use because I couldn't use it to cover an entire service, only services that were more expensive than the voucher. They were very pleasant and nice during the presentation, but it took 2 hours out of my vacation to try to sell me future vacations, and I got nothing useful for my time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The resort food was mostly good, much better than my last all inclusive. Breakfast was only ok, but it was a buffet so you can pick what you like. Lunch at the Barefoot grill by the pool was convenient but not the greatest food. The Mexican restaurant was stellar for lunch. I waited until the last day to go to lunch there and I regret it. The dinners varied the most. I dislike most large buffets, so I stayed away from that restaurant. The Asian was very good with great service from Leonardo. The french was also good, although they didn't have the entree I wanted. I had badly overcooked seafood at the Italian so it was tough and the calamari was inedible. Desserts were almost always good. Drinks at the resort were ok. Beer options were limited to Bud Light and Corona. Most people order margaritas and fruit juice cocktails from the menu so its hard to not find something to drink. For "unlimited luxury" though, it was pretty low quality hooch. They have some stuff hidden behind the bar so ask and you might get what youre looking for.

Back to menu Return to top